Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Nuove Terme 4 stars

Piazza Italia 1, 15011 Acqui Terme, Italy

#7 of 9 hotels in Acqui Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 762 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated, everything was old, the furniture, bed, old TV, bed WIFI and so on. We asked the staff at the receptiondesk for an iron and he answered " not for the guests" and they call themselves a 4 star hotel. Its a disgrace. The new year dinner was an ordinary dinner with no extras, we could as well visit the lokal pizzeria. And the price for the room was the same as a luxury 5 star hotel situated on the riviera. We cannot recomend this hotel at all. Probably the worst hotel we ever visited and we travel att lot!

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a 4 star Hotel unacceptable that you have no tissues in the room and no wi-fi. Shower quality sub standard for the price charged per night.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers were very small, generally the hotel areas smelled a bit "old", breakfast was OK but I expected better - very old fashioned all round.

    Central location, great and free parking nearby, nice bar area, access and discount to local spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No help offered with luggage. very tight access to parking at at cost of €13 per night. Very small bedroom and bathroom. only three coat hangers. only one comfortable chair on which the leg broke. Noisy heating/air con system. poor standard breakfast i.e tinned fruit and stale croissants.

    staff tried to be helpful within their limitations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the booking it was not mentioned that access to the spa is only valid from 3pm and is limited to one visit during the stay only. We booked incl Spa access and thought we could use it all time. So the next morning we had to pay additional access for 33Eur p.p. The room was very outdated and the bathroom was not very clean. The shower curtain needs changing, full of mold.

    Very nice location with a great spa area that can be used once per stay if booked incl. SPA access. Massage was relaxing but expensive. The hotel is located in the middle of the town and next to shops and restaurants. Behind the hotel is public parking available for 2,50Eur/day. Next to the hotel it is 10Eur/day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparse room facilities; ageing shower cubicle ; thin polyester coverlet, no duvet; no kettle/tea making facilities; minimal breakfast offerings; a fresh coat of paint in rooms and corridors would be good

    Central hotel, quiet location, charming helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of clarity around use of the pool pre booking , it's in the health farm and my children were not allowed to go because it's not that sort of pool. Breakfast was a disaster see images . Looked like only two people working and keeping food topped up with the demand did not happen. Hotel kept our passports over night ... normally they care photocopied. Hotel is not suitable for families who are wanting to relax at the hotel with their children . Pool has restricted use and was told it's not the type of pool to swim in ... yet they do not make this clear . When I checked the pool it was empty yet the children could not go ages 15 , 11 and 15. Checkout super slow only one person working . Poor value for money all round.

    Nothing comes to mind it is not suitable for families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What you gain with the therme you will loose with the bed. The bed pillows are very unconfortable as the bed.

    The Therme SPA staff very kindly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff serving breakfast didn't really seem very motivated. Every morning we waited too long to get a coffee. The hotel is advertised as 4-star but we had the impression it is more like 3-star.

    The hotel is located in the center of the town and just across the street from the pedestrian area with shops and the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first room they gave us had a very bad smell of smoke - we complained and they explained that they had been trying to get rid of the smoke smell for two days (but yet they still allocated it to a guest) ... they changed our room and gave us a better one which had lovely views and was large and comfortable. the shower head however was clogged with limescale so not a very pleasant experience. and breakfast was shambolic - we just went out to the bar across the square. this is my home town and a member of my family used to work in this hotel in the 50s. i'm familiar with it. it was refurbished a few years back and relaunched but it's gone down hill again. what a shame.

    the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard, the pillows flat and not very soft, the bathroom was very big, but insufficiently heated, after the shower one needed a terrycloth robe to ward off getting a chill....there were only towels, in this case not enough....considering freezing temp outside

    Locatio

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small, and the beds were quite uncomfortable. The hotel's restaurant had a pretty poor selection of food, and was the only place in Acqui Terme we encountered where the staff could not speak English.

    The spa was great, and I did my best to make the most of it while I was there. The hotel was very central, with an incredible number of good restaurants within a ten minute walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the reception was unfriendly not to call them rude! The room was cold, the bathroom was icecold and so was the bed. There were no duvet; only blankets, lousy pillows and a worn out mattress. We catched a cold, staying at your hotel just for one night. In the morning we were looking forward to the breakfast, including getting some hot coffee after our terrible cold night. But: We waited for ½ an hour before the coffee finally arrived, and the bread was horrifying cheap and lousy and no orange juice. Furthermore, we would have appreciated, if we before booking had been told, that it wasn't possible to reach the hotel by car. We had to walk carrying our luggage1 km after having found a parking lot. Finally: The television dated back to the last century.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa and pool- the reason most people come to this location- are only open from 10 am to 6 pm weekdays, and the entry is not included in the hotel price, but is an additional 20 Eur per person. Thus we were not able to make use of the in-house spa due to the limited hours. It doesn't make sense to me to be a "spa hotel" yet have the time of use be so restricted. My own descent is pure Italian, and so a particular pet peeve was the instant cappuccino machine in the breakfast room. It makes an absolutely disgusting beverage and should not be allowed anywhere in Italy! Sacrilege!! However, the staff quickly rectified this on request by providing us with yummy REAL espresso from the hotel cafe. I did not even need to use my Italian to request better coffee- all I had to do was point at the offending machine and make a face. The waiter apologized profusely for the coffee machine's existence.

    Grand old hotel, great location. Pleasant staff. HUGE bathroom- in our room, almost as big as the bedroom itself! We got a very good last minute deal on the hotel, very happy with the price. Beds were a bit firm- maybe too hard for some but we prefer a firm mattress. Good selection of breakfast foods, very attractive dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit dated in the rooms; uncomfortable beds, unreliable air con and small showers. No irons and some staff were quite unhelpful, others were nice.

    The area is beautiful and the hotel looks beautiful from outside and in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are a young couple and this was a romantic 3 days away, the bed was a twin pushed together, and my partner when getting close, fell through the gap,... it didn't make for a great romantic trip. we moved on our last day, and the room was better.

    The location is excellent in the main part of the town, on Corso italia.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found out at the hotel that the Spa was to be booked as an extra and you could only be in there for 2 or 3 hours at once (you cold not be in there for an hour in the morning and one in the afternoon unless you bought 2 entry tickets). The woman at the reception was looking at me in that kind of "what do you want for this price" way which i did not like. The price was not bad (20 euros per person per entry), but it was not clear on the website. The bed had 2 light mattresses therefore leaving a 10 cm gap, therefore we upgraded to a junior suit room. The bed was higher in the middle than on the sides so we just put the mattress on the floor. The wifi was practically not existent in both the room we used. The price is overall ok, but i didn't like the trick of advertising something that was not what was offered unless you paid more.

    The location is great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout my stay the staff made every effort to make me feel unwelcomed. The rooms where a desaster far away from the pretty pictures displayed on the page. The food was aweful.

    My worst hotel experience I will never return

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a little more attention to the breakfast?

    What I liked about the hotel was the splendor of the hotel building itself and its old world charm. A very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is extra poor. Thermal bath is very avarage.

    Location is perfect. But nothing to do in the city more then one day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated in severe need of refurbishment. Much too expensive for what's on offer.

    location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on the very top floor in the eaves of the hotel, staff very uninterested in helping with any questions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast: very poor!!! Beds: very bad quality Air conditionning not efficient at all! Noisy

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I was in this hotel for a business trip. Nice furniture and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    €20 extra to use the Spa for 1 hour Restaurant TV in the room Parking space

    Room Coffee shop Equipment Breakfast Location Spa

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening hours from spa are not to accept. Way to short

    The thermal Spa and Location perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The modern comfort elements need to be reviewed, such as bed comfort, bathroom cosmetics. The hotel would be perfect if its antique palazzo charm would be completed with a modern renovation elements. The comfort cannot be rated 4 stars, unfortunately. Maximum 3 stars.

    Best location in Acqui Terme - within foot distance from the historical city and main attractions. The building is splendid, an ancient palazzo, admirable architecture and decoration (Murano chandeliers). The SPA is very nice, although it needs a touch of renovation.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff looked unhappy and not welcoming; the mattress sagged in the middle and should have been replaced and the shower cubicle was claustrophobic for a medium built person.

    The Central location was the only positive part of my stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Thr facilities neededicated to be updated. The rooms were bare minimum with 2 decades old TV which didn'the work in both of 2 rooms we had. New beds are badly needed. Good spa. Still it needs to be modernised. The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant staff at breakfast were generally not friendly or approachable. Coffee shop staff were however much better.

    The hotel is clean and has an excellent spa. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff manager absolutely rude. None of the two rooms we had booked had the heat on. Very old furniture, old TV, safety box with a deposit of 10 euros if we wanted to use it. Toiletries very poor. Breakfast you make your own coffee with an automatic coffee machine. Most of the food is of poor quality, bread etc.... You are asked to pay for an extra 15€ per person to get slippers and a bathrobe to use the spa. This is not a hotel where we will go again, even if we travel very often to this area.

    Sad to see such a beautiful hotel with such bad management.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I did not like was the bed. It was hard and uncomfortable. It was also two single beds pushed together instead of a double bed which left an awkward gap in the middle.

    I very much liked the friendly staff and the spa facilities.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    Inability to use the stairs No bath Shower floor had accumulated dirt Quality of shower did not match other standards within the hotel Ceiling of room a little unclean

    Very helpful and friendly staff Nice facade

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel had a worn feel, like an old pair of slippers, in need of major updating and upgrading

    Step outside and wander through the heart of Acqui Terme, feel the pulse of quotidian life and immerse yourself in its history

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool under "special maintenance", and this during summer time! No WI-FI in the rooms! Poor breakfast, with very bad quality coffee! Staff are not specially welcoming.

    The location only!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool is open 10-18(19) and you have to choose between pool and excursions It must be 7-21 or 7-13 + 18-22

    good location in the center of the town thermal water pool inside

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was a bit too hard for my taste.

    spent an amazing lazy afternoon at the spa. Also tried a couple massage that really swept away all the accumulated stress. Staff really helpful and caring. Location is perfect and it's easy to reach many nice places for a drink or for a bite. Breakfast offers a great variety

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing, peacefull, Definitely planning to go again

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    unique historical site renovated with ice rooms - good breakfast and friendly atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location , spa dentro l'hotel ,ambiente tranq uillo ideale x momenti di relax

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was both fully professional and friendly. The staff of the thermal spa was equally outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    niente

    tutto

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast, bed, bathroom

    SPA

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No duvet. Too hard a bed. Very limited parking facilities

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was the worst ever and deco was none existent only thing going for it was architectural building.

    Staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Menu

    Location and Spa

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not a 4 star breakfast. Staff were there but coffee was still self-serve out of a machine.

    Parking. Right outside the front door.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comments.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comment

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was poor

    Good ok and spa

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rest..

    nothing

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Grand Hotel Nuove Terme traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: