Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Duomo 4 stars

Via Santa Maria 94, 56126 Pisa, Italy

#30 of 49 hotels in Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3297 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was comfortable, however it could possibly do with a small refurbishment just to move into the 21st century, the facilities were a bit dated, and the rooftop area could have been given a sweep to clean up the cigarette butts. There were 3 staff in the upstairs bar area in the early evening and not lots of customers, so if I was the General Manager, I would perhaps get the bar staff to patrol the area with a broom.

    The staff were first class, Romeo the porter was a true gentleman who helped with everything, thanks again Romeo, you are a real asset to the venue. The front desk staff were also very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they need to make sure that if there is a big number of guests for breakfast, they have to make sure that the kitchen is staffed enough to cater for such numbers. the food was good but sometime due to the large no of guests we had to wait for sometime to get food. they need to imporve a bit the service and the hotel is in a need of an ugrade.

    the hotel is in an excellent location and close to the tower and the cathedral. they have a lovely terrace at the top and you can see a big part of the city from the top. the rooms are comfortable as well. they cater well for gluten intollerant people. wifi was good as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is fab. I asked for a room with a view of the Tower and was given a room with a little balcony with a good view of the tower and the hills in the background. The rooftop bar is brill and a real treat with great staff and lots of snacks offered whilst enjoying drinks with a view. The staff were very attentive and even weighed our cases for us saying any excess baggage charges !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 rooms, one of which was fantastic with a balcony, the second room was inferior but the hotel was busy and staff were unable to change this for us. The bathroom was poor standard in this second room which we informed the staff on checkout - door did not close, no light working for shaving, toilet seat broken.

    Location fantastic, very near the Leaning Tower of Pisa - Rooftop bar/terrace overlooks this historic sight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    The location above all. Walk out of the front door and the Leaning Tower is right there. The rooftop bar and terrace is wonderful. Everything else is as expected. Private garage parking for our bikes was a real bonus. Lovely restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and could do with the walls being painted.

    Excellent location in lively street and just minutes walk from leaning tower. Breakfast quite good and coeliacs catered for if you inform them in advance. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Situated on the doorstep of the Tower and the Cathedral this property could not be better located. It is more a 1970s hotel, oldy worldy!! Rooms small but adequate. The situation and the staff more than compensate for this. We had a room on the 4th floor which opened out with a balcony over the street below where all the restaurants are. Amazing ambiance! On the top floor there is a (new?) terrace bar by the restaurant! Wow! We were not expecting this! The seating was amazing . Beautiful does not describe it! We were served fabulous canapés with our drinks which obviously is included in the drinks price. No problem there. It was worth every penny. Met some lovely people up there! I can only say that it was a great start to our trip. Breakfast was simple but good . We left happy and felt it was good value . Lovely helpful staff. (Thank you all!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only things were that it was Impossible to find taxi to the train station after checking out and the television was too small and the remote didn’t work properly.

    The rooftop bar is amazing, with a view of the tower. I also liked that the hotel has been refurbished without losing many of the grand original features

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we entered we had a very underwhelming welcome by the member of staff on the front desk, who was more interested in talking to another staff member than to give us a proper greeting. We were finally handed a sticky room key and sent off to the 2nd floor to find our room. The journey to our room led us over carpets that at a guess are older than myself (I am 33 years old) as they were very much worn and stained. We entered our room which was very dated and gloomy, only had one curtain and a warm fridge. I can imagine that The Grand Hotel Duomo was in fact once very grand, but those days have sadly passed. As for the breakfast, if you like cereal then you are fine as the eggs tasted unlike any other eggs I have ever eaten and the bacon was 95% fat and it was boiled in a pan of water. Ours went in the bin. The only saving graces for this hotel are it's location and rooftop terrace.

    The location was good and the views from the roof top were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short taxi ride from the station located on a pedestrian street. The location to the leaning tower couldn't be better! From my room was a close and unobstructed view of the tower. (which is thrilling to see in person). On the street below are many shops and restaurants to choose from. Roof top dining offers amazing night time views of the tower and church. This is a clean and comfortable hotel. Not many frills but a good safe place to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and no tea making facilities in the room

    Rooftop bar where they just kept bringing trays of various impressive local nibbles which were free of charge and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised views of Tower & Cathedral are misleading; only from the top floor and much further away. Noisy, being on the main Street, not helped as the air conditioning failed that night.

    Ideally situated for Tower & Cathedral, just visible out of the window, and street restaurants opposite; Breakfast had good pastries with wide selection of food. Staff polite and helpful. Good paintings on the stairwell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it is on the street it was quite noisy at night, but not so bad that it disturbed too much

    Fantastic location close to the main buildings of the old town (Leaning Tower etc) right next to a bi street market too. Awesome roof top terrace for an evening drink with views of the Cathedral and Tower to die for!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar was not open on the night of our stay, which was disappointing.

    Lovely traditional hotel in a good location. Very nice room with a view of the tower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little hard.

    Brilliant location, 5 mins walk to Tower and square. fabulous roof top bar with excellent views and service. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Good value for money. Got upgraded to room with a terrace and views!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cannot praise this hotel enough. From check-in to check-out everything was A*. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room beautifully furnished with fabulous views of the tower and the cathedral and the breakfast amazing. One of our party was gluten intolerant and she was given a large plate of gluten free products which varied every morning, there was even a pancake making machine and a slab of honeycomb produced locally. Cocktails on the rooftop terrace were a perfect end to the day. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What could have been better would be the comfort of the beds as a double bed is actually 2 singles poorly fitted together. Air conditioning needs updating. Wifi reception poor in room and TV not responsive intermittently. Only one socket to charge items which was in a difficult situation. Old fashioned door locking system which was hard to use.The hotel needs an update and some additional maintenance to maintain 4 star.

    The view from the room, the roof terrace, the excellent customer skills of the staff, the perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom did not have sufficient socket outlets to charge mobile phones or laptops. No iron to straighten out creased clothes when traveling. Bedroom was on the small side for a double bed.

    Really excellent location and service by all hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the night we were staying there was a wedding. We were on the 4th floor and the wedding was above us. It was very loud and noisy until after midnight. It would’ve been nice to know there might be a wedding or a big event and there will be extra noise.

    The location of the hotel is amazing. It is 1 min walk from the Leaning Tower And the street is on has a lot of places to eat. It is also a good location if you want to wonder around Pisa. There is a close bus stop that goes to Pisa Central. The balcony of the hotel is the best thing. Make sure you go to the last floor and have a look. There is a great panoramic view and sunset from there is great. The breakfast was good. Loads of stuff to pick from. If you are there for a night or two and don’t wont to be far away from main stuff thats the place to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixed feelings: the hotel's look instills grandeur with it's entrance and stairs. The entrance door (with a classic key, no card or keypad), strains and is hard to open/close. The doorknobs are wobbly, the showercabin looks worn with a leaking showerhead and aftermarket handshower; the bathwoon window does not open. There are stains on the carpet in the corridors.

    The facility has a magnificent roof terrace with classy bar/restaurant. It is less than 2 minutes walking from Piazza dei Miracoli, Pisa's principle attraction. Family room with queen size bed and 2 sofa/beds in other separate room. The room (the bed has a very firm mattress) is very clean, spilt airco, and there is relatively new gear (seats) in the bathroom. The property is located in the reduced traffic area ('ZTL') and has a private parking (€25/day, recommended to reserve). One access to ZTL is free of charge. Phone support and staff very friendly. Breakfast in large room, buffer style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 4th floor room directly below roof terrace & wedding party so very little sleep. And the great shame - absolute lack of care by the hotel staff to discuss this the following morning. So disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was sufficient but not at the level expected in 4* hotel.

    Older facility but clean with helpful staff and also comfortable bed, The main advantage of this hotel is fantastic location very near to the tower and heart of the city. From the roof bar is beautiful view, very pleasant place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff were great...the breakfast sensational for an Italian hotel of this calibre. Nothing in a cellophane pack! View from the terrace by night was a real surprise after a 10pm arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in general was dated and could do with renewing but was still fine

    Good location right next to the leaning tower Friendly helpful staff Good variety for breakfast buffet Near to restaurants Lovely rooftop bar with terrace looking into leaning tower Room was clean and good air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from our room was poor (at the back of the hotel)

    Centrally located hotel very close to the tower (3 mins walk) and with plenty of nice restaurants right outside the hotel. Nice big lounge bar area on ground floor with comfortable leather sofas. Friendly and efficient staff. Amazing rooftop terrace/bar/restaurant with panoramic views of the tower. Exceeded expectations and quite honestly hard to fault.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in our room

    The location of the property was excellent for sightseeing, restaurants etc. We particularly liked the roof top terrace with exceptional views & a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most modern

    Clean and comfortable hotel in excellent location which makes accessing Pisa so easy. Not the most modern but friendly staff and roof terrace overlooking the Leaning Tower make up for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super old and needs to be renovated, our room looked nothing like the pictures on here, the bed was old and the mattresses need to be changed as they don’t provide any comfort, the window opened by itself all the time and the entrance door to our room didn’t close properly either, the bathroom was old and dirty/rusty, we were extremely disappointed with the rooftop restaurant- we got up there at 9pm to have dinner and asked if we could sit outside and the waiter told us „no“, I asked why because there were 3 tables that were still empty, and he just replied „no, you can’t go outside“, the three tables were still open when we left about one hour later, very rude and I don’t understand why it was not possible to offer us a table outside,...

    Nice staff while we checked in and out, they were very friendly and helped us with everything, the location could not be better, only 2 minute walk to the tower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A grand old lady that needs a bit of cosmetic attention.

    Ideal location for the Piazza Micracoli and nice views of it from the rooftop bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access a problem with own car and suitcases, long walk to hotel. Poor breakfast buffet, cheap fruit juice ,no service , plastic food, very disappointing,

    Lovely roof top bar bar, good service , with complimentary nibbles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has a fantastic location and could be THE place to stay in Pisa but it needs a serious upgrade of decoration and facilities.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom should have been cleaner

    Prime location to walk around, short taxi ride to both the airport and train station. Plenty of restaurants nearby and of course the roof terrace gives a unique view of the tower and the cathedral while having a well deserved beer or wine (or both!).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and views were beyond amazing! Not to mention that all the staff were extra lovely and always very friendly and helpful. Hotel was a bit dated but i still believe its a perfect place to stay in pisa!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't really anything that I would or could complain about!

    We had a huge room with an enormous bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was also big and had an excellent shower. The toiletries provided were of good quality and it all appeared to be very clean. The roof bar/terrace gave an excellent view over the tower, cathedral and baptistry (well lit at night too!) The breakfast which was self service had a large choice, and although there was no 'full English' (not expected anyway), there was a wide choice of hot and cold items, scrambled egg, bread, toast, pastries, ham, cheese etc as well as preserves and tea and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was free but a little slow and intermittent.

    Beautiful hotel in a central setting. Staff were very helpful and room was large with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself could use a little upgrading. The rooms were very old fashioned and very small. The windows were not soundproofed at all and you could here peoples conversation from the street below. The shower was difficult to operate and the water pressure was terrible.

    The location and view from the rooftop bar were both fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bath-room had a spa bath but it was old and didn't work. The roof-top bar was not always open and there was no other bar if you wanted a quick drink - other than from the mini bar. On one evening we went up to the roof-top bar at sunset and it was closed: mind-boggling. The breakfast was distinctly underwhelming. Little choice, unsmiling staff and below average coffee from self-service machines.

    The room was clean, roomy with plenty of storage space. Also the view from the rooftop terrace/bar was stunning but that was as good as it got.........

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking.com told us we would have city view. we had back room with shuttered window looking out into back alley. lots of dodgy street urchins constantly trying to sell us trinkets etc as we walked about near front of hotel

    great location 1 minute from famous tower. fantastic views from rooftop terrace. plenty of places to eat.. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our bedroom would benefit from a little modernisation - particularly the shower.

    The hotel benefits from an excellent location, a few minutes’ walk from the Tower. The bar on the top floor with views of the tower and baptistery make this hotel worth visiting alone. The breakfast was great - classic continental but with plenty of choice. Staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showing iit's age . Décor a bit seventies and not in a good way

    Brilliant location. Right next to the cathedral and leaning tower. Great staff could not be more helpful. Great breakfast Great view from the terrace. Lovely in the evening. Shame cathedral and tower not lit up in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bathroom above ours. Old facilities.

    Great view from the room, fast check in and rich buffet breakfast. Don' t expect a luxorious room and hotel. As a one-night location, the room with the tower view is good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and had a bad smell of sewage coming from bathroom/toilet area.

    Located right bedside the Duomo and Pisa Tower. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack tea making facilities in room. The bar upstairs on balcony should serve snacks or light meals. Would have been nice to have had more to keep you up there. Prices should also not be hiked up just cos you in a hotel I do not think this is exceptable. You want people to spend money then prices should reflect local bar and restaurant prices. And maybe double glassing very noisy at night. Althought I'm not expecting to be silence due to location.

    Clean and tidy staff was helpful when needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a connecting door to the room next door. We could hear everything. It was like they were in the room with us at times.

    The rooms were very clean. Hotels roof terrace was amazing. Perfectly situated. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged extra 8 euros we had to pay cash when checking out. Wish we were informed beforehand on the website or during checkout. Or atleast give us the option to pay with our debit card.

    The view was beautiful and breathtaking, the rooms were good. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Overall enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we were given a room at back of the hotel facing a wall. So I reminded staff of our original request for a city view. They changed our room promptly, this is something we should not have to do as the room was available.

    Location was central just a few minutes walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. There was plenty of variety for breakfast. Our room was spotlessly clean there were no tea or coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly helpful reception staff who gave quality advice on good restaurants. the roof top bar provides excellent views of the tower and cathedral. rooms clean. very relaxing stay. recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were too hard and there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great view of the tower from our room. Room was clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation, its old not really comfortable. View from the window is not the best.

    The location is just great! The personal was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service for beverages or food. Even though a bar in the lobby and on 5th floor it is not open. Therefore you can not buy drinks or even a coffee for a 4 stat hotel this is not accommodating, as you can not have a drink in the lobby or on the terrace. Also breakfast is adequate- everything is self service even the coffee is out of a machine. In Italy where they have the best coffee I was very surprised there is no barista as all the other hotels served the coffee we stayed at.

    Great location, 2minutea from Pisa. Roof terrace (but you can not drink there as no bar was open during our stay)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically asked for a twin room but was given a double. I had to return to Reception and they changed the room immediately but I would rather they got it right first time.

    Incredible position with views of the tower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving

    Fantastic situation in the old town with great views, the choice at breakfast and variety was varied, fresh and plentiful. Staff were polite and very helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and ours had a wonderful view of the tower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, bathroom needs a makeover. Not accessible by car which is not said on booking.com. Parking near to carry baggage to hotel is almost impossible

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where shall we start... The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation. The aircon wasn't working when we first arrived and should have been informed when we checked in. The hotel looks really tired and in need of a lot of TLC.

    The room was spacious and the location was right next to the Leaning tower of Pisa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location close to main sites and an excellent view from the rooftop bar. Hotel is a bit old fashioned, but rooms are very clean and you have everything you need - so very good value for money. Recommended and will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated, difficult to get to by car as the road outside is now pedestrian only

    The location was spot on with a rooftop bar to match, staff were really great and helpful. Great for a couple of nights in Pisa to visit the sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy on evenings when your trying to sleep because of the street below. The room was a little warm as they don’t put air con on until may but opening the window made the noise even worse

    The hotel staff were amazing so friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. The breakfast had everything you could want with selections from fruit, toast ,pastries, pancakes to bacon eggs omelette and biscuits

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit tired in places and could do with a bit of paint. But this did not distract from the rest of the facities and would stay there again. You can not get a better location for the tower and surrounding attractions

    Excellent location and the view from the roof top bar was amazing. Also there was a sun terrace ok as our weather was perefect . The terrace could have done with a tidy up though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in a great location. Staff were fantastic and the room exceeded our expectations. It is a little old fashioned, but so is most of the city. I would definitely stay here again if i was in Pisa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Con does not get turned on until May 1st so our room was BOILING hot. We had to have our windows opened which meant all night attacks from mosquitoes! The noise of rooms on the front outdoes the lovely view! Would probably be much better to ask for a quiet room with a fan pre May! Breakfast was below average.

    The best thing about this Hotel is the terrace with THE view. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Pisa to be close to the airport as we had to be up at 3am for an early flight. Unfortunately we didn’t get any sleep at all due to the noise from the busy street below.

    It has an amazing roof terrace with beautiful views over the tower and Duomo. It is situated very close to the main sites. Driving the narrow streets in Pisa can be difficult but a member of staff met us a couple of streets away from the hotel to direct us to the hotel car park. Staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in thirst of may and is was really cold in room, and if you turn on conditioner- it will be really stuffily

    Location is perfect,by breakfast really large choose and with hot dish 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not soundproof. We were staying on the 2nd floor so we could hear people walking and talking outside until quite late. It might be better if you get a room in one of the top floors.

    Great location, right next to the Piazza dei Miracoli, with a view of the leaning tower of Pisa! The room was clean and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness of some of the corridors and the terrace could be a little better, looked a bit tired, but still nice.

    The location of the hotel is brilliant, in a street full of restaurants and right by the tower. It seems to be one of the only larger hotels around the centre so as busy as expected, but check in was quick and very friendly, and so was the check out. All staff were very happy and helpful, and the facilities in the hotel were pretty good - breakfast was good, a nice bar area (tad expensive), and the rooftop bar was worth staying in this hotel for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very limited.

    Loved the 5th floor terrace. Loved the location. Great staff. So so helpful. It is so close to everything that you want to see and great, good value restaurants and bars on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms ! Dirty ! Old old hotel ! Nothing modern inside! Too much expensive for what it is! No free parking ! Parking is in the street for 7€/day or inside for 24€/day!!!!! Wifi awful!!! Doesn't work!!!

    The location is good. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I don't think I could ask for more

    The reception, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. Smallish room but more than adequate. Comfy bed. Wonderful view from roof top. Fantastic location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Statements that they have a shuttle service is not correct as told they don't have when asked for it even thou write up states they do.Reception check in area is tired and the hotel areas look a bit old fashioned and could do with a make over. The hotel does not have a restaurant running in the evening.

    The shower in the room was hot and powerful. The Location and view is fantastic. Rooms are clean ,comfortable and if at the front give you a view of the tower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in and very noisy rooms. Didn’t get very much sleep as room was over looking the street. Safe wasn’t opened so went to reception and was told someone would come and unlock it. This didn’t happen. It was also advertised that there were ironing facilities but there wasn’t.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room of the front...are a little bit noise over the night.... and in the bathroom because of the canal was smelling like pipi ( in the both rooms), was cleaned the bathroom but the smell was still there.

    The location is in the middle of the most important things to do in Pisa. Near to the turn, near to the shopping. The hotel service excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very very dated. Most uncomfortable bed. The Air conditioning Does not exist! Breakfast is not 4star. The rooms are small and the tv’s don’t work. Tried out two rooms both were not four star.. this hotel is a 3star with 4star prices

    Staff and the Rooftop bar was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a nice hotel in a great location. The breakfast buffet was tasty with a great choice of different foods. The room was very clean. The amenities are a little old fashioned but it has its charme.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one plug socket in the entire room which was only live when the light was on, so unable to use overnight, for example to charge your phone. Air conditioning unit/heating was noisy.

    Fantastic location, our room was on the corner on the 3rd floor and had a terrific view of the tower, cathedral and baptistry. Close to loads of great restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow were extrem high, no possibility to have a better one. Also it said that they had parking, but it was very difficult to get to the hotel. We have parked far away and walked till the hotel! The bathroom was big, but the shower too small, I believe that somebody a bit bigger would have problems!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel locations is perfect for those wanting to visit the leaning tower of Pisa. The rooms are a good size with good facilities. Staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Duomo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: