Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Paestum 4 stars

Via Laura, 201, 84063 Paestum, Italy

#18 of 31 hotels in Paestum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Price/quality relation was unacceptable and Italian 'nouveaux riches' are pitiful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was very poor, room service was non-existent (orders on doorhanger were neglected), matress was too hard, food in restaurant was terrible. TV signal was unstable, as was the electricity.

    The beautiful garden and the swimming pools.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Ok value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms might be outdated

    Nice hotel in very nice surroundings especially to the hotel. However the room smelled smoke despite we requested a room for non smoking. The staff at the desk were nice and friendly. The area located to the hotel get a top rating. The rooms are "outdated". The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for your stay in Paestum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito nets at the window would be a good idea, we were molested by some during the night. Breakfast was a bit scarce (just some sweet pastries, juice and coffee). However, OK for just 5€ pP. Personal hygiene items in the room very basic. Just one thin, skimpy blanket for a double bed to share.

    Modern, big conference hotel with adjacent park. Quiet location. Spacious, freshly renovated room with large bathroom, generous cupboard. Bright breakfast room. Everything spotless and well maintained. Good value for money. Friendly, attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Although the hotel was very good, it was too quiet at the time we went(October)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's miles from anywhere - we took the free bike hire option but if you don't ride a bike you really need a car. if you go out of season, as we did, almost everything is closed. The sheets on the bed were scratchy - not a big gripe but irritating.

    The hotel was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The free bike hire was a much needed bonus. The hotel grounds are lovely and very extensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Hotel in a very historic part of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One miniature flat screen tv in a room that was sized for a 50" tv. No tv in the living room, and poor WiFi.

    We were upgraded to a suite, which was the size of our apartment in Florida.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice big hotel with a nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited in april and the indoor pool felt as cold as the outdoor pool.

    Nice big hotel with a nice garden. Friendly staff. Very close too the greek tempels, which was the only reason we stayed. There is ABSOLUTLY NOTHING in the town. The breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Close to Paestum (driving 5 minutes)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Off season, in March, No indoor pool, breakfast terrible, the whole hotel under renovation for the season, this should be advertised to Booking !!

    Close to Paestum (driving 5 minutes)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    A Good Choice During Offseason
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff (Mirella) was very helpful with local advice and restaurant recommendations. She has made our stay comfortable and easy. Otherwise the hotel is of very good quality with large rooms, spacious bathroom and good position for exploring Cenlento and the ruins. Definitely recommended (save for breakfast, which is not to crave for).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel but disappointed in lack of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The indoor pool and hot tub were closed until later in the year (possible June according to staff and then dependent on the amount of guests). We booked this hotel as it had these facilities and were very disappointed. The hotel restaurant was closed (out of season). Breakfast was inadequate (and served in our room on the second day as the breakfast room was closed, so no choice of food). We paid for a suite and there were no bathrobes which one would expect as standard. The room was very cold when we arrived as there was no heating but we put the air-conditioning on (heat mode) so it warmed up later. The bed was not very comfortable.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and ordered a pizza for us on our second night as their restaurant was closed until later in the year.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Comfortable Modern Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel uses a strange WiFi system that requires you to have an Italian Mobile Phone to enable you to log-on to it!!! – They clearly don’t cater for foreign guests with roaming on their mobile!!

    Check-in staff were friendly, helpful and informative. Nice clean, spacious room that is well set out for the traveler. The bed was very comfortable. We were here in winter & the air-conditioning kept our room lovely & warm. Good breakfast. Easy to find hotel that is reasonably close to the archaeological park. Free onsite parking. As we could not access their free in-room WiFi – they gave us a room close to the reception so that we could access the free reception WiFi. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    3.3
    This is never never never a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is never never never a 5 star hotel. Bad smell in the room, window was broken, breakfast is served in the cellar on tables fo 10 people, it is so impersonal that holiday feeling can not come on. It is the first time that I recommand booking user to avoid an hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful, quiet hotel to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take a taxi from the train station to the hotel - it's quite a walk and there's not a pavement the whole way (and it's hot!).

    Beautiful, quiet hotel in large grounds with lovely indoor and outdoor pools. Hotel provides towels for the pool if you ask. Free bike hire so easy to ride to the ruins and nearby buffalo farm (amazing mozzarella lunch, ice cream and wine). Very short walk to sandy beach with clear, warm sea. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Free Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Very poor WiFi.

    Free Parking. Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Staff very firnedly and qualified, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    far away from the center

    Staff very firnedly and qualified, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    5.4
    Személyzet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reggeli( poor breakfast), felszereltség( no facilities) No ala cart restaurant It is not a five star hotel,almost 4!

    Személyzet. (Staff)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Everything apart from location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location not too good for nearby restaurants/bars if you don't have a car

    Everything apart from location

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Browse Grand Hotel Paestum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: