Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Villa Politi 4 stars

Via Maria Politi Laudien 2, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#20 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1437 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Great pool and terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff shortages? Bar at pool not open at 4pm. Bar proper not open at 23.00! In an ideal world shuttle to Ortigia would be good.

    Great pool and terrace Rooms spacious and clean Aperitifs and appetisers excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach facility was too far away and expensive. Could not get a drink after 11pm. Bar and restaurant staff not very welcoming although the one in the pool bar was the exception - he was always happy and worked with a smile. Dinner menu didn't change so limited choices.

    Lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least 20 min walk into Ortigia. Not the most pleasant.

    Lovely setting. Good spacious room with all amenities. Nice pool area, very peaceful with plenty of sun loungers. Good breakfast. 2 good busy restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although pictures on booking show diner tables outside, there was no possibility to eat outside while the weather was perfect for this. Location was far from the center which forces you to take an (expensive) taxi

    Nice garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Old World style & class, without the comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most important: very Few electrical outlets. Not one is near the beds (I must plug in a CPAP machine at night), forcing us to run extension cords across the floor. This building is, after all, 150 years old! Beds & pillows very hard, not comfortable at all. Felt like cardboard.

    Front desk & wait Staff Very attentive & helpful. Quiet room. Property is clean & well attended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Arrived with large expectations, left in huge disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived with large expectations, left in huge disappointment. Everybody is pretending like you were in a 5* hotel, although no service at all, I felt extremely not welcomed, guests should receive more attention. Room was really small, especially the shower. The building itself is beautiful, not only on the pictures.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    villa Politi a touch of class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slightly out of the way with a very depressing street to walk down if you didn't take a taxi

    old worlds hotel. at 6.30pm you got free tapas with a drink that varied every night. beware the rum they use as at home we would use it to clean paintbushes! the cocktail named after the hotel is class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    just the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lots. the hotel is only a 2 star some employees were rude. the grounds are a disaster especially the pool area old lobby furniture just the rooms were good. very misleading pictures and the rating

    just the rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful 19th-century villa in its own beautiful park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. During peak hours,the enormous breakfast room is seriously understaffed. We had finished our breakfast by the time the two cappuccinos we had ordered when we first sat down at our table arrived. A 20-minute wait.

    Beautiful 19th-century villa in its own beautiful park. The rooms are not gigantic, but pleasant (we had a small balcony). There is a good-size outdoor pool and the hotel has an arrangement with a club right on the seafront, where you can use their sundeck, with deckchairs and umbrella, against a reasonable fee. If you do so, don't be disappointed by the loud music. The gentleman in charge of the structure seems to think he is enhancing your seaside experience and does not seem to understand that some tourists are actually eager to have some peace and quiet and enjoy listening to the waves instead. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the archeological site, but about 2,5 km from Ortigia (which is definitely worth a visit).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Elegant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa is beautiful, the room was perfect, the bed was very comfy and big. We loved the pool and the breakfast was also very colourful. Its a perfect place to stay for some delighting days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely old hotel with bags of character and super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk into Ortigia is not pleasant. The tourist bus when we were here in the middle of August was overcrowded and traffic was terrible so it took ages to get into town. The hotel wasn't as close to the sea as we'd thought from the pictures.

    Really lovely characterful hotel, wonderful sitting on the verandah sipping drinks in the evening. Friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast and dinner. We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Despite appearances not a 4 star hotel in terms of service and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geared towards Italian holidaymakers. No English newspapers or magazines. No English tv channels i.e. Sky news or BBC world news. Indifferent reception and waiting staff. Double bed was two singles pushed together with obvious join. TINY shower cubicle. TINY balcony looking at concrete wall. 2 chairs for 3 people as no room! Surrounding area dirty. Have to pay for beach towel although not indicated on website as an additional charge. Exterior of hotel rundown.

    Good a/c. Clean rooms. Friendly cleaning lady. Good sized pool (but tiles need good clean and maintenance).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay in an old world grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the staff were preoccupied with a big wedding in the evening and the service at dinner was rather slow as a result.

    A very grand old style hotel with spacious bedroom and good facilities. The staff were helpful and we wished we had stayed longer than just one night. The hotel was easy to find and had adequate parking. The beds were comfortable, although I didn't sleep as well as Winston Churchill had done when he stayed there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    TOTAL LIE AND DISAPPOINTMENT. Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THIS PLACE IS TOTALLY MISLEADING! Every posting on their website, booking.com, even their own printed map with pictures of the hotel prominently shows a picture of the ocean, not a pool, the ocean with umbrellas and chaises. THIS IS A TOTAL AND COMPLETE LIE!!! Not only is the beach / solarium a 300m / 5 minute walk, it will cost you €28 for two chairs and is not at all part of the hotel. The pool is a sick joke. It is more like a camping ground quality. The plastic chairs and umbrellas are also probably from the 60’s. The hotel was founded in 1862 and this may have been the last time it was renovated... it needs some work. For breakfast you can choose from canned peaches or canned prunes for you fine fruit selection. If you prefer vegetables then they have some extremely well done green beans for you. Don’t even get close to the bacon and eggs section: it simply looks awful. Or if you prefer to try some jam / preserves then they have tomato jam for your bread... lovely. To be honest the only good parts of breakfast were the coffee and the fresh bread. There is no terrace or outdoor seating to enjoy a drink or a meal. What a mistake we made. It was between this hotel and one called Hotel Parco delle Fontane when we booked. We chose villa politi. While in Siracusa we visited Hotel Parco delle Fontane and were taken aback by the beautiful grounds, pool, patios and restaurant with outdoor seating... all true to it’s posted advertising. We clearly chose the wrong one.

    Because we were on our honeymoon we got upgraded to a deluxe room which had a nice sea view. We appreciated this gesture from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't central, but close enough to sites and a short taxi trip, or 30 minute walk to Ortigia.

    Amazing service, first and foremost. Staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel grounds, with an interesting history. Good food in the restaurant and the included breakfast is very generous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Location of the hotel straight on the cliffs “Latomie dei...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a classic double room and the choice was really disappointing. The room was located in the 1st floor with a window directly to the morning staff traffic at the back yard. It was impossible to use air conditioner as the air it blows smelled mold. The swimming pool was big, but water temperature in it was probably higher than in the air, so the pool was not refreshing at all. The minibar was not cooling, so the drinks were warm inside. In addition they charge you for everything you ask: pool towels 5€, ice to cool the drinks 5€ - that’s really annoying...

    Location of the hotel straight on the cliffs “Latomie dei Cappuccini” is of course unique, so is the style of the hotels as well. Worth to see and stay here definitely! Huge parking included in the price is a good bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Nostalgia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The opening time of the swimming pool ends at 19.00, during the hot summer period it would be nice to use it longer in the evening ( especially when you come home from visiting the beautiful sights of Siracusa).

    Charming old fashioned place, here and there a little renovation could improve the over-all- impression but nevertheless top rating! Very nice buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, very charming historical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the standard room and it was on the ground floor. Comfortable but a bit old and small bathroom and shower

    Location, very charming historical hotel. Nice swimming pool, large parking and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing fun and old work with that old world Italian feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really great room was spotless and very cool in this hot weather and loved breakfast

    Hi this was a fabulous place to stay old world style very friendly helpful staff breakfast really Good and every morning I'd get a pot of tea from the waiter the young lad at the pool was so nice and friendly it was a pleasure to go down to pool at anytime he would always have a hello and very polite and helpful was lovely and relaxing and took about 15min walk down to town but I enjoyed walk as very Italian

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    A very classy old style hotel - that is a hidden jewel of Siracusa!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way too hard and not comfortable to sleep on. And there was a ring of scum on the tiles around the pool.

    This place is beautiful, classic and elegant. There is a lot of spaces inside and outside the property to enjoy. They bake there own pastries and bread on the property. I can’t say enough about how DELICIOUS they were. Very generous amount of food for breakfast. Plus they have a granita machine which was great to be able to have as it was hot outside. The staff was incredibly aconmadating and helped me with transportation. The view from my room was stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    We both really enjoyed stay hope to go back in near future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good they cooked me poached eggs fresh every morning we both loved the grand room over looking front entrance

    The hotel had everything you need and staff very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing stay in Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains

    The hole hotel itself was wonderful. It’s an old palace completely refurbished with new installations and all the rooms are provided with air conditioner. The best things of this hotel though are: the swimming pool, a nice relaxing area to avoid the heat of the city and a very friendly and service oriented barman; the private parking, specially convenient if driving among the coast like us; and the breakfast buffe, a huge range of different products. Even though the hotel is 2 km away of the city center, it is very easy to drive and the parking at the port is very cheap. I found it a very relaxing stay and it was worth the money we paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and helpful staff, restaurant is also good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask waiter for capuccino at breakfast, otherwise it's machine made and not as good

    Very convenient for ruins but a good distance from Ortygia, the real centre of Siracusa. Taxi 10 Euros each way, but worth it, as the walk is lonely and pretty tatty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was not long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some nicely designed shaded areas round the pool would make the pool even better.

    If we return to beautiful Siracuse we will definitely stay at Villa Politi. It was lovely and the pool and breakfast were great. Only one thing to improve it would be some additional shade areas round the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant was very good in the evening and staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor - no food left and not replenished without asking. We had no prepared fresh fruit and cooked breakfast all gone - both mornings at 9.30 when it finished at 10.00. More staff needed at breakfast time.

    Restaurant was very good in the evening and staff very nice. The pool was great and made up for location which was quite a walk to centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    On the footsteps of Winston Churchill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    It had a lot of history and the first impression that you get is one of opulence and elegance.We has a standard room which was quite small compared to the 4 other rooms over the last 9 days that we’d stayed in.Other than that I could not fault it.The have a super Happy Hour for €7 you get a cocktail of your choice and they supply a varied buffet for you to help yourself.It was wonderful and quite delicious.They also had ample parking which was a bonus in Sicily.The hotel is situated about 15 min walk from the major tourist area but a 40 min walk from the Basilica.We used their pool €2.50 for a towel the proceeds go to a local charity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a walk to Ortigia, taxi around 12 Euros. Beach is not far but across a busy road, didn’t appeal so we used the pool.

    Set in beautiful gardens, overlooking the sea. Nice pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    We loved staying here because of the helpful staff, the lush...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot. It was a fair way from Ortigia island which is a must visit, but not as busy or touristy.

    We loved staying here because of the helpful staff, the lush setting and the sense of past glories. This hotel has an aura of past years but is clean and efficient and has a beautiful pool and relaxing area. We had a car so the easy and plentiful free parking was a big plus. The foyer, restaurant and terraces are delightfully grand and old European and the same with the rooms, which are a good size and comfortable. The aircon was appreciated especially in the heat of the day. Wifi is ok and available in all parts of the hotel. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the happy hour with nice snacks. There was also a local bar with sea views and a restaurant on the steep sea front. The hotel is out from the main town a bit and Ortigia island is a car, bus or taxi ride away, but we walked to the excellent archaeological museum and the park with Greek and Roman remains was not too far. We also like the catacombs. This hotel was great for a rest and getting a good tan by the pool. Also for its sense of grandeur and old world style and it’s lush setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a beautiful old building that has heaps of original features and a stunning entrance and foyer. Our room had a sea view and looked over the gardens and ancient quarry. The rooms have small balconies with no seating. We used the pool most days and Christiano was always on hand to cook snacks and serve a selection of drinks. We ate 3 of the 4 nights at the hotel as we were just that impressed with the food. The bar was well stocked and is really cosy. We didn't use the hotel solarium but it was only a short walk away. Its about a 20-30 minute stroll to Ortagia, but the route is a little derelict and dirty in some parts so I would recommend getting the hop on, hop off bus that stops near the hotel. Its only 5 Euros and runs 3 times an hour until about 19:30.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Need of renovation but ticks the simple boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in dire need of a renovation. Everything is dated and looks like a hotel from the 70s. There wasn't much personality or charm to the hotel, it all seemed a little tired.

    Staff were competent and there was a nice pool area. The hotel was within a very easy reach to Ortigia (about a 7 minute drive with no traffic). The hotel itself is set on beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Palace with charm, but quirks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice old hotel, but the room was small and there were some quirks. Lots of stairs to get to room. The door and door-jam were broken, no security. Room view of abandonded field. Safe in closset was impossible to open for lack of space, shower door leaked water out. Too far from centre to walk.... Small things.

    Old palace with charm, parking, pool and close to Calas. 5 min drive from port. Architecture and pool are great. The walk to centre is far, but quick by car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    The pool was fantastic, beautiful spot and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We used the beach club facilities, the staff implied that by booking through them and receiving a voucher the cost would be less when in actual fact it would have been less if we had just gone to the beach without mentioning that we were staying at the hotel.

    The pool was fantastic, beautiful spot and clean. A really abundant breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Memorable caring staff ready to make foreign guests feel welcomed! Elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the old town of Siracusa.

    Here is an extraordinary classic European Grand Hotel set in an exquisite location. Wonderful and caring staff - most spoke good English. Although a little out of Siracusa - a quick cab ride or nice walk along the Coast is worth the value guests derive by staying at this facility. Good they offer free parking - big plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed staying there it was a good experience to be able to stay in such a grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to see a nice plate of prepared fruit on the breakfast table each day .The layout of the table with the cooked breakfast food needs to be more prominent and also needed to be checked more frequently .The management need to think about the best way to provide a service in the daytime for the internal hotel bar and the pool area , difficult because of absent guests out on trips .The information on places to visit , trips out was poorly displayed and patchy . Someone needs to take responsibility for keeping this aspect of the hotel services in better order .

    Classic , elegant hotel evocative of the days of the Grand Tours of Europe but brought up to the present day .Lido area by the sea recently installed , good restaurant with good value daily dinner plus a la carte .Friendly professional staff fluent in English and other languages particually on reception .The dining room is magnificent with its highly decorated ceiling and chandeliers .Staff in uniformm looking very smart and classy ..The situation overlooking the gardens of the Latomie di Cappucins is unique and attractive .Long external collonaded terrace with views over garden towards sea , near bus stop for hop on bus I to Siracuse and Ortigia , local very good bakery , cafe nearby ideal at lunchtime if needed .No doubt the locality was more rural in tbe early days of the hotel but it remains still a very classy building with style and flair . Many famous people including Winston Churchill have stayed here in their time , our room was next door to the Winston Chur hill Suite . Early bird offers of nibble starters plus a spritz before dinner at 7.30.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    The villa of an empress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk to the town was it's downfall for me but that was my fault as I knew before I booked. The wardrobe was too small to hang anything long. It could do with a little bit of modernisation.

    The gardens and view were spectacular. The approach to the hotel has to be the best in syracuse. Great service from a fabulous staff. The pool area was lovely. Loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent service - restaurant bfast and dinner very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service - restaurant bfast and dinner very good. Very nice large pool......couldnt find the hotels facility overlooking the sea which reception said was turn left and left 150 metres......it was a garage! Overall very nice hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast, very kind staff, beautiful cliffs and garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Far from the city centre, but in return you won't have any problem finding a parking space.

    Good breakfast, very kind staff, beautiful cliffs and garden around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful 19th-century traditional building, well maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be improved

    Beautiful 19th-century traditional building, well maintained and well maintained. Decent breakfast in a beautiful room. The rooms on the third floor relatively small, but tidy. I will prefer it when I visit Syracuse. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok place,staff overall, cold room,dated, no internet, and room ,even if it said "bathtub",had shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet. Asked staff for 5 days nonstop, same reply "we'll have someone check it tomorrow", nothing. Room at night is freezing. Hotel has no heating sistem. I guess a 200€ a/c is too expensive.

    Nice bed, great view,good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Expected a LOT more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the folks at reception were not very friendly. Attitude was a little pompous. We were told their restaurant was not open for three days only upon our arrival. There was therefore no room service and the breakfast that was offered was below standard.

    The building itself was beautiful and clean. Liked the history behind it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel steeped in history. Great staff and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from town. Would have been great if there was a hotel shuttle into town.

    Lovely Hotel with a gorgeous room. Although many facilities not available due to it being off season. 20 minute walk into the main area of town for food and drink. Nothing really local at this time of year. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Great breakfast and the complimentary Prosecco was a nice treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant on site, no other restaurants nearby. Meant a €20 return taxi to a restaurant. The hotel was faded splendar.

    Were able to park easily, Ordered in food for us as restaurant was closed until 1 March

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    A Gem amongst Gems!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for one night unfortunately, we would have stayed longer if we could have. The were no negatives really but if looking for things, extra pillows would have been good but that is really not picking! It was disappointing that their restaurant was closed and we didn't know this until after our arrival. I was not feeling well and the thought of having a restaurant under the same roof was a definite enticement together with secure onsite parking. Having said that, it was politely explained the restaurant was been renovated during this period as it was low season. We totally understood and the sheer a ambience of the property made up for the inconvenience.

    The position was quite central but the property itself was amazing! The grounds were attractive and immaculately kept. The villa was beautifully presented I side and out. The room was very nice, bed very comfortable and view from our balconette was breath-taking! The reception staff, especially Francesco, were extremely professional, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    room with balcony, entry foyer feels like you have gone back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed when we were there with a promise it would be open the second night which then changed to the 27th Dec. As the location of the hotel is a good distance from other eating places this was not good.

    room with balcony, entry foyer feels like you have gone back in time,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin in particular. However would recommended to have a car to get to Ortigia.

    Stylish hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view. Free parking. Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Very enjoyable, nice old world atmosphere in the hotel situated in a beautiful and safe location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel isn't really set up well for children. For example, I traveled with my 12 yr old daughter and we ate outside the hotel each night as the hotels dinner menu didn't cater for younger people. She did however compliment the breakfast buffet. The bedrooms need more power points. People are increasingly travelling with phones, laptops etc and need opportunities for recharging. Finally, the single beds could be upgraded as they are not very comfortable.

    The old style atmosphere of the hotel and its location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Exquisite relaxation & wonderful hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the morning woke us earlier other than that no problem.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly the comfort of the hotel exceptional. Would go back in a heartbeat, could not have been better , food excellent loved the whole experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Quiet very comfortable and a beautiful grand old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's restaurant food was too expensive for us but we walked to a nearby bar and pizzeria.

    Lovely quiet and large room with comfortable bed and view out over the quarry garden. Easy parking. The hotel staff speak good English and were very helpful. It's a beautiful and old fashioned hotel with lovely sunny terraces.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely: way better than anticipated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints about hotel . My only general complain was that the view had been spoilt by poor construction across the road.

    The hotel is a combination of old school traditional. Monograms on curtains and beds. Fabulous gardens and pool. Dinner was superior. Staff are extremely professional. We spent six days there.. would go again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    A great start to our holiday - hotel exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The building and grounds are fascinating with a lovely terrace for sitting out on in the evenings. The pool is a good size and great after a days sight seeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half an hour walk to town where a better selection of restaurants

    Comfortable, freindly accommodating. Good pool. Staff very helpful. Good cocktail apperitivi happy hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Centrally located to all sites. Parking on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you could rent beach towels , but they were in short supply we needed 6 and got 4.

    The rooms we had were nice, clean and comfortable. the hotel is beautiful inside and out. Very classic with plenty of places to relax. We had a classic double bedroom, so we did not have a view from our window of the grounds (there are no other views besides that). Although, the grounds are very beautiful as well. The parking is onsite and free. The hotel is in the city which is more modern, but it is 5 minutes by car literally to the ruins and a walk away from the little town area, which had great views of the sea and Ortigia. Ortigia is only about 10 minutes by car . So the hotel is very centrally located for both places. The pool was great to relax at too. They have a solarium near by 24 euro per couple. Definitely worth it!!! The view there is amazing and the water is crystal clear!!! We went in Sept (12-15th) so it wasn't crowded or difficult to reserve out time there. Restaurant in the hotel was very good,dinner was a little on the expensive side but delicious. Breakfast was very good with a variety of food, coffee and juices. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. Very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel provided Elegent ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located too far to walk to alternative bars and restaurants and Ortigia.

    The hotel provided Elegent ambience. There was a very good pool area. The nibbles and drinks at Happy hour. Easy parking. As we were driving we found it easy to get to and from the hotel from outside the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    It was everything we wanted and more for a romantic break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to be negative about. Perhaps some of the areas were a little dated but this did not deflect from the overall palatial feel to the hotel, as it has a lot of history and we appreciated that some things could not be changed.

    The whole experience was wonderful. The Hotel was more than met our expectations and everything was first class. The staff were helpful and polite, the rooms were excellent and the location was wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.2
    Small pocky room with not much natural light. I do not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    The room was tiny with not much natural light. Reception nice and spacious but a massive let down with the room and expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in a beautiful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is 40min walk from town.

    The hotel is in the most amazing location. Really cool building with great views. Felt very relaxed here. Lots of car parking space too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    I spent three nights at the hotel with a friend of mine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a bit small.

    I spent three nights at the hotel with a friend of mine. I found it traditionally classy, very hospitable and clean. I read somewhere that Winston Churchill stayed there so I am still showing off to my friends that I stayed where he stayed :) The staff is very friendly and helpful and never let us down. I appreciated the fact that l asked for a room with sea view and they arranged one for us. The breakfast is very rich with eggs, Italian cheeses and lots of pastry. We didn't get the chance to use the swimming pool area but it looked big and comfortable. We had rented a car, and there was always free space in the hotel's parking. It takes around half an hour of walking to Isola di Ortigia, which is a busy area full of baroque buildings, lovely cute restaurants, bars, tourist shops and scenic paths. The hotel is also located 10 minutes driving from the Teatro Greco Siracusa which is a must-see. I definitely recommend it to all the travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The whole hotel has an atmosphere of quality and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole hotel has an atmosphere of quality and relaxation. it is a unique place with a charming history and has maintained its legacy. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff are extremely helpful and the pool a particular bonus, perfect for small children. Well done Hotel Villa Politi!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Old but excellent style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little view from the room and a little dark - but overall ambience swamped these minor negatives.

    The hotel was 'old-school' with bags of atmosphere and ambience. Our room was very pleasant. The pool was the warmest I had ever been in, with no shock between body and water temperature. The restaurant Was a real delight - I was expecting standard fare but in fact it was quite excellent, exciting, interesting and top quality with a good wine list. Possibly one of our top meals of 2017 and a beautiful surprise. Good bar - excellent G&Ts - no wonder Churchill enjoyed his visit(s). Totally wonderful terraces around the top of a quarry. Easy to imagine wonderful wedding or grand parties swarming over the spacious terrace with exciting views and feeling of space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, comfy place with a pool. Recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to the fancy island part of town. Not too impressed with local taxy service either.

    Great staff, clean, high quality beds, pool. Free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    3.8
    The worst 4* star hotel ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of 135€ doesn't meet requirements of a traveller. The hotel is charging customers even for pool towels ( 2.5€ daily per person). The water is not provided free even in draught summer season that should be done in a good day 4* hotel. The enlightning of the room is weak, no ,ain't ceiling lamp, wifi is awful. You can find fair wifi signal only in lobby or near the pool. The shower cabin is rather small. Breakfast are not various, too much pastry but less fruits, no fresh diary at all. There is no special cook and station during the breakfast to order fresh scrambled/ fried eggs or pancakes. For the same price I recommend to choose any hotel at Ortega Peninsula where all historic sights and best restaurants are located. I made a special request that we are a couple on Honeymoon. No any slight complementary was given. We are experienced individual tourists but we're disappointed though specially chose this facility to stay at Siracusa. Dear hotelier do revise your attitude and policy.

    Only main building architecture and interior in lobby, dining hall. May be somebody will appreciate a discount for cocktails and snacks during "happy hour ".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Siracusa Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great natural setting within ruins, the lovely pool, the great breakfast buffet with eggs, meats, cheese, pastries, juice, croissants, cappucino, etc and wonderful, helpful staff who all spoke fluent English. Our room was large with a view of the ruins and quarry. We had every convenience, it was hard to leave. The hotel was close to the Greek Theatre and the Orecchio di Dionysius (don't miss this!) in the ancient ruins. It was also near Ortygia old city--it would be a long walk--we drove. We would have liked to gone to their fantastic cliffside platform beach area, a 5 minute walk from the hotel--wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean and comfortable, well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in a good location, within 10 minute walk of a public beach or 5 minutes walk of a paid lido. Good breakfast with a lot of choices and a nice pool with plenty of sun beds and a small bar. Staff where all friendly and spoke good English, explaining local sites and places to park etc. It is a ten minute drive to Ortigia but overall a good location and worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Overall pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel seems to be a bit neglected in areas. There was no shuttle to and fro the airport, it was far from the centre of town.

    The lush garden in front of the hotel, the sea view (even though far) from the front, the breakfast, the restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little too far from the old town. Had good exercise walking but didn't realise it was over 2 jobs to walk and not particularly pleasant route.

    Hotel was very comfortable. Old- world grand. Had a few problems that they sorted out. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a charge for pool side towels and apparently a private beach which is an additional extra. I think it would be good to waive those fees as it looks a little cheap. The pool side snacks were quite limited too but with a little work in those areas, it would be perfect. This did not affect our stay however as we were mainly sightseeing and I only mean this as constructive observation. I will be going back there to stay!

    The 1st room we had was a little small but the 2nd one was great. Very pleasant staff and honest cleaners (after we left several items in the 1st room!)made this easy. Breakfasts were lovely but sadly didn't have time to try the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Elegant old world grandeur with beautiful views and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - air conditioning was at times not strong enough in the bedrooms for the extreme temperatures - the bathroom was particularly prone to this problem. - the pool while beautiful could do with more of a shallow area for younger children. - the main restaurant is rather limited for children (unless they happen to be gastronomes!) so if they want to attract more families they would benefit from designing a children's menu.

    Excellent service. Attentive friendly staff. Beautiful ambience at this old world elegant hotel. Beautiful bedrooms Excellent breakfast buffet! Gorgeous views from the Juliet balcony of bedroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Four star, not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, view was awful and had to beg for ice, tissues and soap. Would have never guessed a four star hotel would skimp on such cheap items.

    The hotel was beautiful the gardens were pleasant and relaxing. The breakfast which was included was wonderful, eggs, meat and delicious coffee and pastries. Happy hour was a great deal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we had to settle the bill in cash since we were told that the online payment was not active. We were informed of this on checking out and it would have entailed going to city centre to find an ATM had we not enough cash to settle the bill. Building walls from pool side need attention since it is showing cracks and patches of missing plaster. One had to use stairs to access the pool.

    Staff polite and friendly; Location of hotel within a short distance of the city center ideal. Having private parking facilities excellent for travelers with their own car. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and elegant place to stay in Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is pretty far if you don't use car or taxi to go for example Ortigia to have dinner.

    Breakfast was great and the swimming pool area was really nice. Staff is also very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Location is great but room need refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is really old and the rooms need a good refurbishment . The shower box was in horrible condition and the room was too small for the price payed. The description of the room reported a bath in the room but they have been unable to give me a room matching the description . Just showers.

    Location and surrounding is just amazing and it's really close to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Elegant, older style charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The (extremely small) terrace had no seats or table to sit outside & the view of the fire escape wasn't great but that was a small negative

    A very nice, 'olde worlde' hotel with a nice ambience & in a nice setting. The room was a little on the small side but spotlessly clean & the staff were all very friendly & helpful. The pool areas were lovely & definitely necessary as the temperatures climbed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Historical, beautiful building made a special stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was a beautiful grand building with a fascinating history. We liked the location, easy to drive to, parking on site and the hop on hop off bus for €5 per day just near the hotel. We used that to sight see the city and found it to be very convenient. Breakfast in the magnificent ballroom was delicious. The large pool and generous surrounds were very welcome at the end of a hot day sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Delightful room with lovely view to the sea. Lovely swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By updating a couple of features of the decor (such as getting some funkier bright modern chairs in the bar and replacing the red chairs near the leaflet area by reception) the whole atmosphere could be lightened and be more welcoming for younger guests. I think the hotel should spend a bit painting the back of the hotel (white and light blue? to match the walls of the swimming pool sides which do look bright and cheerful) and possibly updating the curtains in the restaurant side area - the pink netting looks a bit old fashioned - but that's just one opinion.

    Historic hotel. Charming room with lovely balcony and window shutters and a view over the front of the property across palm trees to the sea. Staff pleasant. Great value cocktail and nibbles in the Winston bar happy hour. The pool was wonderful and the water temperature perfect - the pool was the reason we booked the hotel. Breakfast good and the meal in the restaurant was of a high quality and not bad value. The seating area outside the reception underneath the pillars was a delight to sit in and have a cocktail before dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff and hotel were absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking - beware if parking under trees for the shade - our hire car got berries and bird poo all over it so we had to find a car wash to clean it before handing it back - the car wash operator laughed and said Villa Politi!! Pillows could be beter

    The staff and hotel were absolutely superb

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: