Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Continental 4 stars

Largo Belvedere 26, 56018 Tirrenia, Italy

#22 of 33 hotels in Tirrenia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 810 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place for staying in Pisa region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On breakfast there was no vegetables (no tomatoes and other stuff - only fruits). Swimming pool is working from 9:30 - 19:00, if You want swim in evening there is no possibility. Access to sea only when swimming pool is working.

    Great swimming pool, access to the sea, hotel is clean and very comfortable. Stuff was helpful. Location is perfect, all great restaurant are near. Breakfast was excellent. Kids enjoyed swimming pool, and breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.6
    Time to renovate and reevaluate the stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in unsatisfactory condition, especially the bathroom - terrible smell present (hotel in all seems heavily used); the amount of sun bathing beds/chairs on the beach is too low if compared to the number of hotel guests and rooms (first row was somehow pre booked for the whole season we were told) and the beds themselves were uncomfortable; maze like access to the beach and very hard if going with a baby stroller. Overall too expensive for what is provided and definitely not 4 stars

    Location is very good: right next to the beach and great food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    For business worth what I paid. Would make sure I got upgraded room if going for vacation with famil
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Room was small and sparse. I suspect that upgraded rooms would not look at the AC units and be more spacious. Will know to ask next time. Parking is difficult and costs money. I asked through Bookkng.com to be contacted about airport shuttle and was not. Turns out it would have saved me €10. Need to contact them directly.

    Location was perfect. Amenities are well appointed. Beach - is great but did not expect to have to pay for a lounge chair. Pool - large, but lanes off for lap swim. MUST buy and wear a swim cap. Breakfast selections were very good and varied. Other meals looked appealing but did not eat there. Reception and bar staff were attentive and fabulous! Piano bar entertainment was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    You could not get a better location than this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks a bit dated in the main foyer area however it is typical old Italian style.

    You could not get a better location than this hotel. Directly on the beach with beds and towels free of charge which is excellent. Olympic sized swimming pool which is maintained to a high standard. Rooms large and comfortable with great views over the sea and town. Breakfast had a great choice of hot and cold foods. Staff very helpful and there is a garage available at a small charge for keeping any vehicles in whilst you stay there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    We stay for two nights in this Hotel during our last Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stay for two nights in this Hotel during our last Italy trip, generally good hotel, very kindly staff, nice beach and great pool. Parking is for free, good breakfast. We can recommend it. Thank to all Hotel Team.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast, pool was never opened in 8.30 (the time it should be opened). Rooms require renovation. Very expensive for the quality hotel in fact provides

    Great location, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was a good size with plenty of storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shortage of sockets and no kettle Had to pay for loungers on beach but plenty of free deck chairs. Some staff on reception were not very friendly but others were. There was no balcony in most of the rooms Sideways see view. Beds are quite firm. Private beach crammed with lines of deck chairs and loungers which I imagine could become congested in the peak season . Very close together. No room to play beach games or build candidates if you were not in the front rows.

    The room was a good size with plenty of storage Huge pool with plenty of loungers. Buffet lunch available Must wear bathing hat (provided to keep) It is more of a serious swimmer type pool but there is a smaller pool for children. They did allow inflatables. Excellent breakfast. Private beach which meant when travelling as a couple , we could leave valuables in room and both enjoy the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Thoughtless to customer inconvenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly very little to do in surrounding area. When I ent to checkout I had already paid on 2nd day but it apparently was cheaper on their system by over 100 euros. They made no attempt to allow for this difference even though I had to come to reception morning of checkout to resolve. I had to pay 83 euros extra for a lunch and drinks ie 2 cocktails and water. Felt it was bad form not to allow for their under cost considering the inconvenience and worry to me.

    The hotel was ok. It lacked atmosphere and very expensive for food. 18 euros each for lunch buffet. Felt more like a business hotel rather than holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    5 night stay. Excellent hotel, Shame about the weather and the cold pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pool could have been warmer, unless you swam, (with a bit of pace, to keep warm), you might find it too cold to use. "Balcony" is too narrow to sit out on comfortably

    Brilliant seaviews from 3rd floor"balcony" Huge swimming pool. bigger than we'd expected. Close to bus stops for Pisa and Livorno. Breakfast and dinner restaurants excellent. Evening Bar staff, (didn't get the guys name), particularly helpful and professional. Pool man was particularly helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total lack of atmosphere. It looks like a concrete jungle - my children called it a ‘motel’ which is a very apt description. The photos are far more positive than reality. The hotel obviously caters for large tour groups. Both the breakfast location and food were under par. All in all a total disappointment; so much so we didn’t even go to the beach as the ‘concreteness’ (motel holiday resort) put us off. How it is rated as4 star is quite surprising. We left after one night despite having booked and paid for two.

    The look of the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice enough Hotel, but if using a hire car you will find it impossible to park nearby at weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom WC not cleaned properly. TV aerial unplugged & out of wall. Electrical lighting sockets unplugged. One cup for two guests. Claimed car parking was impossible, reception manager just said good luck finding a place to park.

    Big & totally impersonal Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Very happy with our choice. We experienced some poor weather and it was good to have a welcoming bas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went out of season so the pool and beach facilities were not available but look to have really great potential. However, we were prepared for this.

    Family room was perfect for four people. Good breakfast. helpful staff. Very well decorated with stylish fittings and attractive facilities. A very attractive hotel with an ideal location in Terrania. Pisa and Livorno easily accessible by bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    False advertisement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach - wasn't private and full of random people. No swimming pool, it was empty - completely falsely sold by the photos. Key is HUGE like a stone in your pocket. View of an empty swimming pool. Dodgy area - difficult to get to by car and people selling fake products. Breakfast wasn't good.

    Restaurants round the hotel. Iron was much better than the normal hotel ones. Wi-Fi works. View of mountains and sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was too difficult to connect to and when we did it kept cutting out. Our stay made it difficult to continue staying in touch with our businesses.

    Loved our visit! The hotel was unbelievable! We really, really enjoyed our stay. ( except the cold weather)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    One of the best weekend breaks we have had, beautiful weather, friendly staff and amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a tiny point but being English we were surprised there were no tea making facilities in the room! It was clear from the hotel website that the pool was seasonal but not so clear that the beach sun loungers would also be put away out of season.

    We were given a corner room with the most amazing views of the sea and mountains and much to our surprise a sitting room. We felt very spoilt! Veronica on the front desk was very helpful and house keeping were friendly and meticulous. A Beautiful private sandy beach and great local eateries for dinner. A lovely beachside ice-cream parlour plus drinks bar with a relaxing patio garden a few metres away. We got the number 10 Bus from Pisa bus station for a few euros and were at the hotel in twenty minutes. All in all a great weekend break. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    It was functional but I would expect more for the tariff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable. Reception staff very abrupt . The hotel is in need of modernisation

    The location is good . We stayed at this hotel because we were having a family reunion .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Didn't feel relaxed enough due monitoring by pool and beach and too many rules for a holiday resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall mounted hair dryer, no fridge and no tea making facilities in the room. The pool was Olympic sized but like school you have wear a swimming cap and it was heavily enforced by staff The beach beds were chargeable at 8 euros per day per bed, most hotels do not charge for beds on their own beach but this one did. Also they have changed the check out time to 10am the earliest I have ever heard of in any hotel in the world. They make rule changes as they go along and charge people for standard hotel services like a beach bed. Also a German tourist was able to get half board at the same price as we paid for bed and breakfast. There no taxis is Tirenia, they have travel from PISA to your hotel which costs between 40 and 60 euros.

    Comfortable beds, good air con and spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    Hotel in urgent need of facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not very well kept. Rooms small with poor furniture and tiny bathrooms. Urgently needs a facelift. Breakfast also very poor.

    Excellent location by beach with good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    we had a wonderful relaxing break with a wonderful beach on the doorstep. Staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot find a fault with this hotel. I believe that although it is not cheap, it is great value for money.

    I mentioned to the lady cleaning rooms that the pillows were too bulky and made my neck uncomfortable. She immediately had them changed and even bothered to check with me the next morning that we had slept well. I appreciated the fact that nothing is too much trouble at this hotel and all staff were very polite and friendly. The staff down at the pool were also very friendly without being intrusive. There is a laid back eligance about this hotel which is hard to find these days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    Definitely not 4*, but fair enough for a family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    beach employees are rude and dont speak English very small shower cabins no electricity sockets near the bed, the only one for the whole room too poor wifi (less then 1MB/sec) no duvet covers no kettles and tea/coffee at the room small shower cabins no service at the beach

    Territory is very big and convinient The beach was close to the pool and easily accessible Friendly hotel employees, ready to solve your issues, it was no big deal to change the room for the one with sea view Good lunches at hotel's restaurant near pool for 10 and 15 euros

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Location and staff were great. Wouldn't stay again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 areas to the hotel. One was a bit nicer than the other. We got stuck in the one that seemed much older. For the price we paid I feel like we should have been in a much nicer room. The "private beach" was more frustrating than it was relaxing. People walking by trying to get you to by their knock off garbage. Not just a couple of time. I'd say someone approached me or my children every 2 to 5 minutes. The food at the hotel was awful. Tried lunch buffet and I couldn't finish a single item I grabbed because it tasted so bad. Breakfast wasn't much to choose from and what they had wasn't anything to brag about. Didnt even want to try dinner.

    Location was good. Near pisa and the beach. Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Needs a makeover... but beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Received a 42 euro ticked while checking in. Although the hotel provides a pass to park on the street after checkin... it's a hassle, with limited directions... and although willing to pay the ticket (the hotel staff wouldn't help us in processing The ticket (translate, could we pay them? It was a Sunday and not post office open). The pool is beautiful... but you must wear a swim cap to participate. Reminded us of a resort in the 70s. Restaurant staff was friendly... but rooms in need of makover

    Proximity to the beach and the experience to the sea and restaurants was fantastic. It was hot inside... both rooms and restaurants... the air just couldn't keep up...but gave a great excuse to spent time on the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great stay for a family trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a great place to stay for a family of four with young (9 and 11) children. Nice pool area and great beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. I can really recommend the lunch buffé in the bar. There are a few shops and other restaurants close by, and the bus to Pisa center costs €2 and takes less than 30 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with strong Italian feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit sparse and lacking character

    Wonderful friendly people at the hotel Gigantic pool and easy beach access Fluffy towels at the pool each day Good air con in rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night life of this township fantastic a must weekender will in Italy.

    The beach are fabulous, hotel and township great, little town but plenty to do

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Good beach location but hotel not 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this is not a 4 star hotel. Public rooms v good. bedrooms though very poorly equipped with ancient bathrooms, broken tiles, tiny shower cubicles. no tea/coffee facilities, no clock/alarm, rooms generally lacked the 4 start look. Desperate for a refurb. ancient paisley carpeting in corridors. did not like the compulsory swim hat required for the pool and they charged for same - was not given a good reason for such a ruling. location good for beach but the town is struggling - area and hotel is a 1960's time warp.

    proximity to Pisa airport was very good. staff overall very friendly but unhelpful when we had to change room due to a/c fault very large pool and location good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    To many rules and regulations about where you could or could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To many rules and regulations about where you could or could not sit on the beach and the fact that you had to buy a swimming cap to swim in the Pool!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Good, but way too many restrictions regarding swimming pool and beach access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wear rubber swimming caps to be allowed to swim in the pool?! Seriously?! The last time I had to wear one was in Soviet Union! This was enough to make us not use the swimming pool, which was obviously a shame and a disappointment. The beach is nice and large, but only four rows of beach lounges on the side were allowed to be used by the hotel guest, despite the rest being virtually empty. And beach closes for access at 8pm! Again this is so like Soviet Union! What if we want to swim till the sun sets completely? Or even after that? What about a romantic stroll along the beach in the evening? People come to the sea side to relax and enjoy themselves regardless of time of day. I paid premium money to stay at a hotel with direct beach access, but for my money I didn't actually get to use it that much. Way too many rules and restrictions!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Reception speak multiple languages. The food and the bar are great too! Clean and comfy place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking continental was expecting something more. More likely for medium range holiday with no needs for decent clean room, breakfast with fake croissants and noise all night from neighbouring pubs. Stayed one night but would not stayed longer than that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Happy holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More choices can be given for the breakfast

    Right on the beach! Chairs, umbrella, and beach towels provided! Beautiful, olympic sized pool. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Happy holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More choices can be provided for the breakfast

    Right on the beach! Chairs, umbrella, and beach towels provided! Beautiful, olympic sized pool. Friendly staff. Updated rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    very good staff-clean-confortable-large swimming pool- beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good staff-clean-confortable-large swimming pool- beach free of charge included-lunch on swimming pool for only 15 euro- in few word very very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoker must have been in my room. Wish there was an indoor pool.

    Breakfast was ready early every day. Beds were very comfortable. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    Over-priced with limited facilities out of season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the end of October the hotel is half closed. Very limited dining options and no pool. It was extremely expensive for what it was. The rooms are in great need of updating.

    Large rooms with a sea view. Good breakfast, though not a huge selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff, not so modern, a bit of an old decor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not too happy about the room, a renovation would be nice, a little bit more modern.

    Breakfast was also ok for the hotel, the view was nice. The front desk staff were very friendly and spoke good English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.4
    Setting for Pisa, Lucca, Livorno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Transit hotel for buses with elderly groups. Small breakfast area. Monotonous breakfast. No airport transfers available. (cost to airport 25 euro, taxi 40 euro). Cheerless. Faded upholstery.

    Setting for Pisa, Lucca, Livorno. Quiet location apart from disco till 24:00. Beach, but beware, you are only allowed in very selected area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.3
    Expensive and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is outdated and bathroom needs renovation. This is an expensive hotel and would have expected better The hotel is used regularly by coach parties for overnight stays. This results in the breakfast restaurant becoming overcrowded as space is limited

    Pool area is spacious and plenty of sun beds available

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Great Location, Fabulous Beach and Pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI could have been a little better but not a major factor.

    Fabulous location on a private beach with free sunbeds and towels. Staff friendly and hotel clean. Good choice of breakfast items. Beds were very comfy. Amazing Olympic sized pool. Lovely restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're using public transport the buses are fairly frequent but occasionally don't turn up, so leave extra time if you have a deadline!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room. Lovely coastal location within easy reach of Pisa, Livorno etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location, has a private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, has a private beach. The hotel has a full size pool. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good, you can choose sweets, fresh fruits as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location for a relaxing beach break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only given one pillow each and no spare ones in the wardrobe. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Lovely big pool so enough room for everyone, whether you want to play or swim laps. Good choice at breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Spacious bedroom which was light and airy. Beautiful shaded garden, perfect if you want a break from the sun. Magnificent view of mountains, sea, pool and garden from the window. Great choice of local restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.8
    Beautifful location but shame about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridor outside our room smelt! The toilet in our room also smelt terribly! My husband complained to the reception staff and they offered to move us but we declined as it was too late. The next morning the cleaners were there , giving the corridor area a good clean. We were disappointed the hotel didn't offer us a reduction in the room price. Overall we thought the hotel was over priced and that you are paying for the location.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Most satisfactory, apart from beach bureaucracy- Read review for thorough info
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beach- well, yes the hotel has part of the beach. But if you are not used to Italian beach protocol then you may find it frustrating. Beach opens at present between 9am-7.30pm. You need to head back up to hotel via the pool way before 7.30pm so you don't want to get locked out of the pool. Earlier last month according to friends. Otherwise you have to navigate round the side onto road and in through front entrance of the hotel. You come down onto the beach past a kiosk. You have to follow the Hotel Continental sign to the left. Then to be honest you presume you can sit where you like on the rows that are not facing the sea. But alas no. The hotel only has 4 rows and it's not obvious which they are. If one of the hotel "Crew" in a blue t-shirt. Is about they will direct you. DO not assume you an air on the front row facing the sea unless you want a mouthful from a local or the Bagnino (Lifeguard in red). Don't assume you can drag a sun bed from there either! You will be told it's not allowed either. The hotel only provides deck chairs which face each other rather than the sea. The hotel should explain this clearly to avoid guests having the confusion and confrontation and the embarrassment! If you want a sun bed, you can hire 1 (not a pair) @ €8 per day !!! or negotiate a weekly rate. You pay at the kiosk at the entrance to the beach. (Bagno Mary). Why the Hotel can't have it's own sun beds for guests I don't know. Italian beach bureaucracy no doubt ! The front row is used by locals who pay a subscription to have their numbered position and beds. Parking - NO FREE public parking at this time of the year (July into August.) Have to pay for the public parking bays between 8am and 2am. (Then it's free if you move your car at 8am til 2am but where ....?!) Seems there is an underground at park at the hotel (that you pay for) but we were not informed about it. Only overheard another guest asking about paying for it at reception.

    Hotel itself fine. Booked after a recommendation from friends who stayed here a month ago. We had booked a twin bedded room and were given interconnecting rooms so that we had that facility. One of us had two large double and the other a twin room. Beds comfortable and had a regular change of linen. (1) Bathroom also fine. Fluffy towels a good size and changed everyday. Wardrobe space fine. If had being saying for longer and had more smart clothes, probable would have needs more clothes hangers. Safe key provided when asked at no extra cost. Light in the double room fine but in the interconnecting twin room, light very poor and no light above mirror. Rooms were on side of hotel that overlook road and were directly over breakfast terrace. So had double doors with a juliet balcony. Some rooms on the poolside only have a window. At night noisy with doors open as a lot going on until 12am. Location- hotel in a lively area and a lot going on with a weekly day market on Tuesdays. There was also a night market and dance event in the piazza which stopped the traffic one way. If you arrive late like we did, you'll be able to enjoy good in one of the restaurants. There will be noise until 12am but we enjoyed the vibe. Breakfast in hotel- a good continental breakfast. Fruit, tinned and fresh. Hand and cheese. Breads, delicious croissants and cakes. Cereals, eggs and sausages or bacon. Seating is outside and inside and outside depending where you can get a spot. Inside is a little dull and warm but if you can't get table in shade outside then ... Watch the steps outside, it's split levels. Food well presented but perhaps not as practical as it could be. All in one line so when busy you are queuing behind people so had to take care with hot coffee etc. Didn't try the hotel restaurant as preferred to be somewhere with outside space to enjoy the warm evenings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Awesome holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect location, staff, beach was absolutely amazing and so clean,room basic but spacious very clean bed really comfy looooved the food easy public transport to Pisa we had absolutely fabulous time and would like to come back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Brilliant hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking outside the hotel was a struggle each day, but it was free with a pass from reception. Breakfast was a little limited.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi. Amazing pool and free designated beach sun loungers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Great place for a beach vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we got had an awful view and was pretty dark. No balcony available (many other rooms did). Small details of ageing in various places (corridors, bathroom). Cleanliness was OK, but no more.

    Good location, as close to the Tirrenia beach as it gets. Wonderful swimming pool. Excellent breakfast, if anything a tad monotonous (every day the same stuff). Reasonable lunch buffet, a bit pricey with the drinks (8€ for a bottle of water and a beer). Hotel provided towels for the beach or the pool, as well as free access to a private beach (parasol and chairs). Parking on the street, but for free with a badge provided by the hotel. Courtesy bathroom stuff was refilled every day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Classic grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wearing a swimming cap in the pool.

    This is a classic hotel, not particularly modern but the cocktail bar service was excellent and reception very good too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice, though aging and in need of renewal, hotel on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel could be renewed, it is about time. Mechanical key (even though Assa Abloy, classy) is the thing of the past. Plus the swimming pool and the beach closing at 19h in brought daylight - well that should change.

    Very nice breakfast, great coffee, very nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.4
    A big let down after viewing hotels website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast selection, better staff training, on arrival we were expected to know where the lifts and rooms were as no directions were offered until we asked not helpful. Poor wifi offering as has to be renewed every 24 hours, again I nay found out day of leaving that a longer renewal was available.

    The banga Mary restaurant and sunbathing area. (Not part of the grand hotel continental)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.5
    Fantastic area for weekend in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    brekfast could be better, breakfast area to small in relation to guests numbers

    Localisation !!!!!!!! very close to airport 12 km 15 mins by car, hotel located on the sandy beach with private area, well equiped with umbrellas and chairs,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Good stay close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not enjoyed the breakfast at all, as they served same stuff every day. The staff seemed tensed and busy running in/out, without even say hello to the guests. Difficult to relax at the beach due to many salesmen. Have to pay 8 euro for each sunbed. Only chairs was available for no cost.

    The beach, and swimming pool. Great space as we had connecting rooms. Close to the Tirrennia centre, so we could eat dinner at the restaurants outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    had to pay a euro for a hat to wear in pool, didn't know about this before, also sun loungers on beach, got on 1, was told reserved for people to pay 8 euros a day

    location was great, get off bus from pisa, & its there

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.0
    Horrible value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was nothing interesting at all ... Pipes at the back of the hotel. Breakfast for this money was a joke. Unable to use parking nearby hotel. Old hotel with dirty (fungus) bathroom. Worst value for this price i've seen so far and i've stayed in many hotels all across the europe. My suggestion, find other place in this area. There are plenty of them.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff at reception could be rude. We were told that they were too busy to come and sort the door handle that was falling off the door! It took 2 days for them to fix it and we had to report it a few times. There is a bit of noise/music at night from pubs around the hotel and it goes on quite late into the night.The beach was lovely but really busy and you can only sit on certain sunloungers.

    Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of foods. Great swimming pool with enough sunloungers for everyone. The location was great with plenty of shops and restaurants around the area and within walking distance. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel and the buses came regularly. The room was clean and the views from the balcony were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Position close to the sea and the possibility to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view

    Position close to the sea and the possibility to have parasol and deckchairs. Free parking Excellent and plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    missing vegetables in breakfast menu

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    pool and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi sucks

    pool and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding staff, outstanding hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wearing a swimming cap in the pool.

    Everything. The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    How clean the hotel was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not being able to use the pool in anyway without wearing a swimming cap

    How clean the hotel was

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice breakfast and a good room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Large spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were dated but functional and you have to wear a swimming cap in the pool also no direct access to the beach

    Large spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Good wifi and clean room, no outlets by the bedsides, avarage breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outlets by the bedsides, avarage breakfast options, old furniture.

    Wifi was good, the room was clean, big bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Stay was fabulous and next time we stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely resort with on site restaurant. Breakfast was delicious also. Staff was super!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely pool and beach side location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely pool and beach side location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing stay with good restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little outdated

    Proximity to the beach was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Generally ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was terrible.

    Air conditioning in the room was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    The place is overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like they said. Small and very uncomfortable bed!!!!!!

    The beach was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Poor quality overall despite the fabulous pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a general refurbishment. It's a bit grotty in a location that doesn't have much going for it.

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very expensive but had a good time.

    great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Relaxed and family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiling hot gym Restrictions on the beach- not obvious on website

    Large rooms, open plan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    To many rules and rigeg seatig at the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many rules and rigeg seatig at the beach. Did not accept credit card as deposit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wear swimming caps in the pool

    Closeness of a lovely hotel to the beach and the excellent service of all the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    View of sea swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better for 4 stars

    View of sea swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    The best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: