Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Tritone 4 stars

via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy

#13 of 20 hotels in Praiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 565 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a persistent offensive drainage smell in the ensuite of the main bedroom. The staff were most helpful in trying to alleviate this problem insisting that this was fixed, however it was not.

    The location was amazing. Our interconnecting family suites had a beautiful oversized terrace balcony with a superb view of the beach. The reception staff were lovely and very keen to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I can’t recommend this hotel enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t recommend this hotel enough. Brilliant location with an amazing private beach, beautiful setting and views. Just outside of Positano but easy to get to by car or local bus, which stop just outside the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Beach restaurant serves lovely food and a brilliant breakfast selection each morning with a hotel restaurant for evening meals. Me and my Husband will definitely be coming back to this hotel on our next visit to the beautiful Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Spectacular views & amazing vintage hotel built out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little confusing to get around with all the different levels ....stairs & lifts....but the spectacular views made up for it

    Spectacular views & amazing vintage hotel built out of cliff side

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Amalfi Coast stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would probably help to have a booklet of information outlining details of taxis, water taxis and excursions available. But the staff were amazing at helping give advice.

    Amazing property, the highlight of our Europe trip. Stunning views, wonderful restaurant and bar and did I mention the lift to the private beach and pool!? So easy to get water taxis to Positano/down the coast. We loved our stay and the staff were all so wonderful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very old room furniture - the furniture is a feeling of old stink. The shower is a real disaster. It is not possible to set hot or cold water (room No.110) - because shower is old and broken. The water pressure is really small. The Internet worked really badly. I think that if you pay approx. 410 EUR per night you expect at least normal bathroom conditions!

    beautiful view,really nice place excellent beach bar. generally very good beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    A little piece of heaven!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot find fault with anything but if I had to say one thing then freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast would be great!

    This hotel is absolutely the whole package! Stunning scenery, friendly staff, great breakfast choices, amazing private beach with quieter pool if you so desire and excellent room sizes. Ours had a lovely balcony with sun loungers and table and chairs and overlooked the pool. Bed was very comfortable and plenty of storage space. Shower was brilliant and to be honest I couldn’t fault a thing ...cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    An amazing large hotel with many many levels and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you do not like heights this is not the hotel for you. To go to the beach you either take 2 elevators or one very long and steep stairs that is at some points not secured.

    An amazing large hotel with many many levels and an incredible beach area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay to experience the Amalfi coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected and the decor was a little outdated

    Beautiful sea view, friendly staff and services, superb restaurant and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location,setting and hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location- quiet and private yet close enough to town. Beautiful setting- magnificent views. Hotel staff and facilities were perfect! The only negative was we could not stay longer. The family that owns the hotel were warm and welcoming and Alfonso the manager was helpful and lovely. Can’t say enough great things about this hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fab hotel, would definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel, with a great restaurant, both for dinner and at the pool for lunch. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great to have an area you can jump straight into the sea from the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Superb. Almost out of this earth experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with AC in our room BUT we did like very much the way it was handled.

    Service, location and beach were superb. You recognice great service how surprising situations are handled and are your expectations exceeded. Both came true during our visit! Great staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Great value . Price is super value . Make believe it is a limited service hotel and you will be happ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bkfst staff needs retraining . Beach attendants are terrible and lazy . Restaurant manager at beach excellent . Bartender also good . Need to retrain or replace beach staff

    Beautiful property , lovely private beach . Service lacking in certain areas .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved our stay! It was a highlight on our Amalfi Coast trip and much better than staying in Positano! Here we felt relaxed and refreshed - the pools, the ocean, the rooms and the restaurant + bar were all amazing. It was just a quick taxi ride to Positano and from there you could catch a ferry to Capri. Highly highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    I think its a great value for the money and a beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a bit difficult, and you had to rely on Hotel staff to constantly move the car from one place to another. Access to the beach requires navigation through a path of boulders; which at times seemed a bit unnerving.

    Comfortable beds, excellent views of the coast from our balcony, excellent breakfast, wonderful on site restaurants, perfectly situated between Positano and Ravello; for day trips to explore the Amalfi coast. And if you like aerobic excercise; you'll love climbing the 425 steps on the cliff wall which lead from the beach down below to the lobby of the hotel on top of the cliff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a simple trip to the pool or the beach so definitely not a hotel for those that like the facilities close.

    Stunning location. Beautiful spacious room and fantastic staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings in our room felt old. Antique furniture was lovely, but the towels and linens were stiff and stale. Our bathroom had a strong smell of urine. We couldn’t tell if it was coming from the toilet or the drain on the floor, but it grossed us out. We would have LOVED the porch in the morning if we’d only had a coffee maker and tea. The restaurant was truly delicious, but expensive for small portions.

    The view was gorgeous!! I loved the view from our room and the doors that opened to the porch. The staff was excellent. Friendly, attentive, and courteous. Very unique hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Scenic, relaxing and hotel bound!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No reflection on Grand Hotel Tritone - but the buses were packed and unreliable. The roads are generally precarious, walking along them is slightly troubling! The area is generally expensive, which the hotel is in reflection with. I am aware that these are not hotel problems - but to be aware of the area.

    The views are amazing - really enjoyable with a well made cocktail from the engaging bartender! The private beach was really well serviced and a truly relaxing place. Excellent service with water taxi's to Positano and other areas of Praiano.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Belicimo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is unreal. Views are spectacular. Staff is outstanding. Road the entire coast. This spot is quite not crowded but in the middle of everything. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Got very little sleep, zero noise barriers and very loud due to it being an older hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no noise barriers between the rooms, we were there for our honeymoon and literally only got about 2 hours of sleep each night. It was terrible, we complained to the manager and he gave us a $100 off the room rate. We had upgraded to the largest suite at the hotel and the noise was terrible. We ended up moving hotels to another place and it was very quiet for half the price. This hotel unfortunately ruined our honeymoon and they didn't seem to care much about the noise and there was nothing they could do about it because its an older hotel. They could have given us more money back or moved us, but they didn'T. Do not stay here if you want sleep, they will blame it on their guests being loud and that they have no control over it......it isn't the guest being loud.....it the fact that there is no sound proofing at all and every 3 minutes there was constant banging and loud noises. I do not recommend this hotel.

    The hotel was very pretty, the rooms were very large and it wasn't that crowded so that was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel, beautiful views. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent scenery, just beautiful. Excellent view of Mediterranean and town of Amalfi from the balcony. Staff very friendly. We slept very well. Like everything on Amalfi coast, it is built into the side of a mountain, so it is like sleeping in a bunker, which was great. Two pools - one up at hotel and one down at their beach/ocean area. We were able to swim in the ocean at their private beach area and it was wonderful. We will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing - the access to the water is what you want and Tritone delivers this privately and in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect way to stay on the Amalfi Coast - great views, private beach, beach side pool, beach side restaurant, top quality food, free secure and guarded car parking. Enjoy the Mediterranean and swim it from the privacy of Tritone hotel, dont just look at it!! Simply amazing hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very nice, if you arrive later than 9 all the food is almost gone and the food tables are trashed. The hot food is limited and looks gross. It would be nice if hotel had a shuttle to Positano and Praiano. Beach club needs some toys like paddle board or snorkel gear.

    Amazing spot, fantastic to jump into the ocean. Lift to beach. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Avoid this place, grossly overpriced and poor facilities except the restaurant..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place is grossly overpriced and really poor quality for such an expensive hotel charging around $500 a night for accommodation. The so-called superior room was cold and damp, with an old blanket on the bed, no heating, lumpy pillows and poor quality linen that smelt damp. The room furnishings were old and heavy dating from the 1950s and in urgent need of replacing. The bathroom was dim, damp and with very poor facilities without even a soap holder in the old fashioned shower. The tapware was old and the shower tap mixer did not work properly and ran only either cold or boiling hot. The wifi did not work properly and kept dropping out despite repeated attempts to get it rectified. Overall a most disappointing hotel which cannot be recommended to anyone used to 5 and 4 star accommodation. The facilities listed in the Booking.com. website did not all exist - for example, no spa, beauty services, wellness centre.

    The restaurant service and staff and food reasonably good, but cannot say the same about the breakfast which was poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    What an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beachside area needed some work to match the quality of the rest of the property.

    What an amazing location! Such beauty! Best hotel balcony experience ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful but expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor you had machine coffee. No hot options. For the price we paid is expect more. The hotel lacked a personality. Restaurant and bars were empty. Such a shame for such a fabulous location!

    Loved the setting in the cliffs the swimming pools and access to sea. Bus to Positano was easy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views on the Amalfi coast, but room was hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pet peeve is when hotels advertise that they have air conditioning but they refuse to turn it on until THEY get too hot. It doesn't matter if the customer is too warm. Our room was too warm so we left the door open all night attracting bugs. The maintenance man and the bellhop both told me it was broken and that the temperature on the machine was the temperature outside. I guess they thought I was born yesterday! Also the shower consists of a sprayer in a tub. It would be much easier if the tub was enclosed somewhat to avoid spraying water all over the bathroom.

    The view was spectacular, the room was large with a very nice deck that was clean(!), the bathroom was large with good water pressure, the bed was an actual king size (2 twins together) and comfortable, breakfast was varied and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Simply amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place!! Absolutely amazing really. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel too. Very enjoyable place. Breakfast and dinner was really good too. Highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Drinks on the veranda overlooking the magnificent view were moments to savour; breakfast a joy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic in and around the Amalfi Coast...but there's nothing that can be done to avoid it.

    Tritone at Praiano seems a far better option than Positano. The hotel site is perfect, parking is very easy, the multi-level layout allows views from a height overlooking Positano and the rugged seacliffs just below. Guests can access the beach far below by lift, or enjoy the pool on a level just below reception. Staff are warm and comfortably attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Exceptionnel situation, view from the reception and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel opened in 1957, even if it has clearly some old fashioned charms, some refreshing could be foreseen given the pricing (Furnitures, bathroom...) Traffic on the amalfitan's coast is really difficult (Positano's crossing can led to hours of traffic jams), Busses should be prevented from circulating from Meta to Amalfita, avoid traveling with bus or car, prefer a Vespa

    Exceptionnel situation, view from the reception and the room good and affordable restaurant (not an excessive choice ,but simple and tasty) breakfast could be improved given the pricing of the rooms due to weather conditions, regret not having been able to enjoy the pools and the sea access Personnel very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be great if the hotel had a shuttle that went to Positano at certain times of the day.

    Beautiful location, lovely hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were wonderful, helpful and always pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful, marvellous and a definite return stay from me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was a little weak at times. But not complaining.

    The views were spectacular and the service impeccable. We had a fabulous meal there overlooking the sea. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    This place has a very relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This place has a very relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant definitely worth visiting - nice cuisine and great service while pricey. There are a lot of hidden places to spend some time with a book. The beach is nice and sea water is very clear.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    It is the amalfi coast that is worth 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The meals are average, the breakfast is very poor. The service in the restaurant is poor and unprofessional.

    The situation of the hotel, the view, the private beach with the little restaurant. The friendly service at the reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    View !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a refit ! Building works spoiled the ambience ! Customer lift being used by builders ! Rubble not cleaned up , staff not cleaning up even though place was virtually empty !

    View !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location and fascinating hotel design clinging onto the cliff with elevator through sheer rock to go down to seaside pool area and restaurant. The spacious rooms with lovely terraces overlooking the sea. The friendly staff all helping to make the holiday feel special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    We didnt spend much time in the hotel- the bed was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above about breakfast.

    Although the hotel is on a difficult busy high road it's a nice place- the cooked part of the breakfast was very poor unedible actually- i.e. Very fat undercooked bacon in a heating box- horrible scrambled egg. We were put in room without wifi- but they did change it- the hair dryer didn't work- it feels more like 3 star than 4.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked so made the floor quite dangerous to walk upon. Ok once we knew to put a towel down to capture the leakage.

    Location is spectacular! Every window in the hotel gives a glimpse of the beauty that is the amalfi coast, but each is slightly different and leaves you awestruck. The vista upon waking each morning is unbeatable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and calming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving the Amalfi Coast!! Difficult if never have done it before. Recommend doing it early morning (7:30) much easier less cars.

    Really get to beach by swimming 🏊🏽 in the Mediterranean. Short swim or walk over big rocks. Beach small just right. There are 2 swimming pools one by the Mediterranean and one further up. Beautiful views, calming. Water taxi service quite useful, at least 40 euros one way. I suspect you could share with other couple it is very reasonable. You need to be able to walk! Long walk to pools and water and water taxis. Staff impeccable, family owned visit, they take pride in their service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel , a must stay when visiting the Almafi Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We renewed our wedding vows at the hotel in a grotto chapel on site. The staff were very accommodating and helpful and made the day wonderful. Thank you to Marianna, Enzo and Lucca for making the day so special. The staff went above and beyond in their jobs. The food at all three restaurants was excellent, wonderful buffet breakfast. The beach area is very relaxing and well run with services of a bar, lunch restaurant, and taxi pickup, wonderful swimming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Amazing views that I will never forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not in a great location if u don't have a car. The hotel is a bit dated the rooms are in need of updating dark furniture & green covers on the beds and green curtains. Our balcony was fabulous stone and enough room for table and chairs and two loungers . There is a mini bar but only plastic glasses provided no wine and one beer in the fridge . Bar tenders need cheer up and learn some customer service. It wouldn't put me off staying here again as everything else makes up for it . There are four lifts to get to the pool due to the way the hotel is built on a side of a cliff bit of a treck but we were fit for it others might not be. It's something to keep in mind.

    Ok what I liked about this hotel is the beach /pools & views which are amazing. Hotel is between positano and praiano u will need a car or expect to pay €30 into positano and something similar to praiano or u can stay and eat in the hotel restaurant which is very nice. You can also get a bus to these locations for €2 each but times are not exact and u may stand around for a while. Don't expect much from the hotel bar except two male waiters who are oniviously due a holiday quite soon and can be quite grumpy and if u want a few drinks remember u will be putting them out and they will let u know. The two ladies in reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The two men who park the cars are excellent and very friendly. Bar food down on the beach excellent pizzas & Brushetta very tasty and all staff down here very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Amazing views, private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only real issue was the bed and shower. When travelling and staying at nice places, these two things matter. The bed was very dated and had a very thin mattress. The shower was small and the water pressure was ordinary - but that may have something to do with the place being on the side of a mountain side.

    The location is perfect, in between Positano and Praiano. The staff were friendly, the private beach was magic, with a restaurant right at the private beach. Breakfast and dinner came with awesome views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Inconvenient and underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing terrible however, everything was quite underwhelming and for the money I paid I expected better - better service, better room, better facilities etc. There really didn't seem to be a descent communication going on with the staffs - for instance, I tried to check in earlier but my room wasn't ready so I had my luggage stored to check in later. When I came back later the staffs had changed shifts and they had completely no idea about my luggage and the existence of my reservation. It took them awhile to figure it out and I had to tell them what my luggages are. Also, the room was quite inconvenient. To get to my room, I had to go down a staircase, take the elevator 4 flights down and walk to another elevator for another 3 floors. The view from the room was great, but the heater did not work so I had to sleep with 2 of my sweaters on. Overall an uncomfortable experience. I would definitely not recommend this hotel and stay at another place in my next visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Magnificent, relaxing, gorgeous views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were a little uncomfortable

    The hotel is just beautiful. Everywhere you look, it’s like a painting. The views are incredible and the room was large with a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff were very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    Nice old place but maybe a little behind the times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired and not up to modern standards. There were better rooms available but you had to complain to get one offered. The receptionist complained in response to my complaint which was interesting!

    Scenery and location stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff at the Tritone are like a family, very dedicated, they went above and beyond their job to make us fell welcome. The management or owners should be proud. Lovely property. Beautiful beach . All three restaurants were very nice, wonderful breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Spectacular views, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom furniture is very old and tired, the room definitely needs a complete overhaul, full redecoration. There was no shower curtain or glass panel over the bath tub, so when showering while standing, water would splash everywhere, it was horrendous; you had to shower sitting down. Shower was fantastic, great water pressure and very very hot water, but could not enjoy it because no shower curtain. Bedroom was so basic in its furnishing, not enough hooks, everything just looked and felt dated.

    Spectacular views, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.9
    A "4 star" in Italy is apparently a 2 star anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Laughable breakfast. Cold leftovers likely from the previous night's dinner. Machine coffee you have to make yourself and stand in line for. -We found hair in our food twice in a 12 hour period. When we complained, we were rudely told that this wasn't possible because the cooks wear hair nets. After that, we avoided the food there altogether. -All of the staff had a constant scowl on their faces. -Dated rooms and facilities.

    Parking. That's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Amazing 3 days on a fantastic property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor - deck chairs are a little uncomfortable if you are tall and lying in your tummy

    Fantastic hotel. Unbelievable views no matter where you were in the hotel. Lovely quiets spots in the shade or sun that you could enjoy the view or a good book. All meals are served in a different space so even though you are eating in the hotel you get to enjoy a different environment. We didn't bother leaving to eat out. Foods was fantastic and reasonable priced. Would definitely go back. It was a haven after a very busy holiday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    A great place to have a little swim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is organised around series of small (and slow) elevators. To get from our room to the beach we had to take a few flights of stairs amongst 4 elevators each way. Our room was very basic and was in need of decorating.

    The views from the bar & our balcony were beautiful. The private pebble beach & pool area were excellent, and a lovely pace to be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Luxurious Amalfi experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow. This hotel is amazing! Hard to describe how spectacular it is. The hotel itself looks straight out of a vogue magazine, the private beach is divine, great pools, excellent food and drinks, incredible views and the loveliest staff. Look no further! 10/10.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel is in a spectacular location built into the cliffs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were badly let down by Rideways for our return journey to Naples Airport.They lost our booking, this wouldn't have been a major issue but they weren't contactable by phone and email response was 24 hours which is too risky for airport transfers from this location.

    The Hotel is in a spectacular location built into the cliffs tumbling into the sea on the Amalfi coast beautifully maintained with lots of character. From the concierge waiting at the entrance to the excellent helpful reception staff it was faultless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room we were allocated was not that good. Beds were not confortable and really small windows. We expected more for a quadruple deluxe room, but after we asked the staff they moved us to another room on next day that was perfect. Like I said, the staff is excellent and ready to help you in anything.

    The location is amazing with easy access to all amalfitan coast. Hotel services including private beach are perfect. Great breakfast ! The team is great and ready to attend you anytime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous property but we were underwhelmed by the room itself
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was certainly out of date. Sliding door would barely open and when we managed to push it open it made an awful noise. Very stuffy in room- AC didn't turn on at all during our stay (even though we had it set to turn on). Funky smell in hallway by elevators. The property itself is gorgeous but the room was not worth the cost.

    Beautiful setting in Praiano. Accommodating and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing view,delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place with amazing views. It had a private beach with sunbeds and amazing 600 steps down to that beach(if you are lazy to walk can use elevator). We had a very spacious room with amazing sea view. Good breakfast,wide variety of fruits. Loved all the experience there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated, this was on a minor issue - would still recommend hotel.

    Beautiful location and I doubt you can beat the views here. Own beach area was good, staff very friendly and helpful and the food was great - defiantly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    A large-scale family hotel with a lot of facilities. Good for families and couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    furniture in the room could be improved.

    A perfect place if you want to rest and relax. The Hotel has direct access to the sea (and 2 swimming pools), a bar on a terrace overlooking the Coast (stunning view) and 2 restaurants (including on the beach). Basically, you can spend a week there without going out, if you want. In addition is a family business and people working there are very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    1- The beach area as it's located near rocks which gives...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- The breakfast is limited 2- The staff number is way less than the guests 3- They have a valet parking but they don't do their job in the right way as they only park it for you they don't bring it "parking is outside the property on the street" 4- There is only one person who takes the bags and poor guy it's a long way for him 5- The beds are so uncomfortable 6- Ants were coming from the bathroom sink 7- The glass door was a little bit broken so we had to cover the whole with a shower cap plastic 8- They don't clean the room properly as they don't refill your shampoo and shower gel 9- They are not direct and you have to keep asking for answers "ex: we said we wanted to book a boat and they booked it for us without coming back to us for confirmation and they charged us 600 euros for 4 hours and the trip was only 2:30 hours as they close at 6 and we started at 3 but they didn't tell us that the time would be less due to closing times rather they said it's possible and it's the latest you can take" 10- They don't help you with your bags to be placed in the car rather they take it from your room and put it in the lobby and you do the rest. 11- Bathrooms need a shower curtain as the shower handle is placed in the middle and all the water would splash outside reaching the room 12- You have to be very alert about your bill as they charge you with items that you didn't take. 13- When checking out there were 2 couples who had a problem with their cars "being scratched by the valet parking employee" and all of the staff were dealing with them keeping us waiting

    1- The beach area as it's located near rocks which gives it a beutiful sceneray (although you have to take 2 elevators and walk for couple of minutes to reach the beach area" 2- The room size as it's spacious 3- Food is yummy both for lunch and dinner with beautiful views and atmosphere 4- Resturant recommendation in Positano was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Happy 60th birthday Hotel Tritone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was well trained and very helpful. The view was as good as any on the coast except for maybe up on the Path of the Gods hiking trail: there are no hotels on the trail. The morning breakfast was always fresh and provided a large variety of selections. The one standout feature that endears me to this hotel is that you can enjoy the spectacular view from 500 feet above the sea and then take the elevator down to the private beach and take a dip. Best of both worlds!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds we're a little uncomfortable. There were a lot of children running around and screaming with little parental supervision. Didn't make for such a relaxing time.

    The views are unbeatable. The price is very good for what you get. Definitely great value for the Amalfi Coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Spectacular view, a private beach for relaxing and tours picked up from their private beach!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a bit tired.

    We chose this place for the finale of our honeymoon. Getting to the Amalfi from Rome is a bit of a pain but worth the effort. We invested in the room with the balcony and while the room is fair, the view is spectacular. You definitely pay for the view and location. The hotel organised a day trip to Capri for us which picked us up on their private beach. Do this tour - it was a highlight. Breakfast was great. It is a bit of a walk to Praiano but there is a bus service or taxis to both Praiano and Positano. The hotel has two great pools with views and a private beach which we hung out at relaxing on two days and lunched at their beach side restaurant. I recommend this place and would go back there again. Just maybe not in August as it was sooo hot and the Italians don't really believe in airconditioning in the common areas (but they have it in the rooms). Bathroom was huge. Great service also from front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, stunning hotel but just lacks the personal touch - don't think I would re-visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I felt the hotel was a bit soulless and there wasn't enough (in some cases any) effort on behalf of the hotel to enhance our stay. No information on the region was given by reception - didn't even tell use about the bus service to Positano etc.. - and very little information about the hotel even in the room (didn't even publicise their own restaurant). We have visited the region many times before but a new visitor would have been a bit lost. Hotel is undoubtedly stunning and has great facilities but just something missing for me.

    Hotel is in a stunning location and has very good facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Stunning view but unbelievably overpriced and inconvenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon and apparently got 'upgraded' to what we can only describe as a dungeon room! It was so dark and small and only an 'upgrade' as it had a balcony. We asked to be downgraded to our original room which turned out to be far nicer, bigger and with more light. The shower - it had no curtain and was facing out into the bathroom inevitably flooding the floor every time, plus it fell onto your head if it wasn't clicked perfectly into place- very painful! For our honeymoon they gave us a free half bottle of prosecco (a 3* hotel in a florence could give us a full one) that they seemed to give to anybody who had a minor complaint. Water sports - they are available to do on the next beach across from the hotel but you have to pay a €10 water taxi each way to the beach which is 2mins away. Access to towns like Positano and Praiano are limited by buses which if they are full then they won't take you and can leave you having to take a €40 taxi or having to walk dangerously along a narrow winding road with no path and cars and buses driving fast down it. I don't understand why the hotel don't have a shuttle bus. Price of food and drink - €5 for water and no other way of getting is unless you walk 20mins to nearest grocery store which is closed in the afternoons (not to mention the €1 service charge on top that appears on your bill when you check out despite never appearing on any bill when you sign for them) No complimentary water in rooms Iron unavailable - had to pay €5 per item needing ironed No safe in room Elevator - took 4 elevators to get from room to 6€ For a can of Coca Cola We have travelled around the world and stayed in many luxurious hotels. This hotel was the most expensive one but absolutely not worth the money sadly!

    Beautiful view from the hotel, absolutely breathtaking! The main pool was so peaceful and perfect for sunbathing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    It was a pure delight to stay at Tritone hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative at all.

    Very welcoming and caring staff! They want make sure that we are having a comfortable stay, no matter how busy they were , would take time . Property is spectacular, as for the rooms this is how it is on Amalfi coast , simple but super clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing as well.Thanks for everyone for great hospitality!!could not ask for better hotel and stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location (being built in a cliff) there were some ants in our room.

    The staff was wonderful, the restaurant was excellent, and the location could not be beat. The views from the hotel were surreal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location and private beach, luxury to be away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would be great if hotel provided shuttle services by boat or car into Praiano and Positano. Local taxis very expensive and buses busy and irregular.

    Great location and private beach, luxury to be away from crowds of Positano bar terrace perfect for pre and after dinner drinks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Easily the most beautiful location you could imagine for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily the most beautiful location you could imagine for a hotel. The room and bathroom were very comfortable. Million dollar views. Free continental breakfast was outstanding, only surpassed by the views from the breakfast terrace looking out over the Amalfi coast and Positano. We also had lunch at the beach and dinner in the restaurant, very happy with the food at both. Staff was incredibly friendly across the board.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    The Amalfi coast at its best for the views and history, Ciao see you soon Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon a bit old, rooms very tired and need of a refurb, Wi-Fi was hit and miss, but again, reception come to our rescue, bathroom to small, shower much too small. You need a bus timetable, cos if you miss the last bus its 30 euros for a 8 minute journey in a taxi to Positano. Be prepared for the lifts !!! lots of stairs to pool etc.

    The views were amazing, Hearing the waves against the rocks all day and nite was so relaxing good food, and the location, public transport into Positano, really helpful staff all around, especially at the reception, we had a problem initially (Language Barrier) as we did not want what was on offer at the buffet breakfast, Lucy the cook came out (told the waiting staff that she will sort)& served us the perfect poached eggs (not on the menu) everyday and came out to see if we had enjoyed them, what a lovely touch & a lovely person, nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    The communication was really ill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The communication was really ill. We where promised an extra night since the air-condition did not work for first 3 nights. We got a degraded room and we where ok to stay in this room even though we pay for a better room. But the promise to get an extra night was failed and we had to pay full price on a degraded room..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Great views but needs a little work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was in between Paiano and Positano and getting to each of those towns was a little challenging. The hotel really should have their own shuttle going back and forth to those towns... im sure hotel guests would pay for it. The public busses were always so crowded they wouldn't even stop at the hotel and a cab to each town was more than 20€. The breakfast was pretty good but nothing spectacular. Overall, food at the property was very expensive at the hotel restaurants and bars. 5€ for a liter of water is a little stiff and the portion sizes at the restaurant were very small for the expensive price, so we felt a little ripped off. The rooms are very large and spacious but the bed is rock solid and not comfortable. Our room must have been right over the restaurant kitchen because we'd hear the staff loudly moving chairs and plates late at night and early in the morning for breakfast.

    I liked the views from the hotel and from our balcony. The beach area was great! They have 2 super clean and well-kept pools and great beach access for swimming. The views were simply unbeatable. The staff was overly friendly and helpful. The staff was always willing to help, flag down a bus, taxi or see to it that we had a good view at dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Location , sun and views plus great beach and access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots! Food - expensive and woeful. Glass of Coke Zero, no ice , approx 200mls 6 euros whilst 70c in the shop in Praiano. Wait staff dismal. Rooms noisey, bed was unbelievably uncomfortable, 4 nights of hell, we did advise the hotel but who cares! Couldn't get out fast enough on our 5 th day. Dated in need of modernization Could not recommend this hotel, the discomfort of 4 sleepless nights in springs could not unfortunately justify the gorgeous location.

    Location , sun and views plus great beach and access to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.0
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a bit too isolated for us, it is not in the centre of Praiano, which is at least 20 minutes walk away along the sketchy narrow cliff top roads or you get a taxi for 15 Euro. There is only a single restaurant operational for dinner and the food was not great although reading the reviews you would be led to believe otherwise. The beach closes at 7pm in Summer which doesn't make sense as the sun does not set until at least 8:30pm and this means you cannot get a water taxi back after dinner. If you want to catch a taxi to Positano it costs 30 Euro which is very expensive given it is a 10 minute trip. People talk about getting the bus but it is not that simple. We tried and the bus did not stop due to being full (local bus not SITA bus) and the next one did not come for another hour. We did however manage to get the bus back from Positano because it starts empty there. The rooms were also very basic as well as being dated. The showers did not feel clean and it appeared there was mould. There was no music playing in the lobby which left the hotel feeling devoid of atmosphere. For us it just seems this hotel is riding on its family history, the story and the views which everyone raves about, but for us that is not so valuable. Having stayed in Sorrento previously I think we would prefer that location as there are a lot more options for hotels that can deliver everything this hotel does but have more going on in the surrounding location.

    The views from this property are amazing as was the private beach. We loved swimming in the ocean at the base of the cliff the hotel is perched upon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect surprise stay in this family run hotel, Beats the busy tourist spot of Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had wonderful views and we enjoyed a Large private balcony. The room was a little dated, but we rarely went there, only to sleep and shower. Service at this hotel was brilliant.

    This hotel was wonderful, view that was incredible and breathtaking. The private Beach and restaurant was a bonus. Food and service beyond our expectations. My children loved swimming in the pool and more so the beach. We had great excursions organised through the hotel and booking dinner reservations and transfers possible with reception. Thanks for a wonderful stay. Best of luck, we look forward to Seeing you again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    We could not imagine a hotel with its amenities at a better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult scheduling excursions away from the hotel, and were provided limited information on the boat trip to Capri. We were pleasantly surprised with a full tour and swimming, but that required us to purchase proper swimming attire in Capri which was had not expected. There were also some issues with booking water transportation into Praiano and limited communication between front desk and the beach/pool area staff.

    We could not imagine a hotel with its amenities at a better price or location. Extremely pleased with our stay! We would be happy to return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    The view was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew going in that you are paying for the best views. The rooms are substandard and the bathroom smells terrible. When you ask about it, it seems as though the staff doesn't understand you. The elavators are small which isn't a problem except when the staff rides them with you carrying tons of wet smelly towels from the pool with you and proceeds to talk on the phone very loudly. One day, it took over 10 minutes to get towels from the staff at the pool.

    The view was spectacular. The beach and lower pool area was beautiful. Those 2 things are what make this hotel wonderful. The food is good too. I had a wonderful lunch by the pool some of the best pasta with lemon cream sauce. The local restaurants in Praiano will send a car to pick you up and take you home. This is a wonderful service if you want to eat off property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful family experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel - run by a family who honour and respect it's history. It sits in a beautiful private location with its own private beach/sea access. The beach club area was absolutely brilliant. The trek from the room to the beach is a long one - lifts, stairs, tunnels but spectacular beach glimpses before an incredible final reveal make it quite the adventure. The room was large, light and spotlessly clean. The decor is quite dated but that is part of the old hotel's charm. The restaurant and terrace were wonderful and the huge breakfast buffet left everyone happy. We absolutely loved our time at Grand Tritone Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: