Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Sofia 4 stars

Via Confalonieri Snc, 96017 Noto, Italy

#11 of 15 hotels in Noto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 598 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one night we arrived only to find the carpark totally overflowing due to a function being held at the hotel and we had to go to the Centro Storico until a parking place emptied, at around midnight. Will keep it in mind to ask about events so we can plan the day better. Obviously this small inconvenience will not deter us from staying at Grand Hotel Sofia !

    Spotlessly clean, lovely and friendly staff, abundant breakast, amazing food and service in the restaurant, very spacious and airy rooms, quiet area yet very close to centre of Noto.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    Budget hotel at Best but not in price. Better places around as we found out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service at pool and you have to go outside of the hotel and around the corner by the service facilities to get there. Really poor atmosphere, we had a basement room with a view of the car park.. Def not 4 star standard. 2-3 at best.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other places we stayed in Sicily it lacked charm as it was a big hotel. But I was looking for a place with a parking and pool in Noto which is what I got so it did the job. I will note that it is 15 min walk uphill from the Center which was fine for us but may not be for everyone.

    The room was clean, spacious with a big terrasse. It had a big parking and the pool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Very clean, fresh and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first the air cinditioning was not set properly but then came to fix it as we complained abd worked perfectly all the time. The nearest beach is far away and you can only go by car, we got a ride from the staff hotel but you have to pay as taxi (40 euro return). It is not in the center of the city but a 10 min walk you can reach it. The restaurant at the hotel is too expensive for dinner or lunch, and the restaurant staff very unfriendly. Due to the distance to the city is quite isolated for going out to dinner once you are back from a long beach day, that i found not very convenient esoecially with young kids and no car.

    Very clean, fresh and quiet. The pool area is quite cozy and family friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, kids loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can be a bit noisy. While the rain shower is great, you’ll be rudely awakened when the room next to you decides to use it.

    Great breakfast, from scrambled eggs and toast to a rich selection of Italian pastry. Very good! The pool is a real treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    An amazing stay in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The first day we reported a non-functional safe and was not repaired by the end of the stay. but that's just a little thing.

    We were totally satisfied. The hotel was clean, clean daily, breakfast was excellent, a great selection of everything from pastries to sausages, cheeses, olives, tomatoes fresh, dried, in olive oil to a huge selection of sweet pastries. If someone does not choose, I wonder what he's eating at home! All the staff were nice, Wifi was absolutely no problem. The hotel was quiet, twice a week there was an event down in the dining room, but the noise was minimal. The location of the hotel is ideal for trips to the surrounding cities such as Syracuse, Modica, Ragusa, Catania. All cities are worth seeing. Evening walks around Noto with dinner at local ristorante will be a lifelong memorial. The icing on the cake is a wonderful pool, the water was very pleasant and in the full season we were mostly alone. The hotel has a very nice design and it is Italian elegance. I hope we will ever come back again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with pool in central Noto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change rooms a couple of times due to technical issues but the staff were super helpful and upgraded us in the end. Hotel is very warm in common areas and bedrooms which haven't been used for a while are very hot and take time to cool down with the aircon. Weddings can be held on the weekend can be noisy so be sure to ask if something is going on and ask for a room on the opposite side.

    Large hotel with a swimming pool a short walk from the historic center of Noto. From what I could tell, no other hotel in the city center has a pool. Good to cool off during the day before heading into town. Friendly staff, eager to help resolve problems. Nice salt water swimming pool with sunny and shaded areas to relax. Nice lunch menu with a good selection. Great water pressure in the showers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    The pool was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows provided were too hard and uncomfortable. Also, whilst the pool was lovely, the lack of a poolside bar was felt. There was no information in our room (breakfast times, places of interest) that one might expect, though an information table was by reception.

    The pool was nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay there again our next time to noto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a better wine selection in the lobby bar. Had to settle for a beer at first as there was only half bottle of wine that had gone bad. There was much communication needed with the restaurant to get a good bottle of wine that we could purchase in the lobby bar

    Great location! Short walk to main Avenue of Noto.. Beautiful pool. Great balcony from my room overlooking the countryside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Poor value for money and the unfriendliest hotel we stayed at in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were indifferent and could not (would not?) help with local information. The hotel was Spartan, verging on the bleak. The location was good for us as we like walking and don't mind hills, but the walk into Noto could be challenging for some. If you didn't want to start the day with sweet pastries or tinned fruit in syrup it was difficult to find enough to eat for breakfast. The coffee was totally undrinkable. Our first night sleeping was fine as the coach tour in the hotel was from Saga. However, on our last night we were surrounded on all sides and in the rooms above by a coach tour of teenagers. It was extremely noisy. It also seemed to us that the breakfast buffet was set up for the coach tours and after they had eaten they did not replenish anything, including the hot water. I would not recommend this hotel for the money we paid to be there. It does not deserve its star rating.

    The hotel was easy to find as it is so ugly and parking was free and plentiful. The bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. The hotel was very clean, but it smelt of too many chemical cleaning agents.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    - big, clean & quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    - big, clean & quiet room - big bathroom - very comfortable bed - tasty and varied breakfast - very important in Italy : big and secure parking - close to the old city center (15 minutes walking) We liked the hotel very much, we would come back anytime. RECOMMENDED!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    Don't be put off by the hideous sofa in the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa in reception area. It's a bit out of the way. Surrounding area a bit like a building site.

    Don't be put off by the hideous sofa in the reception area. Rooms nicer. Pool is a massive perk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice swimmingpool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, in the restaurant and at the pool. Very uncomfortable 4th bed. Kind but ridicoulous: getting 1 drink for free, but we were four. They wanted us to drink from plastic glasses at the breakfast. The room was noisy, only with 3 chairs.

    Nice swimmingpool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    A tranquil hotel just a few minutes away from a beautiful historic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add.

    The Hotel is close to the city center and hence during our stay we did not need to use to any form of transport. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in Noto
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything accept the hill up to Noto.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room lovely and clean and beds very comfortable. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Th hotel has huge spaces and although it is modern and light, it looks a bit "socialistic" in style and design. Could look more welcoming. They should serve brown bread a breakfast (given that this is a 4-star).

    Location was very good, walking distance to Naro's historical centre. Very clean and big rooms. Friendly and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location (10-15 min walking to the city centre), nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looked a little old, we expected it to be a little nicer for 4 star hotel and for its price.

    Good location (10-15 min walking to the city centre), nice staff, good breakfast, comfortable bed, balcony, spacious bathroom. There was a swimming pool, but we didn´t have time to try it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is situated on the outside of Noto so we had to go to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is situated on the outside of Noto so we had to go to Noto with our car. Staying there was ok, breakfast was great, if you like sweets then there is a lot of options for you. Everything we ate was good. We stayed during the summer so we could enjoy swimming pool while drinking Aperol Spritz (you get one free drink when you come which was nice).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely 4-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was a little temperamental and didn't work very well in our room but was mostly fine in reception.

    Within walking distance of central Noto. We were lucky enough to have a larger room than most which was lovely! Breakfast was great - a large choice of pastries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a little problematic at times, dropping in and out.

    This hotel is set in a nice location only ten minutes walk away from the historical centre of Noto and within easy driving distance to Syracuse, Ragusa and Modica. The rooms were larger then expected and very clean, providing everything needed. Staff were friendly and helpful when required and assisted quickly when we had wifi issues. Great pool with plenty of sunbeds and a small bar, was pretty quiet for the duration of our stay. Over all a very good hotel for the money and with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel which could be awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco in our room was not cutting it despite two attempts at fixing it by the staff. I was expecting a gym but there wasn't one. Not all staff was informed about all services, like pool side bites: we were informed the kitchen was closed even though it was open for salads, sandwiches etcetera. Some staff also didn't seem to speak any other languages. Most other times service was excellent though. Menu is limited with no variation which means for longer stays you'll eat items twice. There was no trip planning aid: I was hoping for some ideas for day trips but they didn't have anything like this, nor did there seem to be a booking service. Music in the restaurant was too loud and the playlist was very limited, during your meal you'll hear the same song 2 or 3 times and it's the same playlist every day. Wellness didn't seem to be open even though they offer it on the website.

    Excellent location with great views. City centre is a short walk away. Large rooms with balcony and clothes drying rack. Good food. Nice bar. Awesome large clean pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    The aircondition did not work properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircondition did not work properly. The hotel manager promised me that he would send a technician to fix it but he never appeared. The furniture needs renovation. The wi-fi didn't work at the first floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Room with a pool. Good breakfast..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property lacked personality. It was a little bit bland and could have benefited with a little more Italian flare.

    It was very clean and all staff were very nice and helpful. Overall it was a pleasant experience. Also we had arrived late and the kitchen was still open and our waiter was more than happy to serve us at an unsocialble hour. Which made us feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with great facilities and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable hotel with great facilities and welcoming staff. Lovely big room with high ceilings. Balcony, though view uninspiring! Only 10mins walk from central Noto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    V comfortable standard hotel with pool and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    800m walk to Noto medival centre on a very hot day but to be honest you wouldnt get the parking and the pool otherwise. It also justified the amazing ice cream! Noto is well worth a visit, we loved it.

    Very comfortable spacious rooms. Nice pool. Parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.4
    If you need Wifi, stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a very, very strange vibe about it. It almost seemed abandoned at times. They do seem to cater to large tour groups of older retirees. The biggest complaint is the abhorrent internet ("internet"). The WiFi wouldn't reach to the rooms on the outer perimeter (the router was centrally located and it appeared there was only one), and then when you did get service outside of the your room the download speeds were between 1-2 Mbps with intermittent performance. For us -- travellers without cell service -- we rely on nightly internet for communication, planning, etc. This, for us, makes this hotel a dealbreaker. The staff didn't seem too concerned about it as well, most likely because of their normal clientele (see above).

    The price point was certainly good, and the parking/check-in easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.5
    Poor and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was nice....once I struggled via three lifts two staircases and via the dining room ....and had to complain as workmen were making a lot of noise shouting at each other...I think one was smoking too

    Not much ...firstly, we asked for a quiet room and were given one directly facing a main road with a view of a concrete apartment block. Woken by traffic noise at 6am. Secondly, the magagement is very poor and write offensive notices on the lifts /elevators...most of which do not work. Thirdly, this place is very poorly planned and signed...the only way to the pool is through the dining room. Fourthly, went down to breakfast and we were asked by the staff to move rooms and tables three times ...because their organisation is poor....and the staff seem to think it is perfectly OK to shout to each other across a large room...it seems they don't notice there are guests who paid to be there. If you are not in a group which is booked in here en masse strongly suggest you avoid it...it is seriously overpriced for the poor customer service it provides.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Modern spacious hotel on edge of town, with car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern spacious hotel on edge of town, with car parking. Attracts bus tours, conferences etc. Good restaurant, but difficult to locate at first. Swimming pool and loungers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expected a better place for the prices charged...

    nice size rooms - staff very helpful - WiFi a bit hit & miss - clean - decent enough breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the room was basically inexistent! Since we needed to work, which required connection to the internet this point was quite important for us. After realizing that internet in the room was basically inexistent we went to the person in the reception kindly exposing our need of internet to work and asking to be changed to other room available (which we previously checked on the booking and around that several rooms were empty and available). The person told us coldly that was not possible..that they were fully booked. When I exposed that we checked on booking that there were equal rooms available he then unkindly said that those were saved for the quota for booking and there was nothing he could do. No single effort was made in order to solve our problem. As a result of this unkind behavior we needed to sit on the corridor with the computer during night so that we could accomplish our work duties. Extremely unpleasant and unkind. Since it was written that wi-fi was available in all areas of the hotel - otherwise we would never have booked that hotel!!! The rooms were extremely big, which could be a big plus, but since there was not any carpet on the floor it becomes sterile and not cosy. The big round bed give it a strange environment (particularly when traveling with work friends)...Moreover, the room was absolutely not sound proofed and was extremely noisy in the morning. The view was to the street and on the low floor (while specifically requested preference for a room on the upper floors). In general the hotel looks quite old-fashioned. The swimming pool outside looked quite ok. Breakfast equally disappointing (staff of breakfast was nice though). All in all, not the greatest experience..

    possibility to park the car big room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.1
    Great choices for breakfast (for italian standards).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite a bit piteous / joyless. Big, long empty hallways. For our taste very ugly design in the rooms and a bit of a sad view from most of the rooms. But still a very good option if you want to stay in Noto near the center and you like a pool at your hotel.

    Great choices for breakfast (for italian standards). Good bed. Swimming pool. City center is a 10 minute walk

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money but noisy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were talking to/shouting at each other while cleaning the rooms but the rooms were 3 doors away from each other! So impossible to have a lie - in and we were awaken at 8.30 am.

    Lovely room. Great shower and very good breakfast. Didn't try the pool but it looked very clean. Great view from breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Good find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness centre closed at the weekend. 15 minute walk to the centre.

    Breakfast was limited, good cakes, but eggs were poor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Complimentary fruit and prosecco together with our Junior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Internal rooms need more care. - Lights were not working - AC was dipping

    Complimentary fruit and prosecco together with our Junior suite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    It is in the edge of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is in the edge of the town...a 20 minute walk from the centre of Noto.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Location for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soul

    Location for the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Good stay again at the Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, car park, swimming pool, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast(service)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast(service)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Rooms spacious, good beds, very nice pool, good value (late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms spacious, good beds, very nice pool, good value (late October anyway), friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Nice stay near to the beach and historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place close to the centre and beach. Ideal forNice swiming pool. And lovely breakfast. Personal was very polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Spacious rooms and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work, a big minus for us.

    Spacious rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nil

    perfect stay. will go back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nil

    perfect stay. will go back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not very good and the staff very slow.

    Excellent large rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection very poor

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Modern hotel, near city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for coffee from waiter at breakfast, the stuff in the urns is Guk😝😝

    Location, pool, room size and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Staying at Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was hit & miss- food & plates not replaced after large group left

    Bedroom was lovely, pool was great.parking also good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    It's a huge hotel located in walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a huge hotel located in walking distance from the old town of Noto. The room is clean and comfy. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Have a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room. Huge breakfast and very good location 10 minutes walk from downtown.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    two night stopover in Noto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor and overall there is a bit of an empty feel

    rooms are spacious and staff though few in number are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice bed and huge bathroom with bathtub. The bed was comfortable and we had a very large balcony. The staff was nice and good breakfast :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    Big modern hotel in walking distance to the historical town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt stoppers under the acrylic chairs would reduce shuffling noise.

    Big modern hotel in walking distance to the historical town center of Noto. Rooms are modern, clean and roomy, coming with a nice balcony. A proper full breakfast is served. The hotel has many rooms, also being used by groups of travellers. There was no disturbing noise. Free parking is available on site.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Location to colleseum is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only negative is we booked this hotel expecting pizza and wine happy hour in the evening which they don't actually do anymore. Not sure if its a summer time only thing but this wasntmade clear before booking and would have been nice to have know.

    Location to colleseum is great. 5 stops on the tube and your there. Loved the relaxed friendly feel about the hotel. They really couldnt do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    10
    Traveling with a disabled person we found large clean aces...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Being off season , but still very warm, pity we could not have access to the pool area...I am sure much more guests would have loved to use it.

    Traveling with a disabled person we found large clean aces sable rooms , friendly staff....location was good with easy parking...

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff was amazing, offering a solution for every one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning is too small for size of the room and takes a lot of time to make it comfortable.

    The staff was amazing, offering a solution for every one of our requests. the pool is very nice, and the rooms are big and welcome. breakfest was very good and offered alot of types of food for everyones taste. (5 travelers). the hotel parking is very useful and free.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.7
    Great sized room - very clean & very quiet even when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All but very few of the staff were unfriendly. The one evening meal we had at the hotel was terrible - tough meat, not what we ordered, & main course was delivered before we'd finished our starter, which they attempted to take away before we'd finished!

    Great sized room - very clean & very quiet even when evening functions were taking place below our room.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast was good although coffee was in poor quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bidet wasn't working in our room and instead of giving us another room, reception sent a repair man to our room to repair it. It wasn't very comfortable being in room while someone is breaking down our bathroom. Location is far enough from town center to need a ride but there was no taxi service available - receptionist called couple of taxi drivers and noone was available to serve us. In general not what you would expect from 4* hotel.

    Breakfast was good although coffee was in poor quality and taste

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    5.0
    The friendliness of the reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first room we were given didn't have a locking patio door, the workman took away the remnants of door locking system.The second room we were given had no door locking system either, so the 2 workmen this time set about drilling and fixing to the window a hook and eye fastening and seemed to be pleased with the outcome. I also found out later the if you pushed our corridor door hard enough that also unlocked. We overlooked a significant railway network system directly behind the pool not seen on any official photos. We awoke in the night to the sound of dripping and found the bathroom ceiling to have a significant leak and large 20cm approx hanging droplets held up there only by the paint on the ceiling The hotel seemed very tired. The pool area didn't look like the photos and appeared very shabby. We booked nine nights and stayed only one. This is no reflection on Noto, it's a beautiful city

    The friendliness of the reception staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    We loved the position of the hotel, the rooms, the friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately we could not get our three rooms all on the same floor as we requested. Moreover, one room had only a bathtub with no curtain so the bathroom was constantly flooded after showering. As a personal suggestion to the hotel, they should redesign their banner as well as the one from the bar to better meet the style of their nice building. Furthermore, they should exchange all those terrible A4 papers showing the way to the breakfast and sticking to the walls with more elegant plates.

    We loved the position of the hotel, the rooms, the friendly staff. The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast good and rich.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    -Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -I did not realize where the minibar was exactly located until my last day. It was a really shame because we had to throw away a lot of food. -Value for money could be better, it was fine but in my honest opinion it should not be rated as a 4 star Hotel. (Three-star category should be better for the hotel in order to meet further expectations).

    -Breakfast was great! Also "Paolo" working as barman was totally helpful and nice! -Location was good, really closeby from the city centre and from the beaches as well.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were really helpful, the hotel had everything you could want and it is situated within a five minute walk of Noto town.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Superbly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences with the hotel itself. Noto is a 2 or 3 day stop. It is about 1200 m to the centre from the hotel. The hotel itself is excellent but limited but what the city offers.

    Superbly clean. Hard working helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Every person working there was incredibly friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walk to Noto centre is 20minutes, which felt just a bit longer than we realise suits us.

    Every person working there was incredibly friendly & helpful. We started in a room with unattractive view and on asking to be moved the staff bent over backwards to do this for us as soon as was possible. We were moved to a gorgeous room, enormous bed, view of pool and generally wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.9
    Great swimming pool, perfect for end of day to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi poor in rooms. a/c in room 102 wasn't working well. A bit of a way to get to pool and breakfast room.

    Great swimming pool, perfect for end of day to relax. Cleanliness. Close distance to Noto.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    There was a lovely big pool with plenty of sun loungers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay in Noto was too short

    There was a lovely big pool with plenty of sun loungers. The staff were very helpful and we requested a late checkout which the manager readily agreed too. Room with balcony looking at the pool and countryside

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Large comfortable room, nice receptions area, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not great, terrible coffee, no care or attention to making the dining room and layout of the buffet look inviting

    Large comfortable room, nice receptions area, helpful receptionist

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    Reception and breakfast staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant staff at dinner served ham & chips for local antipasto - not until they were challenged was any other antipasti brought to the table.good

    Reception and breakfast staff very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Caters mainly for coach tours. On one occasion a party of teenagers kept us awake until 4am. The doors are constantly slamming.

    Comfortable and clean room. Good location with parking

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    Easy to find, a lot of space to park the car (and it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were issues with the door key - it was resolved quite quickly, but it still cost several visits to reception. WiFi was not working in the morning. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the center of the city.

    Easy to find, a lot of space to park the car (and it's free). Friendly staff, they speak in English fluently (which is not always the case in Sicily). Nice and big room, swimming pool outside.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    7.9
    Leave your car in the park and walk in 12 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leave your car in the park and walk in 12 min. to the Royal gate of Noto. We had a pretty large room (and balcony) with comfortable beds and a good shower; although the room was on the street side we had no problems with any noise. The large cyclists' party was no nuisance at all. The breakfast buffet was quite varied and supplemented all the time. The dinner we had one evening was reasonable with regard to quality and price. In all, a good place for a memorable visit to the beautiful baroque city of Noto. We didn't use the outside-pool [in March] but it looked nice and well kept.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    On the very edge of town but an easy walk to historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At breakfast there was no one to direct us and there were 2 rooms and 2 buffets. The wait staff was running back and forth to the kitchen constantly. After we got food and sat down we were told by the head waiter in no uncertain terms that we had taken the wrong food and sat in the wrong place (although it was the same place we had sat for dinner the night before). It was better the next morning when we asked someone where we could sit. This hotel seemed to cater to tour groups and we were lost in the crowds at breakfast much to our dismay. Except for this one incident all staff were terrific.

    On the very edge of town but an easy walk to historic district. Easy parking so we gladly left the car to walk and bought oranges of many types on the way from a shop and a vendor. The front desk staff were very very friendly and helpful with directions to the Natural Area as well as to the town. The bar tender was awesome, welcoming when we were the only patrons and sending us to our room with snacks and glasses for our wine. He went beyond the expected and we appreciated him a lot.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    3.8
    parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Do not go to this hotel. firstly the hotel is very very cold. the staff restaurant are absolutely not interested in clients. the restaurant was freezing. we ordered chicken cotoletta and twice they served us raw chicken which we sent back. although they said they will not charge us for the dish we sent back they still charged us Euro8 for french fries (which are part of the dish!) simply disgusting attitude. I never had such a treatment in Sicily. during breakfast the girl attending was just interested to play with her mobile phone instead of attending guests. it's a pity that such establishments are allowed to operate.

    parking

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    4.2
    New and vast spaces
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and very noisy room.

    New and vast spaces

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: