Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Villa Balbi 4 stars

Viale Rimembranza 1, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy

#11 of 21 hotels in Sestri Levante

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 504 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    A super hotel with friendly and welcoming staff which I would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't object to the ten euro per night car parking fee as parking at a premium in the old town and the staff were very laid back about us leaving the car there for the day even after we had checked out. However- even although it is common in Italy to charge for beach loungers and parasol - I felt the 30 euro fee per day for the beach club was quite steep. Top tip - if you want to spend time on the shore head round to the nearby 'Bay of Silence' which is very pretty - and free to the public. Or just hang out at the delightful hotel pool instead.

    Lovely hotel in fantastic location with a charming 'old fashioned 'feel with regards to customer service. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was excellent, but the dinner menu looked good and we would have eaten there in the evening if we had been staying longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent experience in an idyllic part of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being English I would have like Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room, but this is a minor issue

    Excellent service with efficient and friendly staffs, nothing was too much trouble and the food was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    We were generally pleased with the hotel and it’s central position. Reception staff were very hepful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that when we arrived near to midnight, due to plane’s delayed departure etc the bar was closed and no food at all available after quite a long day travelling. We had to seek out a cafe which was just about to close.

    The bedroom in the villa was very comfortable with extremely high ceilings. Bed linen was changed every day as well as towels. Bathroom was clean, roomy but outdated, which didn’t matter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only complaint I had, which is fairly minor, is that the on/off button on the air conditioning in the room was not working, so the only way to (truly) turn it off (and on again) was to call the reception and ask them to turn it off/on remotely. However, we found a workaround to avoid having to do that, by simply adjusting the desired temperature such that it did (or didn't) blow.

    The facilities are majestic and the service outstanding. Our room was absolutely wonderful, we felt like royals the entire time. The breakfast was very good, just make sure to ask for the waiters for cappuccino/espresso (instead of using automatic coffee machine). The location of the hotel is excellent, very central, and close to the beach(es). Parking is provided, albeit at an extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.6
    Does not live up to description, pictures or price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple and plain room. Our's was called a suit but was just a large room in angle with two small very hard beds that been put next to each other. Clean sheets but with an old synthetic blanket. In the corner of the room was a small old and dirty sofa but with no table and just a small TV. Bathroom was old but clean and OK. All sounds from the corridor and from the streets were as loud and clear as if the people were in the room. This is not a four star hotel and Definitely not worth the money

    Nice staff and location and good parking possibilities. The entrance of the hotel is impressive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Traditional Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a buffet dinner was offered for the Saturday Night I stayed there

    The location next to the sea is perfect. The hotel has a lovely blend of the old and the new. The outdoor dining area was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel next to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perhaps a bit too much traffic outside to be really comfortable. If you have a choice, ask for rooms facing the garden.

    Wonderful old-style Classic hotel, and even though it was busy the staff made us feel very welcome. We especially enjoyed the breakfast outdoors under the trees. And the after dinner drink there. Location is wonderful, with lots of restaurants and close to the beach. The hotel has their own beach that is very good, 30 euros per day for two.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    The hotel's beach for an additional payment 15 Euro per person. Although stated in the description o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel's beach for an additional payment 15 Euro per person. Although stated in the description of the hotel's "private beach", about the additional payment does not say anything. The Breakfast is very poor, not like the pastries fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location. High end elegant hotel. Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the private beach club is not so nice

    Very elegant historical villa, nice and big room, Amazing bathroom. The breakfast buffet has everything you can look for. The staff is nice and helpful. The swimming pool in the garden is very enjoyable. Possibility to take towel and have a reserved space in the beach in front of the hotel (to be paid extra). the parking in the back of the hotel is an absolute plus considering the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Luxury, Style and Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think as it was all good.

    The bedrooms were well appointed, a good size and very comfortable. Although the shower cubicle was small there was always hot water. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom quiet with a lovely double aspect. The public rooms were again cool and spacious. I was able to enjoy dining outside for breakfast and in the evening under the trees. After dinner it was possible to sit outside at the front of the hotel and enjoy an after dinner nightcap! Wifi was available throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Our room was super nice and perfectly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there is a surcharge for parking because not all cars can be parked at the very entrance and the staff needs to take care of them. It's just 10 euros per night so it is a fair price to pay even if I think that prices are already high enough to cover these costs. Prices of the beach are high and it is very difficult to find front rows available. Unfortunately the staff (not everyone I have to admit) and only during breakfast is a bit slow and not really attentive; it took 10 minutes to catch their attention to order a cappuccino!

    Our room was super nice and perfectly clean. Staff was helpful and position was also very good. The pool was clean and the ambience was nice, although I have to admit it was a bit noisy (children shouldn't be allowed to dive in as the deckchairs are very close to the pool edge). Breakfast was amazing, they were very helpful as I am intolerant to gluten.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Family visit to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard but nice & big. Loved the Art Decor tradition of the Hotel. We were a family of 8 traveling together & the hotel was reliable & comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.6
    Old fashioned hotel, very noisy location. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - I was woken up at 6am bythe staff preparing breakfast and the staff playing music. From the hotel you can hear noise from the nearby clubs and bars. The hotel is very large and the elevators are not convenient. The breakfast was largely bread based, old fashioned and poorly presented.

    Thinking that about 20 years ago it may have been good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very happy that the hotel had a parking but surprised that we had to pay 10 EUR a day to use it. Also, the hotel was advertised with a private beach but again very surprised that we had to pay 25 EUR to use the beach! Furthermore, the reception didn't give us beach towels automatically so once we arrived at the beach we had to walk back to the hotel to request the beach towels. Staff were not overly pleasant. Breakfast very average selection.

    Nice hotel, good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful building in a great location, but staff could be more respectful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold pool (although they advertised it as heated in the brochures). When we asked the front-desk staff they responded as if it would have been totally inappropriate to ask and laughed.

    Great breakfast, great views and beautiful building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous old villa, Balbi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No gym or sauna or bikes. A little expensive but room was pretty fabulous. A pain to go up a tiny, steep stairway to sittingroom and bathroom - especially in the night.

    Elegant building, fantastic staff, so kind and friendly, breakfast yum, met lots of lovely people here and central to Sestri Levante. Having a terrace was a luxury.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    A fabulous hotel, we will be returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The price of the sunbeds on the Balbi beach was very high.

    A perfect place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and went an extra mile to make sure you had everything you required. They spoke perfect English and were willing to communicate with my Italian relatives to arrange meetings. Although they were busy they made sure that they attended to your every need as soon as possible. We will be returning next year.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    True old world elegance with the kindest of staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I selected the hotel I was looking for hotels in Cinque Terra. I didn't realize how far it was from there (a train ride of 1/2 hour including stops). That TURNED INTO A BONUS!!!

    The staff was ultra kind, the hotel was a villa dating from a time of true elegance and they had their own beach facilities right across the street. The breakfasts we out in the garden under beautiful old trees. Just lovely!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing stay in Sestri Levante at the Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Make sure you reserve your beach beds with the hotel at the time of your booking if you want to be close to the front of the seaside

    Centrally located Grand Villa hotel in Sestri Levante with interesting art work and charm.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in Sestri Levante
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and bathroom could do with a refresh.

    Beautiful period property ideally located in the heart of town. Great breakfasts and attentive staff. Rooms a little tired in places, our bathroom was slightly low rent but very good value given the location and time of year.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Across the beach, close to restaurants and shops, has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been more nice if there was a water pot (and a few sachets of coffee or tea) for making your own hot beverage in the comfort of your own room.

    Across the beach, close to restaurants and shops, has a private parking, and has its own pool. The staff are very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    A most pleasant and relaxed break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They should sort out the parking. The swimming pool and gardens could be made very pleasant were it not for cars in every corner. Breakfast is good - especially for those with a sweet tooth- but not outstanding. Freshly squeezed orange juice should be a must, instead of the industrial stuff on offer. Rooms in the annex felt quite small, but then we had a suite in the main building to compare them to.

    All the staff, particularly in reception were incredibly helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a suite of palatial proportions in the main building ( though you could hear the traffic outside). Checking in and out was very smooth even though we had two different bookings and three rooms. We felt welcomed and valued as customers and all requests were met with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    This is a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    This was a pretty hotel, I liked it. It had character. It was also in a good location. Staff was nice and helpful. Restaurant at hotel was fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    Levante at its best. Magical journey back in time
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit crowded so you need to keep keys at the reception which is not always convenient. Important tip - ask for a room in the historic villa. The modern part can be dissapointing

    We stayed in the main, old villa and loved the design, the beautiful paintings and sculptures. Combined with the fantastic staff, oldfashioned beach and magic Baia del Silenzio it was a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast: various range of organic food, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast: various range of organic food, really tasty croissants and coffee. Nice comfortable rooms. Chic halls decorated with antic furniture, paintings and sculptures. Very respectable place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we had were in an extension to the rear which needed a little updating, the sun loungers were dated and uncomfortable.

    This is a really lovely hotel, clean, comfortable and with very friendly staff, the continental breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice, the bar made wonderful Martini cocktails and all very good value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    Lovely building and great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilities in the room were rather basic, ie hair drier. No explanation about pool towels, breakfast/ wifi in room.

    Lovely building and great pool. Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    9.6
    A little gem. Traditional, comfortable, clean and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower had no curtain so it flooded the bathroom.

    This hotel is a gem. We spent a week there for my friend's wedding. The staff were exceptional and went out of the way to look after their customers - especially the restaurant staff. They couldn't have done more to look after us. Eating breakfast al fresco in the beautiful courtyard was worth the cost. I've also never seen such cleanliness at a pool! The team were constantly cleaning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    SESTRI LEVANTE IS LOVELY ALL THE MORE SPECIAL WITH VILLA BALBI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THERE WAS NOTHING TO FAULT

    EVERYTHING

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Well done! Stunning and wonderful! Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely fantastic stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. Pool & private beach great. Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    We love returning to this hotel, so convenient for facilities and access to Cinque Terre rail travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much!

    Lovely location, excellent hotel, old world charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was a bit noisy and not immaculate

    It's like travelling back in time. Staff is awesomely kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Location next to the beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location next to the beach front. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful historical villa in the very heart of the town. Great staff and delicious organic breakf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite basic.

    Great organic breakfast and the staff was Super helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and very helpful staff in all areas and great location for children

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent and beautiful facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    L architecture de la villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La douche ancienne

    L architecture de la villa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing time in the riviera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually nothing.

    Wifi everywhere. Scandinavian level of breakfast buffe. Service, pool and pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept Windows opened when,cleaning an the room turned into a mosquito nightmare. There were Stairs to my room.

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved having slippers but a cosy dressing gown would have...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved having slippers but a cosy dressing gown would have been appreciated too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Helpful staff and great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little black flies

    Helpful staff and great pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    very pleasant staff in a hotel in an excellent location within an impressive building with fine room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful building and position, lovely swimming pool and all well kept. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Quiet, comfortable bed, great breakfast in the garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet, comfortable bed, great breakfast in the garden, agreable swimming pool, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty steps, poor breakfast,

    Nice pool and garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular Hotel in Sestri Levante
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, rooms, location, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Hotspot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a hotspot and everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    lovely, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hard beds. Loungers, umbrellas on private beach very expensive.

    lovely, helpful staff. Beautifully decorated. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Great staff and position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet was not great

    The pool area was perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.5
    Good value on the way to Cinque Terre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service very slow. Confusion over what was on menu. Difficult to order cocktails.

    Near Cinque Terre.good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in great location, with outstanding parking valet service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service could be improved by adding more staff in peak hours.

    Reception desk and parking valet service. Location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    We travelled with our 3 year old and we found the hotel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We travelled with our 3 year old and we found the hotel very accommodating. Breakfast was delicious with a Bio range too and the grounds were stunning. Great location to Cinque Terre.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    This is a charming old villa with frescoed public rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ferries from Sestri Levante to the Cinque Terre and Portofino had stopped for the season in early Oct. Easy to take the train to any of these places but less scenic. Hotel is worth the splurge-really charming.

    This is a charming old villa with frescoed public rooms, beautiful fabrics and delightful rooms. It is on the main beachfront street and there are lovely views from upper level rooms.The breakfast buffet is very good with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses and pastries. There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance along the waterfront. The staff was very professional, friendly and responsive.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    Them ambience of the 'Grand' lobby areas in the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    mild 'pong' from shower drain....better once drain covered and with outside doors to bathroom opened

    Them ambience of the 'Grand' lobby areas in the old Villa.....friendy staff.........breakfast under the trees.......gardens and pool away from crowds. Central location - walk to station / close to shops and restaurants and harbour / across the road to beach......

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cannot think of a thing.Sestri

    Beautiful hotel and grounds. The staff could not have been more helpful with every detail of my 3 night stay. Great location across from the beach and easy walking distance from the station and anything else a traveler would need. Would definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didn't like having to pay for parking. Fewer restaurant choices for late arrival time. Restaurant they suggested was closed. Couldn't charge phones or chill beverages while away b/c all outlets turn off when only key not in slot

    Friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and gardens;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    hotel was "on beach" and had its own private beach, but it cost 40 euro a day to use chairs and an umbrella; an extra cost we did not expect. Also didn't realize you need to reserve ahead or it got too busy.

    Beautiful hotel and gardens; excellent breakfast; wonderful staff; great location; spacious and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    I liked the location , helpful nice staff and the internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and mattresses are quite old , I could feel the iron frame of th bed in my side, the breakfast terrace is elegant n relaxing but the food options were very poor.

    I liked the location , helpful nice staff and the internet was very good

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful classical and very well managed hotel with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car park bit cramped full of splendid cars, efficient valet service however.

    Wonderful classical and very well managed hotel with excellent breakfast and very nice, italian menu for lunch and dinner al fresco in private garden under giant plantanes, away from the tourist hustle bustle along the boulevard. Effective and helpful service, good wine list, excellent price/quality relation even in the midst of summer high season. Small, friendly town with two beaches and lots of activities for everyone. On the train line to Cinque Terre villages and easy to find from the freeway. Private pool with plenty shade and separate shallow kids section.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were all very helpful & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only slight point was that the buildings in the garden the exterior were drab which is in direct contrast to the main building exterior. The iron works on the window ledges needed repainting as were very rusty.

    The staff were all very helpful & friendly. Good to have the use of a pool in Italy which is included in the room rate price.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    The building is an experience in itself and the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were a couple of hooks missing from the bathroom door, if I am being picky.

    The building is an experience in itself and the staff is extremely friendly and professional. The garden is wonderful and the pool a very nice alternative to the crowded beaches.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast selection was poor and predictable, and not in keeping with the status of the hotel. Also, although the Wi-Fi was good, there is no guest computer or printer which I would expect in a hotel like this. The reception computer was as slow as dial up!

    The location. The staff, were, without exception, friendly and courteous and the ground are a haven of tranquility.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Great location, and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning in room a bit too noisy, but that's all

    Great location, and excellent facilities. Our family had a great time in this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    This was our second visit after an Historic car hill climb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beakfast coffee is horrible. Order espresso from the bar!

    This was our second visit after an Historic car hill climb. This hotel is exactly what we wanted for relaxation. Stay in the older part for antique charm. The staff are infinitely helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    the ambiance of the hotel grows on you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    the ambiance of the hotel grows on you. At first it feels a bit "old", but this is all part of the old world charm. This was our favorite hotel in Italy this year including 5 star hotels in Florence and Rome. This hotel is very authentic

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Staff very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful and pleasant. Great location, sea at the front, pool in lovely surroundings in the back. Good breakfast and great views from the front rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was the same every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was the same every day. Could have had a little variety. However, that's not a complaint.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Good location, decent breakfast, aesthetic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be more classy with prosecco and fresh-pressed juice.

    Good location, decent breakfast, aesthetic atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    The swimming pool, the large room with view of the pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think it would be worth modernising your showers.

    The swimming pool, the large room with view of the pool and the helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.3
    Location, huge room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite huge room, very small bathroom. Italian breakfasts, mostly cakes

    Location, huge room

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room

    Building

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and friendly staff

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Villa Balbi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: