Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel de la Ville 4 stars

Via Rota 15, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#15 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, food and hotel Highly recommende
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the tour company Golden tours they recommended - they should change companies

    staff superb helped with everything and still smiled!! food best we had in Italy so no need to go to tourist restraunts . View excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Sorrento is fabulous the hotel ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small . Air conditioning only went to a certain temperature of 22c.The maids clean the room and move things as well as close curtains move your linen. Front staff was mostly not helpful there were some staff that was good.

    Location & lobby was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has that old school charm, the staff were very helpful and friendly Loved the roof top pool with an amazing view and we were also impressed with the breakfast Definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Great holiday with the girls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room toiletries did not get replaced when they were used. We could not check out late the night before we were leaving - we had to check out (quickly) before the cab came the next morning - could have been a bit more helpful here.

    Excellent breakfast, great location and upstairs pool area was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    old lady with facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a Grand Hotel apparently built a century ago, which underwent a facelift fairly recently. The problem was that we received a room best described as attic with a flight of stairs to reach it. Not suitable for a Grand. Room was changed on next day, this time intimately facing residencial buildings. I have an incling that as Booking referrals we often get second class treatment. Dinner was excellent and not too expensive. Overall for €330 /night + 6 tax + 23 parking I expected more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Very nice beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice beds. The room was clean and nice. Everyone was nice and polite. The maitre’d Samuele was wonderful and also Dino at the bar. They both provided excellent service and were always welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We were impressed with our room and the view of Vesuvius.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were impressed with our room and the view of Vesuvius. All the hotel employees were pleasant and courteous especially the constantly smiling young man making breakfast eggs. This is a very well-managed hotel deserving maximum stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was good, 5 minutes walk to the main piazza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Very expensive rates but suspect all hotels in Sorrento are over priced. Pool does not look like it does in the photos, small with old sun beds surrounding.

    Location was good, 5 minutes walk to the main piazza. Views were good. Reception staff were very helpful. This hotel works well as a base to explore Sorrento. One evening there was a piano player in the hotel bar who was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great. Just a couple of minutes from downtown. Personal is really helpful and the hotel is really pretty. A little bit overpriced, but it's Sorrento. The pool its smaller than it looks like in the pictures but still nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in Lovely Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful! The white marble lobby, restaurants, room, and upstairs balcony/pool were gorgeous, with a spectacular view of Mount Vesuvius. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating and the breakfast selection was extensive. Great location, only a short walk from Tasso Square. I highly recommend the Grand Hotel De La Ville.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    No robes in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon and sausages very poor quality. Sauté Potatoes very greasy. No tomato juice all week. Same boring fruit every day.

    No robes in rooms No tea and coffee in rooms No smoked salmon on breakfast buffet the whole week.In fact no fish at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    This hotel was exactly what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m being fussy, as the hotel is in the heart of the town, there’s some road noise but nothing that would alter my opinion of this property.

    This hotel was exactly what we wanted. We went for a premier room which overlooked the bay. For us, well worth it. The breakfast was amazing, the staff fantastic and the rood top pool was great as well. A very short walk to the heart of Sorrento, the train station and harbour. There was a good mix of guests including couples, older travellers and young families.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    a reasonably ok hotel but not somewhere we would return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the so called terraced bedroom which we paid extra for had a simple balcony. photos depicted a hotel near waters edge but is nowhere near the water. pools are poor and sun loungers look like they have seen their day. found the hotel very noisy.....(but not voices etc).... more like doors closing, shutters going up and down, cleaners trolleys, suitcases being moved at all times of the night and early hours, and traffic. had to pay full cost of hotel on arrival....1st time for this on our travels. had to pay extra to get an omelette at breakfast even though there was a guy standing there making them. no change to breakfast menu throughout the week. in my opinion a very overpriced hotel compared to spain/portugal

    nice looking hotel with decent location. clean. staff were fine. older age group.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A courtesy room with a book able 30 minute time slot for late leaving customers would be a great touch and good customer after service

    Nice location,fantastic room view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely grand hotel, disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sold the hotel and quite and expensive room on the promise of a 'fabulous' breakfast, but it was rather disappointing. The standard warm/hot menu items, quite cheap and limited. As it was the weekend we were expecting (as advertised) things like waffles, pancakes, more fruit choices and fresh pastry choices but it was all limited and tasted pre-packaged. An airport shuttle was also advertised but its basically a private taxi which is €80 one way. The hotel do kindly arrange the pick up, but they don't ask for flight times and don't give advice on traffic so we cut it rather find. On the plus side you can pre-pay by credit card and the car and driver were lovely.

    Fantastic location, just outside the centre of town near a lemon and orange orchard. Loved the rooftop pool and bar, which lots to chose from. The rooms were big, suitably grand, very clean and comfortable. There's also lots of facilities at the hotel, and the staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    We would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to anyone, although quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We thought choice and quality of the evening meals not particularly good and only ate dinner once in the hotel. Luckily there were plenty of alternatives within walking distance. Hotels choice of local wine was not good and 3 bottles had to be opened before finding an acceptable one. We also did not like the herding into rows for seating at breakfast and dinner. A little more flexibility by the waiting staff would have been appreciated.

    Breakfast was very good, comfort, atmosphere and location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Elegant hotel in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was rather ordinary.

    Nicely laid out and elegant hotel, with a comfortable atmosphere and very attractive dining room and garden restaurant. Reception staff very sociable. Not far from Sorrento town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Good place for romantic weekend but families will enjoi too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many things to list (all of minor importance): relatively expensive drinks at bars, not so nice view from the rooms with eastern windows. Limited parking possibiities at the street so you have to pay 20euros for parking/garage per day. Cold water in the pool.

    Rooms clean, smooth making up process (sometimes when we were enjoing breakfest). Location close to the center, extremely nice personnel at reception and restaurant. Good breakfests (especially when eaten in the Garden). Broad spectrum of food for dinner. Good quality of wi-fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of house staff

    Our stay was lovely however we do wish that we had tea and coffee facilities in the room, also the lady of the front desk was not very kind and snatched my key from me but otherwise a lovely stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Very lovely hotel with charming friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have a sea view from our bedroom but it wasn’t a problem as we were rarely in the room.

    Beautiful traditional hotel in a quiet location but still fairly central in Sorrento. All of the staff are delightful. We ate dinner one night in the hotel because of bad weather and we were very pleasantly surprised by how good it was and excellent value for money. Lots of comfortable places to sit and curl up with a book and glass of wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely, old-style hotel which is well-maintained and very comfortable in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised there was no gym and even at the end of April the swimming pools were very cold. Service was efficient but not all staff were friendly.

    A lovely older-style hotel with very nice rooms and balconies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay if ever you are in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was flawless. We had an intricate departure schedule (3 planes to catch that day), and they swiftly descended our luggage, had our car ready, stored the bags. On another note, the outdoor garden is perfect for a leisurely lunch, in the sun and the shade, surrounded by greenery. Again, impeccable service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Not able to get a full nights sleep! DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 116!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken at 6.20 by the staff in the kitchen making preparations for breakfast and as our room was directly over the kitchens we were unable to sleep through the noise. This room shouldn't be used for guests as it is untenable as such. We made a complaint but we're told that nothing could be done for us, as we had paid in advance!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was one of the best we have encountered. You cannot go wrong staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I gave the location a 4 but that might not have been fair. Sorrento is a very tight and congested city and the hotel is on a one way street. It wasn’t a problem once we arrived but it was a tough in and out. BTW - do not trust your GPS as it may take you down some streets you might not like. We pulled the mirrors in more than once!

    We were very pleasantly surprised! We weren’t sure what to expect as we only booked classic and standard rooms. The rooms were more than comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding! The hotel staff was extremely helpful and patient and the restaurant staff were amazing. We could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    4* stay with reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in the room Superior room was smaller than expected Drinks and food were expensive Room linen wasn’t changed only folded and made tidier.

    Good location - about 10 min walk from centre Staff were friendly and helpful Rooftop pool and bar were incredible with amazing views Breakfast was lovely with a large selection Partial view balcony had a great view of vesuvius

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in the bedroom. Rooms need a kettle. You could go down to bar and obtain hot water. But not worth the hassle.

    The hotel staff were super friendly and polite. Hotel is spotless. Superb location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is lovely, rooms are very well appointed and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is lovely, rooms are very well appointed and very attractive. We had a 4th floor room with a view of the ocean and Mt. Vesuvius. Beds, super comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointment was the room. We were put at the very back of the hotel so the view wasn't good at all. Disappointing as it was low season and I'm sure better rooms were available.

    Loved the hotel spotlessly clean. Great location. Rooftop pool and terrace a big plus! We enjoyed breakfast and drinks in the hotel bar. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos made the place look much larger than it actually was e.g. Pool area Cost of parking !

    Excellent service and staff very willing to help . Little extras in the room were unexpected and much appreciated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    This hotel is beautifully decorated, clean, and they offered an amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful! The white marble lobby, restaurants, room, and upstairs balcony/pool were gorgeous, with a spectacular view of Mount Vesuvius. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    A great spot to celebrate that special occasion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving!

    A great location, with views of Vesuvius from the pool area & main "Lounge" area. Everything was within easy walking distance, yet quiet when it mattered as it is located off the main road. The staff were extremely helpful & accommodating, especially the reception area staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    great place to relax and enjoy the bay of Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were really friendly. It was a great location near the centre of Sorrento in a quiet area with a citrus garden in front. Great views over the Vesuvius/Naples bay from the room balcony and from the roof terrace. Although the water was cold, it was great to have two swimming pools (rooftop pool and a bigger pool down in the garden). Breakfast was fab. We would come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual hotel and staff. Fabiana provided the best service we have ever had at a hotel. Above and beyond care for her guests. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel! Would recommend to friends and would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely room, great views of sea and mount vesuvius. All the Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing with lots of choice which included freshly cooked eggs whichever way you choose.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Joyous place to stay in beautiful Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was cold in October

    Classy hotel, rooftop sun deck with views over Vesuvius and the bay of Naples, friendly staff, lovely tiled floors, five star breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Kindly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place a bit old, extra cost for more than one coffee and for omelet in the breakfast. Really nothing else to say..

    Good ambience, worm and kindly staff, very comfortable rooms (we slept so well!), parking(not free, but not expensive and very useful), amazing sea view! The hotel is in a good location, just 7 minutes walk from the main square. Very good breakfast. Tip: ask the staff for a place called 'la Cantinaccia', great great great local food! We had a great time there :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location, very nice garden for the breakfast and roof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very average, based on the previous reviews and the rating of the hotel I expected much better. There are tiles on the floor everywhere in the hotel, which is nice but does not absorb the noise. Our room was above the kitchen and every morning woke up when it opened, noise of utensils and staff. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, it smelled and the upper corner was moldy.

    Good location, very nice garden for the breakfast and roof terrace. Staff were very attentive and friendly. The dinner menu was abundant and good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Sorrento is a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have done with a comfy chair in my room, only had the bed or dining chairs to sit on.

    The hotel was clean, well maintained, the bar lounge was good and the restaurant food excellent. Beds also very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in a beautifully furnished, classy hotel with friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms overlooking the 'garden' i.e. the trees and shrubs of the garden dining area next to the swimming pool, is also overlooked by two high rise residential blocks - no privacy on the balcony and little use made of the swimming pool. The bathroom would benefit from a shelf to place toiletries.

    Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Shower terrific. Staff very friendly and helpful. Reception, lounge and bar areas beautifully appointed in light grey and turquoise. Breakfast waiters very cheerful and accommodating. Buffet breakfast extensive with hot food, fresh fruit and yoghurts, cereals, breads cold meats and cheese, and pastries. Rooftop has a lovely, peaceful sunbathing area with a magnificent view over the bay, a bar and dipping pool. Good location in walking distance to the main square and shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful! We will be back for sure. We loved our stay there and the included breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work in room for 2 days. Apparently there was a blackout but wifi was not resolved during our last two days.

    Beautiful full breakfast.. everything you could want and more! Very beautiful room with Terrace overlooking water. We will recommend to friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful 5 days at Grand Hotel de la Ville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. The only thing was the pool was too cold but that's because of the weather we know.

    We liked that the hotel was centrally located and the staff was super nice. Hotel was spotless and so quiet. We had a bird's eye view of Vesuvius ! It was interesting reading about the family owned business.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay and enjoy Sorrento and we would return to your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cappuccinos were an additional charge to our room when ordered at breakfast. It was a minimal charge but it would have been better for it to be included in the charge for the room. They were included in the cost of our room when we stayed in a lovely hotel in Rome 2 years ago and we appreciated the little extra.

    We enjoyed the breakfast in the garden as well as the variety and quality of foods and beverages offered. All staff were friendly and helpful. The staff arranged for a boat trip to " discover Capri" and it couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our honeymoon, we asked for a sea view naas did not get it. I am a coeliac and they did not have a huge selection.

    I like the lobby of the hotel and the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing views and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Swimming pool on the roof was smaller than expected and freezing cold.

    The staff on Reception and working the bar were fantastic. Great attitude and so happy to help. Always happy to look after your room key and offer to help out with planning your day. I would highly recommend. Room was huge also!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Room lovely, spotlessly clean & kept that way each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden view we requested was overlooking garden but we only saw tree tops😏

    Room lovely, spotlessly clean & kept that way each day. Super breakfast choices. Staff all lovely friendly & helpful. Pools lovely especially rooftop one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant but light sleepers take ear plugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the whole hotel has tiled floor we felt the usual ambient noise was much greater than other places where there is carpet - you hear every foot step, chair drag, bag roll. Also if you opt for a sea view your on the main road - so you'll hear the various cars, coaches and scooters at all hours. We were there in September and the pools were freezing - except for one day - despite the roof top being temperature controlled.

    The location is excellent, 5 minutes to the centre of Sorrento and it was a great base for exploring. The staff were all lovely and were laughing and joking with us as if we were friends by the end of our stay. The food was fab, and the views from the roof top were stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    It was the perfect place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was beautiful. Best breakfast I've ever seen. The rooms impeccably clean. Great location. And the front desk will arrange anything for you. My wife and I loved this place. Would absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Sorrento is magical 🇮🇹💋
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trips to Capri , was a dangrouse ride with no health and safety measures not even a first aid box 🙄 Felt like sardines cramped in the little old boat with little spaces to sit down

    two words , everything and everyone 💐👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay here and would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We just wanted a little ice (i.e., 4 ice cubes) in our room for 2 drinks and were forced to have room service bring a bucket of ice for which the charge was 5 Euros ($6 US). Really ridiculous. We liked the location but admit that it is not right on the Piazza Tasso (about a 20 minute walk)

    Elegant décor with a pleasant balcony view from our room to the Bay of Naples (you can see the water though not waterfront - but we preferred that anyway). Room was not huge but nice and very Italian - tile floors. Comfortable king sized bed. Great air conditioning. The lobby, bar, restaurant and breakfast area are just lovely. Reception and wait staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and most people chose to eat on the pergola- covered terrace. We had one elegant dinner in the dining room also. Pool level terrace also served drinks and had music at night. But special notice should be made to the charming waiters. Absolute pros and so friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely to have the option to choose from two pools and every evening we enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail on the patio and a post-dinner cocktail on the rooftop terrace. The staff were all friendly and the service was consistently excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Really lovely and I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds

    Hotel and Room - lovely as were the majority of the staff (night porter was a bit grumpy and did not tell us about the ability to take a coach to Rome (our next destination) and by the time the day staff told us, the coach was booked up so we were a little put out by that) The only 'problem' (although not something that spoiled our three days there) was that the beds were very hard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.5
    BEST HONEYMOON HOTEL of our entire 2 weeks in Italy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Go for sea view rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think one thing could have been better and I usually never saw that!

    The best staff I've ever experienced! Especially the men that work all the food shifts who are so lovely and friendly. Excellent location and easy walk to town, but taxis are expensive and always 20 euro from port to hotels in this area. Rooms are absolutely beautiful with views of Mt Vesuvius!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Location perfect for strolling into Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Location perfect for strolling into Sorrento. Staff were excellent; very helpful,friendly and courteous. Room was spacious, great view and fast WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been better I think 2 single beds were clipped together to make a double.

    Breakfast was excellent great choice, staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff were excellent, restaurant facilities great and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very firm and for a deluxe room with sea view, the room was very small. Soundproofing to be improved - heard guest being sick. Hotel situated on main through road so unfortunately there was traffic noise

    Staff were excellent, restaurant facilities great and food were lovely, pool and bars were 4 star qualities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Excellent - received upgrade to sea view on arrival which set the tone for the whole fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistency of cocktail making amongst staff - first world problem!

    Swimming pool / solarium was excellent. Good rule that sun beds can't be reserved and towels were removed after 1 hour. Friendly staff throughout hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Excellent Friendly Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed there 8 years ago and returned. Enzo the fantastic Maitre D was still there as were quite a few of his excellent staff. A wonderful holiday location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful, clean hotel with modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal on the night we stayed was a buffet, which was overpriced for the quality of food offered.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, clean hotel with modern decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    An amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the car parking charges were rather high at 22 euros per day but as there is very little street parking available we didn't really have any choice.

    All the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful but professional. Food in the restaurant was very good and the menu is changed daily. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms very comfortable. The town centre is just a 15 minute walk away. Views from the rooftop bar fantastic. Very hard to fault the hotel in any way. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous staff, despite smaller pool on roof terrace sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice and food not very hot

    Fabulous staff, despite smaller pool on roof terrace sun loungers always available any time of day. No silly getting up early to reserve . Excellent central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a deluxe room with sea view and was extremely disappointed, there is no sea view, the rooms were small with no iron or board, small balcony and the staff were rude when I asked to move.

    Glass of prosecco with breakfast is the highlight of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful stay in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought it was a bit rich being charged cover charge when ordering coffee while waiting for our room to be ready. We were also charged cover charge getting drinks, which is a bit unusual in a hotel situation.

    The breakfast was beautiful, as was the pool and the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Wam and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a kettle in our room but were able to get boiling water for the room when the bar was open.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and comfortable. Well maintained facilities - great pool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice and cozy hotel with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was alright but the pillows were uncomfortable. I still don't understand why hotels cannot use memory foam or better quality feather pillows. If the concern is about Allergies, there are cases specific for that.

    The staff were welcoming and efficient, very cozy and clean lobby and garden. The rooms were of a good size (compared to sorrento standards) The mattress was alright but the pillows were uncomfortable. I still don't understand why hotels cannot use memory foam or better quality feather pillows. If the concern is about allergies then there are cases specific for that. The view from the room was to die for, nothing more refreshing than this view every morning. The bathroom was of good size and a good size bathtub. The breakfast was of an excellent variety and quality and the garden was a great place to start the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Overall a lovely stay but very overpriced in my opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was average Very hectic at breakfast Noisy road disturbing us early every morning Although a nice room it lacked a luxurious feel due to poor bedding and towels Bathrooms need upgrading and we had one of the best rooms

    The view and the rooftop terrace and bar The common areas were lovely as was the garden restaurant Also the staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Location, roof pool and bar, breakfast and lunch area, food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, I'd take the baths out of the bedrooms and upgrade to a walk-in high quality shower.

    Location, roof pool and bar, breakfast and lunch area, food, staff. A short walk from the station and Sorrento centre. Food was excellent and the staff were great. Don't miss the sunset from the outdoor bar on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't believe e that espresso wasn't an option at breakfast. The breakfast and the bar snack we had were fine but not excellent. A kettle in the room would have been good.

    Very clean and quite swish looking. Very friendly staff. Nice roof terrace bar and two pools. There was a restaurant with a special tasting menu that night (although we didn't try it) and there was entertainment on the roof terrace in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Superb location in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ordering latte coffee at breakfast was not always straight forward but with regular explanation of what we were seeking, it was accomodated

    the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful - taking customer service to a 5 star experience. the view from the rooftop bar/pool was spectacular. The breakfast selection was extensive with something to suit every taste.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    A treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the pool area could have been better.

    The staff generally but in particular the breakfast staff - so efficient and friendly. The option of two pools was excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    View was amazing on the terrace, especially the sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5th floor is very noisy because it's right under the terrace pool and bar, and sound proof is not good, you will be waken up before 7am for sure, terrace doesn't have enough privacy that you can see next door guests, breakfast has basic options, anything else you need to pay extra

    View was amazing on the terrace, especially the sunset

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was beautiful rooftop pool amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I booked their boolong.com Roth free cancellation for a very large family group and while traveling there I had to cancel two rooms but was literally fours late within the cancellation time due to traveling on airplane and they still charged me a cancellation fee for two rooms ! The first that also had to cancel tried calling within the free cancellation period and due to privacy would not let them cancel because it was under my name. I feel there could have been some courtesy shown and waived cancelled fee due tonus being on a plane am unable to cancel especially where the hotel was fully booked so they did not loose money. However it was booking.com that wanted there cut so they were the ones who did not show any courtesy to waive fee after I booked over $25,000 rooms with them! For our family Italy trip !

    Hotel was beautiful rooftop pool amazing! Beautiful sunsets and view of Mt Vesuvius ! Very clean. Great location ! Short walk to downtown Sorrento.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That we only stayed for 4 nights!

    We loved the location of the hotel which was easy to get to from the train station. On arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the service we received from the receptionist Simone (and later from Fabiana), although all the staff are so friendly. The hotel is stunning and so clean (I'm very fussy!). Our room (4th floor with a sea view) was very spacious..bed was very comfy with good quality linen. The hotel has 2 pools but we preferred the roof top pool, it's smaller than the other one but the views looking out over the Bay of Naples from there are spectacular. The hotel is ideally positioned in a peaceful area near to the centre where all the shops and restaurants are. We highly recommend this hotel and plan to return very soon. Thank you for a wonderful stay Anita & Paul.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Smaller hotel than others in the chain, so you felt more at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Smaller hotel than others in the chain, so you felt more at home with the staff. Some of the staff made the stay very enjoyable with a familiar greeting for Breakfast that made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Sorrento at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was a garden view on the 1st floor at the rear but we couldn't see the garden due to the trees. There are flats and another hotel surrounding the hotel so any floor above the 1st floor meant that your view was of these blocks and you were overlooked.

    The hotel was excellent as was the service from the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, we had a wonderful stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-although it is not 500 metres from the harbour as stated, it is from a view from the cliff top! To access you have to go to the main square and walk down lots of steps or there is a lift from a park, only 10 mins walk but not 500 metres away!

    Beautiful hotel, we had a wonderful stay here. Staff are very helpful, Roof top pool has stunning views.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: