Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Savoia 5 stars

Via Arsenale Di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy

#10 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1639 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Love everything about the hotel, staff were wonderful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to have a drink at the roof top bar, but it was closed for private party. Wished they had told me that at check in

    Love everything about the hotel, staff were wonderful and the room was fabulous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is elegant - like the hotels you see in movies...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to climb 4 stairs with your luggage at front of building.

    The hotel is elegant - like the hotels you see in movies from the e asrly 1900's. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great introduction to Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was only spending one night there!

    I had mentioned in an email that it was our anniversary and they had a card & complimentary bottle of processco in our room when we arrived!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Budget 5 star hotel, but not missing on quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness room has just some cardio machines and is very small.

    Budget 5 star hotel, but not missing on quality. Staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. Breakfast is exceptionally good and budget. Restaurant is good, prices are midrange. free water food and extra shower in fitness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Perfect 10. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Fantastic stay.

    We stayed here for one night passing through the city, en route to Monterosso CT. Not sure if I got some type of low season price, but it was quite a luxurious stay for the price of the room. Ideal if coming in/out of Principe train station. It’s is about 10 minutes walk to the fun tangled alleyways of the old city. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value of money. Good location and the room is very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the welcome drink and the breakfast at their restaurant because the view is fantastic & the food is delicious. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Clean, comfy beds and nice linen and bath linen and bathrobes also provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didnt like about the hotel.

    The hotel was very nice, clean and friendly staff. Good location! Train station right facing entrance to hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything to improve the experience

    The furnishings throughout were beautiful as was our room. Lovely roof terrace, where we had drinks and an excellent dinner as well as breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Literally just one minute walk from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facility not the newest, ac not the best & WiFi rather slow

    Literally just one minute walk from the train station Very good breakfast, with city view as well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Read this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is average. It is close to the water and walking distance to most sites. Major issue is the restaurant. Service was so bad that I was shocked. Do not eat here. Waited three hours for dinner. The bar was nice and worth a visit. Rooms clean and bathrooms quite nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a litlle out of the center. And we had to walk through some dirty and maybe dangerous areas to get to the promenate.

    Very comfy room. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff(except the breakfast crew that were not helpful at all)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Large room, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, very convenient when arriving by train (2 minutes from station). Our room was not ready at 2, but we got a free drink at the roof terrace while waiting half an hour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Reprieve of the wonderful hotel from the awful Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Genoa is not a place I would ever visit again and I wish I could have read it somewhere because it is honestly the sketchiest place. The only redeeming factor was staying at the beautiful hotel.

    The hotel is amazing. Loved the buffet, the rooftop bar and had a fantastic massage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Top off the line 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel receptionist was not the friendliest. Maybe he had a bad day. But nothing effecting the great positive experience

    Top off the line 5* hotel Absolutely gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, good service - city location.... Good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's is NOT a 2018 5* star hotel and pictures of outdoor poor and rooftop bar does not meet exspectations - at all!! Not even near a modern 5* hotel in facilities and I would rate to a maximum of 4 small stars or 3 big ones!

    A cosy and nice hotel which gives you an indication of time years ago. Good reception service and friendly staff Very nice family room - spacy and great view over the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location, pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service at reception was lacking finesse. When we arrived, the person booking us in stopped to answer a phone call that went on for some time. Not ideal after a long journey! The advertised outside hot tubs were surrounded by tables, so not really conducive to a relaxing sunbathe.

    The hotel is in a great location, a very short walk away from lots of sights. Our room was a reasonable size for a standard room. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom clean with a great bath. It was nice to have robes and slippers! Lots of lovely little cafes and restaurants very close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Like a small paradise comparing dirty, noise and hot outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Like a small paradise comparing dirty, noise and hot outside. Very nice old stylish decoration, very clean, big room and bath, very cool air conditioning. This is important since we visited in July. Our terrace just over looking Princple plaza and port, nice view. When you have breakfast on the top floor the view of city and port is amazing, breakfast is most generous I have had in Italy. Just a step to Princple train station, very easy to visit Liguria area like Cinque Terre, Portofino by train. The resturant Tralalero on the ground floor(belongs to hotel Continental) has good food and reasonable price, good place to have dinner when you're tired after one day visiting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... I liked everything.

    Loved everything about this hotel. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the hotel is beautifully presented. Our family room was huge and very comfortable for 4 of us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful piped music in reception/bar etc. Snacks in the bar not very appetising and need to be more varied.

    Beautiful building. Staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    This hotel is old fashion elegance without been pretentious or pedantic.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This a world wild reference in Hotel because of the staff. It is the best staff in a 5 start hotel in Italy. I can not be more happy than this. This hotel is old fashion elegance without been pretentious or pedantic. I decided to stay in this Hotel when I arrived at the airport, so I did not pre-booked the first night. This gave me the opportunity to see how the Hotel works with someone just walking in like me. I opted for the cheapest room with access to all facilities and breakfast. The statt did not mistreated me because my openly request for the cheapest room, which can already say a lot of the place. The cheapest room is large, with amazing shower room but it is dark with no light coming from outside. The pillows were good and the mattress was new, all the toiletries could be better but I understand in the top of the season you might see the towels a bit not in the pristine days. Every time I asked to changed the towels or bed sheets the room service people where amazing, very fast and ultra polite. The quality of customer services gives you that feeling of not leaving the hotel unless is necessary. The Hotel offers an amazing breakfast at the roof overview the city, meeting room for business with facilities like printer and refreshments for business guests, sauna and wellbeing space, very powerful internet connection and the amazing terrace with the best barman in Genoa, Giovanni, which offered me the best coquetel I tried in my life. Every night I would go up for a coquetel I could see people getting emotional with the amazing refreshing coquetels Giovanni was preparing. It is not expensive specially for people like me who lives in London where everything cost a fortune. The attention for details that Giovanni provided for the people appreciating the amazing view of Genoa city at night only could be offered by a Hotel like the Grand Savoia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer, the hotel is perfect, well positioned and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is hard to find but that's Venice for you. If you have large bags you will want to try and get some sort of public transport. The staff will help with this.

    This hotel had the best bed we slept in on our entire honeymoon, so comfy, absolutely huge and the hot tub on the roof, well, you can't beat that! The staff are fantastic and gave us belinis on arrival as they knew it was our honeymoon too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.0
    Could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was ok but a lot of the fruit on offer was tinned. Several times the hot tea wasn't hot! We were in a room below the top floor terrace. We stayed 4 nights. On 2 of those, there was a function going on above us. We were told it should finish 10.30/ 11 pm. That was ok with us. BUT the clearing up/cleaning went on till 1 a. m. and was very noisy. We had little sleep!

    The bed was fine and staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with fantastic stay experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay there was too short to fully enjoy the hotel ;-)

    The hotel is a real gem above any expectations. Luxury interiors, irresistably comortable to spoil yourself during your stay. The bed was so cozy that I did not want to check out. And the breakfast was perfectly tasty and abundant, tempting to try more. And more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were amazing, very accommodating to us, with my grandchildren, gave us the family room early, and let us have a later checkout. Maitre D, at the Bar/restaurant, gave us one of orders for no charge as it was given to us late. Also, the bread arrived late and he gave us a basket to take to the room, for the kids( ages 1 1/2 and 3) Waitress in the morning brought the kids crayons/colouring book and a small plate of donuts. Would recommend this hotel, especially if have young children, they also have a little jungle gym on the third floor. Breakfast is delicious, lots of choices, fresh water in the lobby as you walk in. excellent location, literally across the street to the left of the main train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    I do not recommend this hotel in high season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It deems like the staff could not deal with tha amount of guests. Everyday there was a new maintenance problem: lights didn’t work, electric shutters didn’t work,the bathroom mirror lights did not work throughout our visit. (The other problems were fixed upon requesting). One day we returned in the evening after a long and tiring day to find the room has not been done at all! We double checked that we put the right card on the doornob, requesting room cleaning. Also one time the breakfast buffet was missing a lot of the variety, probably a large group had just left. Maybe it is all our bad luck, but this should be shared!

    The room, though small, is romantic and comfortable. Modern bathroom, big TV screen. Location is good, though quite a walk to the center. Vallet parking very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    Overall impression is bad, staff team is not friendly, you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall impression is bad, staff team is not friendly, you feel like being one of mln guests, however 5 star hotels usually at least try to create the sense that they value you as a guest. This is not the case here. Restaurant overcrowded, breakfasts are really not tasty at all. Yes, you may find Pastery,bread ect, but all the food has no taste! In Italy, can you imagine that? Standard double Room is veeeery small, and is not convenient at all. Also the room looking in the inter garden is very cold! We switched air con off, but it was really really cold. The bed is small for 2 persons, so really nothing good to mention. Overall, this is not a 5 star hotel , max 4stars, so do not recommend to stay here if you expect a 5 star service hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay in a comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above - location

    We had a comfortable room but at the back of the hotel, so no view. The staff at reception were very helpful in making reservations at restaurants for us. The location is ideal for the main railway station, but it is some distance from the centre of the city, so necessitates using public tranport (though that is quite easy) or taxis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Stunning peaceful gem of a hotel, in the madness of Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like, was my husband ordered the vegetable soup in the roof top bar as starter and it wasn’t very nice. Didn’t taste of anything and was such a shame for our last night. But the rest of our food was lovely.

    We were able to check into our room straight away and we arrived at 1pm. The hotel kindly upgraded our room as this was the final part of our honeymoon to a suite. The hotel then sent a bottle of champagne to our room. The spa facilities were lovely And the whole Hotel was glamous and luxurious. Such an amazing surprise for the money. Highly recommend and would Defo go back if I needed to use Genoa Airport again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast and service at breakfast, room was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed

    Great breakfast and service at breakfast, room was well equipped but small. Reception staff were indifferent. There was a nice lounge area downstairs but it had an unpacked unit by the bar and the bar was not open during our stay, which spoilt the stay as I had booked expecting a 5 star experience and was looking forward to a drink in the bar area. We paid extra to use the spa which was quite nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Real city comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly on the small size but we got a great rate.

    Very comfortable public areas. Very extensive breakfast and superb location for public transport. Large screen TV perfect for watching in bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel if you need to talk the train from Genova Piazza Pricipie station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area surrounding the hotel is not the best.

    Beautiful hotel across the street from the Genova Piazza Pricipie train station. Very Nice rooms and a great breakfast. A great please to stay if you are taking the train in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing. Hotel very classy. Good trattoria next door or their own fish restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from window limited and noisy with window open at night/morning.

    We were given an upgrade to very nice room with view to the statue of Christopher Columb. Very clean room with comfortable bed and good bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Lovely, comfy beds and pillows, super clean, nice staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, comfy beds and pillows, super clean, nice staff, lovely public seating areas and terrace, fabulous breakfast! Will stay here again, the next time I visit Genova.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING BEDS & PILLOWS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, stayed there 4 times now and its worth every penny

    Best rooms are 311 & 315 overlooking station square. Love this hotel, best breakfast in all ITALY. View from 7th floor roof terrace is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was extremely handy, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa could of done with a top up of fresh water, and was nice, but didn’t quite match the sole sure of the rest of the hotel.

    The location was extremely handy, the staff were very helpful, the hotel was absolutely beautiful, and the house keeping of the room was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is on a good location near train station, super clean through out the hotel, with exceptionaly friendly and helpful staff, The breakfast buffet is fresh n plentiful, and the food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean room and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The key to our room kept deactivating which was a little frustrating!

    Clean room and comfy bed. Nice breakfast A minute walk from the main station 'Piazza Principe' which was very convenient when visiting places such as Portofino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Thanks for the great experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, the location isn’t great. It is nice to be close to the railway station while traveling with business purpose like me, but in the evening the area is really unpleasant and not safe..

    Very friendly staff, even with not habitual visitors, this is not so frequent in a 5 stars hotel! Hotel very stylish, excellent furniture in the rooms and in the common areas. I didn’t use the spa but I saw it was beautiful, as well as the roof terrace. Really a wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Not profissional service but very pleasant Art Deco hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don’t acess spa or car parking and have to leave the key if your car. At the minute breakfast time ends it transforms in a very rude and noisy room and they disrespect people in the room with very noisy way and don’t let you take anything else or even a coffee. At the reception they make priorities to the phone calls then to presence people. Be aware if you want to ask anything is better call the reception .

    Wonderfull decoration and dinner! Pleasant service at check in and dinner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We will certainly return to this super Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wished there were more facilities to hang your towels in the bathroom and put away your smalls in the bedroom

    Super Hotel, friendly staff, clean accommodation, comfortable beds and quiet room with aircon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    An overnight stay was not enough at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long walk to the sights and historic district.

    An overnight stay was not enough at this hotel. Great design combining the historic & quirky. Convenient locatioin near the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Almost on top of Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missed the concierge service at lobby.

    just a few steps from the train station and not far from the sights of Genova. Nice quiet room with very comfortable bed. Loved the egg station at breakfast, very friendly service there. Lovely building, beautiful lobby with nice bar, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the city centre, great choice of food for breakfast and a spacious clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That you have to pay for parking, 25 euro's a night which is quite a lot of money on top of the cost of the room. We payed almost 550 euro's for the room for 2 nights so I thought the parking could have been cheaper (if not free at that price). I felt unhappy about that.

    Excellent breakfast choice, really spoilt with the variety available. Loved the Spa and that it stayed open late in the evening, we enjoyed going down about 8.30 for the last hour. Our room was for 3 (my son is 18) so we had an extra bed for him yet the room still felt spacious and it had a good view (3rd floor). Within easy walking distance to the harbour, many eating places and the Aquarium.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    The most amazing stay in a surprisingly fascinating city. Will be visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet was a little thin; a little thicker would have been the icing on the cake.

    The de-luxe rooms were wonderful; the mattress, bedding and pillows were luxurious and supremely comfortable. The bathroom (and wonderfully large bath) were fabulous and the toiletries were generous and thoughtful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Right near Genova Piazza Principe, comfortable rooms, awesome historical property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel based on proximity to the train station as I had an early train, so for that it was perfect. I wish I had more time to explore the property itself but the room was great and comfortable, with everything I needed for a comfortable stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating didn't work initially but maintenance staff fixed it for our second day.

    Directly opposite main train station so very convenient. Comfortable beds. Clean room and nicely appointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    the hotel architecture and design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the main lobby (smells like mold, humid ) making it a uncomfortable for relaxing with a drink. However the room was ok.

    the hotel architecture and design. Beautiful. The bed very comfortable. The breakfast very good. The location near the train station (but not so close from the main center). The heating system working properly (despite many other 5star hotels). Room and bathroom spacey and nice. Whould I stay here again? YES.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Grand Hotel Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Situated opposite  main metro station  and for convenience to travel in City of Genoa. We were on route for a cruise and travelled from Milan by train to Genoa.  The hotel is stunning. The staff are friendly. Rooms are like a fairytale of Romance. Clean and perfect to detail. There is a comfortable lounge with piano music to relax and unwind. We didn't have breakfast due to our cruise boarding. There is also some lovely shops close by in walking distance for souvenirs or just shopping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is really not that big and the water on the swimming pool is not hot enough making it a bit uncomfortable. I hear a buzz (something electronic) on my room all night long . So annoying. I slept poorly . At the restaurant we order at 20h45 and we start eating at 21h45. The bread took 20 minutes just to arive at our table . And the restaurant didn't have a lot of people so I didn't understood .

    Everything was nice, clean and proper. The staff is amazing . I love the view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the back rooms is not great, so ask for a room with a view of the harbour if it is at all possible.

    The decor is elegant and classic, with subtle touches that you might not immediately notice. The staff are always professional and can be genuinely friendly and fun once they realise that you are on holidays, but I also noticed that they can stay in the background for more focussed business groups.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel - angry about parking charge - not great yet exepensive restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paying 25 euro a night for parking - the hotel cost enough without having to pay for parking. For this reason I wouldnt stay in this very good hotel again. Also restaurant in evening does not offer variety - mainly only fish menu - better Italian cafes and restaurants in next street

    Good quality breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    great choice in genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    november weather

    fabulous location across from rr sta quiet fairly central to city center and sites lovely room fantastic staff terrific breakfast heritage property surprise: genova is a wonderful city with LOTS to see, but november can be rainy and chilly the city centre govt tourist office is a good one

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money with the hotel staff doing their best to ensure best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, with very kind staff. Easy access everywhere: taxis, tube, buses. Very comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Good opening times for the SPA.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and intimate, not lavish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Except for the breakfast and the bed, which are top notch, I had a feeling the hotel had somewhat given up on excellence. For example no one greets you on arrival or offers to help with luggage. There is not always someone in the reception, you have to call them, there is no concierge, some of the linens and one of the bathrobes in our room were rundown, there is no life in the lobby, the spa is "self-service" so no fresh linens, water or tea there in the evening.. small things overall but enough to detract from the experience. I was not very happy with the parking situation either. If you are driving there you are basically forced to take their 25€ parking as there are only a handful of "permanently taken by residents" spots walking distance.

    The bed was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. The staff was very responsive to our requests, everything worked as expected and we did not experience any issues during our short stay. The spa area is not very large, but it was clean and cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    cleanlinless and amenities, room has every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old building and there is a smell around some corners

    cleanlinless and amenities, room has every thing. location great and bf not bad in very nice restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Gem in Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing about this property is sometimes they don't pay attention to details. However, I think it's more cultural than anything else. Americans are accustomed to a different type of customer service. I have to say though any time we have had an issue and brought it to their attention they immediately rectify the situation. They make it right. We had our luggage delayed in Amsterdam, so needless to say were disappointed. The Savoia had nothing to do with our luggage being delayed but when we returned from buying a few necessities there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us! It made a really bad situation a bit more tolerable. Thanks and see you soon!

    We have been going to the Savoia for the past 4 years. There is no comparison to any other property in Genova. Another positive about the Savoia is that you have the train station right outside your door. Day trips to major cities is simple. Their breakfast is also amazing! Room service is also spectacular, the branzino and trofie al pesto are a must. The quality for the value is exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Common areas were very nice for having cocktails and using...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable sitting chair in room. Room for only one duffle style suitcase as the lower rack space was not tall enough. No shelving or drawers to hold clothes

    Common areas were very nice for having cocktails and using the internet/reading. Bathroom was very nice. The breakfast was well worth the extra cost

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Will definitely stay again, pricey but worth it for a peaceful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lifts can be slow but if you're on the lower levels use the stairs (especially at breakfast). The bar is very expensive, take a few steps outside the hotel and go to one of the restaurants etc for a drink.

    This is a great hotel for the location, right next to Genoa Principe. There's plenty to see and do in this historic city (just be mindful of pick-pockets etc). The hotel has an excellent selection for breakfast both hot and cold. Rooms are serviced daily and very clean throughout. We did not have a view on this occassion but everyone is welcome up to the top floor to admire the views out to the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect stop over for the cruise port or railway station and walking distance to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast should be amazing, there is a really good selection but they really dont understand cooked food has to be hot. They dont even plug in the heated trays. Such a shame because the scrambled egg was a beautiful creamy consistency every day we were there but cold. To use the spa jacuzzi was 30 euro whether you are there 1 night or many nights.

    Nice city hotel walking distance of the cruise port, 10 min easy walk through the railway station. Very nice traditional rooms, comfortable bed. The building is lovely and feels like a step back in time. Hop on hop off city tour bus stops at the railway station which is just across the road from the hotel Some of the breakfast was fantastic but the 'hot' cooked food was always cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay at a beautiful centrally-located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I honestly can't think of anything the hotel staff could do better - everything was perfect!

    The hotel staff could not have done more to help us non-Italian-speaking people! It was my birthday whilst we were there and I received a complimentary bottle of champagne in my room which was lovely. We had 4 rooms near each other and the rooms were always clean and tidy as well as quiet. The spa was great and much enjoyed by our group. The breakfast was amazing - you should see the fresh honeycomb! - and we were able to enjoy the roof-top hot tubs even though our trip was in the middle of October. The hotel is centrally located and we walked or got public transport to anywhere we wanted to - Nervi and Pegli are worth a trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    An Amazing old hotel, with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't fault anything.

    The hotel was an amazing grand old hotel, a great start to our honeymoon. The rooms was great, the shower was amazing. The bed was comfortable and our room was very quiet. Breakfast was a dream, everything you could imagine having for breakfast was there! We had an evening meal in the main restaurant which was very good. It's a few minutes walk from the train station, and a short walk to the city and shops, bar etc. A great hotel for a romantic stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Stylish grand old hotel, a must stay in Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location from the train station. A beautiful grand old hotel, very stylish. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. There was a bath in the bathroom! Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but it looked very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, decent spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the hotel to walk around Genoa, you will find it is not a safe or very good area.

    Amazing hotel, decent spa. Staff was very kind to leave champagne for my birthday celebration. Close to train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't realise the hotel is located nearer the 'edge' of the city so most of the tourist attractions (i.e the palaces and museums) are situated further into/across the city.

    A beautiful hotel, ornately decorated in a traditional style. The room was to the side of the hotel so surprisingly quiet considering Genoa seems to buzz at night! Super comfy bed with tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar (paid) Loved the balcony for people watching and the bath tub for a relaxing soak after a busy day. The roof is amazing, although we didn't use the hot tub - it certainly looked luxurious! The spa is simple but effective - guests pay an extra fee to use it however. Hotel is conveniently located for a few lovely cafes, chocolate shop, a gelateria and an amazing Focacceria!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    I would stay there again. Close to old section of city - not close to great shopping
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The desk and hotel service people seemed understaffed and did not communicate well with each other. Always ask for the head person and do not accept "we will get back to you immediately or shortly, we will take care of it" - in most cases, it will be forgotten - or handed to another person who is too busy to take care of any issue you might have.

    Rooms are on small side but very pretty - have a sense of "old world" about them - and we were on the courtyard side so it was quiet (no view but the drapes are very pretty. Bathrooms are updated and very nice. Bar is small but nice, a few ancillary rooms with sense of history. Breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We will stay here again on a return visit to Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room!! Excellent breakfast. Location is perfect - it is across the road from the train station. Buses at train station offer regular transfers to airport. A short walk to centro storico and other tourist attractions. Fabulous restaurants all close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    One more problem - I was charge different price for each of two days I stayed... i noticed later
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have suddenly come back to my clean /after morning cleaning service had been done/ room - and have found a service man there looking under my pillows ...?... /even my tV was on and lights are on/ This was very confusing for him to see me - as I should be in the massage room... He couldn't explained to me what he was doing in the room and just said - "we are checking here" I said : the room is clean and tV is on and lights are on - I am in the room and I didn't ask any help or service - what are you checking?...? He left the room and when I told about this sit on the reception they told me just to write an e-mail... nothing has disappeared from my room but I didn't feel safe there anymore...:(

    Interior ; location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Good overall. Decent value & good location to explore surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit too small & dark. Some of the paintwork could do with touching up.

    Breakfast on the terrace. The old world charm of the lounge area. Proximity to railway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel, very helpful and professional staff, lovely room. Loved this hotel, located one minute from train station in central location. Decor in the hotel and room is sumptuous and comfortable. Benedetta and Giacomo on reception gave us great tips and advice and were so helpful - thank-you. Fantastic Buffet breakfast enormous variety including some organic. Eating breakfast on the terrace on the 7th floor looking out over the City was an absolute pleasure. Would definitely love to go back sometime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in the not so nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We do have some experience staying in 5-star hotels. This one doesn't make 5 star impression. The surrounding does contribute to it. Proximity to the port doesn't help either. At the checkin few very loud Russians behaved quite aggressively, which even scared us a bit.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was very good. The room was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.2
    5 stars nowhere to be seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is virtually no service. Generally the hotel is old and not maintained well. Rooms are dark with old furniture and generally run down. Rooms are not really clean either. The upstairs restaurant / bar area is totally under-invested and under-managed. It seems that everyone working here is an occasional worker. This is more of a 3Stars rather than 5Stars Hotel. Would definitely not come back.

    Good location, conveniently located right next to the train station. Check-in staff is nice and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Rooms are nice, well furnished and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad staff Not attentive or helpful We wanted to extend and asked for the rate from hotel Gave us a rate and they spoke Italian to each other and increased the rate on us right there and we were given a rate much higher than booking at the time. Breakfast not a 5 star and bad coffee Long distance to downtown

    Rooms are nice, well furnished and comfortable beds Close to train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I would definitely stay there if back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I liked the location, just over the train station, the welcoming ice cream given to us upon arrival, the friendly reception staff, the rooms the breakfast and the view, everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great staff and excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with great staff and excellent location right in front of train station and within walking distance to old town. The Royal palace is 2 minutes walk away. Onsite restaurant on the terrace is also excellent and so is breakfast - worth including it in the booking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very good, The cleaning of the room impecable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very good, The cleaning of the room impecable, the staff is very friendly, The breakfast room gives an awesome view and the whirlpool on the 7th floor with the sunset is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Savoia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: