Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel & SPA-Terme di Castrocaro 4 stars

Via Roma 2, 47011 Castrocaro Terme, Italy

#2 of 17 hotels in Castrocaro Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1109 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    Not that Grand at all
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    -I had a sleepless night as the room was facing a noisy street,so I was listening to dogs barking and people shouting till about 2am. -The breakfast was a bit disappointing,no fresh juices in sight,limited choice of pretty much anything apart from pastries and the service was extremely slow,we`ve been waiting for our coffee for about 15min and had to remind the waiter twice. -The lifts system is very confusing,you can only get to certain rooms via certain lifts,then have to walk through the main lobby and take another lift depending on your room location.

    -Hotel is very impressive inside with high ceilings and large halls. -It also has a good park as part of its territory -Comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.2
    I wouldn't recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    construction works inside of the hotel start at 7am, really-really noisy. we came to breakfast at 9am, no omelet, no still water, even no clean table, according to the hotel rules it finishes at 10am. Our last day there was no electricity and ho hot water. last 3 days there was no internet. I don't recommend this place.

    SPA, parking and the hotel place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, all in all good, but devil is in detail.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was looking like high end, but they had buffet of appetizers. Toilet papers was extremely cheap almost a transparent film of paper. Breakfast was starting at 7 but I had to call the service at 7:10 to have a coffee, croissant arrived at 7:15. Eggs were dry and bacon boiled from the warming container. Small things I wouldn't have noticed in a place with a more budget attitude, but I would have expected more from a place of this level.

    Extremely high end location, for a reasonable price. Staff is extremely helpful, in particular the guy driving you from the parking lot to the hotel. Room are ok, AC is noisy but ok for the room. Devil is in details, so a little more attention to it might turn this place in a first class place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    design and atmosphere, super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed a little short.

    room not big but comfortable, lovely spa and swimming pool, amazing garden and hotel atmisfere. Breakfast abundant, good quality and fresh food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a very enjoyable time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were small, no chair, difficult to find somewhere for the cases. We were all on the top floor and it looked and felt a bit 'tired'

    Beautiful setting, interesting hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    On the upside breakfast was nice if you have a sweet tooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a hotel built in 1938 by Mussolini which up until a few months ago (!!!) still had a Mussolini suite. The "grand" days of the hotel are long over. We have been using booking.com for many years and this was the biggest disappointment we have ever had. The rating on the page is usually accurate but in this case the hotel was nowhere close to the rating it boasts. The hotel is run down and smelly, the rooms are very, very old, beds uncomfortable and squeaky with worn out mattresses, decor very dated, dark and unwelcoming. The bathroom in our room used to be spectacular but was now in corners covered with black mold. The beautiful outdoor swimming pool you can see in the pictures is closed and very dirty. The spa downstairs is dark, dirty and very creepy. I regretted having booked a non-refundable option as i would have liked to leave immediately and go to any other of the less expensive and much nicer hotels in the region. Almost of the staff does not speak any foreign languages - and we tried English, German, French and Spanish.

    On the upside breakfast was nice if you have a sweet tooth.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A 'must stay'!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel. We had a luxury few days here. The rooms were spacious, clean and well presented as were all the common spaces. The spa was gorgeous with access to all thermal rooms and pools. The treatments were lovely (of course not included in the price). The staff were really nice and nothing was too much to ask for. Breakfast was also really good! Would definitely stay again and recommend you to go.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Luxury hotel run on the cheaper side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly large but the bathroom looked like the one you would find in an ospice, bedsheets were ok, but the polyester blanket was beyond terrible

    Location, SPA, bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Really nice atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - small shower compared to the huge bathroom - breakfast was not up to standards, empty trays were not replaced and emtpy plates not removed

    - lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel and surroundings - great solarium for chilling and sunbathing, kind staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Value for Money - Large and comfortable rooms/Great Spa Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given that its a spa, they could outline more healthy and gluten/dairy free options. However, they were accommodating when I called room service each time to get something gluten free.

    Great value for money and wonderful spa facilities although they need to get rid of one of the spa receptionists - the one with scary colored contacts who is slightly rude and a bit useless

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, extended our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is slow with a weak signal. In a way it's good, so you can detach yourself from work and email. The breakfast was alright, some of the courses at dinner required some getting used to, but plenty of choices to choose from. Turned out to be difficult to find out what wellness and spa services were actually included in the price.

    The hotel is an absolute gem. Lovely architecture, wonderful park and fantastic staff. Had a nice view from the terrace (recommend the executive room with balcony/terrace) to the surrounding hills and park. Very good fitness room for our needs. Some staff spoke mainly Italian, but were always extremely friendly and anticipated our needs really well. We extended our stay for the whole week and skipped Tuscany altogether. If looking for peace and relaxation, this is the place. Very genuine, very friendly, very Italian. Especially the outdoor pool area was a wonderful mix of locals and hotel guests, with very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the whole place and will definitely come back and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Great Art Deco spa.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in restaurant was overpriced and small portions. Not good value.

    Brilliant little terme spa. Access once per day. Great jazz with sax on some nights (duet Michele were great) at the bar. Beautifully restored Art Deco hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic Art Deco features and a brilliant spa facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic Art Deco features and a brilliant spa facility.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The location and the architecture of the house
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THe SPA is not big enough.

    The location and the architecture of the house

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Its quite old place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite old place. The lobby looks nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No steam iron for shirt.

    Clean and beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Room cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way to the SPA was a bit tricky ...but they where working on it .

    Unbelievable experience, unless you hate the BAUHAUS kind of architecture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful place and very spacious, comfortable and clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place and very spacious, comfortable and clean, SPA center has a variety of relaxing baths. So, very good experience)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    the Spa la actually fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Spa la actually fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service at restaurant and bad organization for client needs

    food quality furniture atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    The SPA area was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA area was wonderful. Very relaxing. Location was close to the beautiful old down. For the breakfast there was a great choice of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Un weekend di vero Relax all'insegna del lusso.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was not so soft and confortable, and one more pillow would be appreciated.

    The furnitures and the artistic environment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Spacious rooms, cleenes
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, cleenes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    One of the most beautiful hotels Ive ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and the room a bit small.

    One of the most beautiful hotels Ive ever stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    I could't try Terme & Spa for reason of time and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could't try Terme & Spa for reason of time and guess that was the plus of the hotel. Comfortable bed, fiendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful thermal area, wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful thermal area, wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    we had half board excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    we had half board excellent value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place to stay. Big clean rooms. Amazing staff. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice Structure with good service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Structure with good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel we great qualities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful property. I really enjoyed the architecture and landscape.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Anniversario
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lo staff la location e la Spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    The property was beautiful, the staff was helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was beautiful, the staff was helpful and the spa was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    in the room there was a sound of tapping water all 24 hours...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in the room there was a sound of tapping water all 24 hours that was annoying!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Top Thermalwasser
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna und Thermalbecken klein

    Top Thermalwasser

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Hotel itself very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful, children are not allowed to enter the pool. Children's pool closed during winter period.

    Hotel itself very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful park, must come back in spring!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great park, very good breakfast buffet, clean, very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Loved the location and the hotel is impressive, a truly...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I slept so poorly! Mattress were very umcomfortable and the pillow too!

    Loved the location and the hotel is impressive, a truly example of late 30s architecture. Very elegant. Good breakfast, GF muffins available on request. Beautiful garden and park, great outdoor area to have a drink. Spacious bathroom, impeccablly clean

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Everything. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The staff were extremely helpful. We loved having our dinner and breakfast on the veranda, we enjoyed all the facilities in the Wellness Centre, spent hours at the outdoor pool, and also played mini golf in the park. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    6.3
    The decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor customer service with no smile on arrival nor apologies for leaving us waiting. Bar service during the day almost non existant. No iron or kettle in bedroom and asked to wait a day for my clothes that I needed for dinner that evening. Completely different to the service we would expect from a four star hotel in Ireland!!

    The decor!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Location, garden, choice of wine in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiters and barmen are of no star level. Poor English, very poor knowledge of wine served. Barmen attention to the client is not sufficient. To obtain wi-fi have to re-logine every time.

    Location, garden, choice of wine in the restaurant. Interiors of common areas. Spa zone is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Park, internal luxury decor, thermal facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    car parking is far with complicated access, no enough staff

    Park, internal luxury decor, thermal facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic hotel, beautiful architecture and interior design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic hotel, beautiful architecture and interior design. Spa was wonderful too!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Grand Hotel & SPA-Terme di Castrocaro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: