Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Passetto 4 stars

Via Thaon De Revel 1, 60124 Ancona, Italy

#5 of 16 hotels in Ancona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 514 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Great view and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is overly expensive for the area and definetly high compared to the level of service and facilities expecially for a so-called 4 star hotel. The Hotel is overall decadent (clean but plenty of cracks on the walls) and probably was rated 4stars in the 80’s. We stayed with a 4 months old baby and the hotel had no step-free access so we had to always pick up the stairs the baby’s stroller and no one ever offered to help us nor with the stroller nor with the luggage. Clearly the room hadn’t been used for a while as water came out yellow from the tap and shower on the first use. We’ve slept 4 nights and spent more than 900€ including a very low quality breakfast (had better ones in B&B’s) and also were asked 33€ additional euros for 8 bottles of water (spending 900€ for 4 nights you’d expect at least water to be complimentary). The ad said we would have had a welcome drink upon arrival, no sign of that neither!

    Great view and nice location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    The location was good, and an easy walk to some nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may have been due to a public holiday when I was staying there for one in August, but there seemed to be very few people around to serve E.g. drinks or snack in the early evening, so I just left and went in search of somewhere else to relax outside.

    The location was good, and an easy walk to some nice restaurants. The pool area looked very nice, although I didn't have time to use it. The fitness area is well equipped, and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    A fantastic hotel! It’s like a boutique hotel with b&b prices. Beautifully decorated, fantastic pool area and lounge, great room with view over sea, and great service. If we’d known how good this hotel is we’d have stayed much longer...next time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Will definitely return if in Ancona again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the older waiter at breakfast who is very rude.

    Lovely reception staff. Our room was available even though we arrived very early. Beautiful room with a lovely view. Spotless clean and bright. Lovely pool and outside seating in the garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    The property had the potential to be excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote for the air-co did not work. Then the actual air-co didn’t work, which was confirmed by staff. There was a great balcony space which screamed out for furniture, a lick of paint - anything! Unfortunately in the morning we were unable to use the lovely looking spa bath due to a lack of hot water. There was no easy method to charge phones/I pads as the socket we could find to take a European plug was in the passage. My wife ended up drying her hair in the passage. In a nutshell - a lot of money wasted. Staff great, hotel really disappointing.

    The property had the potential to be excellent. The infrastructure is grand but lacks the tic it needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in excellent location withe friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI could have been better.

    Older property but very nice and comfortable with extremely helpful staff. Excellent location with fantastic views. Free parking close to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right on the street next to a very busy road and the neighbors were loud. Also the came into our room while we were gone during the day to count what was use in the mini bar, food and drink. Our plan said includes Mimi bar which it did not! Not a big deal ( 2 beers and a package of cookies) but advertising one thing and charging is not good business.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Probably the best hotel in Ancona city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've like the cleaness of the room. The location of Hotel is wonderful, just close to a cliff over Adriatic sea. Breakfast has wide selection of sweet and cakes, mostly homemade, and some salty foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel close to the seaside with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No smart TV to link smartphone with - not a big downfall but something I'm starting to expect in 4-star hotels. Most channels are in Italian (obviously) but some channels you can change the setting so the language is in English if need be.

    Nice sized room with balcony (third floor room 326), very comfortable single beds (twin room) and a nice touch to have a pillow menu which my friend and I took advantage of. Iron and ironing board available to use. Nice mini bar. Nice shower with amenities. Free Wi-Fi. Lovely friendly staff - primarily Italian-speaking city so practice your lingo!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    Good place only if you get a big discount
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two beds attached to each other for a 4 star hotel.. come on. No welcome drink, as instead stated on the offer. Hotel completely empty, still we were given a room with no view.

    Location and breakfast were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall very happy with the choice of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Especially after having had such good ones in all the other places where we stayed in Italy (Rome, Bari and Polignano a Mare).

    The location of the hotel and the view over the Adriatic Sea from our very comfortable room with large balcony. Close enough to the old town to walk there. The very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Ancona and Grand Hotel Passetto both turned out to be a great surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything. No complaints.

    Wonderful facility. Excellent breakfast. Great service. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely view from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    We were upgraded to a sea view, the hotel was not at all full, this due to the time of year we went not because the hotel was lacking in amenities . Restaurant suggested was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Having the pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed that there wasn't a restaurant at the restaurant and very few within walking distance. We also had hoped for beach nearby, but this is high on the cliff so there weren't really beaches. Falconari Maritime may have been the better choice. No view at all of ocean; we had an interior room which was disappointing.

    Having the pool was great. The breakfasts were excellent and the breakfast staff very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel Passetto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel Passetto. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all of our questions and requests. Our suite was spacious, beautifully furnished and always very well cleaned, with a big terrace facing the Adriatic sea. Also the breakfast was fine. The hotel's location is absolutely great in the best region of Ancona with a beautiful view to the Monument at Piazza IV Novembre and the turquoise sea behind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was stunning and a great temperature. The view from the veranda is special; a great place to enjoy an aperol spritz enjoying the sea view. The rooms were clean. There are lots of great restaurants in walking distance. They welcome pets too. I could have stayed a lot longer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Aussie travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants to choice from unless you go to the oldtown. We went for a swim in the pool and the water had a distinct green tinge but did not have any odour. After about 15 mins, the pool maintenance contractor arrived and added some contents to the pool. The pool changed to a crystal clear blue within a few mins. When leaving the following morning, the pool was back to green. The weather was extremely hot so I guess the pool system was unable to cope.

    Grand hotel in great location. Staff at reception very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Short stay in Ancona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee making facilities, no spare electrical outlets in the room (unplugged the TV to charge phones). You could hear everything in the corridor and upstairs - joys of concrete construction :(.

    The overall ambience was good if a little Italian old fashioned. Breakfast was good and the aperitivo was nice. Located close to the sea even if it wasn't a "proper" beach. The pool was nice and saw the sun for much of the day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    This hotel has a great location, with a beautiful view of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel has a great location, with a beautiful view of the sea. Also right next to the only beach in the city center. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay very much! Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was pretty good, I would have liked to have had some scrambled eggs and perhaps bacon or sausage. For my taste, there were too many sweet items for breakfast. The fruit and yogurt was appreciated.

    Great pool and the little happy hour at 6:00 pm was a nice added touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The hotel was very nice in a beautiful but out of the way location. It was a fairly long walk into town and not many places to eat. The concert venue we had to get to was far and an expensive cab ride to get to. On the upside the rooms were very nice ,the beds very comfortable and the beakfast was very good. The location is my only negative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    No pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no pool even though they say they have one. We were really disappointed!

    Beautiful view of the water Good breakfast for a European breakfast. No eggs or bacon or pancakes or anything hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of order, we were very disappointed.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful at all hours. Breakfast was excellent and very well presented - the cappuccino was amazing. The room had a beautiful sea view and a jacuzzi bath. The hotel restaurant was top drawer. A great experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    A classy small hotel with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing springs to mind

    We were upgraded from single to double rooms with view at no extra cost. Staff charming, attentive and efficient. Decor classy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Ancona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing to comment was that the room didn't have a safety deposit box, but I didn't really feel the need for one.

    This is a great hotel located near Monumento ai Caduti. It has a beautiful view of the sea. The room we had was comfy and cozy, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and overall our stay was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    Uncomfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being almost empty during our stay (we saw only 2 other guests) they gave us a very small room, overlooking the dingy apartments at the rear. The bedroom barely had 2 feet of walking space around the bed. The bed itself was akin to sleeping on a stack of cardboard, slanting to one side. We could not have stayed any longer than one night in this extremely uncomfortable room. Why not give guests a nice room if one is available?

    Breakfast agreeable, staff pleasant. Free parking. Drinks and snacks available in lobby in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    For serene, relaxing stay, come here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location but far from the old section of town. For walking it would have been better to be closer to "old town".

    The front desk was very helpful. Being off season many restaurants were closed. We made use of the restaurant across the street which was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfectly poised at Passetto
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information about public transport and options to get to the station, city centre and airport as taxis were very expensive. Warning. It's a long way down to the sea!

    Great selection of art on the walls and style magazines to browse through

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little better. The eggs where dry and the fruit selection was very limited.

    The pool was lovely. Coffee exquisite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    The interior furnishings where beautiful and the pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The interior furnishings where beautiful and the pool was spectacular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Friendly clean really handy to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Friendly clean really handy to all amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great location, very clean rooms with mini bar and aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, very clean rooms with mini bar and aircon. Beautful sea view but also close to Ancona city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    It was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    loved it, a real little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free evening drink was water or juice, also not many restaurants in the area.

    Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Room and swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast/Ontbijt/Fruhstuck/Colazione

    Room and swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    View from room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC wasn’t available our first night. Room was too hot. Wi-fi was very poor our entire stay. Unacceptable!

    View from room was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Vans Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool towels would ne good

    Everything. Great staff in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    A comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Combortable bed, welcoming view, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Sea views and tree lined walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night

    Sea views and tree lined walk. Pool looked lovely. Fantastic breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Staff were lovely, we left a jacket behind they we happy to post it to us..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a beautiful town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. A great variety of sweet items but not enjoy savoury

    Everything was great. I had a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Free snacks and drinks in the lobby in the evening
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free snacks and drinks in the lobby in the evening

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay in Ancona with the charm of the 60s
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    The views of the communal patio of the Adriatic Sea were spectacular!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was 2 twin beds pushed together and a bit hard for me.

    The lobby, breakfast, view and staff were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    nice pillows choice,comfortable beds and excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom

    nice pillows choice,comfortable beds and excellent position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing staff and restaurant across was amazing food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff and restaurant across was amazing food and great value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    was perfect for our mixed family group
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a noisy party across the street

    comfortable and nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.5
    Excellent please to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet location(behind door).

    Great staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location, views and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and overlooking the sea. Soundproof windows insured a good night's sleep. The staff was awesome. Helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A must do again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niente

    Il breakfast e la piscina

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Delightful overstay on our way to Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No seperate ladies bar Small room for two ladies sharing

    Friendly staff, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    the view of the sea from the room was fascinating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the view of the sea from the room was fascinating.wonderful staff willing to give all information necessary

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    EVERYTHING, VERY GOOD POSITION, VERY NICE STAFF, VERY GOOD...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING, VERY GOOD POSITION, VERY NICE STAFF, VERY GOOD BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Delicious breakfast, stunning decor, beautiful furnishings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.9
    Very nice location with see view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is far from the center of Ancona

    Very nice location with see view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    the staff was really really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cable had only Italian language channels

    the staff was really really friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    I would visit this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had character, with a homely feel and the location was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.5
    3 night break in Ancona at the end of our holiday in Le Marche.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Attractive room with good facilities. Staff extremely helpful and always responsive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent wifi, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent wifi, breakfast. Super friendly and helpfull staff.!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Bright, elegant and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really- except maybe for better directions to drive to the hotel from the centre of Ancona.

    Bright, elegant and comfortable. The hotel was spotless (such polished floors!) with a delightful relaxed public sitting area. Evening refreshment with nibbles provided. Breakfast was excellent. Lovely flower arrangements everywhere. A good choice (free car parking) if you want to explore Ancona for a day before catching a flight home. The old city centre and the San Ciriaco on the hill overlooking the port is worth a visit (even if the church is closed when you want to visit as is so often the case in Italy!). There is a lot to see in this ancient city centre around Piazza Republica especially the portal of the Santa Maria di Piazza church. Comfortable bed, good bathroom (with spa bath) Room 328 offers a large balcony overlooking the seafront. All staff very friendly and Matteo on the front desk was helpful during our early morning departure.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    As usual we were welcomed very well with our dogs, and our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    As usual we were welcomed very well with our dogs, and our stay was perfect. As we had a puppy as well as our two older dogs, a reservation was made at a local restaurant so we were able to take two of our dogs with us to dinner. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is very elegantly decorated but is extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very elegantly decorated but is extremely welcoming and homely at the same time. Our 3 small dogs are always welcomed too, which makes our stays at Hotel Grand Pasetto even more enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no dining room (other than the breakfast room, operational only in the morning). Some snacks were available outside of breakfast time. There are a selection of restaurants, a short bus journey away.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room (I had an upgrade). Nice quiet position but yet close to a very frequent and good bus service. Very clean. Lovely big sitting area with couches, good lighting, etc. Wifi worked well. I had traveled to attend a sports event.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    6.7
    Rooms very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the breakfast menu not available for first few days. This was due to bank holiday but should have been accountant for. One of the staff serving breakfast was not very pleasant however, all the other staff were very helpful. Charged us extra for their mistake at breakfast. Hotel has no restaurant and restaurant opposite also closed. Most restaurants are in centre of Ancona, which wasn't far.

    Rooms very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful, for the second year in a row.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful, for the second year in a row. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Passetto for the second time this last January when we were passing through Ancona on our way to Greece. We had stayed with them for the first time a year before, and they had been more than accommodating to us when we had made a mistake with our booking and had arrived a day later than planned. This year we expected a lovely trouble free trip, but didn't expect more...what a welcome we received! They remembered us and our dogs and we were warmly welcomed at reception. Even though our two dogs are large, they are very well behaved. In most "dog friendly" hotels we are grudgingly accepted, tbut at the Grand Hotel Passetto they had gone all out to make us and our two four legged friends comfortable and welcome. After patting and showering our dogs with affection we were shown to our lovely big room, where not only were we greeted with space, elegance, views, and tranquility, but also two big shining dog bowls. Over a very pleasant breakfast we enjoyed a wonderful chat with the staff, as we had with the reception staff the previous afternoon. As frequent travellers with our dogs we are usually made to feel grateful that we have been accepted - the Grand Hotel Passetto made us feel that we were wanted. The Grand Hotel Passetto is not only a fine elegant hotel perched beside spectacular cliffs (a perfect walk down to a stunning shore dotted with picturesque fisherman's huts), but it is a true hotel in that it made us feel welcome and special. In a time when so many hotels forget that they are in the hospitality business, the Grand Hotel Passetto stands out and shines. We look forward to our next stay with you!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    3.8
    The hotel was really old and was very hard to more around...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was really old and was very hard to more around the hotel with a baby stroller as they had staris everywhere. poor choice for persons in a wheel chair. Brakfast was also quite bad.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Lovely coastline location and a hotel of real quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely coastline location and a hotel of real quality and value for money. The service was friendly and professional. A superb choice for business or pleasure in Ancona.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    The location along the coast was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a lot of restaurant choices near the hotel. The breakfast seem to favor the sweet tooth. Would have liked more fresh fruit.

    The location along the coast was perfect. The room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was in a lovely position on the coast. The beds were comfortable with crisp white linen and all the fascilities were positively gleaming they were so clean and polished.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    We were given an upgraded room as soon as we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit skimpy - lots of cakes but little protein. The bread was a bit stale.

    We were given an upgraded room as soon as we arrived overlooking the sea which was very nice and unexpected. Very light and bright room. Loved the swimming pool. The hotel was close to a small pretty beach.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic Sea View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was sensitive to the formaldehyde in the cabinets and when I asked to move they told me all the rooms had the same cabinets. However, I saw other rooms which had much less of the cabinetry than my prestigious single room.

    Fantastic Sea View!!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice location, Old School hotel with real keys and very nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-Fi was a bit slow in my room.

    Nice location, Old School hotel with real keys and very nice and polite staff. Nice view from terrace and a small but nice pool area.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Passetto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: