Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Paradiso 4 stars

Viale Europa 2, 88063 Catanzaro Lido, Italy

#4 of 12 hotels in Catanzaro Lido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel cause on the website it has a pool but once I got there I was told it was a spa so we had to pay 30 euros each adult and 15 or 20 euros for kids. Now way !!!!! , The place was really nice but I want stay here again.

    The staff was really nice and helpful upon our arrival which was a plus for me. The rooms were really nice and clean also. I had not issues with the rooms all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasnt up to much for £12 euro although they did have gluten free options. The restaurant had a drop down projector screen with TV and played radio music despite the amazing panoramice view from the windows. Lower lighting and good music would have made it much much nicer.

    The service at reception was excellent, they allowed us to check in early and change which was an unexpected bonus and hugely welcome. The spa was great after a day exploring The rooms were spotless (as was the whole hotel) the balcony views spectacular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of fresh vegetables such as tomato, cucumber, lettuce or cooked vegetable options in the breakfast buffet.

    This hotel is excellent value for money. It is new, has an extraordinary full-size gym, great outdoor pool (open summer season only), indoor spa and other facilities and lots of easy, on-site parking. It gives you two free bottles of water in the fridge every day, complimentary slippers and the rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant is also very good and reasonably priced for lunch and dinner. Breakfast in my package was €5 extra for Italian style (coffee, juice and a pastry) and €12 for an English hot breakfast. One thing was unusual for me - hotels normally have as standard buffet offerings at breakfast fresh tomatoes and/or cucumber, lettuce, or some type of vegetables, but this one didn't. Staff is very amenable and would have provided me with options had I asked, I'm sure. The hotel has great views of the Ionian Sea from its hilltop location, but walking to the Lido itself (about one kilometre away as the crow flies) could be dangerous, as there's a stretch of highway without footpaths on the way. I was there in the off-season and most of the crowds had gone, but driving to the smallish Lido centre and parking there can be a challenge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A coffee machine in the room would have been beeing very welcome.

    Very clean and nice room, big enough,with sea view. Parking place allways available. Very friendly staff. Very nice pool. An excellent place as a "base" to visit the entire Calabria, because is very well and easy connected with all the roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was rude, particularely at the reception. Breakfast was poor; we had to arrive very early because by the end of the breakfast thare was nothing left.

    Bedrooms were very confortable; clean and big bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small things to mention: music volume by the pool tends to be high (but like said before, was lowered on request), breakfast although nice (and to be eaten with a wonderful seaview) is a tiny bit lower in standard than the (high) standard of other things in the hotel. The hotel lies a good 15 minutes walk from the beach, which did not put me out, but is good to know.

    The pool area is really nice: one for adults and one for children. Prices at the pool bar definitely reasonable. We had a room with seaview, which of course adds to the experience. The staff is extremely friendly and problem solving oriented: no matter what the issue (checking in without documents forgotten in the previous hotel we stayed in, lowering music volume by the pool, fixing food/drinks at odd times, getting transport to railway station....) there was always a solution at hand. Although the hotel is really a nice place to be, the staff is really the highlight here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast would have been good. Was told it was dangerous to walk to the beach, but I did NOT think it was a problem.

    The staff picked me up at the train station, and dropped me off upon leaving at the bus station. Easy walk to beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, one can't really walk anywhere, in need of a car. Breakfast and pool drinks were overpriced.

    The gym was great, the weather and the pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The spa is a little expensive and the facilities could be warmer. The spa area is a little dark.

    The owners Mr and Mrs Paradiso and staff of this hotel are amazing, they couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant food is wonderful and the staff lovely they meet every need and are so obliging.The owners are hands on and this really makes the hotel special .The room was lovely and the view from the balcony fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - although GPS found the place for us, there was a very difficult road intersection to access its road. In fairness, so long as you keep eyes open, you do see their sign but not easy.

    Feeling of a luxury hotel. Very helpful staff. Evening dinner was excellent. As was breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My t-shirt was lost with Hotel's laundry

    Excellent customer service. Very friendly and professional staff. A big thank you to Giuseppe at reception and Rebecca, swimming pool's attendant , who made our holiday very special. Grazie

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The restaurant evening menu could have a little more choice. Did not like the fact that if you wanted to walk into Lido you put your life in danger even though they offer a limited bus shuttle service

    The outside pool area was good. The restaurant food was not bad.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was the worst we ever had in Italy: uneatable overstored fruits, old bread, an egg was fried only after long discussions. Be careful when you open the balcony door, mosquitos will quickly enter

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from train station. Some facilities not available e.g. swimming pool

    Grand old style hotel. Well decorated. Good view over the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for exploring, easy access to neighbouring towns and beaches with a hire car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be improved upon

    Absolutely everything from the staff to the location to the facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water in shower took a very long time to arrive and then it was only luke warm

    The room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud music at the pool area

    very nice room with a good view. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff very helpful and nice people. Viviana is very professional with great english.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    The excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More of a business type hotel than one for a holiday.

    Comfortable and convenient for a stop-over. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only had an overnight stay, but everything was great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Friendly lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only shortcoming: Very slow service in the resturant

    Nice staff & service, nice rooms, lobby and poolarea

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible internet connection

    Excellent stuff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The streets in this town are laid out very strange and it is not easy to get from point A to point B. However, this is not the fault of the hotel.

    I found this hotel to be a good value for the money. It is located in a convenient area and yet I felt very safe which man so close to the centro area do not seem to have.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting caught in revolving doors with my luggage. Very painful!

    Views Dining area beautiful & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    far from the beach, not easy walkway to get there

    sauna

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful sea view, delicious food in the hotel restaurant, spacious room and modern bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    situation

    personnel ,cadre,chambre,repas

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Grand Hotel Paradiso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: