Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes 4 stars

Via Roma 398, Ruggero Settimo, 90139 Palermo, Italy

#37 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1770 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very much in a state of sorry decay. It needs more than just a little touch of loving care.

    A former Grand Hotel with some nice period architectural touches. It was obviously quite a place in its day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    elevators nearly took someone's arm off, bfast wonderful but the OJ maker was broken, place needs a reno, though the rundown state adds character, a little like the old Chelsea Hotel in NYC if anyone remembers

    great breakfast, historic building, central location, art in lobby and common areas, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During this visit the hot breakfast was cold. For some reason the heaters under the bacon and the scrambled eggs did not do the job. The eggs were effectively not cooked and were unpleasant. During Previous visits this breakfast was a highlight of our holiday in Sicily..

    We love this hotel. It is from a bye gone time. The breakfast room is spectacular and other salles equally beautiful. The hotel is in need of refurbishment and considerable investment but the ambiance makes up for so much. Faded elegance I think best describes the Grand Et Des Palmes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy street

    Charming old hotel with high ceilings, big chandelliers, and the type of lovely decor you recognize from old black and white italian movies 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the beauty of the Grand Hotel des Palmes it is beginning to show its age. Some of the carpet was fraying, the ensuite sink plugs didn't work very well and there are a few chipped sections of lower walls that need attention. The cleaners possibly have trouble with some of the more tired looking infrastructure and it does need some TLC in most areas.

    The old Whittaker Mansion is ideally located in the middle of Palermo and has that wonderful C19th ambience and the feel of a wonderful Victorian house. The breakfast is in the old ballroom, based on the Hall of Mirrors in Versailles and there is champagne if you desire it for colazione. The rooms are, of course, very stately, with huge curtains, traditional furnishings and modern ensuites. The common area in the lobby is quite beautiful and a great meeting place, plus there are several other rooms which can be used for meetings. The whole place is charming with lots of antique statues, vases, furniture etc. The staff were superb and the cleaning staff do an excellent job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I don’t love the rather old fashioned silver service breakfast arrangement in the old ballroom but I think it would be far better with a smaller spread concentrating on quality.

    Such a charming ‘old world’ hotel. It’s fading elegance so pleasant compared to the monotony of corporate makeovers. Long may it’s peeling-in-the-corners wallpaper hang on. Not for those who like pristine modernity but a complete joy for those who appreciate a bit of quirkiness. Staff polite and helpful even bringing a bag of ice to my room very late at night after I sprained my ankle in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting everywhere was stained. Hotel appearance would be greatly improved with new carpet. Elevator smelled bad. A few of the staff seemed like they weren’t into their job. No conditioner in toiletries. Bad coffee at breakfast, including the made—to-order cappuccino. Juice choice was ‘vitamin’ or pineapple. Scrambled eggs were tasteless—amazingly poor. We stuck to hard-boiled which were occasionally available.

    Good location. Helpful front desk staff. Pleasant hallways. Comfortable bed. Lobby bar service is uneven but we enjoyed having a drink there each night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a bit of attention to the smaller things - the plugs in the bathroom sinks, some of the carpet is worn and some things need a really good clean.

    Staying at the Grand Hotel des Palmes is a grand experience of going back almost 100 years ago as it has a lot of appeal, charm and a wonderful classic atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we told the manager there were mosquitoes in the room he couldn’t care less. No spray offered. Then the girl on the desk told us where to go to buy some

    Bed and breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was terrible, it was falling apart, wall paper,carpets, elevator,staff, worst hotel that i have been to, do not go there, shower? nope just a big stream of water, phone? did not work, you want wifi? good luck, this hotel should not be on your page.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are badly in need of remodeling. TV was an older model flat screen but had bad antenna like reception. The rugs were worn, bathroom tub chipped. The hallway rugs were also torn and the picture on the walls faded.

    Beautiful building with elegant reception and breakfast areas. The breakfast was the best we had on our vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs a complete overhaul. It could be stunning but it is old and the rooms are discusting. Mattresses and pillows need to be thrown away and all carpets replaced!!!! The dried caked on dust on the windows and shutters was horrifying not to mention the ground in dirt on the curtains. The breakfast was basic and disorganised constantly cold coffee and fresh fruit bowl swarming with fruit flies. The cut up fruit was ok when it was available! Basically the facade everywhere is all show to hide a multitude of problems, dirt and grime. Our room was so uncomfortable we never slept the whole week and to top it off two nights in a row our dry cleaning came back WET!!! At least they took that off the bill

    The location was convenient although not in the safest part of town. Two shootings in the vicinity while we were there . The older gentleman behind the bar was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife and I stayed there several years ago and enjoyed it so we returned. The first time we thought it was a little "down at the heel but charming." This time the hotel had lapsed into downright dilapidation. It was disappointing and depressing: torn, badly stained carpet; peeling wallpaper, broken fixtures, chipped paint and plaster, stained and threadbare upholstery on the furniture, and so on. It appeared as tough nothing had been done in terms of maintenance and upkeep or improvement. The Grand Hotel et des Palms was at one time the finest hotel in Palermo, and it is very sad when such a fine, historic property, is allowed to degenerate so, apparently with the consent of management and ownership. We won't return and we can't recommend it to anyone.

    The location was great for what we wanted to do in Palermo. There were many fine restaurants within walking distance as well as many significant historical and cultural attractions. The concierges were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Wonderful location; lovely staff and a great room. My friend and I had a sitting room adjoining the sleeping area — large and comfortable. Also the bathroom had a. Very large vanity that easily accommodate our toiletries. Very reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very impersonal, run down and needing a lot of maintenance in the rooms and bathrooms, and especially the hallway carpets. Disappointing there was no tea or coffee in the room and had to pay at the bar for one. A complimentary one at least would have made a big difference. The front entrance could do with a sweep and wash.

    Great breakfast and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast staff were a mixed bunch. some obviously helpful others seemed to resent their work. Are the communal areas carpets the ones fitted when the hotel was built!? Air conditioning did not work - hot air only. Dogs allowed in the hotel rooms!!!!

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit out of date and definitely in need of a revamp . The room was very comfortable and clean with a big bed and good bathroom. The feeling I got was that they were rather understaffed. A good choice if all you want is a no frills central location with a comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing had been updated or maintained since the hotel was built and our bathroom smelled like sewer gas. We could have put up with it but the older gentleman who checked us in was rude.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were very hot in our room at night. It could have been our fault for not mastering the air conditioning controls.

    Very charming grand old hotel - fabric a little worn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame that the bar wasn't always staffed given the nice atmosphere. It was the off-season though.

    Great breakfasts in a special atmosphere. There was a big conference when we were there, blocking the main restaurant, but they prepared a special place near the restaurant for a lovely evening meal for two.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment - looks tired. Not an easy building to upgrade without losing it’s charm and character.

    The Junior Suite was large and comfortable albeit a bit dated. Concierge (Dominico) was brilliant and could not have been more helpful. Good location for sightseeing and visiting the old town. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our air conditioning was broken, and when we ran the sink or shower/bath the water was dark brown and dirty. The staff on reception were really rude and wouldn't help us rectify the situation or offer any compensation/alternatives. We had to fight just to get them to give us a free bottle of water so we could brush our teeth!! Would definitely not come back here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quieter airconditioning/heating, More appetising breakfast with better coffee . More service at breakfast.eg relaying tables when vacated and supplying sufficient cutlery and saucers for the coffee. Would help if guests were shown to tables. Bar area needs improving. Hardly staffed really just an extension of the porters desk.

    The clean linen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready,the water in bathroom stopped and after twenty minutes comes with many rust colour, the window of bathroom need refurbish etc etc

    The breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historical luxury hotel...But room with some failures in mancante ( Oldani and badante Quality working TV, Windows in a Small Dark courtyard , broker door in Bath room. Beautiful hall for a good +++ breakfast. .It was like seems To be in a Golden age like massimo theather and politRama But need a refresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faded grandeur is too faded. Really simple things like repainting the walls, fixing the carpets (a real trip hazard in some corridors) and the breakfast room was probably once a beaut but now just looks shabby. And why can't you get tea spoons to stir your coffee? A mystery. All a real pity because with not too much TLC this could be absolute top of the range.

    Good location, good wifi, sizeable rooms, taxi rank outside, good restaurants in 2 minutes walk, replenished bathroom stuff daily and the lifts work well (latter two far from always the case in Italian hotels, I find). Spinotto is one of world's best coffee and cake shops, only 2-3 minutes stroll - the pistachio mousse cake is a must.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A short walk to the downtown area and just a short bus ride to other areas. Breakfast was also very amazing, a large selection of food for anyone's needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    January is not a time to visit if you need full service. Only breakfast was served in the hotel so other meals had to be found elsewhere. Not all restaurants are open and realize that Italians prefer dinner later in the evening; restaurants open aorund 7:30 PM. Also, stores are often closed from 2-4 in the afternoon but open until later in the evening.

    The room was spacious and the linens fresh. We did rent a car from the walking distance Hertz at 7 Messina. The hotel has only valet parking, meaning that you pull in at the main entrance which is barely off the one-way street and someone parks it and later brings it for you when needed, for 10 euros/day. We did tours in Rome and I think we might have done better doing tours around Sicily as well. The hotel was in the grand style with a large, ornate room for breakfast adjacent to a corridor with a grand piano.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing which the hotel should really get rid of: the carpets.... Please, they are really so old and stained that these shouldn't be cleaned but thrown out and replaced by new carpets!

    We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel, however only one night. Yes, it is an old hotel and some things need renovation but it is still beautiful. If you are fond of in mordern hotels and modern amenities don't choose it but if you like charme and history this is the place for you. We had a standard room and it was absoluly OK. Clean and very comfortable bed (the 2 most important things) Bathroom had a good size. Breakfast was OK, better then in another 4 star hotel in Palermo. Hot and cold choice, including a lot of backery products and fresh fruit, salad ..etc. Just don't forget to ask capuccino or espresso from the waiter (no extra price!) as the american coffee provided at the table is awful...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a problem with the air conditioning so we have been upgraded to a room with a very nice terrace, where we could enjoy the sun. Also, the building is impressive and the breakfast was wonderfull (you could fill-in you own cannoli). Fresh orange juice and coffee are available at breakfast upon request.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay if you like old buildings. Has a lot of history attached to it and the entire hotel is decorated with antiques. Rooms and facilities are good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too bad the restaurant wasn't open the public carpets need to be replaced

    old world glamour, large, private good breakfast good location beautiful interior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room

    The hotel is ok - but we are not very happy with the valet parking service. It costs €25 per day and we suspect the rented car got a scratch when did the parking (we had no hard proof though - should have taken pics before handing the car to them!). When we asked to check their video records, the staff was very unwilling to help (we are pretty sure it definitely not us). We didn't pursue further while staying with them as we bought zero excess insurance, but it did impact our holiday mood. I don't think this service meet our expectation for a 4-start hotel, especially with such a high charge on parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very haphazard, coffee not good , kept running out of fresh fruit , scrambled egg not the best, everybody just wandering about looking for cutlery etc.

    Good base to explore from

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, so you had to keep the windows open. There is a nightclub on the road, one of the many noises stopping sleep. Could hear other guests also complaining, but staff were not helpful in resolving.

    Beautiful building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well.. what didn't I like? The list is pretty big I'm afraid. The hotel room was incredibly stuffy.. And after having the air con on for about half an hour and still struggling to breathe, I thought something was up with it so I called reception. They told me it didn't work outside of summer months and suggested I 'open a window' GREAT! Opening the window/doors made it breathable but it was terribly noisy. In order to breathe during sleep we had to keep these open, which made it hard to sleep due to noise AND we got attacked by mosquitoes as a result. The fun didn't end there... they were also filming a TV show/movie outside our room, which made it very difficult to go in and out of the hotel. None of this was mentioned to us during check-in... I really don't think they should be selling any rooms on the same floor that a full film crew is hard at work... I reserved final judgement until I had the breakfast, which I had read was 'good'... well, it was also very average... Stale pastries and cakes, gluggy eggs and cold bacon. There was also no attention from staff, I didn't even know I could get a capuccino, but when I finally ordered one, I was met with a pretty poor response from staff. The Wifi is also very average, so don't expect to get much done if you need it. The location is probably the only good thing about the place, all the big attractions and shops are relatively close with some good restaurants in the area. For the price of this place there are far better options in Palermo. Did I mention we were on our Honeymoon? Urgh.. not the best place to set the mood, but thankfully we only stayed here for 2 nights. Any longer and I would have been asking to get out! Look elsewhere.

    The hotel still maintains some of its old world charm... but that's about where the positives end.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Air conditioning" what air conditioning? We were there in November so as with other places around the world they turn the "cooling" OFF on a particular date regardless of the temperatures......

    It has been a "Grand Hotel" and the reception, dining rooms etc are on a grand scale beautifully decorated and featuring antique furnishings and marble statuary. The carpets are tired and need replacing. The room was large and had a feature ceiling and corner windows that overlooked the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend to add a smoked salmon to a breakfast menu. And please do go on with a very delicate renovation of the place.

    Location, building, and interiors are great. The restaurant is very elegant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms were over-heated and there was no in-room heating/air-con to allow us to manage the temperature levels. The hotel is well located on the edge of the historic centre of the city, which means there is traffic noise until quite late at night. The breakfast staff were nonchalant at best and the hotel carpets could do with cleaning or replacing. In general, the whole hotel could do with renovation.

    We liked the location of the hotel and its style of 'faded grandeur'. We liked the beds and the in-room facilities and amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets are very worn especially in the corridors but I expected that.

    Rooms were comfortable and very clean. The hotel has been very grand in its time . In particular the breakfast room was beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were extremely helpfull, the reception staff could not have been more informative and pleasant. Even though it is a bit worn, everything worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately confusion asking for directions on checkout. Unable to access simple information about transport infrastructure during Festival.

    Beautiful decor and wonderful service throughout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (broken), room looked over a very noisy street with a night club. Everything had the patina of age—stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, limescale in the shower, dinged furniture, etc.

    Location was good near theatro Massimo. We left our car out front and a valet parked it overnight—very convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access is challenging, finding a place to park was not easy - I guess Italian drivers are just lot more brave than I was!

    Last night in Sicily - junior suite - nice room located at back of hotel (facing Hotel Wagner). Great location near opera. Turn of century hotel with associated grander. Parking was arranged by hotel (nearby garage) - but parking the car was challenging. Great restaurant recommendation. Overall great hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ongoing maintenance of the hotel rooms needs to be improved. My room looked run down since there were stains on the carpet and walls. However, the bed linens were clean and freshly starched. The lobby area is well maintained.

    I liked the ambience of a grand historic hotel and the great location close to sites, shopping and restaurants. As a solo traveller felt very safe. The staff were very helpful in researching train times to Cefalu.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work. More shabby than chic, but it had its charms nonetheless.

    Great location and faded grandeur - it was obviously amazing once upon a time!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists are very accommodating. The air conditioning unit in our first room was so noisy. We called up the reception twice.. later on , we were upgraded to a bigger room where the air conditioning unit was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast toast and FRUITJUICE... In a country of oranges you should be ashamed to serve your imitation orange ‘drink’ filled with chemicals...the worst thing about the hotel!

    Very nice linen, furniture, building, location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly reception although that seems to be standard in hotels in Palermo (unlike rest of Sicily). My room was a bit beat up.

    Great breakfast (with bubbly!) in a beautiful historic room. Nice lobby where you can have a drink. Quiet room. Good location in the new town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public areas are very worn out. Not sure if there has been a remodel since WWII. Desparate need for fresh paint. That said, the Hotel is not overpriced.

    Classic old school hotel with an excellent staff. Extensive breakfast. Room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk people left much to be desired. One fellow was surly and rude. Unfortunately he was the daily day shift. We hated even asking him questions.

    Nice morning breakfast. Helpful getting taxis. Nice ambience/ furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even a bottle of complimentary water should be standard in the room. There was nothing available at all. The breakfast set up was a muddle. Cups were missing, then saucers, some of the food consumed by other guests was not replaced quickly. Hot water for coffee or tea was in short supply and slow to be replaced. Lifts to the upper floors were small and slow.

    Location of hotel was central - easy to get to most of the sites. Car was taken away to a secure car park by the valet. Reception staff very attentive and helpful. No beverages of any kind in the room. Room was spacious and comfortable but had absolutely no view from the window (just a close external brick wall) Breakfast was a muddle and not well presented. Dining staff indifferent to guests needs. This is a classic vintage hotel, a little tired and in need of some modernisation without spoiling the character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the exception of Antonio the front desk staff was rather unwelcoming and disinclined to help with tourist inquiries beyond the bare minimum.

    The spacious grandure of the hotel public areas and guest rooms. There were lots of lobby seating for lounging and our room had plenty of unpacking space. It was a comfortable hotel yet not in peak condition as evidenced by the many burnt out bulbs in the hotel marquee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rugs, walls, drapes, paint etc etc

    The structure was beautiful, HOWEVER it is in dire need of paint, carpets, repairs etc etc.....hallway carpets are not fit for a dog house.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had asked in advance to which we received no response - if we could stay an additional night. when we arrived we followed up that request to be given some spiel about emails getting lost in junk mail - yeah right. anyway the receptionist said they had no avaolability on the date we requested (despite us staying there 3 nights), and when asked if she caould help us out in any way, she said she would try their 'sister' hotel to check availability... We did not ever hear back from her despite her promises. We arranged our own accomodation around the corner online - most unsatisfactory service and support.

    the bed was okay but the room was aged with stains in bathroom, mould and stains and marks on carpets, had a feeling of being neglected as a hotel. There were no touches of comfort such as bathrobes..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ageing and could do with a spruce up. The breakfast was ok , I would have liked a bit more seasonal fruit.

    We had a lovely big room, which was very clean. The hotel is ageing but still quite grand . I would have loved to stay at its peak. The staff were very helpful. It is in a very good location and close to good restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it. Definitely long past it's prime. Carpets etc filthy, chunks of woodwork had large chips all around the bedroom, filthy paintwork in room, horrendous.

    Stale bakeries, cold, fatty bacon inedible the worst breakfast I have ever had - purchased our own breakfast elsewhere after that. Unhygienic facilities at breakfast. Absolutely disgusting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with maybe a little bit of modernizing, but most of the hotels charm is in its authenticity

    Liked the proximity to the city. the hotel was very authentic, cosy bed and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a fairly average experience.

    Beautiful hotel that has seen better days but still a spectacular property oozing history in a fabulous location. Bedroom was very impressive in size and fittings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem was that the breakfast was indifferent at best. It is not what I would expect from a hotel of this level. The products were inferior. We ate elsewhere after the second morning.

    The bathroom in the junior suite was good with a SO important lighted make-up mirror.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the reception staff was downright rude to me one night when we had arrived in at 9.30pm the bar was unmanned and I asked him if the bar was open. We waited 10 minutes and still no bar staff. When I approached reception again he threw the phone across reception and yelled at me! The chamber maid staff and breakfast staff were very pleasant

    Lovely grand hotel with excellent breakfast and comfortable bed and good bedroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we arrived we struggled with our bags coming through the front door and the 40 something year old male staff just watched us struggle for 5 minutes. He never made an attempt to get the super old heavyweight door. Once in the lobby he never acknowledged us had his head down , we were standing at the counter waiting. Very unwelcoming. Same person had to get a senior staff because he couldn't find the reservation. The men were curt. Only much later when the men left, zthe younger women were helpful, polite, sweet and professional, brava to them.

    The bedroom was spacious and the mattress was great probably new.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard.

    This is a picturesque, colorful, historical hotel in the heart of Palermo. The room was very comfortable. The included breakfast was terrific: Everything was fresh, well-prepared, abundant, and there were many choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor coffee out of an urn at breakfast, had clearly been stewing for some time. Italians take their coffee so seriously I can't believe 4 star hotels get away with serving coffee that is not freshly made and delivered to your table

    Great location, nice room though poor pillows. Breakfast buffet quite extensive in very grand surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff did not deliver luggage to room as we were told they would. On day 1 w/ jet lag it was a drag. The carpet in the hallways on the 4th floor were filthy. Looked horrible. There was a roof leak. The shower head was great, but you had to use up 2 towels to mop up water bc of poor design

    The bed was good -- hard mattress. Location was pretty good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was booked into room 150 which the hotel said was superior room but this was small and had no bath even.checked with others on my trip and was very inferior to a standard room and was made to pay full price on leaving.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did read many reviews about the hotel need a renovation as there are many marks, tears and damages...For the price is still great choice! I did ask for free parking when booking the hotel, but it's not, we ended up paying Euro 60+ for 2 days of parking.

    A very classic style old time charm hotel, breakfast room is in a ballroom make you feel like in a palace, good selection of breakfast, room is spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Besides, the hotel looks gorgeous and extremely chique. A beautiful hotel, amazing breakfast (you can eat whatever you want) with a perfect, central location. The room is luxurious with good air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 10 years past needing a total refit. Carpets threadbare, veneer peeling off furniture, TV from 1990's the size of a tea crate, fag burns in the bath, cracked toilet, handle falling off window, stains on bathroom ceiling and corridors worse than student digs. Such a shame as the hotel was probably a real peach in the 60's. Staff were pretty good and some of them probably remember the good old days! We were only here for a night and it served us just fine despite the above.

    Location, potential grandeur, valet parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was run down. The carpets were filthy and potentially dangerous. The windows didn't lock. The condition of the lift was appalling. With two exceptions the staff were surly and unhelpful. Everything felt dirty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were wonderful but the hotel was one of the dirtiest, the most tired appalling place we have ever stayed in. It ruined our whole trip. Walls were peeling, and huge damp patches, you could not walk n the carpets in the bathroom without shoes as it was so so dirty. The common parts were the same, the lifts were the same. I am really amazed that it has been given four stars, the rating should have been two stars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee offered for breakfast was awful; you could request a cappuccino instead though.

    Our room was large and airy with the most wonderfully comfortable bed! The location was superb and the breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small complaint that we didn't get tour info from the concierge in time to book.

    Charming hotel, elegant breakfast, spacious room, Marcello and Dalia especially welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the carpets in the corridors on the floors were shockingly dirty. Everything was very rundown and needs renovation desperately. The window frames were damaged terribly. The computer access often did not work. In the breakfast room the staff was the worst I have ever experienced in a 4-STAR hotel, they were totally ignorant of their guests, and I had to approach them for good morning and service, little for vegetarians, not tasty.

    After I changed from a very small smelly with very dirty carpet to a larger, slightly cleaner room I was comforted. The bathroom came with a great large bath tube, but the toilet was arranged behind the door and quite difficult to access. The receptionists were helpful and very nice. Great location. This is my review from 17.07.-31.07.2017 plus 7.08.-8.8.2017

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing didn't work couldn't run a bath without getting soaked because the shower wouldn't turn off. Called front desk who sent a plumbers who also soaked me and didn't get it sorted. After two Plumber's the front desk were rude as if it was my fault told me I would be moved next day but they didn't. Really bad front desk staff. Over priced for a run down hotel! We asked for rooms close together their were 3 rooms as it was for a Birthday and as we arrived really early we expected this not to be a problem 2 were on top floor and ours were on the lowest floor as far as could be from our friends!

    Old and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic style Hotel, old grand appearances inside in good condition . We had a lovely big room facing out to front (123). Breakfast is very good & so is the dinning area. Parking has to be paid for and not included (€21) per night.. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: