Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Albergo Maugeri 4 stars

P.zza Garibaldi, 27, 95024 Acireale, Italy

#1 of 10 hotels in Acireale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 581 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no free water in the room. Just a few bottles for 2 euro for 500 ml. The light in the toilet is automatic, so it always turned off when taking a shower.

    We were given an entire storey with a huge terrace for us three.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tea's water was the tap water and salty. Therefore, we couldn't drink tea and coffee in spite of their quality serving.

    Clean and comfortable! Very good hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose this hotel based on the reviews however we are puzzled as to why our experience appears to differ. We felt the hotel was average and the cleanliness of the bathroom wasn't what we would expect from a 4 star hotel, it wasn't poor but we felt it was below 4 star standard. As we arrived late we decided to eat in the hotel, we were the only guests eating and the food was average at best. The breakfast was limited and average at best, The coffee was appalling. not sure what it was but I couldn't drink it, it was sweet and sickly, maybe it is an acquired taste but neither of me or my wife liked it. There were very few guests however whenever any one was outside the room either in the hotel corridor or outside you could here them clearly.

    Location was excellent as were the staff and parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no reachable sockets near the bed to charge the phones. The internet was defficient, we spend 3 nights without proper connection in the room (but you could use it near the door or outside). Not everyone could speak english (night shift in reception) so it was sometimes hard (not impossible) to explain yourself.

    The room was very quiet at night so it was easy to rest at night, it was also very spacious. We had a double bed which was very big and comfortable. The location was amazing, right in the city center, close to lots of restaurants, gelaterias, parks, sea, everything. Breakfast had a wide variety of food, always fresh and tasty. Staff was always nice and smiling. When we arrived we received a free upgrade on the room. Great price/quality. Would definitely choose it again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steep slope of the garage, it made driving out tense.

    Centrally located and easy to find. The receptionist was extremely polite and helpful. I especially liked and appreciated the two electric sockets on the desk - it made for easy charging of devices (it would be nice if other hotels provides such a service). Also very useful were the pictorial instructions on how to turn on the shower - I know it sounds silly not knowing how to turn a shower on, but it does happen! In France the week before, I had to take a photo of the shower, go to reception and ask how it operated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible breakfast. You expect at least a good cappuccino, but you won't get any of that.

    Big classic conference hotel that needs some major renovations. Overall it was good for what we needed. Well positioned. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tutto perfetto!

    Nice located venue close to an old theater (Teatro Maugeri). Personnel is super helpful, open to recommend places to visit and local food to taste. It’s great place when you plan to visit Catania but won’t to stay in a loud city center. Of course, when you come by car. Btw, to leave your car in the hotel garage requires some driving skills – it’s small and it is difficult to get up a steep entrance. I would stay there next time. For a great pizza go to Pizzeria Al Vecchio Teatro – great made in wood stove.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It' s not the hotel fault, but there is a bar right under the hotel playing very loud music very late at night, and we couldn't sleep.

    The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi could be improved

    great alternative hotel to Taormina for those who plan to do some activities around Etna. Better value for money. Also very central location in Acireale - convenient

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town was in Summer Celebration mode and the European soccer championship was being played, so the location was noisy each night. Nothing that earplugs didn't take care of.

    Salvatore was incredibly helpful! His daily assistance with where to visit and what to see was excellent. His English was excellent. He was patient and accommodating. We would have left the town early had it not been for his guidance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for visiting around the area. Reception was very helpful with recommendations and directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect

    Excellent in all sense

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Hotel, Staff brilliant & found alot of help from reception. The breakfast is also pretty good !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed having an English breakfast which I can only enjoy when on holiday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 adults + 1 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor details with the shower need to be adressed

    Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful hotel, staff estremely kind, rooms clean and beautiful, easy to park and yammy breakfast!! What else?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location was great. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    CLOSE TO THE CENTER...and a very clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    frigo bar in camera.

    manca un frigo bar in camera.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast; very clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were extra helpful. Saw to our needs immediately. Thanks to all reception, household and restaurant staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and polite staff. Close to the center of the town. Private parking with entrance to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mattress was far too hard

    Everything except the mattress.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything

    Breakfast rich and excellent, beds ultra-comfort, staff gracious and available

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet room. Exellent breakfast. Free parking in the hotel. Late check-out while evening flight. Near the historic center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great location lovely city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No power outlet near the bed. Only two power outlets in the room, one in the bathroom and another near the main door. Not comfortable to charge my devices. The room was big and wonderful, but it was on the ground floor and not too aired. A bit stuffy.

    The location, the room, the space, the price.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was terrible. Actually city of Acireale is not a touristic place. Morever, Booking.com, or the Hotel administrator , must remove the picture with the view from reviews pictures ! It is totally fake.... Unfortunatelly, there is no any view from this hotel. You can see only some buildings around and a small plazza, if you are lucky and get a front side room.

    A good hotel to stay for 1-2 days. Very polite and friendly persons at reception. They know limited English but this is normal for Sicily. Positive points was the safe parking area and the confortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tissue paper in the rooms. We did asked - the hotel doesn't supply one!! Interesting (funny now, annoying at the time) experience in ordering latte for breakfast.

    Housekeepers did an excellent job.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We spent just one night in Grande Albergo Maugeri Hotel, but it was very nice there, hotel has good location, personel is frendly, so it was allright.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good hotel in excellent location right in town, lovely room and excellent selection of food for breakfast, The waiter was very accommodating and gave us excellent service, I would use this hotel again although we only stayed one night while attending a wedding

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff cordiale e professionale.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wished there was an indoor pool.

    cleanliness and staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel parking is a bit small.

    Staff are helpful, location couldnt be better, clean rooms and very good brrakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Atmosphere in the hotel, the staff very nice, good room, nice breakfast. Everything satisfactory.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Couple

    Staff was extremly helpful, made our stay extra special.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable and centrally located.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Grande Albergo Maugeri traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: