Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Dei Cesari 4 stars

Via Mantova 3, 00042 Anzio, Italy

#7 of 9 hotels in Anzio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private beach area was really a terrace . You weren't allowed to take chairs onto the sand at the water's edge. Not that close to the centre of town but still walkable. Lot of rules about not bringing your own food or drinks into the hotel. No Wi-Fi in the rooms.

    Really close to the sea. Local shops within walking distance and also one of the train stations. We were upgraded and had a room with sea view and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2km away from nice beach. No air conditioning on. Building looks old. It has 4 stars but looks more like 3 stars. Breakfast ok. Standard hotel

    Quick service, kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light fixture in bathroom needs a replacement bulb.

    Restaurant wasn't really open because it was the fall/winter but they made a dinner for me. Very pleasant hotel room but incredibly hot and couldn't turn off the heat. Concierge dealt with a guest who had a heart attack in front of her. Very difficult situation which she handled very well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet is limited. There was no view from the rooms. The hotel is not located on the beach (the description and photos might be misleading).

    The night staff at arrival were amazing. The balcony was much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little to far from town centre, bars , harbour, etc.

    Spacious rooms with balcony and sea views. Good safe parking. The hotel is older but well maintained . We stayed at the end of sept and it was very quiet and deserves to have more bookings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my family liked how big and child friendly the hotel was.

    The staff were so lovely and kind! If I go back to Anzio I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was exactly what we wanted for a mini beach break with my grown up family. Right next to a beach, great breakfast, authentic town with fantastic fish restaurants. And best of all not touristy at all.Anzio is a pleasent 15 min walk along the coast from the hotel. My mum and sister loved this mini holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Negatives Area: 1. had to walk from train station with bags as no taxis anywhere to be seen. Distance wasn't too great in the end, however, less than 1km. 2. Very little in the way of restaurants. One Chinese (we all had 'dicky' tummies afterward (my wife had the 'trots' for a full day after it). No English was spoken by any of the Chinese staff here. 3. There's an Italian restaurant/café with a friendly owner but when we were there s lot of dishes were off the menu. Prices were reasonable but we didn't eat there. Don't eat in the hotel - EVER!!! (see comments below) 4. There's only one supermarket close by and it's tiny. You can get most things there, however as it was well stocked. Fresh fruit was hit and miss - some lovely apples but pears had spoiled and were infested with ants! 5. Although generally as quiet as the grave, we were disturbed by a late night delivery to the hotel (ramp lifting, trolley rolling, roller shutters) followed by a very early morning refuse collection (need I say more?) 6. Dogs fouling on the beach. A large dog went on the beach and its owner simply discarded the fouling into the water albeit in a place where no one was swimming but it was done so casually it made us think perhaps this is the norm? Hotel: 1. The staff were in the main very rude and some were pig ignorant. A simple matter of over-cooked calamari became an uncomfortable stand-off in the restaurant. My calamari was rubbery and tough whilst my wife and daughter's was not. I was told by a waiter that it was all cooked fresh together so if theirs was fine then I was the problem! The supervisor refused to remove my calamari from the bill and offered to make me more. I refused. He offered us a complimentary dessert but only if it was panacotta! We asked for ice-cream for our daughter but he refused saying they were out (there is an ice-cream freezer in the restaurant that is fully stocked).

    Positives Area: 1. If you want quiet then this is it - not a peep at night (see comment below however). No clubs or late bars. No drunken louts shouting at all hours. 2. Beach is within easy reach - basement level of hotel then tunnel to swimming pool and steps to beach. Beach is glorious if a little narrow but we never wanted for space here. Friendly lifeguard on duty all day from early morning showed us to our choice of place. Access is by pass which you get from reception on check-in. (See comment below however) 3. Water is divine. So clean. We found the current strong so didn't venture out too far. There were rocks under the water but not many and they are easily spotted. A stunning vista here with one of the loveliest sunsets I've ever seen. Hotel: 1. we found the female reception staff very cordial and empathetic. They were proficient in English, too. Room: 1. Generally very clean and tidy. On one occasion we needed our room made up quickly and the very friendly maid reordered it while we waited. Floors were swept and mopped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudeness of Matteo, who was at the front desk in the afternoon. I was traveling with a friend merely 10 years younger than me and he asked me if I was her mother. Then he asked me three times if my girlfriend had spent the night with me (for the purpose of checking her in and pay the difference) and I had told him from the get go that my friend had a place nearby and came over only for the day (and paid for the day guest service for both days). I found the questions by this person rude and uncalled for, as a guest should be respected and his/her answer, especially for 4 stars hotel, taken at face value. I am very disappointed

    Breakfast very generous and the restaurant people super friendly and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working, but sea breeze kept us cool.

    Great view and access to the sea. Quiet neighborhood. Tunnel​ under the street to the pool and Beach was unique and convenient. Nice restaurant and bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner wasn't working & room quite warm. €3 a day each for a pool towel for a guest was a bit expensive.

    The lounge area in reception & near the bar is exceptional. The dining room is very well appointed & the resort is very easy to get around. All the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said it was a 4star and so was not - totally misrepresented itself - would recommend you not to book unless you pay 100 euro - still its just a cheap stay with bad food and inhospitable staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have the air conditioning set at 26.5 none of the three of us could get the temperature to 22Deg 26.5 leads to a hot and uncomfortable night in bed. The showers in the room have large gaps, resulting in the floor being awash. There are no restaurants nearby, the only way is to use taxi which can also be expensive.

    Staff/receptionist are extremely helpful. Lovely sitting area in the reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated hotel in a run down area of Anzio, 20 minute walk into Town if you want to eat out (beware very few places to eat before 7pm, we went for a walk around 4pm and everywhere was closed even in August) Some of the reception staff could have been more helpful. Rooms over priced.

    Restaurant staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and the evening meal was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 euro per day for towel rent. Pool and beach close too early for us (at 19). Need to change first room because of broken locker on the door.

    Tea pot in the room. Good breakfast. Comfortable and clean room. Stuff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and Coffee Station wasn't always staffed.. Staff were a bit short in their service... Staff for Food n Beverage were Not much of a smile or welcome mode...

    Parking and Drop Off was very Good..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach in both rooms found in the evening. Breakfast not included , dinner was uninspiring and staff rushed. Restaurant more suited to very large tour groups.

    Friendly staff, info re breakfast times and pool/ beach location given. Location great for an over night stay to make the most of two days on the beach. The beach bar was amazing! Superb, freshly prepared fish and meat for great value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note to M****o on the front desk. Please pay more attention to the guests and less attention to your self importance. And I am still waiting to be served at the bar. A beer for table 5 when you're ready.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin beds were very basic and uncomfortable.

    The bathroom was new. The rooms were clean. The staff was great. The beach was easily accessible. The restaurant was a little expensive but convenient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Interesting hotel a bit of a throwback Great pool overlooking the Mediterranean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many rules in the rooms not good for a 4* hotel food not very good

    The staff were very good and polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very firm bed, excellent breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi internet at the hotel was down

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was not sufficient.

    Nice pool, very close to private beach. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not a big choose, also I was surprised if it pet friendly hotel but my dog cannot enter to any of public areas

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not hotels fault but beach/sea a little dirty

    Good reception area,pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant was not very good . Had to send it back . Potatoes cold and all came at different times. Did not enjoy.

    Easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location and food were very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower The TV

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shower was leaking a lot :)

    The restaurant staff as well as the receptionists, smily, helpful, and they care special thanks to Mr Hisham, the restaurant staff chief

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV was small and some channels in English would have been appreciated.

    The property was quite dated but otherwise comfortable and reasonable value for money. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Heating in room was hotwe switched it off but still had to have balcony door open in November

    Ease of check in Easy to find in Anzio Not far from station or beach

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oldfasioned.... Terrible colours in restaurant Food (breakfast) - think the worst I have ever experienced.... :-( The area Anzio and north on to Fumicio....is like Tjernobyl....... dirty, old, very bad condition. If you want to go to the sea from Rome.....go North of Rome

    Hotel was clean, seaview,

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was average staff not particularly attentive. Having stayed in similar hotels standard of food was not great. TV in the room was a huge old style TV. We were on a special rate. If we had been on full price we would have been disappointed.

    Pool, pool bar and beach were good facilities.good parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The a/c is HORRIBLE and the room never cooled. Request for help was ignored. Impossible to sleep on a hot day.

    Location. Breakfast. Pool. Private beach.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV old. Air con not effective so had to have door open and street noise loud. Lights from exterior also very bright to sleep with.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NO QUALITY TO THE FOOD SERVED LONG WALK TO TOWN CENTRE

    ROOM OK

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was average for the resort prices paid for the meals. The decor is quite outdated.

    The staff were helpful, check in and out went smoothly.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location suited my purposes which was to visit various WW2 landing sites and ceneteries

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no caring, a fight between hotel worker in front of customer, fitness club require an extra payiment. Average of the hotel very old.

    nice location

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. 30 feet from the sea. Off street safe parking

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom dusty old carpeting, ineffective A/C. Slow wiFi.

    Quiet

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Grand Hotel Dei Cesari traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: