Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Gianicolo 4 stars

Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, Trastevere, 00152 Rome, Italy

#454 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 810 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Myself and family stayed in Gianicolo for my wedding in Rome. We had a most fabulous time. i would highly recommend this this hotel to everyone i know and Francesca was most helpful. thank you for your service audrey

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and the bedroom was in need of refurbishing and the elderly gent on the front desk needs to have an attitude change very unhelpful

    It had a great swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a 4 star - functions hotel and too far away from sights. Buses limited to 1 an hour and taxis very expensive.

    Clean, tidy, pool facilities good. Good break fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was lovely but the booking through Booking.com was deceptive regarding the price of each night - very disappointed with the company.

    Lovely building, great location and views. Great breakfast and dinner. Close to bohemian part of Rome. Fabulous pool to relax by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service from the staff, no welcoming and no info at all when we checked in. Made us feel confused and uncomfortable. The standard of the room and the bed and pillows were bad

    Pool was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really firm for our liking, and there was definitely water damage in our room (mold noted). This was proven when water started flowing down the ceiling and walls one day.

    The pool and staff was great, our room was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, was also pleasantly surprised by a complimentary bottle of Prosecco after we checked in!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was fantastic! staff and amenities (especially the pool) were excellent and more than we could have expected. Great location for getting in to Travestere and for amazing views on the rest of Rome, but is at the top of a hill (if you are worried about walking this probably isn't quite right for you as buses are very unreliable). Will 100% book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Around the hotel there was this annoying traffic and the noise from the cobblestones, which is so typical for the Roman streets.

    The hotel is close to Trastevere with lots of things to eat and do and the Vatican. Furthermore, it is just at the nicest park with view on everything in Rome. It is situated among nice villas. Nice pool and garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a last-minute booking at lunchtime on a bank holiday Saturday in Rome, found by booking.com after the accommodation we originally booked 10 weeks prior to our trip refused to accept us when we arrived with our dog, despite having had a pet-friendly policy when we booked. The Grand Hotel Gianicolo couldn't have been more helpful, even supplying a dog bowl of their own accord. The location turned out to be much better than we supposed from the listing, they DO have some private parking on-site, and regular buses into the city centre are just a 300m walk away. The breakfast room on the top floor has panoramic views and the breakfast was just superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything seemed like too much trouble for the staff. Spa bath didn’t work. Key card didn’t work. Bar was always unmanned. Very disappointing.

    The breakfast was the best thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the reasons why we booked this hotel was the pool. However, in mid April when the temperature was +25C it was still not open....

    The location was great! 5 minute walk to Trastevere (find the stairs!). The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff was friendly and helpful.

    The location is fabulous. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the roof top view was spectacular. The pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for John Cabot University Graduation. Location is a 10! Breakfast buffet and views a 10! Pool area a 10! Rooms were a little worn, but nice enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On our first night we had no water. This had been an ongoing situation from a few days, but there was no warning or apology to guests. We had to request water bottles and collect from the bar. We warned the hotel this was a serious complaint which might involve compensation and/or moving to another hotel and reported this to Booking.com. The issue had been resolved by the following morning. At the same time we found the room a/c wasn't working although it was in public areas. Apparently the a/c is controlled centrally and switches off and on at a set time (something like 9pm to 7am) without any control by guests. On the first 3 nights we had to make numerous requests to get it switched on, but found eg on the first night that it had switched off at about 2 am. The a/c was only resolved after 3 nights after complaining via Booking.com and requesting support. The room decoration was pretty tacky and had several patches to the wallpaper - badly needed redecoration. The bathroom needed refurbishment - shower was tiny, outdated and there was some damp mould around the base; the shower fitting, hose and head didn't hold firm when on, toilet seat wasn't fitted properly and tile grouting was unclean in places. We were offered a 10% discount on our final bill. The hotel location required use of buses to connect with Rome (except to Trestevere which can be reached on foot via a very steep route). The hotel failed to provide details of times or how to use buses in Rome, although sparse details of local bus stops were provided after 3 nights. The Rome bus system is intuitive (to say the least) and although a bus map is available to download this map is not available on noticeboards. Timetables are also not readily available except online (even these don't work reliably). We failed to get a good impression of the hotel staff as whole. While some junior staff were very polite and cordial, we didn't get this impression from...

    The bed was comfortable and linen clean. The reception area was well maintained although somewhat dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be a great hotel in a good part of the city, but because of its ugly decor, small rooms and rather mediocre staff at the reception - its just average. Plus at night annoying noise from the ventilation pipe - you have choice to trun it off, but then you spend the night without air.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed part of week much to disappointment of children. A bit out of centre so you need to take bus but this is not much trouble. You also have to walk a bit to buy bus tickets.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean hotel and very relaxed atmosphere. Great view from breakfast room. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were not quiet enough - there were a number of events taking place during our stay, one was particularly noisy until the night. We could also clearly hear snoring and talking from an adjacent room. Very annoying.

    Hotel was a lovely traditional style, staff were very helpful and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small but there's nothing that could be done about that.

    We only stayed one night, but the staff was very pleasant and the room was clean. The location had a spectacular view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedroom was located just below the forth floor, where parties take place. For this reason, I could not sleep properly on the third night until 2 am and until 1 am on the second night. I would recommend to check where your room is located before the check-in.

    The bedroom was a little bit small but good value for money and with a nice view and very well equipped. We both loved the breakfast (variety of sweet and savoury).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the Air-con stopped working on the 2nd night. There was a lot of noise outside of the hotel and I believe a late night party was taking place. There was lots of screaming and shouting about 1am on the first night.

    Staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and tidy. The breakfast was lovely and the view from the breakfast room was very nice. Their is a local restaurant called Ristorante Gianicolo Carpe Diem. Amazing food and very well priced. Much better than the hotels recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reverse cycle heating was set too high which made the room a little uncomfortable. Shower facilities were also temperamental.

    Staff were very helpful and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were clean and functional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise from functions downstairs and we could hear all guests speaking and the TV from adjoining rooms. DID NOT MAKE FOR GOOD SLEEPING.

    Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed one evening due to a private function.

    It was a quiet location above the city which was easily walkable. Beautiful surroundings and excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed for season and this was not obvious at the time of booking. Pool was a factor in choosing this hotel.

    Good location away from hustle and bustle but close enough to centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too far away from the City center and the taxi was expencive. Directions given to find the bus stop wasnt good. Could not control the room temperature (a little bit cold for us) and the water in the bathroom, shower went hot to freezing cold many times. Hydro-massage bathtub didnt work well, it spalshed water everywhere, it was even a bit scary. Some nights were noisy till midnight because of the parties at the hotel.

    Overall we enjoyed our stay! Superior double room was nice and big. Wifi worked well. Room was cleaned very well daily. Breakfast was good. Nice walk down the hill to Trastevere which has lots of restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the recption staff were pretty off hand. Maybe language as we speak limited Italian.

    Good location, with bus connections to the centre. Comfortable room. Great swimming pool. Food and service good, particularly the breakfast room. Very efficient at arrangements (eg taxis). More of a "business hotel" rather than a personal one, which suited us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have easy access to tea coffee making which we have had in the past. Maybe kettles in rooms might be a good idea.

    Our 3 Rd stay here and it won't be our last. This is not a 5 star hotel but it has loads of charm and is Italys Faulty Towers!!! Great location Delicious breakfast and wonderful pool but a little cool this time for swimming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location with a wonderful pool. Easy walk down the hill to Trastevere which has lots of restaurants/bars and a great atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and accommodation. From the breakfast room were great views of Rome. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Wonderful hotel for a mini break as you out of the hustle and bustle of Rome however close enough to walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a large hotel so it did not have the warmth or welcoming feel of some of the other smaller hotels we stayed in in Italy. Both the bar and the restaurant appeared very quiet the nights we stayed.

    We stayed here for 3 nights.We had a standard double which was a large room with ensuite overlooking the garden. The breakfast room is on the 4th floor with good views over the surrounding area and the menu is varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful, could not get I to the restaurant and the bathroom shower was very small with the hot water being sporadic.

    The location. The views were spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An ironing board and iron in the room would have been useful. The hotel and grounds are really quite lovely, however rather than strictly closing up the pool and making guests feel unwanted, a more casual approach and another staff member to offer drinks to guests would have made it more enticing to spend time in the hotel.

    The breakfast room is sunny and bright with gorgeous views and the cappuccino each morning was a bonus. The location is within walking distance of the gorgeous Trastevere and the walk back up the hill after dinner was good exercise. The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a bit on the small side and the water in the shower jumped from hot to cold.

    The hotel grounds were beautiful and the area around was lovely to walk around. Close enough to restaurants to be able to walk. The staff were all lovely,very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The pool had plenty of room with loads of sunbeds, a great addition. Breakfast was nice, they had quite a good variety of foods and it was lovely that the breakfast is served on the top floor, giving you a lovely view of the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath. Expensive bar prices for food and drink. Not much around open . A walk away from town centre was uphill on the way back .

    Very clean . Quite. Good view of the city . Near to the Vatican. Great breakfast. Good pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a bit small, but comfortable.

    Great pool. Breakfast buffet was nice and located with a view. Hotel location was good if you like walking. About 15mins walk downhill to the river and Trastevere village with lots of great eating places, quaint shops and market stalls. Great atmosphere. Be prepared for the walk back uphill though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally don't like the bath room and i was too offended by the rule that guests can't swim at night since there is no life saver in the place so to me it was kinda disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to get the bus could be better e.g. which side of the road to stand on, how to get a ticket

    The pool was absolutely fabulous after a hot day out in Rome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive to eat and drink at the hotel.

    Lovely location and easy to walk in to Trastevere for excellent food and drink and then into Rome for sightseeing. Very comfortable and the swimming pool is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms are bit dated and smallish but adequate and very clean and tidy. Showerhead did not stay up.

    Excellent pool area with pool bar and nice garden. Friendly and helpfull staff. Excellent breakfast for italian hotel with perfect views over the St Peters. Location good for the families out of busy center but still good local restaurants and cafes near by. Easy to get to town walking down the hill (thro park) and get the bus or tram to the main turistic sites

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the room was poor. The shower head would not stay in place and dropped constantly. The lights constantly went off in our room despite having the card in the holder we had to jiggle the card constantly. The bed was just two singles pushed together even though I'd requested a double bed. The walls had slap dash repair on damaged wall paper and it made the room look really untidy. The cleaning staff while they did a good job always seemed to clean our room last this was consistent throughout the week so myself and my girlfriend were forced to wait almost every day. The restaurant was unimpressive while the food was nice there was no signs to whether it was open or not. The local area had no immediate restaurants nearby either so we had to travel a distance to eat anywhere as the restaurant in the hotel was expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing in terms of the hotel. The only thing is we asked the reception to book a taxi for us to the airport when we were going home. Got into the taxi and the driver said "airport?" and we replied "yes campiono" and he took us to the wrong airport, we only found out once we had paid. We also asked for a taxi with a card machine, he didnt have one and didnt speak any English so we had to walk for ages to find a cash point. Then to find out we were in wrong airport... Made our flight with less than 4 minutes to spare! lots of tears and almost ruined the holiday but called hotel and they said they would refund us for the journey! Hopefully this happens and if so couldnt be happier :)

    Hotel was amazing. It was our first time in Rome and the hotel was really authentic. Photos look exactly like the accommodation does itself. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of options. Pool cafe was great, we ate here a few times. Pool was super clean, great sun spot, toilets to use and staff there to help with anything. Cleaners were great, came in at the right time every day and came back to everything sorted and clean each day. Great advice when we arrived. If you are thinking of staying here, you can come out of the hotel and turn right and there is a bus (walk for 5 mins straight and then you'll see a coffee shop on the right, its just across the road, follow the directions for 44 on the paper the hotel give you!) and there are 2 busses. One takes you to the collesuem and the other to the pantheon. Costs around £10 to get a taxi home from the spanish steps/trevi fountain/main rome central. 15 minute walk to Travestere center. So many lovely bars and places to eat. If you need a supermarket, its a 10 minute cab journey (dont try and walk it!!) All in all, great hotel. Would 1000% recommend and stay again :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very difficult to book an evening meal - poolside. The pool staff said we had to go to reception, the reception staff said we had to go to the restaurant, the restaurant said we had to go to the pool staff. 2 of the 3 nights, there was a PRIVATE pool party, so we were not able to enjoy the pool restaurant at all. The reception staff were indifferent, not particularly welcoming and were not forthcoming with information. Answering the phone was more important than continuing a conversation with the customer ie cut off in mid sentence. The pool was freezing cold and needs to be heated. Drinks were over priced.

    Location was reasonable, but still a bus or tram journey into Rome. Uber worked well, but expect to pay approximately 15 Euro per journey into town. Room was OK. Breakfast room had decent views, but was lifeless.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parts of the common areas were a little dark. The pool was closed for two days, out of a 7 day holiday for "maintenance".

    Property had a pool to relax in and cool down with high temperatures in Rome during July. Staff were very friendly and the location was close to all major tourist attractions. The property itself was full of character with beautiful ornate features.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk up the hill. Lack of tea/ coffee facilties in room.

    Had a fantastic room overlooking pool. Hotel gardens were great and to have a pool was great be a use of high temperatures

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because a large breakfast is difficult for me and my friend, we would create a small sandwich to take with us. If we were big eaters, we would have eaten it then. However, this was frowned upon and we were told "no takeaways". This was a little strange for us because everywhere we stayed in Italy, we were told to help ourselves without limitation. But, we still loved the hotel.

    The breakfast was perfect. Yes, the eggs were great! Good coffee, breads, fruits, juices, yogurt. . . Loved the little cookies down at the bar with hot water for tea anytime of day. The Pool was delightful after a long day on the Off and On Bus!! After five days on a bike and barge trip, and five days in a convent, we loved the luxurious feeling of this hotel. Great place to relax. Also enjoyed the other guests who chose to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast were not that good the hot food was warm and the fresh bread was not that fresh The breakfast was also an open buffet so food was left in open - this is not my idea of fresh or hygienic.

    Hotel felt and looked Italian and so it was good to stay somewhere authentic to the area of Rome. The pool is essential in the hot months and the pool attendant was very attentive and helpful too. The Vatican City was within walking distance too. Fantastic city break. Would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at a standard room. I was first given a room at the 1st floor, which was pretty small and dark. When I went to the room I realized they used the kind of cleaning product with heavy parfume that contain irretant chemicals that are bad for allergic people like myself. After discussions about the health implications of their action, they were convinced to preapare an other room for me without using that product. As a consequence, I was moved to 3rd floor, to a room still not very big, but which had light and view. Ask for higher floors! Because they have a nice pool, apperently they hire it for parties especially on weekends in summer, which means if you are there to rest and relax, go to bed early, this hotel is not the right choice for you. And the "American" coffee served at the breakfast is pretty muddy and bad. But if you ask for a cappucino, then you are served decent Italian coffee.

    The hotel's location is beautiful. On top of the beautiful, green Gianicolo Hill. The pool is a gem for staying in Rome in summer. The breakfast pretty decent and is served at the terrace of the hotel, from where you can see the beautiful views of Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a random very loud disco one night without any warning or apology from staff. It seems incongruous to such a lovely quiet old fashioned hotel. Bathroom was small but adequate. Staff although helpful gave very vague and inaccurate instructions about getting around.

    This was a quiet oasis away from the madness of central Rome but still accessible by public transport. 15 mins walk to the beautiful Testaccio region with lots of great restaurants. (Tough walk back uphill though if you're not fit!) We loved coming back to the pool after a morning exploring. Breakfast was very nice and in a lovely rooftop setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel provides an excellent service and is value for money. We have stayed here 3 times and thoroughly recommend it. The pool is wonderful after a day site seeing . The restaurant is rather expensive but there are plenty of options near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first night there was a pool party at the hotel so we couldn't sleep until the loud music had stopped. I could understand loud music and partying at a youth hostel but not at a four star hotel..

    I loved that the hotel was near Trastevere and also the Gianicolo hill where you can watch beautiful sunset. The pool was great and big enough. The breakfast was also good and it was nice that on our last morning we had breakfast boxes to take away as we had to catch an early flight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our short stay here. The building itself is stunning! Only a short bus ride to the tourist spots! The beds were very comfortable! The rooms are a little on the small side but more that adequate! There is a lovely pool to relax around! Although I would say beware that they have a pool party every Saturday night during the summer months that lasts until 1am that we were unaware of when booking! We did however make the most of it and got involved!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    My first room was very small so up graded second room was better,could do with some updating and corners need good clean and some renovations,but if that your thing then all ok. Have to book sunbeds,had nice tea available through day which was nice touch. Reception staff were very friendly. I am very sick and they charged me extra to stay for late check out,considering I did not get there until 8pm seemed bit harsh but sadly I had to pay as unable to sit or stand for too long. in good position and if you walk down road see whole of Rome Amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's at the top of a very very steep hill no restaurants near by so either a long tiring walk in to Rome a taxi at 10 euros each way or eat at the very expensive hotel or the one restaurant on the corner also expensive

    The view of Rome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room on 3rd floor, above which was the restaurant, in which not only breakfast is served but also parties might take place. Unfortunately there was a party on the day of our arrival. As the hotel is very acoustic (floor tiles, no carpets) we could have heard all noises (moving chairs, tables, people walking etc.) from the 4th floor until 1:30 (post party cleaning included). In the morning, the hotel staff at the reception was very nice and professional offering a discount for the inconveniences we experienced. If you like to sleep and have a quiet stay, better don't ask for rooms on 3rd floor.

    we liked the facilities, bed was comfortable, swimming pool looked nice (though we didn't use it)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool turns into a "party venue" at night so it is very very very noisy and not acceptable for that matter. You don't rent a room in a disco!!! but in a cozy hotel. Out of 4 nights, we've had 3 private parties and it was loud and hard to bear with!

    Beautiful "small" hotel, wonderful and helpful staff, amazing vue at breakfast, great swimming pool. We loved it for all the good reasons because it is a great place... BUT...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service for dinner was very slow and brought everything at once after 90 minutes. Only 1 server for that evening. No water when we awoke on last day. We left very early for our plane so don't know how quickly the problem was fixed.

    Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, great pool after a day sightseeing, good air conditioning in the rooms, classic Italian style at a reasonable cost. Gray area to walk down into Rome and Taxi back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little tired.

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the pool was great for taking down time. 15 minutes walk to the Vatican but the walk is though a great area with lots to look at. Very hilly though on the way back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the staff were not as polite as I would expect for a hotel.

    The location up on the hill and away from the tourist rush was lovely. The garden was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little too far out of town which meant you couldn't just stroll to a nice restaurant. Travestere which is lovely and where most of the bars/restaurants are was about a 20 minute walk uphill to get home. After a long day in town the last thing you want is another walk!! The bus service wasn't great, one day we waited 40 minutes for the 860 to Vatican and gave up and ordered a cab. Bus 75 took us all the way to the Colosseum which was great but we couldn't find the bus stop for the return journey back from the centre of town. Trams are a 15 minute walk away. The private party that was held on the rooftop on the last night was very loud and we asked to change rooms because of this. They obliged but it meant packing all our stuff up. The swimming pool wasn't open despite saying in the information that it opens in May (but as we discovered not from May 1st) . The bar man was working in the restaurant as well which is fine because neither were that busy, but you had to go to reception and ask if you wanted a drink. A bell linked to the reception/restaurant would have resolved this.

    The rooms were comfortable and the maid service was excellent, very clean. We enjoyed the complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits when you came home after a long day. 10 minute walk to the Garibaldi monument with fantastic views of the city especially at sunset. Breakfast was fairly good. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we weren't intending to use the pool it wouldn't have been an option. The site states the pool is available in May but had a lot of green algae.

    Really helpful reception staff. Comfortable beds and good breakfast. Great view from the breakfast roof terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was really annoying to get to. The buses in Rome are totally unreliable, and if you're trying to get to the centre it's a 20 min walk to the nearest tram stop, or a 40 min walk to the centre. Nice hotel but not worth the money you pay for it.

    Really comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in the room you can hear what your neighbors are doing in next room. Thursday and friday there were some parties, so was imposible to sleep untill the parties finished. It happened around 2 a.m. I will never choose this hotel again.

    Nice and clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff members were available all the time. The hotel garden was unique and perfect to chill out after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work and the shutters had been left open so the room was very hot and uncomfortable. Staff were not particularly friendly or helpful about a billing issue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a superior room which was fine we particularly liked that we had a hydro bath included, but when used it spat a load of brown bits into the water which in turn changed by bubbles brown yak ! My only moan though.

    Huge bed loved it, found the room comfortable and the windows were sufficient to keep out the traffic noise. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable gave clear instructions on bus and taxi information.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was terrible both service & what drinks were available the shower in our room was broken no one come to fix it !!!! also breakfast was poor coffee tasted like it was stewed from the day before !!!

    Gardens were beautiful and the rooms very clean,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very helpful, easy going and very careful to our needs. Especially the reception and the breakfast staff. Thank you so much for making our stay so pleasant!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had very little knowledge about public transport, when we did get information it was often wrong. The coffee wasn't great either, lukewarm and smelled weird.

    The breakfast was good, rooms were comfy and always clean. We liked the location as it was in a quiet area but we could still be in town quickly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The free wifi was so bad it was basically non-existent (until I figured out there is a second free wifi provided by the hotel, but they don't tell you straight away that you can use the another one as well). The beds were quite hard, but still comfortable.

    The staff was really helpful, they offered to mail my letters as there was no mail box up on Gianicolo (the closest one is down in Trastevere). Really good breakfast, with a breathtaking view, including the dome of San Pietro! Everything was very clean - even though the wallpaper of the rooms was a bit frayed, but I think it added to the old-timey charm. Good water pressure in the shower, which is not always the case in Italy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first checked in there was no information about anything given from the reception staff. They were rather rude.

    Some staff where lovely... the room was very comfortable and the cleaners did a great job! The location was too far away from all of the main attractions - however, we were a young couple. This location would be better suited to older people who are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel itself is beautiful, we thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast with the beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very small -- shower stalls difficult to move around. No safe in the room. Difficult to control room temp -- thermostat confusing, had to open window to cool off the room.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Free WIFI. Free breakfast. Clean rooms. Good price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed too early.

    The decor, gardens and location were beautiful. Right by the ancient Aurelian walls. Clear view of St Peter's dome and wild parrots in the nearby parks while breakfasting in style on the roof. Nearby bus stops for doing the short scenic trip down the Gianicolo Hill into the hubbub of the city. Efficient friendly staff. Thoughtful maps and transport info provided on checkin. Icy Prosecco and prebooked birthday chocolate cake brought to us within 5 mins of arriving. Simply wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was huge but freezing. We visited at the end of September it was warm outside rather than hot, this pool would not have suited small children and even for adults was very chilly!

    Lovely to be away from the hubbub of the centre, which was why we chose it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dark and gloomy. Some noise from cleaners and other guests.

    Breakfast good. Bed comfy. Very close to bus stop and bar and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rigid and very unfriendly. Check in was to be at 2:00 (14:00), and we were told rudely that our room was not ready and to wait. We waited and finally asked again. They put us in a different room which was not ready for 3 guests. Had only 2 towels, etc. So again, we had to ask for additional towels for the 3 of us. ALSO, booking.com says this hotel is a "pay when you stay" but we were charged one week prior to arrival. When I called they said it is a "hold". Understand, but that is not disclosed. Honestly, this hotel was a complete disappointment.

    Breakfast buffet was very nice. Good selections.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Gianicolo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: