Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Villa Politi This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Maria Politi Laudien 2, 96100 Syracuse, Italy

#20 of 45 hotels in Syracuse

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1361 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was not long enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some nicely designed shaded areas round the pool would make the pool even better.

    If we return to beautiful Siracuse we will definitely stay at Villa Politi. It was lovely and the pool and breakfast were great. Only one thing to improve it would be some additional shade areas round the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant was very good in the evening and staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor - no food left and not replenished without asking. We had no prepared fresh fruit and cooked breakfast all gone - both mornings at 9.30 when it finished at 10.00. More staff needed at breakfast time.

    Restaurant was very good in the evening and staff very nice. The pool was great and made up for location which was quite a walk to centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    On the footsteps of Winston Churchill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    It had a lot of history and the first impression that you get is one of opulence and elegance.We has a standard room which was quite small compared to the 4 other rooms over the last 9 days that we’d stayed in.Other than that I could not fault it.The have a super Happy Hour for €7 you get a cocktail of your choice and they supply a varied buffet for you to help yourself.It was wonderful and quite delicious.They also had ample parking which was a bonus in Sicily.The hotel is situated about 15 min walk from the major tourist area but a 40 min walk from the Basilica.We used their pool €2.50 for a towel the proceeds go to a local charity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite a walk to Ortigia, taxi around 12 Euros. Beach is not far but across a busy road, didn’t appeal so we used the pool.

    Set in beautiful gardens, overlooking the sea. Nice pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    We loved staying here because of the helpful staff, the lush...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot. It was a fair way from Ortigia island which is a must visit, but not as busy or touristy.

    We loved staying here because of the helpful staff, the lush setting and the sense of past glories. This hotel has an aura of past years but is clean and efficient and has a beautiful pool and relaxing area. We had a car so the easy and plentiful free parking was a big plus. The foyer, restaurant and terraces are delightfully grand and old European and the same with the rooms, which are a good size and comfortable. The aircon was appreciated especially in the heat of the day. Wifi is ok and available in all parts of the hotel. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the happy hour with nice snacks. There was also a local bar with sea views and a restaurant on the steep sea front. The hotel is out from the main town a bit and Ortigia island is a car, bus or taxi ride away, but we walked to the excellent archaeological museum and the park with Greek and Roman remains was not too far. We also like the catacombs. This hotel was great for a rest and getting a good tan by the pool. Also for its sense of grandeur and old world style and it’s lush setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a beautiful old building that has heaps of original features and a stunning entrance and foyer. Our room had a sea view and looked over the gardens and ancient quarry. The rooms have small balconies with no seating. We used the pool most days and Christiano was always on hand to cook snacks and serve a selection of drinks. We ate 3 of the 4 nights at the hotel as we were just that impressed with the food. The bar was well stocked and is really cosy. We didn't use the hotel solarium but it was only a short walk away. Its about a 20-30 minute stroll to Ortagia, but the route is a little derelict and dirty in some parts so I would recommend getting the hop on, hop off bus that stops near the hotel. Its only 5 Euros and runs 3 times an hour until about 19:30.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    Need of renovation but ticks the simple boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in dire need of a renovation. Everything is dated and looks like a hotel from the 70s. There wasn't much personality or charm to the hotel, it all seemed a little tired.

    Staff were competent and there was a nice pool area. The hotel was within a very easy reach to Ortigia (about a 7 minute drive with no traffic). The hotel itself is set on beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Palace with charm, but quirks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A nice old hotel, but the room was small and there were some quirks. Lots of stairs to get to room. The door and door-jam were broken, no security. Room view of abandonded field. Safe in closset was impossible to open for lack of space, shower door leaked water out. Too far from centre to walk.... Small things.

    Old palace with charm, parking, pool and close to Calas. 5 min drive from port. Architecture and pool are great. The walk to centre is far, but quick by car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    The pool was fantastic, beautiful spot and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We used the beach club facilities, the staff implied that by booking through them and receiving a voucher the cost would be less when in actual fact it would have been less if we had just gone to the beach without mentioning that we were staying at the hotel.

    The pool was fantastic, beautiful spot and clean. A really abundant breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Memorable caring staff ready to make foreign guests feel welcomed! Elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The distance from the old town of Siracusa.

    Here is an extraordinary classic European Grand Hotel set in an exquisite location. Wonderful and caring staff - most spoke good English. Although a little out of Siracusa - a quick cab ride or nice walk along the Coast is worth the value guests derive by staying at this facility. Good they offer free parking - big plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed staying there it was a good experience to be able to stay in such a grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked to see a nice plate of prepared fruit on the breakfast table each day .The layout of the table with the cooked breakfast food needs to be more prominent and also needed to be checked more frequently .The management need to think about the best way to provide a service in the daytime for the internal hotel bar and the pool area , difficult because of absent guests out on trips .The information on places to visit , trips out was poorly displayed and patchy . Someone needs to take responsibility for keeping this aspect of the hotel services in better order .

    Classic , elegant hotel evocative of the days of the Grand Tours of Europe but brought up to the present day .Lido area by the sea recently installed , good restaurant with good value daily dinner plus a la carte .Friendly professional staff fluent in English and other languages particually on reception .The dining room is magnificent with its highly decorated ceiling and chandeliers .Staff in uniformm looking very smart and classy ..The situation overlooking the gardens of the Latomie di Cappucins is unique and attractive .Long external collonaded terrace with views over garden towards sea , near bus stop for hop on bus I to Siracuse and Ortigia , local very good bakery , cafe nearby ideal at lunchtime if needed .No doubt the locality was more rural in tbe early days of the hotel but it remains still a very classy building with style and flair . Many famous people including Winston Churchill have stayed here in their time , our room was next door to the Winston Chur hill Suite . Early bird offers of nibble starters plus a spritz before dinner at 7.30.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    The villa of an empress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A long walk to the town was it's downfall for me but that was my fault as I knew before I booked. The wardrobe was too small to hang anything long. It could do with a little bit of modernisation.

    The gardens and view were spectacular. The approach to the hotel has to be the best in syracuse. Great service from a fabulous staff. The pool area was lovely. Loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent service - restaurant bfast and dinner very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent service - restaurant bfast and dinner very good. Very nice large pool......couldnt find the hotels facility overlooking the sea which reception said was turn left and left 150 metres......it was a garage! Overall very nice hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast, very kind staff, beautiful cliffs and garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Far from the city centre, but in return you won't have any problem finding a parking space.

    Good breakfast, very kind staff, beautiful cliffs and garden around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful 19th-century traditional building, well maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be improved

    Beautiful 19th-century traditional building, well maintained and well maintained. Decent breakfast in a beautiful room. The rooms on the third floor relatively small, but tidy. I will prefer it when I visit Syracuse. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Ok place,staff overall, cold room,dated, no internet, and room ,even if it said "bathtub",had shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No internet. Asked staff for 5 days nonstop, same reply "we'll have someone check it tomorrow", nothing. Room at night is freezing. Hotel has no heating sistem. I guess a 200€ a/c is too expensive.

    Nice bed, great view,good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.7
    Expected a LOT more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the folks at reception were not very friendly. Attitude was a little pompous. We were told their restaurant was not open for three days only upon our arrival. There was therefore no room service and the breakfast that was offered was below standard.

    The building itself was beautiful and clean. Liked the history behind it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel steeped in history. Great staff and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from town. Would have been great if there was a hotel shuttle into town.

    Lovely Hotel with a gorgeous room. Although many facilities not available due to it being off season. 20 minute walk into the main area of town for food and drink. Nothing really local at this time of year. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Great breakfast and the complimentary Prosecco was a nice treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restaurant on site, no other restaurants nearby. Meant a €20 return taxi to a restaurant. The hotel was faded splendar.

    Were able to park easily, Ordered in food for us as restaurant was closed until 1 March

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    A Gem amongst Gems!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were only there for one night unfortunately, we would have stayed longer if we could have. The were no negatives really but if looking for things, extra pillows would have been good but that is really not picking! It was disappointing that their restaurant was closed and we didn't know this until after our arrival. I was not feeling well and the thought of having a restaurant under the same roof was a definite enticement together with secure onsite parking. Having said that, it was politely explained the restaurant was been renovated during this period as it was low season. We totally understood and the sheer a ambience of the property made up for the inconvenience.

    The position was quite central but the property itself was amazing! The grounds were attractive and immaculately kept. The villa was beautifully presented I side and out. The room was very nice, bed very comfortable and view from our balconette was breath-taking! The reception staff, especially Francesco, were extremely professional, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    6.7
    room with balcony, entry foyer feels like you have gone back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed when we were there with a promise it would be open the second night which then changed to the 27th Dec. As the location of the hotel is a good distance from other eating places this was not good.

    room with balcony, entry foyer feels like you have gone back in time,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothin in particular. However would recommended to have a car to get to Ortigia.

    Stylish hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view. Free parking. Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.1
    Very enjoyable, nice old world atmosphere in the hotel situated in a beautiful and safe location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel isn't really set up well for children. For example, I traveled with my 12 yr old daughter and we ate outside the hotel each night as the hotels dinner menu didn't cater for younger people. She did however compliment the breakfast buffet. The bedrooms need more power points. People are increasingly travelling with phones, laptops etc and need opportunities for recharging. Finally, the single beds could be upgraded as they are not very comfortable.

    The old style atmosphere of the hotel and its location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Exquisite relaxation & wonderful hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise in the morning woke us earlier other than that no problem.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly the comfort of the hotel exceptional. Would go back in a heartbeat, could not have been better , food excellent loved the whole experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet very comfortable and a beautiful grand old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel's restaurant food was too expensive for us but we walked to a nearby bar and pizzeria.

    Lovely quiet and large room with comfortable bed and view out over the quarry garden. Easy parking. The hotel staff speak good English and were very helpful. It's a beautiful and old fashioned hotel with lovely sunny terraces.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely: way better than anticipated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had no complaints about hotel . My only general complain was that the view had been spoilt by poor construction across the road.

    The hotel is a combination of old school traditional. Monograms on curtains and beds. Fabulous gardens and pool. Dinner was superior. Staff are extremely professional. We spent six days there.. would go again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    A great start to our holiday - hotel exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The building and grounds are fascinating with a lovely terrace for sitting out on in the evenings. The pool is a good size and great after a days sight seeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Half an hour walk to town where a better selection of restaurants

    Comfortable, freindly accommodating. Good pool. Staff very helpful. Good cocktail apperitivi happy hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Centrally located to all sites. Parking on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you could rent beach towels , but they were in short supply we needed 6 and got 4.

    The rooms we had were nice, clean and comfortable. the hotel is beautiful inside and out. Very classic with plenty of places to relax. We had a classic double bedroom, so we did not have a view from our window of the grounds (there are no other views besides that). Although, the grounds are very beautiful as well. The parking is onsite and free. The hotel is in the city which is more modern, but it is 5 minutes by car literally to the ruins and a walk away from the little town area, which had great views of the sea and Ortigia. Ortigia is only about 10 minutes by car . So the hotel is very centrally located for both places. The pool was great to relax at too. They have a solarium near by 24 euro per couple. Definitely worth it!!! The view there is amazing and the water is crystal clear!!! We went in Sept (12-15th) so it wasn't crowded or difficult to reserve out time there. Restaurant in the hotel was very good,dinner was a little on the expensive side but delicious. Breakfast was very good with a variety of food, coffee and juices. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. Very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    The hotel provided Elegent ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was located too far to walk to alternative bars and restaurants and Ortigia.

    The hotel provided Elegent ambience. There was a very good pool area. The nibbles and drinks at Happy hour. Easy parking. As we were driving we found it easy to get to and from the hotel from outside the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    It was everything we wanted and more for a romantic break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to be negative about. Perhaps some of the areas were a little dated but this did not deflect from the overall palatial feel to the hotel, as it has a lot of history and we appreciated that some things could not be changed.

    The whole experience was wonderful. The Hotel was more than met our expectations and everything was first class. The staff were helpful and polite, the rooms were excellent and the location was wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    4.2
    Small pocky room with not much natural light. I do not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot

    The room was tiny with not much natural light. Reception nice and spacious but a massive let down with the room and expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in a beautiful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is 40min walk from town.

    The hotel is in the most amazing location. Really cool building with great views. Felt very relaxed here. Lots of car parking space too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    I spent three nights at the hotel with a friend of mine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a bit small.

    I spent three nights at the hotel with a friend of mine. I found it traditionally classy, very hospitable and clean. I read somewhere that Winston Churchill stayed there so I am still showing off to my friends that I stayed where he stayed :) The staff is very friendly and helpful and never let us down. I appreciated the fact that l asked for a room with sea view and they arranged one for us. The breakfast is very rich with eggs, Italian cheeses and lots of pastry. We didn't get the chance to use the swimming pool area but it looked big and comfortable. We had rented a car, and there was always free space in the hotel's parking. It takes around half an hour of walking to Isola di Ortigia, which is a busy area full of baroque buildings, lovely cute restaurants, bars, tourist shops and scenic paths. The hotel is also located 10 minutes driving from the Teatro Greco Siracusa which is a must-see. I definitely recommend it to all the travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.2
    The whole hotel has an atmosphere of quality and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole hotel has an atmosphere of quality and relaxation. it is a unique place with a charming history and has maintained its legacy. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff are extremely helpful and the pool a particular bonus, perfect for small children. Well done Hotel Villa Politi!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Old but excellent style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little view from the room and a little dark - but overall ambience swamped these minor negatives.

    The hotel was 'old-school' with bags of atmosphere and ambience. Our room was very pleasant. The pool was the warmest I had ever been in, with no shock between body and water temperature. The restaurant Was a real delight - I was expecting standard fare but in fact it was quite excellent, exciting, interesting and top quality with a good wine list. Possibly one of our top meals of 2017 and a beautiful surprise. Good bar - excellent G&Ts - no wonder Churchill enjoyed his visit(s). Totally wonderful terraces around the top of a quarry. Easy to imagine wonderful wedding or grand parties swarming over the spacious terrace with exciting views and feeling of space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, comfy place with a pool. Recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long walk to the fancy island part of town. Not too impressed with local taxy service either.

    Great staff, clean, high quality beds, pool. Free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    3.8
    The worst 4* star hotel ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of 135€ doesn't meet requirements of a traveller. The hotel is charging customers even for pool towels ( 2.5€ daily per person). The water is not provided free even in draught summer season that should be done in a good day 4* hotel. The enlightning of the room is weak, no ,ain't ceiling lamp, wifi is awful. You can find fair wifi signal only in lobby or near the pool. The shower cabin is rather small. Breakfast are not various, too much pastry but less fruits, no fresh diary at all. There is no special cook and station during the breakfast to order fresh scrambled/ fried eggs or pancakes. For the same price I recommend to choose any hotel at Ortega Peninsula where all historic sights and best restaurants are located. I made a special request that we are a couple on Honeymoon. No any slight complementary was given. We are experienced individual tourists but we're disappointed though specially chose this facility to stay at Siracusa. Dear hotelier do revise your attitude and policy.

    Only main building architecture and interior in lobby, dining hall. May be somebody will appreciate a discount for cocktails and snacks during "happy hour ".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    Siracusa Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great natural setting within ruins, the lovely pool, the great breakfast buffet with eggs, meats, cheese, pastries, juice, croissants, cappucino, etc and wonderful, helpful staff who all spoke fluent English. Our room was large with a view of the ruins and quarry. We had every convenience, it was hard to leave. The hotel was close to the Greek Theatre and the Orecchio di Dionysius (don't miss this!) in the ancient ruins. It was also near Ortygia old city--it would be a long walk--we drove. We would have liked to gone to their fantastic cliffside platform beach area, a 5 minute walk from the hotel--wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean and comfortable, well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in a good location, within 10 minute walk of a public beach or 5 minutes walk of a paid lido. Good breakfast with a lot of choices and a nice pool with plenty of sun beds and a small bar. Staff where all friendly and spoke good English, explaining local sites and places to park etc. It is a ten minute drive to Ortigia but overall a good location and worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.1
    Overall pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel seems to be a bit neglected in areas. There was no shuttle to and fro the airport, it was far from the centre of town.

    The lush garden in front of the hotel, the sea view (even though far) from the front, the breakfast, the restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little too far from the old town. Had good exercise walking but didn't realise it was over 2 jobs to walk and not particularly pleasant route.

    Hotel was very comfortable. Old- world grand. Had a few problems that they sorted out. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a charge for pool side towels and apparently a private beach which is an additional extra. I think it would be good to waive those fees as it looks a little cheap. The pool side snacks were quite limited too but with a little work in those areas, it would be perfect. This did not affect our stay however as we were mainly sightseeing and I only mean this as constructive observation. I will be going back there to stay!

    The 1st room we had was a little small but the 2nd one was great. Very pleasant staff and honest cleaners (after we left several items in the 1st room!)made this easy. Breakfasts were lovely but sadly didn't have time to try the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    8.8
    Elegant old world grandeur with beautiful views and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - air conditioning was at times not strong enough in the bedrooms for the extreme temperatures - the bathroom was particularly prone to this problem. - the pool while beautiful could do with more of a shallow area for younger children. - the main restaurant is rather limited for children (unless they happen to be gastronomes!) so if they want to attract more families they would benefit from designing a children's menu.

    Excellent service. Attentive friendly staff. Beautiful ambience at this old world elegant hotel. Beautiful bedrooms Excellent breakfast buffet! Gorgeous views from the Juliet balcony of bedroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    6.7
    Four star, not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small, view was awful and had to beg for ice, tissues and soap. Would have never guessed a four star hotel would skimp on such cheap items.

    The hotel was beautiful the gardens were pleasant and relaxing. The breakfast which was included was wonderful, eggs, meat and delicious coffee and pastries. Happy hour was a great deal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we had to settle the bill in cash since we were told that the online payment was not active. We were informed of this on checking out and it would have entailed going to city centre to find an ATM had we not enough cash to settle the bill. Building walls from pool side need attention since it is showing cracks and patches of missing plaster. One had to use stairs to access the pool.

    Staff polite and friendly; Location of hotel within a short distance of the city center ideal. Having private parking facilities excellent for travelers with their own car. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and elegant place to stay in Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is pretty far if you don't use car or taxi to go for example Ortigia to have dinner.

    Breakfast was great and the swimming pool area was really nice. Staff is also very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.6
    Location is great but room need refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is really old and the rooms need a good refurbishment . The shower box was in horrible condition and the room was too small for the price payed. The description of the room reported a bath in the room but they have been unable to give me a room matching the description . Just showers.

    Location and surrounding is just amazing and it's really close to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.2
    Elegant, older style charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The (extremely small) terrace had no seats or table to sit outside & the view of the fire escape wasn't great but that was a small negative

    A very nice, 'olde worlde' hotel with a nice ambience & in a nice setting. The room was a little on the small side but spotlessly clean & the staff were all very friendly & helpful. The pool areas were lovely & definitely necessary as the temperatures climbed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.2
    Historical, beautiful building made a special stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was a beautiful grand building with a fascinating history. We liked the location, easy to drive to, parking on site and the hop on hop off bus for €5 per day just near the hotel. We used that to sight see the city and found it to be very convenient. Breakfast in the magnificent ballroom was delicious. The large pool and generous surrounds were very welcome at the end of a hot day sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.5
    Delightful room with lovely view to the sea. Lovely swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By updating a couple of features of the decor (such as getting some funkier bright modern chairs in the bar and replacing the red chairs near the leaflet area by reception) the whole atmosphere could be lightened and be more welcoming for younger guests. I think the hotel should spend a bit painting the back of the hotel (white and light blue? to match the walls of the swimming pool sides which do look bright and cheerful) and possibly updating the curtains in the restaurant side area - the pink netting looks a bit old fashioned - but that's just one opinion.

    Historic hotel. Charming room with lovely balcony and window shutters and a view over the front of the property across palm trees to the sea. Staff pleasant. Great value cocktail and nibbles in the Winston bar happy hour. The pool was wonderful and the water temperature perfect - the pool was the reason we booked the hotel. Breakfast good and the meal in the restaurant was of a high quality and not bad value. The seating area outside the reception underneath the pillars was a delight to sit in and have a cocktail before dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.2
    The staff and hotel were absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking - beware if parking under trees for the shade - our hire car got berries and bird poo all over it so we had to find a car wash to clean it before handing it back - the car wash operator laughed and said Villa Politi!! Pillows could be beter

    The staff and hotel were absolutely superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    Molto meraviglioso!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked it all! Especially valuefor money.

    The luxurious feel,the history of the hotel and the stupendous natural environment built on a grotto as well as the fabulously restored and maintained property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.8
    A piece of history in beautiful Syracuse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seems like the hotel is a little tired and in need of sprucing up. Pool towels had to be hired and there was no mention of access to the private beach.

    Friendly staff and a comfortable room. Lovely pool. The hotel seems steeped in history and full of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.1
    lovely staff, shame about the extra charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being charged for a pool towel cheapens the feel of the stay. The bar was shut at 9pm when we got in from dinner.

    The building, entrance, terrace and outlook over caves was lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Every thing was very good.

    We were in the hotel for eleven days. The location was good for visiting all the local sights in the area. Noto, Ragusa, Modica and Necropoli di Pantalica just to name a few. Taormina was an hour drive away and Catania little less. The parking at the hotel is very good. Parking was not a problem visiting Ortygia put it in your navigation system and it will take you to the parking. If you want to walk it is about 30 minutes. Get the app SiracusacityApp it was very helpful got it from a local. The hotel staff was very helpful and the dinner in the restaurant was good value for your money. We eat 6 times at the restaurant and Ivan the Maitre’D made each dinner feel like we were in a palace. Wow! After a long day touring we came back to the hotel for a quick swim. The pool is fantastic and you could order drinks if you wanted. At about 18:30 to 17:30 happy hour with good Italian snacks every day. We had a room with a balcony and it was very good. The room size was good but it’s not like you are in a suit. Good value for the money. We had dinner in Ortygia once and three times in the local area walking distance from the hotel. The hotel looks good and the area is breath taking, it could use some paint in some areas but that’s what makes the hotel special. Used the lonely planet on Sicily but the digital copy was very helpful in navigating and finding locations via Google map. I would definitely recommend the hotel with a 10.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    The hotel is so fabulous, I would not mind living in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not one thing I did not like about the hotel. It is just so beautiful, and the staff were brilliant and the gardens are second to none. I love sitting out on your balcony at night. I love the fact it is built on an old Greek quarry. I have never seen anything like that before. I would definitely stay there again the next time I am in Syracuse. The pool area is also stunning. I was just disappointed since it was early season that the hotel did not have a range of first class meals on offer. Maybe next time I visit you will have them. The breakfast, however, was very, very good.

    When we pulled up to the Grand Hotel Villa Pollti I could not believe my eyes. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and fabulous. I think it would be very difficult to top the grand setting of the Grand Hotel Villa Politi. It is obvious that the hotel was once the Villa of an Empress. It shows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    8.3
    Good location.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception not welcoming. Male Waiting staff in restaurant showed little interest. The only pleasant person with a big smile was the lady who also served in the restaurant. Not a lot of choice at breakfast.

    Room was clean with tiny balcony. Bathroom and towels clean. Bathroom was small as was shower unit and the shower head had green deposits. Bed comfortable. Evening meal of the day was very tasty and good value. Very good location with hop on hop off bus stopping just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was supposed to be a bit of luxury on a multi-stop tour, but is was massively disappointing. Paid much more that for much better accommodation elsewhere. The hotel has a feel of faded grandeur and having seen better days. In the bathroom tiles were cracked and fittings loose and worn. Decoration also vert tired. They wouldn't lend us an iron, but offered to iron a shirt for 7€. Pool towels are 2.50€ per day A small bottles beer was 5€ WiFi on third floor was very slow. I don't like big crowds and large hotels, so breakfast was too noisy and chaotic to enjoy. Basically, not my sort of thing, expected much more so was disappointed - others may love it if shabby-chic is their thing.

    Staff were, on the whole, pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    7.5
    A piece of history to enjoy .......
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Villa Politta, is a grand hotel in the old style, full of history and faded glory. The location was quiet and convenient for the Archaeological Park, museum and catacombs and a taxi drive away from Ortigia (10 Euros for hotel arranged taxi). The staff were helpful and attendant. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard but fresh juice and coffee available if you ask and the setting in the old ballroom is magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    10
    Suddenly a very nice place to be with friends in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suddenly a very nice place to be with friends in Sicily. View inside and outside is extremely great, accommodation is very good too. Easy to drive in and park the car in hotel's own parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    Grand Hotel Villa Politi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A truly fantastic location, just a short 10 minute stroll to the main downtown Siracusa. The hotel has a beautiful nostalgic feel best absorbed on an evening sat on the front terrace with a glass of your favourite drink. The staff were amazing without a doubt made the stay that much better always cheerful and keen to help. A big thanks to Francesco helped me and my other half out on several occasions, a member of staff who is a credit to the hotel. If you are looking for a base to explore this part of Sicily then look no further than Grand Hotel Villa Politi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    10
    hotel with a special atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The variety of food at breakfast, friendly staff. The surrounding of the hotel was amazing and very peaceful. Had a nice view from our little roof balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    8.8
    Old world charm, confort and quietness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A grand historical and charming hotel set on the top of an old grec quarry. Lovely outdoor area/ terrasse. An oasis of calm where you can sleep well. Very confortable and clean room, with a lovely view over Ortigia. Fresh and delicious breakfast. Hop on and hop off bus stop 100 meters away. Good parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    9.6
    A superbly comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waiting staff for evening meals seem to want to 'outdo' each other for greatest number of guests served in the shortest possible time. Food arrived before the previous course had been completed and we were asked by different waiters on three occasions if we'd like coffee! Just slow down a bit, it is an evening meal after all.

    The room was clean and the bedding fresh. It was serviced daily to a high standard. The reception area was well set out and lounge facilities most pleasant. The breakfast was very good with sufficiently attentive service. Outdoor swimming pool is large, clean and has ample sun loungers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Beautiful and charming hotel retaining the elegance of a bye...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel exceeded expectations, the staff were friendly and professional. there was nothing wrong

    Beautiful and charming hotel retaining the elegance of a bye gone era without any compromise in modern comfort. Also an oasis of quiet calm where ypu could sleep at night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    7.9
    Grand old house slightly worn down - with great modern pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Classic rooms on 3rd floor have a wall in front with a oval whole to look through - but only when you are standing. In the Luxury room no sitting area, just one chair - there would have been room for a nice couch or comfortable chairs. The towels in the room could use a replacement, also there was a nice mini bar but only cheap one way plastic "glasses". Things looked rather worn down and could easily be upgraded with little money. Pool towels cost extra. Pool Bar not open and dirty, also changing facility (at beginning of May).

    Impressive old fashioned traditional house Wonderful pool Great Happy Hour with buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying in such a grand historical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didn't work in our room on the first day but was good the next day. The pillows were also not very good.

    Enjoyed staying in such a grand historical hotel. The breakfast was good and the parking was excellent. A 15 minute walk to the archeological ruins and 20 minutes to Ortigia.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    10
    The Villa Politi is perfect for the traveller who likes to explore ancient cultures in a grand sett
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Villa Politi is set on an ancient quarry, it has extensive grounds that take in old caves and sunny places to sit. The pool is very glamorous it is 25 metres long, warm, and with lots of sun lounges and easy access from the rooms. The building is very grand and early 20th century in style. It contains a ballroom and dining area where breakfast and dinner are served. Winston Churchill holidayed here in the 1950's. The hop on hop off bus ( cost 4 euros a day ) is 100 metres from the front door, and there are great buildings to visit in Otiga as well as a greek theatre and archaeological sites close by. The Villa Politi is great value for money with an interesting history, perfect for those who like to explore in the morning and relax by the pool in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.3
    Historical Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it would be a bit nicer to be right on the island of Ortigia for ease of dining in the evenings but it's a price/parking/convenience trade-off. You can't drive and park on the island anyway, so you'd still have to walk from the parking area to your hotel on the island and walk to any restaurant but the walk would be nicer and shorter. Small complaints --- WIFI pretty good in the room but sometimes I resorted to my own phone for a hot spot. Bottled water not supplied. The usual lack of convenient plug for charging and not having live plugs available for charging when out of the room. The sink stopper very very hard to close and open.

    This is a beautiful historical hotel right on top of an ancient Greek quarry, with a huge free private parking lot, and excellent service and charming staff, within walking distance of the action on Ortigia Island and a few minutes from the Parco Archeologica Neapolis. Lovely for a long stay and handy for day trips all over Sicily. Very slightly shabby original hotel decor (but perfectly modern in facilities) --- perfect for my taste. I had a charming small single room with a huge terrace, louvred French doors, view of the sea, for a bargain price (got lucky) so made it my headquarters. Pretty good WIFI in the room, sometimes a bit slow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    10
    Best hotel experience in syracuse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stopped searching for imperfections 3 days in.

    Everything about the hotel. The staff were amazing, incredibly attentive and so much attention to detail was paid. No request was ever too much trouble. The restaurant food was top quality and very reasonably priced,and the restaurant staff were also to your every need and had a great sense of humor. Our room was top floor and was a beautiful eclectic mix of traditional and modern, topped off by a beautiful private terrace with a sea view and a stunning view of the near by town of ortigia. The pool area on top of being beautiful was the most private pool area I've ever used. Open and closed all at the same time. Finally, the location was perfect. We were a 5 minute walk from multiple supermarkets, a 15 minute walk to ortigia (5minute taxi) and felt absolutely at home here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked Staff, rooms, garden. Staff was exceptionally friendly. Hotel vibe is very nice. Beautiful garden makes it even nicer. Rooms are very comfortable and beds are very good. Location is excellent, short walk to old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    6.7
    Old world ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grand old hotel, but tired old linens (not even correct size for the bed) and furnishings. Tiniest room imaginable (must have originally been a single and not a double). This hotel is in serious need of capital investment for some updating to restore it to its former glory. It could be a 10!

    Old world ambience. Spectacular and unique setting. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.3
    The Ladies at the reception were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better. Food wasn't filled up quickly enaugh. Waiter was more hiding then waiting.

    The Ladies at the reception were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2017

    8.3
    Rare and fine combination of pleasant old fashion and up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shuttle service from station and from/to Ortegia. Public transport to and from it is very, very poor.

    This is really **** hospitality in grand style. I felt like a warm bath and a home away from home. Please don't change into a Holiday Inn, stay like this! Though it is already from 1862 all the facilities are up to date. A rare and fine combination of old fashion and modernity! Also compliments for the chef!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Villa Politi Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: