Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Santa Lucia 4 stars

Via Partenope, 46, Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121 Naples, Italy

#30 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    surprise of " city tax" added to final bill......why didn`t booking .com mention this !!!!!!

    location brilliant, breakfast very good, taxis nearby,safe area, great views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is now renovating the 4th floor with work starting at 8.30 each morning . The delightful front desk person told me they used special tools to muffle the noise!! But still agreed to move us to a very lovely room down on the 1st floor. Muffled or not 3 floors down we still heard the drills but if your an early riser and eager to head of the an island or Pompei then as I say the 5th floor look nicer .

    The renovated rooms on the 1st and 5th floors are nicely done though having seen both the 5th look smarter whilst perhaps strangely on the 1st they have left old hairdryers in the barhroom that I haven’t seen since staying in hotels in the 1970s . The staff are all very friendly and eager to please . The hotel itself manages to take the Naples out of Naples sealing you off from the city in a bubble of luxury. In the surrounding area there are bars and restaurants a-plenty some obvious tourist traps and some more local in customer and less prone to bump up the bills.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are asking for 7 euro for each room service and during breakfast I have asked for omelet and the guy did not tell me that it is not included in the price of the breakfast and during check out the reception told me that I have to pay for the omellet

    Location, jacquzi, view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi was virtually non-existant

    The suite was large and location was wonderful, as advertised. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good restaurants in the area and views are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We have been upgraded to a magnificent Junior Suite. Elegantly decorated. Perfect location. Very kind concierge & staff. Extremely pet friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little tired looking and could definitely do with an overhaul.

    The staff at the Grand Hotel Santa Lucia were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were happy to answer our numerous questions and were incredibly prompt in dealing with an issue I had in my room. A really exceptional and totally professional front-of-house team; something that is rather rare to find these days!! Rooms were spacious and light and airy. The breakfast - although not extensive - was very, very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    The hotel is situated very close to the marina and is in walking distance to the city centre. The décor is lovely, rooms are very spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff are also very smart, polite and helpful. They also serve a lovely breakfast and it's a pity we did not make use of the restaurant. I would definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location is great with many lovely restaurants around the hotel and the "Egg" Castle just over the road. The staff was good and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. The parking of our car was dealt with very professionally - as usual at a cost due to the location. Close to the Port - 10mins walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Amazing views of both Castel D'Ovo and Vesuvius. Large modern clean rooms. Breakfast was decent and service at all times excellent. Free bike rental for along the seafront was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub needed a grip mat,high step out onto a plinth. Internet was patchy on up & down loads. No coffee & tea facility in the room.

    Brilliant size of bed, fantastic location for local dining & easy walking distance to the main shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing significant

    Everything about the place was exactly what I expected from a four star hotel charging premium price. The location is perfect for access to the many seafront restaurants and available taxis, bus stops etc. Breakfast was good with nice selection of hot and cold food but breakfast service was a bit random; sometimes you would get offered coffee and other times you wouldn't get it unless you found someone to ask. Apart from that, all excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to change our original room after the first night because the air conditioning broke and they couldn't fix it. We had to settle for a much smaller room because that was all they had available. The price for the room stayed the same.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel at sea front. Fort restaurants at very short walking distance. Very beatiful view of the Naples Bay. Large and confortable rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no bath robe in the bathroom. The room service menu could be a little more varied. I would have loved a room with a view.

    The gentleman on reception was really friendly and realised that I had stayed there before, when I phoned about room service he took the time to recommend the spaghetti vongole! The bread at breakfast was AMAZING!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Self-irioning, not enough international TV - asked for a different room with better view - "not available" which was not true... (a colleague got a better room later) Charge for ironing one Shirt 5€! Electricity in room 331 not ok (check plugs left to the bed) - lamp started blinking in the middle of the night- altough it has been turned off

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was old and sometimes making noise or suddenly became mute. I called a staff but he couldn't solve the problem. The TV should be replaced with a new one. The chair was broken and I fell with the chair and hit my back.

    Location. Friendly staff. They kindly upgraded the room! Scrambled egg for breakfast was very good. It is a bit noisy outside, but when the window is closed, very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunatelly, everything about the hotel (apart from its location) was rather dissapointing. A construction cradle was moving up and down right in front of our window - we were not notified about that when checking in and only found out the first working Monday, when the works started The shower in our room was practically broken, with water leaking from everywhere, and made a rather unpleasant noise whenever it was on Breakfast buffet is rather limited

    Location is great, right at the waterfront, with some nice restaurants around and Chiaia district only a 15 minutes walk from the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    an amazing location, amazing stuff, all very professional and helpful. the building is a work of art, delightly designed and built. the place is a dream

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would benefit from a refurbishment of carpets.

    Breakfast was excellent. Superb location with sea view which was magic. Comfy bed and large bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom.

    Nice and helpful staff in reception. Good and quiet location of hotel after visiting hectic Naples city center. Perfect and sunny breakfast room with good pastries. Excellent with parking (at extra cost).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wonderful hotel . the staff was efficient and welcoming. breakfast was delicious. we received an upgrade room with a wonderful view. enjoyed every moment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC a bit noisy, but not a huge issue.

    Classy hotel in a very nice old building! Nice room, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. This waterfront location couldn't be better!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good first impression. Despite booking a room with AC, we were placed in a room without AC. Also, our room had a broken shower head. However, the hotel kindly accommodated a room change to address this.

    Great location. Very good service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive parking.

    Extremely well located opposite the Castello dell'Uovo in the Santa Lucia district, it is an elegant hotel with fabulous breakfast buffet and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was that the spa bath did not work.

    The room has was very spacious, with high seilings and supreme views over the naples bay and castel d'ovo. Breakfast was continental, with fresh fruits, local pastries, ham, cheese, scramble eggs and sausages. Hotel in general is very stylish. Excellent WiFi reception in all areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is aging and could use some updating.

    The staff was very helpful. They directed us to the best of the dozens of restaurants along the coast road and we had a great meal. A great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the hotel online look like another property compared to how it looked in person. The rooms were rundown and stale. I was really disappointed that we did not stay at the Excelsior next door. Staff a bit slow and confused during check in and check out. Maybe 100 years ago it was a lovely place to stay. Much of the hotel felt dated.

    Loved the location and we could see the sea from our room. Architecture of the hotel was quite nice. Breakfast was included in our rate and we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    because my first two night in Napoli lived in the neighbor hotel,so I could compare the service of both hotel,San Lucia hotel could be better in the future

    it's a perfect holiday,the sea view double room has two balcony,I could see the amazing view of Napoli gulf every day,the room is very comfortable,the best location in Napoli,I hope I could come back soon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable Bed, poor electricity plug-ins on the wall, old furbished rooms, poor air conditioning, very limited and low quality choices at open buffet breakfast.

    Location Staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A complementary bottle of water in the room is becoming a nice feature in many of the better hotels. Doesn't cost much but is always welcome.

    Very nice and competent staff at reception and breakfast room. Got a nice spacious room with a private treadmill (!). After all the good food % wine in Italy, this should become a standard equipment in hotels ;-)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s time for renovation of the rooms

    Very nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked tired. Needs refurbishing.

    Superb location. Good breakfast. Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed a little longer.

    The breakfast is very cute and includes a wide range of cakes and pastries. Nice sunny view too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfy hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location....Rooms spacious. Near alot of seafood restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location. Bars and restaurants close by. Flexible with check-in and check-in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breafast pastries were magnificent. Location near reastaurants and boat harbour very picturesque.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel webste shows a picture of a pool but no pool!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Extremely polite staff, always with a smile. Beautiful room in a beautiful location. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Coffee was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food of the restaurant was a bit salty for us.

    Excellent view from the sea-side room. Magnificent big Jacuzzi bath equipped in the corner room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    super area the best area in Neapel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was drab, staff were not very friendly

    Breakfast was fab. The public areas were lovely decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view. Great location for restaurants, sightseeing and enjoying Naples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower in the bath.

    Wonderful location and rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Tasteful decor. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old, run down, water blockages and leaks in room, tv not working, one room was smoky and needed to change it, staff not helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location,cleaning and confort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar closed for refurb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxurious and tasteful decor - very stylish. A great old-world hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast is very expensive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lively bar

    Gracious space and understated luxury.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from business district.

    Location & friendly Staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    better view from the room

    ideal location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay foar a couple of days. Very nice, friendly, clean, safe area with nice restaurants next door. Valet parking additional bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    The bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of bed

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs redecoration .. Needs an upgrade

    Quiet room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant facilities open dust during my stay

    Great views of the bay and Castell dell 'Ovo

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a makeover

    The location is amazing, clean linens, nice spacious rooms. cosy and very quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff knowledge and recommendations

    Beautiful location. Nice pools.amazing views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were more towards the exec traveller Shower curtain not enough to power plugs. No where to sit on a terrace to relaxin the sunshine

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and need to be refreshed

    Restaurant is excellent. Probably one of the best meal we had during our stay in Napoli

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet pedestrian street, large room, nice bathroom with excellent shower, friendly and attentive staff, great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast did not include variety of dishes, but overall good.

    Very friendly staff. Location is amazing. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location, in front of the seashore.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast is limited, quality is good but very limited and the breakfast staff are not giving a service measuring up to the hotels standard in general, they should be kinder!

    Excellent location for Napoli, it's great to stay on Lungomare, i prefer to city center. The hotel is great, perfectly clean, tastefull 4 star. They upgraded us to a Seaview room, that was fantastic initiative from them. The views are fantastic, Vesuvio, Capri, the Lungomare. The hotel is near to many nice restaurants cafes in Lungomare you have choice, reasonable in general and tastefull places, very near to CitySightSeeing bus, very near to Ferries for Capri and more. The room service is excellent,the food is good , the Aperol one of the best i had!

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel felt a little tired, as if it had seen better days. Faded grandeur can be fine but our junior suite had a slightly austere plainness about it.

    Lovely views from our junior suite.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was very old and the shower was completely not working. Really bad!!! I skipped doing the shower in the last day due to this discomfort of using it. Terrible!

    the hotel is situated in an excellent location, really close to the water. Amazing view right in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I personally think nothing could be improved. A real 5 star hotel service.

    We have been upgraded at the check-in , in a suite overlooking the sea and it has been really nice

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Santa Lucia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: