Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Elite 4 stars

Via A. Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy

#77 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3944 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Access to the Garage a bit difficult. The Equipment in the room old. I did not like that the Hotel had not reacted to my written request for a Garage (twice). After calling it was arranged.

    Friendly welcome. Easy and quick check-in. Had a room in the eight floor and it was big and quiet. Bus Station to the very centre is a few meters away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Don't worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant we had a dinner as awful. The pizza was burned and they were not polited to cancel the other one we ordered. We pay the stay in cash at the front desk and till now, they didn't returned the amount billed in my credit card. The air condtioning and refrigerator in the room are weak and don't do their job.

    Cleaning and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was too short and we look forward to returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.However, my husband thought there were a lot of mirrors which confused him a little.

    The bed was seriously comfortable, car parking was really great, super breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Great value for money, lovely staff, a treat if you want to time travel back to the 70's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very brown decor, just needs a bit of white paint and some artwork.

    We booked at the last minute and found the price excellent. The review did say it was an older style hotel, and it really is but if you need a descent bed A/C and a good breakfast then it is a quirky experience, Staff were great, arranging taxis as it is a good 20 min walk to the old town, but great for airport access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Great if you get a bargain price but wouldn't hurry back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were great except the slightly older gentlemen receptionist who could barely have looked less pleased to see us. We weren't in the best state, which is why we needed to get into the rooms and freshen up; always surprises me when people who work in the service industry seem to think a paying customer is beneath them. This guy seemed to be in charge, which can't be the most inspiring. Maybe he'd had a bad day. It's a bit of a trek into the lively parts of town. Perfect if driving and you only want to do hotel stuff then leave, but Trivago and Booking.com had it as really central and that's obviously a negotiable term.

    Great to have a garage and this wasn't too expensive. The female receptionist on check-in was great. We got a good deal here and I like the restaurant. I imagine this hotel was luxury at one point and its decor is dated (likewise the lifts) but it felt a bit like being in a James Bond film in the best parts of it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Good old comfortable hotel at a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noise insulation is not too good. And, not a problem of the hotel itself, just a warning for other clients: The airport bus refused to stop close by, so I had to walk around midnight from central station - good exercise - or take taxi from there. I recommend better take a taxi from airport directly.

    Good old comfortable hotel at a reasonable price. Fitness room with ok equipment and no one else using it :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Not bad but wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working and when we asked the staff they were not very helpful with it.

    Location was ok, bus required to get to city center. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    We had 3 rooms, they were very dated and the water was brown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 3 rooms, they were very dated and the water was brown in 1 room. The showers in 2 rooms had a blockage down the pipe and took a long time to drain away so you were standing in the water and had to turn off the shower before it overflowed and then start it again once it had drained to continue washing yourself. The sink and toilet were gurgling too. Location is a bit out of the way for site seeing too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Under no circumstance a 4 star hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all, the bathroom smelled really bad, especially the toillet. The mirror was not cleaned, neither the shelf where you generally put the toothpaste and the soap. There was a thick layer of dust near the tv and on the main room stand. As for the dressing we were unablento use half of it, due to it being stuck

    The room was large, not the typical italian hotels, and the staff was helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the city center would be closer. Walking with trolley bags from the train station was a bit of a hassle (thank goodness for Google maps walking directions), but luckily the aerobus stop is five min away on the same street.

    Booked this last minute the morning we were arriving in Bologna. The hotel is not close to the centro storico (probably a 40 min walk), and it's about another 40 mins to the Stazione Centrale di Bologna train station, so FYI. We liked that the room was very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the Santuario della Madonna di San Lucca in the distance, and that the bathroom had a really nice tub (no shower per se) so we could take baths and really relax after a long day walking. A location perk is that the hotel is located in the Ospedale/Hospital area and the stop for the aerobus to/from the airport is 5 min away on the same street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable. Would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was a little further out from the centre than anticipated, but once you sort out the buses it was fine.

    The room was excellent - more a mini suite. Lots of space, wardrobe etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant short break which was made even better by staying at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the hotel - does not give it true justice.

    Staff was very helpful. Comfortable room and parking space availability. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if TV had some international channels.

    The single room was small but had everything you need. Nice view from the balcony and good breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Location was just outside the main walls and there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly. No safe in the room! Bathroom was dated. We arrived for breakfast at 9.55 to be told it was finished. With 3 hungry children we sat anyway. Breakfast was poor in my opinion, tinned fruit, stale pastries, machine coffee and juice. The waitress was clearing away the display of food as we were selecting what to eat!! We won’t be back.

    Location was just outside the main walls and there was parking available on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and well proportioned rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn’t give us the room we booked and we weren’t completely happy with what we got instead.

    Clean and well proportioned rooms. 70,s retro hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved our comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved our comfy room. Had everything we needed. Was quiet and peaceful. Staff were good. Great bathroom. Liked the whole atmosphere of the Hotel and the retro decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.5
    Bologna stole my heart. I'm going back and I'm happy to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I stayed there in the football off season, haha.

    I had spent twos day traveling around Tuscany, so I wished to relax in Bologna, and this hotel was the perfect fit for that. It's about a 15-20 min walk from city centre. The tourist office in the main square should be able to direct you. I'm Irish, so I went into a bar for a cold beer and asked the bar staff. A local at the bar told me the 19bus from city centre drops you right outside, via Saffi, which it does exactly. Once you find your bearings, it's a pleasant walk to and from the city to the hotel. Room was perfect for a single traveler, with a nice balcony to sit out on in the day or evening. Nice clean, chilled ambiance and the staff were excellent and very helpful. It's in a perfect place for the local football team in Serie A, if you are a football fan. The Bologna FC stadium is only a 10 - 15 walk away, in the direction behind the hotel. The stadium has some nice cool bars and ice-cream parlors next to it, that offers some authentic Bologna atmosphere, something off the beaten track, a journey sometimes best taken.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff refused to refund one of our nights even though our flight was cancelled. I know that they had said there were no refunds up front but they could have given us a free breakfast or something! Also the breakfast we paid for was kind of underwhelming.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is handy for exploring Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    OK but would have preferred a better City location Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Location was a long way from the city centre and not in a very pleasant area... but the bonus , it was on a frequent bus route.

    The room was clean and comfortable although a little 'tired'.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.5
    Two day visit to Bologna which I thought was a bit downbeat and hotel was average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole hotel was to warm, and had very little atmosphere. Air con wasn't cold enough, nobody eating and drinking at the hotel.

    Bus stops right by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Fine, for one night, provided all we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the hotel a little dated. The room, not as clean as it could be. There was no safe in the room.

    Location, within walking distance of the centre and not far from the airport, was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, big room but a little out the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little dated but very clean. Plus you get a bigger room for your money which we preferred. There isn’t much around the hotel in terms of bars or restaurants so you would be best going into the centre for that.

    Big clean room with a balcony although you have to get a bus into the centre. Buses are regular and only €1.50 so reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and Bologna is a good place to stay, and within each reach of getting around Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely large room, very comfortable bed and very clean. The breakfast was everything you could wish for with a very large selection from fruit, fresh honey , english, and continental Excellent. The staff are very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was about 20 minutes walk to Piazza Maggiore but there are a number of buses you can catch to the area. Cabs are fairly cheap and the hotel is happy to arrange if you need. The hotel is approx. 15-20 mins by cab from the airport which was convenient. The hotel was fine and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our room could have been a bit cleaner - smudge marks on the tiles and mirrors and dust under the dressing table but otherwise it was comfortable. The gym is very basic but has what you need for a quick workout. Breakfast was simple with fresh produce. All in all very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay would go back if even in Bologna again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better and could of made our stay better if we could of had a coffee or tea at the end of the day as no facilities were available

    The room that we had was excellent room 35. Staff were all excellent, went on motorbike to see the Italian MotoGP and with the secure garage parking was ideal. The hotel was excellent local action for walking into town of a night time staff all very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Ok but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the centre of town and the dated furnishings dark especially in the bedroom which was also very small and the air con not good

    Breakfast good staff there pleasant and enough choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel at a good price, but would benefit from refurbishment. 20 minutes walk from the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise - our room was in the first floor and faced the backyard, just above the entrance gate to the garage. as the aircon in the room was noisy, we kept the windows open at night which meant several wake-ups at night. also, the room (and the entire hotel) would benefit from a refurbishment

    large room (there were 4 of us, including two boys aged 16 and 13 and we fitted-in without any problem), comfortable beds, good wifi in the room, helpful staff at the reception. there was a small kitchenette in the room (without any utensils, but with a large fridge)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Cheap but good quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner leak.

    The bedroom and toilet are very clean, the room layout is big and tidy. The view from room is fantastic, you can see Santuario della Madonna di San Luca. It can stay for a long time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I saw many negative reviews about this hotel, but actually it worths 4 stars with spacious room, fine facilities and cleanness. The only downside is the location. But it's not that far away from city center and is easy to reach through no. 13 and 19 bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with a brilliant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar service was strange, you got served wine from being a cubby and couldn't se the bottle etc. just a hand putting out the glass of wine - very unusual.

    Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choices. Hotel had a 1970's vibe, which is back in fashion again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Get what you see? Nope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for three people, three nights. It was not what we saw on booking; it was a spacious, dusty room on the second floor with a lot of noise from the street. The single bed was lousy and bumpy, so the first night my sister didn't sleep well and the second night, all three of us shared the double bed. The hotel manager was nowhere to be found. The staff wouldn't take responsibility and were ironic. So, I contact booking, informing them about the situation. The third night they transferred us to a clean room with great beds on the eighth floor with a great view. That was the room we had seen on the photos. Had been walking all day to admire the beautiful city, all we needed was a good bed to sleep well. And some honesty and a smile from the people working at the hotel. I spend so much time trying to communicate with them and get what I paid for and it was really tiring to have conversations at 7 in the morning or 1 in the night.

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    We would not choose to return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel décoré is dark and uninviting. The reception area and all the corridors and rooms are clad in dark wood with cream walls and the furniture is dark brown leather. There is no colour in the form of paintings or flowers. A depressing environment.

    The room was large and the bathroom excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.8
    Excelent breakfast, staff in reception or in restaurant is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’ t know if all rooms are the same, but our 3 beds room was really old-fashioned ,i guess furniture from 70-80 years not too clean, not adequate for 4stars hotel

    Excelent breakfast, staff in reception or in restaurant is OK our room was quiet despite location of the hotel on busy street , not far from the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small criticism I have is that the rooms are a bit old fashioned and not always thoroughly cleaned (i.e. the bath is a bit rusty and there is a bit of limescale). However, I recommend this hotel and will probably come back.

    This is a very comfortable hotel. The staff is nice. The rooms are HUGE! The breakfast is one of the best I've ever eaten in a hotel, excellent and wide choice. The fitness room is very well equiped too. The location is good, it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Porta San Felice, around 3-4 km to the city center. There is a bus station nearby, but I usually walk. I recommend this hotel and will probably come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel need total makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel need total makeover. Rooms are big and spacious but in really old type like from 1970....

    Breakfest was fantastic! Personel is very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good with a good selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant menu was limited Room was cold during the night and would have benefitted by a quilt on the bed Website gave the impression that the hotel was located nearer to the town centre

    Breakfast was very good with a good selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, clean rooms, new towels every day, very quiet,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, ankle height table, food not allowed in rooms, even though there was a small kitchen.

    Great staff, clean rooms, new towels every day, very quiet, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Very spacious deluxe room (feels like an old school hipster...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the facilities are rather old and would need to be exchanged. Some of the light switches were making weird noises

    Very spacious deluxe room (feels like an old school hipster wood flat - cool but unfortunately, not by purpose)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Arrived too early for check in and was met by a lovely girl...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little hot, and AC didn’t work so well. But there’s big windows you could open - so wasn’t a major problem.

    Arrived too early for check in and was met by a lovely girl at reception who kindly offered to take our bags for the morning so we didn’t have to haul them around. She was very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, dated maybe - but it adds to the charm. All amenities were accounted for, shampoo, clean towels daily, bottles of water in room, hair dryer, TV. I don’t go places to stay in a hotel all day, it’s only a place to sleep - and for that it was perfect. Rooms quiet too. The breakfast was great, a full buffet for 9 euros a person each morning, had everything you could want, fresh and tasted good with helpful staff. They did a good local beer on their bar too. All in all very satisfied with my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to center, just 20 minutes walk.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell, i think it comes from the balcony. We didnt have time to ask staff to do something and just closed windows to avoid that smell.

    Close to center, just 20 minutes walk. Sheets and towels were clean. Room was clean in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Confortable 70ies-style hotel but unfriendly staff&services, located 20 min walk away from center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel is 20min walk aeay from real center (piazza Maggiore) - not welcoming and helpful but slow staff - Absolutely not a 4-star quality hotel : all beds were done when we arrived at 20h00 /+/ we were not allowed to let our bagages at reception after a 4-days-stay checkout /+/ dangerous lift : we were blocked one hour in it during the night)

    - nice 70ies-style wodden cosy bar - good quality /price for group - spacious rooms and rooms available up to 6 people -confortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location on the bus route to Piazza Maggiore and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to explain using your key card to turn on the lights. Everything else was wonderful.

    Excellent location on the bus route to Piazza Maggiore and the train station. The staff is supper friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The room was large with a balacony. Bathroom very big as well. It ia also an excellent value for your money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall good value for money and good lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask twice to get clean towels and some blankets The breakfast was fantastic on the first morning but second experience not so good.

    The room was fine and the location excelkent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a rude and unwelcoming and unaccommodating. I asked for a simple cup of ice and was scolded by the receptionist about bringing in outside alcohol when the ice was simply to bring down swelling. They also do not allow any outside food, with the risk of a €25 cleaning fee, so no ordering pizza to the room.

    The hotel was very near the airport and the taxi ride was €15.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    a model of efficiency and ease
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic option for a 3-day city stay from the Airport; the APT bus goes to Ospedale, which is a 5-minute walk; the 13 and 19 busses take you straight into the center in minutes (or a nice stroll); high standard business-hotel class and spiffy charm; pull shutters that open or close to the balcony; mini-fridge with plenty of room for the San Pellegrino; nice view out the back to the monastery on the hill (though sometimes a barking dog spoiled the pristine scene); everything up to snuff and totally ship-shape. Great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location for exploring old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not available until later in the year and we visited in a very warm week in April.

    Central location within 15 mins walk of old town but good bus service also available with stops close to hotel. Parking on site. Rooms clean. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value but some problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in one of the rooms. Air conditioning didn’t work - despite being unseasonably hot the hotel policy was not to turn this on until the next month.

    Helpful staff. Great breakfast. Good value. Bus stop outside to central city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff were extremely friendly and the parking facility...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasn't the cleanest of places, the general building just needed a little more attention to cleanliness

    The staff were extremely friendly and the parking facility was extremely secure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, just walk 25 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location, just walk 25 min. to the city center. Parking at the opposite side of the street. Big clean room. Big bathroom. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Elite in Bologna -
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dated, could really do with a refurbishment, dark wood walls and ceilings. Our room on the 7th floor hard low water pressure and shower temperature fluctuation.. .toilet flush did not work properly.... worst of all was the smell from the plumbing.

    Staff were friendly, located on good bus routes to centre, also not too far if you fancy walking ( about 2km ) The breakfast was reasonably varied and v good except for the juices (dire )

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    - The room was big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room and furnitures were dusty - bathtub and bidet were defect - no iron in the room - the morning receptionist had no communication manners in expressing her argument. She was rude without an active listening, trying to stop me while I was trying to explain her my point. Maybe the lady liked hearing her deep voice, because she was talking loud, so that other clients were listening to our topic. There was no professionalism in it.

    - The room was big - very good breakfast - good location - breakfast staff was extremely nice and very helpful. My smile goes only to them because they had it for everyone in that breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dark and dated, the rooms functional but tired and in need of up specking. Based on that I would not recommend it and thought generally it was overpriced for what it offered and it’s proximity to the sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    All in all it was fine though the price could be lower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is not my first time there. The room (and hotel in whole) needs some renovation but it was clean and quiet. Most of all I like breakfast (that compensate a bit a price range) and connection to the city center (transportation though I prefer to have a 20-minutes walk) and to the Fair complex (two buses).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Vintage indeed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sells itself as « Vintage » and certainly looks it! Lots of dark wood, low lighting, small elevators, a maze of corridors in a large building. The hotel is outdated but does retain some charm in its old grandeur. However, it is nothing like a new, modern 4-star hotel of the same price category. Dark wood panelling, low lighting, small elevators and steps everywhere: not suitable for people in wheelchairs or with a rollator. The bathroom was being quite old and too simple for modern times, no make-up or shaving mirror, no Kleenex tissues. The shower in our Deluxe room was decidedly basic, with low water pressure. Few toiletries like shampoo etc. and not replenished every day. The seat of the toilet could not stay upright because a new water reservoir had been placed too low above the toilet. Also, the towels could be of a slightly” fluffier” quality. Two small bottles of water were complementary the first night, but not replaced for the following three nights. The bed was good, the room was big and had a nice little terrace. Another room that we were shown first (104) was bigger but had single glazing and is located above the entrance driveway so we changed immediately. The second room (52) was in the back of the building on the 5th floor and is very quiet. The television set is not very big and had only Italian channels. Much dust was flying around in the room, fingerprints everywhere on the dark panelled doors and furniture. Everything looked like and old Hollywood diva well past her prime, with a cracked face and lots of make up not able to show her real age. Breakfast was good and abundant, the orange juice more lemonade than juice but this happens often in Italy. But it bothers me each time I see lots of people preparing sandwiches to take away, by the bagful, unhindered…. The hotel has a large indoor and outside garage/parking space which is very helpful when arriving by car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Stay , hotel lived up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tea/Coffee facilities or Iron in room . Would also have liked a safe box . There was one for us in reception but only big enough for passports . Travellers take far more hi tec items on travels nowadays , would have nice to have a good size safe box in room . Understand though that Tea / Coffee in room not the Italian way

    Bologna , fantastic city , hotel was clean and tidy , staff pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.3
    The room was like something out of a 70s porn film and the service was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was terrible. Don't ask the front desk to do anything for you - they won't bother. We needed to get to a business meeting and the receptionist said she would call a taxi and didn't. We had to ask repeatedly and finally gave up asking her and asked a gentleman at the front desk.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Everything you'd expect from a standard 4-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions from staff weren't too great.

    Everything you'd expect from a standard 4-star hotel. We got a really good deal on the price as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.2
    Location was about half an hour walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, was - 2 & snowing outside, no kettle or coffee etc, first night not ever any soap or shampoo

    Location was about half an hour walk into town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Lovely room and service! A modern vintage experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing which I think could be improved is to improve the dinner menu and add more dishes.

    The room was very nice and comfortable, we had all we needed. I also appreciated the breakfast which was very diversified and everything fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    The location is a little far from the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is a little far from the center of the city. It is about a 25-30 minute walk to the duomo. The rooms are nice and the staff was pleasant enough. I would say it is a good value for it's price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wardrobe was full of dust; doors were very noisy; old style furniture;

    excellent breakfast, rich, plenty of choices(fruits, yogurt, vegetables, croissants, juice, coffee....), good location, stuff ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    - Very good breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - there weren’t slippers and bathing gown, despite being a 4 stars hotel; - we were charged with 5 euro for 2 cups of boiled water, that we needed in order to prepare a medicine. It was considered room service.

    - Very good breakfast; - Quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good location, close to the airport and ca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The style is very "retro" (furniture, lift, etc.) and our room was quite dark, but no major problems.

    Very good location, close to the airport and ca. 20 minutes walk to the city center (or you can take a bus/taxi) in a nice, safe neighborhood. Clean rooms. The staff speaks English which is not always the case in Italy. The heating worked perfectly, good internet connection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    I would stay again in this hotel as it was very convenient location wise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom had only one socket, which was extremely infuriating as we had to take turns charging our phones, or drying our hair with the hair dryer. Every day we had to ask the cleaning staff to replaces our shampoo and body wash, as they continuously forgot. The hotel also tried to charge us ten euro to bring food back to our hotel room.

    The room was very nice and spacious, very clean. The location surrounding the hotel was excellent very close to the city center with a lot of good quality restaurants and cafes which were cheap. The towels were replaced every day, and they gave us plenty of towels. The hotel was very close to the airport via taxi and the taxi was cheap as well, and the hotel was very close to the center via walking. Over-all a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great for a couple of days. Excellent money-wise (but be ready for a 20 min walk to the city center)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a bit far from the city center. Furniture a bit outdated. Noise from the air-con could be an annoyance (we weren't bothered, tho).

    Very comfy bed. Huge room and huge bathroom. Easy to check-in and to check-out. Free gym at your disposal. Close to quite a few shops and supermarkets (I counted three within a 500 m radius). Staff extremely polite and helpful. Free toiletries and towels which are changed daily. Vending machines on the ground floor with good prices, if you're feeling a late night hunger or thirst!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Spacious room, super rich breakfast, at walking distance...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, super rich breakfast, at walking distance from the main Maggiore square (about 15 minutes). Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in the breakfast room. Would recommend strongly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice accommodation for a city break in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old furniture and the hotel atmosphere that give you the impression of a traveler in the past

    Good price/room for a city break in Bologna, clean. Easy access from the airport by bus. Good location, just 15 minutes walk from the entrance to the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Poor customer services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff doesn't understand English.. Worst thing - we were charged twice, with refund requests made timely in writing, but as of date, which is almost a month from when we checked out, we haven't got the money back. We were requested to call at different time at different days as there was only one staff that looks after CS/refund and the staff works different shifts. We called and emailed the hotel so many times but ended up nth happened - no refund no conclusion no guarantees on when the refund could be processeed. This is totally unaccetable.

    Bartenders were friendly. Buffet breakfast was nice and value for money. Good pastries, crispy and buttery.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi dropped out often Shower too small A little further than I expected from downtown but easy access by bus or walking.

    The room was large and airy Modern facilities Breakfast had a good selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay exactly as it was portrayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices

    The hotel room was excellent,we didn’t eat there other than breakfast which had a great selection and didn’t use the bar as we felt it was very overpriced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    A well priced very comfortable hotel with good facilities close to the historical centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little 70’s look.

    The WiFi is fast, breakfast good and location relatively close to both train station and historic centre. The dinner in the hotel is good and cheap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.0
    Would not come back and would not recommend to anyone. There are better options for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't really able to explain what is included in the breakfast (and didn't really care). The night tables next to bed have not been cleaned during the whole stay with quite a lot of dust on them. Not having extra blanket when asked for by more guests - two blankets divided into group of 5 people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Neither Grand nor Elite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My (single) room was a bit sparse and lacked facilities like a kettle for making coffee. TV service lacked foreign language options like CNN, BBC World etc.

    Comfortable enough; in a good compromise spot where it was esy to get out of Bologna and also easy to get into town. Room was clean and the shower nice and hot. On-site car park (but they do charge). WiFi was fine and free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant for a shorter stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was a little dated and dusty. Bathroom had a slight unpleasant smell which often happens in he older buildings. Room was very spacious though and had a small Kitchenette but apart from glasses no other equipment so seems a little pointless.

    A good hotel for a short stay. Restaurant and bar area is excellent. Breakfast buffet was super. In a light and airy room with a large variety of food on offer. Coffee is from a machine. There was free water offered upon arrival in the room fridge which is a bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    Good location, the gym is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are 1980’s. Uncaring staff, usually not a problem to cancel a reservation but these guys like money, even though we were repeating customers. No parking around the property, so they take 12 EU per night for a park. 9 EU for a breakfast. Long check ins. The other hotel 2 doors down is way better value for money.

    Good location, the gym is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Elite traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: