Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Selinunte 4 stars

Contrada Trentasalme, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Italy

#5 of 7 hotels in Marinella di Selinunte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 8

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    Quality was very poor for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality was very poor for the price we paid. Breakfast wasn't good. A lot of noise. Felt like we were on a camping in stead of a 3 or 4 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Great option in Selinute! Family friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated (phone didn't work, TV was really old)

    Rooms were clean, staff was great! Pool & outdoor activities by the pool were excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place but long beach walk after navette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big party,at the pool and the animation was very noisy during the afternoon. Swimming hats compulsory and very archaic.

    The pool was nice- good balcony and nice view over pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable hotel for 1 or 2 nights making a tour by car round Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Animation is only for Italians. They do not speak other languages. You need to put a hair cap to swim...???? Never experienced that in my 35 yrs of traveling world wide. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

    Restaurant is ok. Nice pool and beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Italian families having fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food.

    As 'Grand Hotels' go, this is far from grand. It's a resort hotel with a pool and a shuttle bus to the beach, frequented by families. Once the pool activities and the early evening rock concerts have died down, it's peaceful, and amusing. After a visit to the ruins at Selinunte, it's good to relax by the pool and just watch reasonably charming Italian children having fun. The food - sadly - is not terrific; it's mass-produced for self-service. And there aren't many places nearby to eat. But we enjoyed the non-touristy feel of the place - buckets'n'spades Italian style. If you have children, they will probably love it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Decent Hotel. Lovely staff but quite a way out of Selinunte and a bit isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was confusing in terms of price. We paid more for dinner the first night (25 euro's each) because we hadn't booked it in the package. Had we realised the location of the hotel we would have done. We were offered wine and water that we assumed was part of the package but when we got the bill found out it wasn't . Not sure a buffet style dinner was worth 50 euro's and other people wearing wrist bands were obviously getting a better deal ! We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for the second night through Booking.com and got a slightly better deal. Confusing though. Entertainment was a bit over the top we felt. Especially at the pool which wasn't particularly busy. Three over excited entertainers dancing and shouting sometimes when there wasn't really anyone there. It would have been better if it had been mentioned as the booking information doesn't really say that it is an all inclusive hotel as well with family entertainment. Evening show by the pool quite loud. As English we couldn't follow it, but there didn't seem to be much else going on. We booked this because it had a pool. It was just a bit far out of Selinunte which has a great atmosphere and beach. Had it been walking distance would have been great.

    We arrived at the hotel, having booked it because it was in Selinunte. We were slightly surprised that it was a fair distance from the town centre and the beach in terms of walking particularly. This is a hotel that offers all inclusive breaks for holidays and we booked bed and breakfast then realised we would be probably having dinner etc. The room was spacious with air conditioning and a view of the pool. This was a double edged sword as the entertainment team worked at the pool area during the day and evening so it was quite noisy. The hotel itself was nice. Big dining area and reception with lovely staff. A nice building generally with a good sized pool. The food was good but not amazing. Not a bad price for room. But with meals etc became a bit overpriced. Because of its location it should have offered a more competitive package for people booking one or two nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    Choose only if no other choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com stated that there was only one room left when in fact the large convention hotel was mostly empty. Breakfast was terribly cheap, the worst in our 3-week tour of Sicily The walls of the room were thin enough to understand what people were saying in the next room.

    The hotel was not very far from the archeological site. All people working at the hotel were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 8