Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5 stars

Via Califano 18, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#14 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big terrace is beautiful & should be open to guests to enjoy lunch/dinner to take in amazing view. Also no food served downstairs at the beach area.

    Grounds of hotel are lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night at this hotel. We stayed in an ocean-view room on the first floor and it was lovely. Great view of the sea and with a small balcony it was perfect. The room was beautiful and we loved it, but the price was a bit high. The hotel interior is a bit tired. We also dined there and the food was ok. Our one night stay was almost 900 Euros so we were expecting a bit more for the price. The beach area was nice, but there was some trash under the swim platform and most of the chairs were not clean. The beach/lounge chair system could be a bit more organized. When we asked to sit near the outer platform and view the sea we were told the seats were all taken. In reality, there were several seats available, but the prior sunbathers had left the towels behind. We found the staff to be a bit cool and not very friendly. The best aspect of the hotel is the seaview rooms-they are worth the splurge to see the beautiful bay and hear the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly clean and luxurious property, bedrooms and bathrooms were so clean and refreshing. Breakfast had everything and more you could ask for! Staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A fabulous hotel with magnificent views, lovely gardens, excellent food and superb, courteous and helpful staff. We had a fantastic week - the hotel is very special. We sat and gazed at the views across to Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples at breakfast, over lunch and over chilled pre-dinner Prosecco on the terrace. A lift goes down to a lovely decked pontoon over the sea to relax and sunbathe plus by the hotel, the gardens are enchanting, with roses, lemon trees and pergola, fringing a charming pool. Delightful. The town of Sorrento is a ten minute stroll, so a great location too. We also visited Pompeii and took a ferry to the island of Capri.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patios are divided but quite close. Enjoying the sunset on the patio is a bit of a challenge with a smoker or smokers adjacent to you .

    It is a quiet location with all The amenities of a pool or you can take the lift down to the seaside dock to swim in crystal clear waters where there is a charming little cafe. The staff is top notch ! Professional , engaging and hard working- please tip at the end of your stay . They deserve to be rewarded for excellent service . We will definitely recommend this property . Great value . Try to get a room on the top floor 711-714 facing north to the town and pool . You get a panoramic view of the pool , town and the sea at sunset .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did think that for what we paid (which was a lot) we would have expected a larger room. Whilst it was lovely it wasn't big, and we didn't like the shower over the bath - a separate shower would have been preferable.

    The team were fab, nothing too much trouble. The location was lovely as it was away from the horrendously crowded town centre with its overbearing traffic, and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Actually, nothing.

    The beautiful old style Italian décor and the ambience of the hotel. The gardens were lovely and immaculately kept as was the hotel. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The MOST FABULOUS hotel... location and views are like no other! Superb restaurant and service, BEAUTIFUL outdoor pool, pool sunning deck on ocean, outdoor bar service. This hotel is AMAZING!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I've stayed at this hotel twice now, I can't recommend it highly enough. The staff, the beach and the comfort of this hotel is remarkable. Rather than very young children or honeymooners, the clientele tends to be families with grown children or older couples, so if you're looking for a peaceful break this is ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As they were preparing for busy season, the lounge chairs and platform over the ocean were closed.

    This hotel was our favorite of all properties on our trip across Italy. We went in April, which was right before their busy season - so the hotel was pretty quiet. I’m in the hospitality industry, as a trainer, for the world’s favorite travel company - so, I’m picky. This hotel did not disappoint and was truly impeccably fabulous! Beautiful, excellent service, clean, nice amenities, and could easily walk to downtown Sorrento. Also, we would order Apérol Spritz and watch the sunset on our balcony - which is a must do in this fabulous location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They gave us rooms at the side even though they had better rooms that were clearly unoccupied

    Great breakfast with a fabulous view, old world Italian charm but friendly rather than stuffy, great ambience and facilities and good value vs other 5 star hotels in Sorrento. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no private space to work or conduct business other than your room.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was very clean, the grounds are well manicured, and the view from the hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel, traditional Italian style, really friendly staff, good value for money. The breakfast choices were phenomenal! We were very pleased and could not fault it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t stay longer!!

    This was our honeymoon, this was an amazing property, exceeded all of our expectations. The staff could not do enough to make our experience exceptional!! From booking a Vespa for the day, train and boat schedules tours all very accommodating in every area. From sitting on the varanda sipping Champaign watching dazzling sunsets or head Maître d’ Giovanni planning a romantic dinner for us at sunset in the 5 star Grand restaurant it was so surreal like being in a dream!! Thank you Giovanni for the magical night!! From check-in to room service, house keeping, our bartender that made exceptional drinks, concierge, to check out!! Exceptional, superb, magical, romantic pure Italian experience, we actually extended our stay one day to just enjoy the fabulous pool, we are already booking another trip for next year with friends and going to book again at the Grand Ambasciatori!!!! Book it!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. I recommend upgrading your room if possible.

    Stunning grounds. The pool and outdoor relaxation area was absolutely breathtaking. The buffet breakfast was also very luxurious, comfortable and offered an amazing view. The staff offered drinks delivered to your poolside bed or anywhere on grounds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff treated us as not good enough for the hotel or something when we came back after a day of sightseeing, I did not like her attitude.

    Great location, most of the staff were very friendly, room was great and breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had an abundance of ants in our room one night, but it was dealt with. Not enough sunbeds around the pool and it wasnt even busy period

    food,/restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! The location was great. Property was gorgeous with the gardens and ocean view. Staff was so very helpful with day drips and referrals to local restaurants. Staff was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels could be fluffier! They are a little worn.

    Extremely polite reception and concierge staff. Waiters at the breakfast dining room are polite, efficient and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a restaurant that is more casual. Cafe “ish”. Casual food- sandwiches soups , maybe even burgers!

    Double WOW. Superb everything. Staff was wonderful, most accommodating and seemed to be genuinely interested in making sure we were very comfortable. Actually... beyond comfortable! The lobby and terrace has wonderful little seating areas to sit back and enjoy coffe, wine and a book. The grounds around the pool have little tucked away vignettes for seating and enjoying nature. All absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tuna at lunch

    The bed was PERFECT! Slept the best at this hotel. Beautiful roomy room with terrace o. The water.... truly beautiful and amazing! Staff was exceptional! Only negative that I could find was that I ordered tuna for lunch and it was the dark tuna, tasted really fishy. Otherwise, breakfasts were exceptional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent! They saw we were traveling with family and had reserved two rooms so made a little suite for us with two adjacent rooms. The restaurant and Happy New Years were superb!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful hotel & gardens, with stunning views & just a short walk from the centre of Sorrento. The staff,( particularly reception & bar) very friendly & helpful. Breakfast by far the best we have had for a long time. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, but would suggest choosing a garden view room as the rooms overlooking the road can be rather noisy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge didn't work. Room next to the elevator 03 and 04 rooms are loud from the elevator noise.

    Breakfast was good. "Beach" was good. Great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car parking very expensive

    the sun bathing area at the bottom of the cliff under the hotel on the jetty was excellent for swimming . the restaurant was fab views and food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fitness facilities were very limited, rooms were quite small.

    Breakfast was good, rooms very clean and the hotel was generally in good condition. Great view directly overlooking the Ocean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 star I would say that the furnishings and finishes in the room are not all that they should be. Paying double for a room with a sea view was not altogether worth it... although it does deserve a premium as it was very nice.

    The staff were great. The food was very good. Prices are as you would expect in a luxury hotel. Great view over Bay of Naples and Mt Versuvious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, lovely gardens and pool area with terrace restaurant, staff were lovely. Bedroom looking out to see and view of Vesuvius, very comfortable and clean. Food amazing. about 10 min walk into town centre, pleasant walk. Would go again, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby is gorgeous, but the grounds are even nicer! The rooms are very nice and clean with everything you would expect. The breakfast they provide is excellent with an omelette bar, smoked salmon, fresh fruit etc. My favourite part was the elevator down to the private dock and swimming area though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shockingly bland morning coffee and the flies at the pool.

    Impressive, even dazzling views from inside and outside the property. We were all very pleased to arrive at such a beautiful, comfortable and efficient hotel after a more rough and tumble experience in Palermo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food at the pool was very sub-par. Basic options were just that - basic, i.e. (very) white bread, tons of mayo, etc. The queen beds are two twins pushed together (something we came across so many times). I do not understand this - especially for "luxury" hotel prices. The sheets smelled very weird, I thought it was a musty smoke smell, but after they changed the sheets I realized it was just their detergent. Would be nice if they had a shuttle to downtown being that its on the far end of the city!

    The property is very beautiful! Both the pool and the beach club are wonderful. It was really nice having a beach club on the property if you just want to spend a day lounging, as you're going to be paying 20E a chair in town. Views are stunning. The interior is gorgeous as well. So much attention to details in the design. So many areas to relax with a cocktail - the garden, the lobby lounge, multiple terraces... We got couple massages at the spa which we enjoyed. We were able to walk into town (even though its a bit of a trek). I would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a standard room with street view it was right above the road lots of traffic and noisy. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. I complained and they added a matress topper for our second night it didn't help. I complained again and they told me all the beds in the hotel were the same and only 3 years old. After a heated discussion they moved us to another room unfortunately the bed was not much better the matress look more like it was 20 years old not 3. It's disappointing when you book a expensive 5 star hotel and they carnt get the most important thing right a good comfortable bed!

    Fantastic views. Loverly gardens. Really nice reception area look out to the pool. Very cool elevator that takes you down to a tunnel leading out to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sorrento Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be completely honest, the hotel is a little far from the main centre and therefore slightly overpriced taking location as a key factor when choosing a hotel. In addition, whilst the staff and facilities are fantastic, the food is just slightly better than average. Given the vast selection of amazing restaurants providing delicious food in the town I would recommend avoiding the hotel restaurant for an evening meal - breakfast and lunch are fine especially with the incredible view!

    Great staff, a place where nothing is too much trouble. The decor is typical for the area but more polished than most establishments. The suite rooms are incredible if a little on the expensive side. The private 'beach' is absolute bliss, sheltered and getting sun from around 10am through until sunset (or when it closes) - be aware that 'beach' refers to the decking area with sun loungers that extends out into the sea, not a sandy coastal slope, but again this is typical for the area and part of the charm. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, it's luxurious and spacious and a restful haven within the paradise that is Sorrento.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is plain and simple not 5 star accomodations. The property itself is nice, but the standard of the rooms is old and outdated. As an anecdote, I do not expect to find orange juice from concentrate for breakfast when I am paying 600 euro per night.

    Not much. The property location is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view horrendous for the price charged and not explained on booking.com. No service at beach area waiter too busy doing nothing besides on their phones. No turndown first night they forgot.... not that it's important but for the price and star rating this should not happen. restaurant clearing station sound like a kitchen dish washing area waking you up in the morning. F&B service for breakfast not good nor is the buffet all is dry Overall an overrated hotel and too expensive for what it is. Would not recommend there is better and closer to town.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, its to shallow and small

    The hotel room we were upgraded to sorrento suite, spotless and huge with all the facilities. Thank you Mr.Nicola .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hours for the pool end way too early. It wasn't always convenient trying to get food or a drink by the pool with the hours of operation. That should be fixed or more accommodating

    Breakfast was great with a wide variety of food to choose from. Hotel Ambasciatori is a beautiful hotel with great amenities, and I would surely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly. Didn't know we spoke Italian and we're talking at the counter negatively. Rooms are very outdated very overpriced.

    View is beautiful but you can get that view other places as well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has the incorrect address in Google Maps which means you drive past it.

    Fantastic view of the Med from the balcony of our room. Service and food was excellent. Away from the noise and crowds. This Hotel has a private beach so you can swim in the Med. Also has a nice outdoot plunge pool to quickly cool off.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property could use a little updating. And the fitness center was very small. But most in Italy are.

    Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Very accommodating. Very nice beach club. Balcony offered great views of Mt Vesuvio & sunset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The pool isn't the best, though we are happy to spend our loafing days on the sea level bathing platform anyway.

    It was our fourth visit to the Ambasciatori, which tells you how much we like it. Location, decor and staff are all marvellous. A lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room with two twin beds was very small. There was only one elevator that went to the beach and it was quite small.

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful! The breakfast buffet was extensive with a chef making eggs and crepes to order. The hotel is situated to take advantage of the spectacular views. The sun deck off the Mediterranean was wonderful. We took dips in the warm clean sea every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were slightly disappointed with the breakfast. They ran out of cooked food, the service was slow and I don't think there was enough choice. Having said that, we had dinner in the hotel one evening and the food and wine was superb with a well priced set menu. We had a problem with our bill as someone else had charged food and drinks to our room. They were happy to take it off our bill but it might be a good idea to change the way people charge things to their room. We didn't have a sea view room and for the price we were disappointed with the size. We were also right next to the restaurant, which was loud.

    The hotel itself was lovely and the views were beautiful. The private jetty with access to the sea was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea bags were rationed and so was the shower gel, had to ask for both to be replenished.

    Been to this hotel on several occasions previously therefore we obviously like the hotel. Since our last visit the hotel has been upgraded from 4 to 5 stars. I have stayed in many 5?star hotels. This hotel is not 5 stars, the portions of food at the pool are certainly 5 Stars prices but my prawn cocktail for around 15 euros had 6 small prawns and on brown piece of lettuce, we won't be returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star property but experience could be much better with some simple to resolve items sorted out: No concierge which adds huge value to guests at other 5 star hotels, breakfast room tables with best views not accessible to guests at breakfast as tables set for dinner... Come now guys, that's a huge oversight for this location. Quality and range of breakfast poor for a hotel of this stature with other four star hotels in the area providinguch better spread

    Great location and grand old style hotel with good position on the cliffs with private beach club

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor was never clean; glasses in bathroom provided were spotted & dirty; ants in room including bed-told it is to be expected as it was hot; waiters at morning breakfast not attentive to guests had to get up & ask for coffee to be served; not enough lounge chairs at pool; tv in room behind bed in a corner!

    View from room beautiful; complimentary champagne for anniversary very nice touch; items requested by front desk immediately delivered; nice selection of food for breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know where to park ahead of time. If coming another way for instance taxi, it would be fine.

    The bed was terrific. We left early morning and staff were very accommodating to give us some breakfast though they weren't ready to open.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom had mold, not a bit of mold, mold everywhere. I let the front desk know, they "fixed" it. I have before and after pictures, and there was more mold before, but still plenty of mold after it was "cleaned". I posted before and after photos and you can clearly see mold in both. 5 star hotels should have no mold, ever. For all of this inconvenience, they didn't so much as offer to buy us a drink.

    The pool was nice. Breakfast was excellent. The view was lovely:

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambassador Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    front of house reception staff

    desk staff unhelpful and don't apreceat getting lied to by management NOT GREAT serving staff AMAZING especially TONI at the pool bar with his wait in gold

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the tub on the balcony did not work and we had specifically booked the room for that. The bellman was the one who tried to repair it to no avail so for 2 nights we didn't even use the bath tub on the balcony whichwas the main reason we booked! the hotel looks dated. also very overpriced for what you get. for no reason to be honest

    Great staff! so friendly and helpful and always attentive to your needs. What a fantastic front desk/concierge service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid rooms 206,306 and 406. They are dungeons. The windows open to a light tunnel with painted walls. People walking above can lean over that pit and see your windows. Makes you feel like you are in a cave. You don't even want to pull the curtains. Rooms are great but to be in such location and end up with something horrible outside the window when everyone else gets to see at least a piece of sky...what a shame. Those rooms shouldn't be put out for bookings, period. You are tarnishing your reputation.

    Staff, location and setting was great. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 12am. No beach as such, but that is normal on whole coast. Lovely sea/wooden area instead.

    The location, space, meals, views, staff. We loved our sea view room with complementary fruit chocolates and champagne! One of the best and most expensive hotels we've ever stayed in. But worth it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds? Terrible! Beds were the equivalent of a local motel. At that hotel you pay for the view, Not the beds. Can someone please go pick up a decent mattress? I had a nicer one in my college dorm room.

    The views are magnificent! The food was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough chairs by the pool.

    The setting of the property is lovely. Liked the swimming platform and the adjacent snack bar. The hotel lobby is very pretty and there are lots of little areas with tables and chairs for relaxing, having drinks or appetizers or just reading a book.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to rest in some kind self isolation. Quiet beach-platform (almost no small kids), with comfortable beds and umbrellas. Crystal, nice-smelling, deep and pretty-feeling sea water. Great food! We used the Magna Carta menu only and almost all dishes were extremely delicious as well as wines (we tried only Campanian ones). And the restaurant staff is on the highest level - the waiters: Valentino, Franco, Marco and some others are charming, discrete, elegant and very friendly. We had indeed a great holidays in Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was spectacular. Did not want to leave

    Everything! Fabulous hotel. Spectacular breakfast, vast selection, all fresh and tasty. Wonderful view at breakfast. Staff amazing. Rooms extremely comfortable, tasteful, and lovely bed and pillows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lift to the bathing area / beach broke down once, for the whole day, a long way to walk back up the steps

    Service very good, extra wide sun loungers at pool fab, provision of a partial sea view on request was appreciated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool and the "beach" close at 6:30 which seemed too early. The person cooking eggs in the morning, overcooked them. It was quick but omelets and fried eggs were brown on the outside from the high heat. My biggest complaint is that the billing process is not transparent. You are provided with one bill at check-out with all of your charges. If you are in a rush to leave, you have no opportunity to request detail of individual charges. If you have food and/or drinks at the pool, for example, you sign a blank receipt at the time you place the order. You are never provided with a receipt. A total for each transaction shows up on the bill at check-out but the receipts for individual charges are not provided. I found one charge that looked out of line and we found that they had charged us for 2 bottles of wine when we only had 1 bottle. I would have asked to review each charge but our driver was waiting and we needed to leave.

    The hotel is beautiful. The lobby is gorgeous. We had a room facing the sea with a small balcony. The staff were friendly. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The bed was comfortable. It is an easy walk to the square and old town Sorrento. The pool area is beautiful but it can be overcrowded. The "beach" area is basically a long, wide L-shaped boardwalk with tables and chairs because the cliff goes straight down to the sea and there is not a typical beach. The swimming area is roped off and it felt quite safe. You get there by elevator from the hotel. There are stairs that switchback up the side of the cliff but it seemed like way too many to climb. We asked one of the employees (very young guy) - he said he tried it once but didn't make it to the top. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wish the dinners were not so formal, wish they had their lunch menu and outdoor sitting open at dinner. I also think a snack bar that is open in the day and evening hours would of been helpful...such as a pizza station. At night, we were sometimes too tired to go out to get something and room service menu was very limited. ( with a $8 service charge)

    Loved this hotel, well appointed on the bluffs of the sea, very close to city center however, yet far away from the city center hectic pace and noise. The beach was our favorite, the lift was very reliable. Lunches at the pool was also our favorite, great views while enjoying a quiet lunch by the sea. Perfecto!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room. Photos of bins included in review. I am pretty sure from this holidays experience that if you book through Booking.com or similar website you are not given the best room. This also happened with our hotel in Rome at £350 (approx) per night in both hotels we expected better views. Not bins or facing into a fire escape.

    Apart from the view from our room everything about the hotel was fab.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Traffic around the area.

    Quiet air conditioning. Really friendly staff. Prosecco with breakfast if you wanted. Chefs at breakfast time. Beach bar and decking. Restaurant. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled round Italy for our honeymoon and this was the only hotel that didn't congratulate us or leave a card/bottle of prosecco so in comparison it didn't feel as special. Although if none of the other hotels had done it previously we wouldn't have noticed!

    The breakfast is amazing and the pool bar does some amazing food and cocktails (one of the best pizzas we had in Italy), views and scenery incredible - would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is an hour or more taxi drive from the airport (depending on traffic). The taxi driver from the airport was not a good driver so the drive was a bit frightening. On the way back, we ordered a taxi at the hotel and the driver was really good.

    This is an excellent hotel. We went to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary for a treat and it was a fabulous place to stay. It was a good base for trips to the Amalfi coast, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love sorrento but during The last years i've Been there I noticed a lot of ferry-boats in front of the beach and The sea looks like dirty with bubbles. I was very upset with the bar near the swimming pool which closes at 5 pm. Same for the bar down to The beach ( it's not a real beach more like a platform which closes at 6:30 PM ) where sandwiches ( cheese-ham) and pastries are "offered" at The price of 3/5 euros but you can't order any other dish. Until June. So you can't enjoy the sunset at 8 Pm drinking a glass of wine at The beach. We didn't appreciate the breakfast neither, the eggs and bacon are good but any sweet pastries from sorrento. Nothing typical. Nothing organic. Only cheap yogurts, cereals and 3 flavours jams. I hai ti ask for soya drink but didn't fond Ant stevia. Dogs are allowded but you have no permission to take them to swimming pool area to the sea platform or tothe restaurant. So maybe they should change this. We had 2 small dogs and at the end they accepted them to come with us. The garage costs 27€ per day/ night.

    Staff is nice, they are quite helpful and The place view is beautiful. Rooms are pretty too all with a nice view. The restaurant near the swimming pool is good. There is a beautiful garden with lemon trees , palma and hydrangeas. The swimming pool is warm. Everything is beautiful. There are extra large size sun loungers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!! Seriously!!!

    Staff were incredible, nothing was an trouble. Great location, nice short walk into the town centre. Fabulous hotel, great food & amenities! Would definately stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dominick at the dock area bar...fabulous. Dining at night...the music was a wonderful touch. The beds are comfortable. Front desk staff...answered questions pleasantly, very professional and check in/check out..easy. Breakfast buffet....really nice....but the view is center stage...just plain a gorgeous hotel all around. We will be back :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we only had one night there.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. Friends had recommended it. From the minute we walked in the door we were wonderfully welcomed, our car was sorted and we were shown to a beautiful room. The hotel setting itself was so beautiful with amazing views over the Mediterranean. We went immediately to have a lovely lunch in the pool bar area. We couldn't take our eyes off the view. The view and service were fantastic. We went exploring in Sorrento which was a very easy stroll to town but wanted to hurry back to enjoy our hotel :) We enjoyed the bar area for pre dinner drinks, dinner in the main restaurant and breakfast outside the next morning. Every meal was fantastic, every restaurant area was wonderful - with amazing views and staff. The hotel organised a taxi for us to take us to the wharf to catch a boat to Capri and we were able to leave our car in the hotel car park while we were away overnight. The whole hotel gave such a feeling of warmth but also decadence and grace. It was such an enjoyable stay and we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has beautiful views over the sea but the Location was too far from the centre of town. A 15 minute walk along a busy road with narrow pavements - we had to walk in single file for most of the way. Not a problem if you take taxis everywhere. The restaurant menu was very expensive with limited choice on the daily menu. The room had a lovely view over the excellent pool and sea but was small and space taken up with unnecessary furniture - why two armchairs when there were two seats on the balcony? We hardly had room to 'swing a cat'. We visited other hotels nearer the centre of town which seemed better value.

    Breakfast had a good selection - but no croissants! The beach area is excellent with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff here cannot do enough for you, they were so friendly and professional. The hotel itself is located on a cliff side with an amazing view of the sea. The food in the restaurant is really good. The pool area and facilities are really good. Overall we had a fab stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel was gorgeous inside and around the grounds. Wonderful assortment of foods for breakfast: Omelettes, cereal, pastries, juice, prosecco, meats, cheeses, coffee, cappuccino. Evening meals are a gourmet delight. Beautiful views of Naples Bay from the dining room. Our room was spacious and well furnished. I can't say enough about the outstanding service from the staff and the amazing views from our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very clean, food was average, hotel is dated, bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The hotel can't seem to decide if it is 5 star or 4 star as it's printed differently depending on what you look at... but I can confirm it certainly isn't 5.

    The view is spectacular but you are not in centre of town or on the marine, it's a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very beautiful hotel with a marvelous sea view. fantastic garden. The hotel is an old villa, once belonged to a Piedmontese Princess, so beauty and grandeur. Very good breakfast with lots of choices. The interior style is like the 20-ties, super.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldve stayed longer!

    The bed was comfy, the hotel staff were fantastic in terms of service,the views from the hotel were unlike anything ive ever seen and the hotel itself had the pool and outdoor area were like a garden. Incredible hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture on bookings.com does not represent the room,we booked standard room with view..the view is actually the road on bookings it is a picture of the sea and the room is small,we had to pay an extra $500AUD for 2 nights to have a Seaview room as it was Easter and everything was booked,very disappointed,very deceiving,drinks are expensive at pool bar

    Large room,great balcony,nice view,walking distance to shops/restaurants,great breakfast,good wifi,nice pool area,staff at reception gave us a map and directions around Sorrento,afternoon tea in lobby nice touch 😀great housekeeping

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The British plug point was a great bonus but was too close to the exit door with no where to put anything down between use

    The small balcony overlooking the sea and pool area

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: