Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Excelsior 4 stars

Via Papa Leone X 32, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#24 of 29 hotels in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedrooms were rather dated and shabby

    Buffet breakfast was good - great choice of cereal, fruit, meats, cake etc etc Tea Coffee Water Juice. Very good for a buffet style service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is stunning, I mean realy the most amazing veiw!! Best location in all Amalfi! The hotel has everything needed for a luxury holiday- a pool with the most beautifull view, a bar for evening, restorante! We used the the shutles to the city and the beach every day - very usefull!! The private beach is beautifull and with all fasilities such as snack bar, showers.The room was big and comfi. The hotel is much better than the impration I had from the pictures at booking.com . Highly recomended!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, hotel standard

    This hotel was mostly all about the view. It´s absolutely one of the best views in Amalfi city. The hotel itself was clean but everything was old... The staff was friendly. Breakfast could be better and was mostly British (boring) with many different sweets. Missed more healthy options. We rented a car from Neapel and parked it mostly at the hotel since they offered free bus transfer down to the Amalfi city. This was good. Don´t forget to visit Positano and Ravello since Amalfi city is more of a tourist trap but offer a good connection with busses and ferries to other places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner wasn’t very tasty, food was bland. The table and chairs in the balcony needs an urgent update , mattress is not very comfortable.

    Breakfast is very tasty , bedroom and the views from the balcony are breath taking , staff are really friendly , polite and will help with anything you need . The pool area ans sun beds are comfortable and the views to Amalfi are fantastic!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a little more atmosphere, no music by the pool, or in the bar of an evening. The decor could do with a facelift however was super clean and so this was bearable

    The views were incredible and the breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty poor from our previous experience with booking and the bus to the city takes between 10-15 minuets! We arrived on a Sunday and the hotel didn’t bother to send a big bus to the city that day so you can imagine the result! A lot of people and just a small bus....

    Definitely the view!! Wow amazing no words. Our room was perfect very clean and so Italian style!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was cracked before we checked-in and the house-keeping didn’t change it during the 6 nights we stayed

    The view from the balcony & terrace. On the first night, we reached late at 10:45 pm. We had been in touch with Denise at the reception. She made a dinner reservation for us at a nearby restaurant which also had pick-up & drop from the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was basic and asking for anything that was not on display at the breakfast buffet (fried egg for example) was an ordeal. The staff in general (save for one of the bar tenders and waiting staff) were quite dismissive. On arrival we were put into a different room type to what we had booked and spent 5 days trying to resolve this. Initially we were told that the room we were told that we were in the correct room, then we were told that in fact we were in a different room but that it was more expensive. The story changed with each different staff member that we tried to discuss this with. We continued to argue for a resolution until the day of check-out and finally managed to resolve, with the hotel revising the bill down to charge the lower price for the room we were actually in.

    The views from the hotel are superb. To walk dawn to Amalfi takes about 30 minutes (longer coming back up!) but we utilised the free hotel shuttle bus most days. Overall the hotel rooms and lobby area were extremely clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of this property is quite run down and in dire need of an update. We had planned to spend time at the pool but it was filthy and in need of repairs. It was obvious that the staff is not really happy. We took the free shuttle bus to town (15 mins) every day to sight see, shop and go to the beach (they advertise they have a private beach for the hotel but their private beach was closed for the season so each day we took their bus into town and paid to go to the beach area at Marina Grande.

    We were lucky enough to get one of the updated rooms so that made our stay enjoyable. We had a Seaview room with a balcony so we had a spectacular view from our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lovely lounge bar but it doesn't open until 5pm. It's centrally located in the hotel, so it would be far better to be opened from lunchtime.

    The hotel was is in a beautiful location with stunning views. It has recently undergone a make over and it has been done with class. The receptionist, an American lady, was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable and AC never really got down to a cooler temperature like we'd prefer.

    I liked in many ways that it was away from the tourist area (15 minute shuttle up or 20 minute walk down). Pool was great and views were even better. VERY old bed in our room at least, uncomfortable and old but views were great. Gerry's Pub was a short walk up the road and worth it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather disorganized. Getting coffe sometimes ignored.

    The receptionist, Denise, was outstanding. Property a bus ride to center, but shuttle provided. Private beach by bus shuttle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet wasn't too good. I didn't feel like the choices were very good but it was included and it was convenient

    The rooms were beautiful. The food was pretty good and convenient if you didn't feel like going to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    VERY expensive for a very old and, in many ways, shabby hotel - much like Amalfi itself. The restaurant was one of the very worst in any hotel I've stayed in in Italy, which made it a necessity to eat in Amalfi. Bed was rock hard with old linen - clean, but old. The toiletries provided were not up to 4-star standard and no coffee/ tea making facility. Although we checked out 4 days early due to an emergency, we were charged for the full amount - even though the hotel was full. On that basis, you'd be better off booking 7 separate single day stays - which is stupid. Not the hotel's fault, but Amalfi must be the most over-rated part of Italy and one of very few that we have zero desire to return to.

    Lovely views from a huge balcony. Good to be away from Amalfi centre, with regular shuttle service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location: too far to amalfi town, you have to take a bus to reach central. it takes min 20minutes. A frequency of hotel bus is not enough, cita bus is always full, if you want to drive, car park cost minimum 15 Euro for couple hours stay in town... beach is so far... photos are misleading, hotel is very old... the swimming pool is not welcoming:( looks really dirty...

    only the view of amalfi town....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same breakfast every day

    I really loved the rides to the city, it was very comfortable! The view from the room is stunning! Everything is super clean, the staff is very welcoming, very nice. The room was beautiful, all sanitary ware looked new. The private beach is just perfect! Very intimate, enough room for everyone, clean, showers, clean toilet, hotels restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed here for my honeymoon and I would not stay anywhere else! This is by far my favorite hotel from all my travels. Confidently book this hotel, you will not be disappointed at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We loved the private beach, the bus service to the city centre and back, we enjoyed the breakfast and of course - the amazing views. Great place to relax. Nice waiters who offer you delicious coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Drinks in the bar are a bit pricey, and as there is a strong preference to charge everything to the room (without disclosing the actual cost), the bill can add up.

    Private beach was excellent, albeit it is a bus ride from the hotel (as is pretty much everything, especially Amalfi town). Bus drivers are very good, not least given the winding roads and traffic...! Pool is a good size, especially for the region. Views are spectacular - the hotel is up in the hills and the large balconies all face the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt there was no love at the hotel.. more like a 2 or 3 star experience. Despite paying over £300 per night there wasn't so much as a complimentary bottle of water. Nobody really cared about our holiday experience... we were also on honeymoon. It was just very ordinary.

    The view from our terrace was stunning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Beautiful view over the town and harbour. Pool was lovely and very welcoming in 38 degrees heat. Friendly and helpful staff. Beds very comfy. Wide selection of food at breakfast. Shuttle service ran on a regular basis throughout the day and evening. This service was popular and much needed, as parking in Amalfi is limited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything except no air conditioning in big lobby - but that is a minor detail. Staff at restaurant are helpful and fun (and locals!). This place even has a chapel next to the property that is open all hours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was not 4 star. Very old furniture , thread bear. Needed a good facelift. Reception staff very rude and not helpful. No smile or welcoming feeling.

    Amazing views,and very peaceful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming Pool very small with limited sunloungers and people hogging the lounger with towels but not using them! Also told bar was open all day until midnight yet this wasn't the case either!

    The room allocated to us was amazing, we had a bedroom & bathroom upstairs and lounge & bathroom downstairs that lead on to an amazing balcony overlooking the entire Amalfi Coast. It was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before we arrive to the hotel, I sent couple of messages to the hotel to ask shuttle time table to hotel from amalfi. However they did not reply my messages. When I called the hotel to ask shuttle hours, person in the front office said I do not know speak English. Eventually We had to pay for the Taxi from Amalfi to Hotel (40 Euros). Employee who showed us our room, waited in the room for the tip. I said I do not have any change. Breakfast is below average. While we were checking out, we said that we are in hurry to catch the bus. Man in the front desk said I do not care if you miss it or not, it is not my problem.

    Hotel Shuttle to Amalfi and Beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities are quite old. The swimming pool was nice but there was no waiter or any hotel personel around that area.

    Even thought the hotel was far from the centre shuttle bus service was offered. Shuttle bus was extremely convinient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 sizes of slippers, not very fitting for man with small sizes or woman with big sizes. As this issue is entirely a luxury, not to be considered a bad thing...

    Great view from the room balcony (and common areas) , Great facilities (Pool, Lobby, Dinning Hall,Private Beach) free slippers, Bathrobes, 24 Staff - we needed something at 3 am and the staff member on shift was very helpful ,The Hotel is a bit far from the Center and Beach but there is a free Bus with good frequency. The Panoramic view is very worth the drive to the Center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not worth the money we paid. The cheaper rooms had the better view. The terrace was full of leaves, lights not working, no umbrella for the table on the terrace. Mini bar in room but only disposable plastic cups to drink the wine or beer out of. Had difficulty getting 2 glasses to drink the champagne that my husband bought me to celebrate my 60th because we had brought the bottle with us. Only given to us when I explained that I had ended up in hospital so we hadn't been able to drink it when we had planned to. Overall very disappointing when paying nearly 400 euro a night.

    Breakfast was ordinary - not a very big choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They preauthorize your card and then charge at check out. So basically for 1 week you are double billed. Not good policy as only place in Italy that did this. Add in dated space and bad food it is not worth the money or the headache.

    Great location and beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and run down, rust, chipping paint, musty smell near elevator and sewage smell near pool, no conceirge, very small thin pool towels, many many stairs and AKWARD flow of property, tiny shower with door very flimsy and keep falling off, bathroom door warped at bottom. I do not know how this is a 4 star property

    View, many shuttle times available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the staff were great. Perhaps could have known more.

    Excellent place. Really great value and exceptional view. Worth the drive and staying outside of Amalfi town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too remote. Air conditioner didn't work. A little dated. Property could use some work. Breakfast was so-so

    The view was enjoyable but removed from both the town and the coast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize when I booked from website the hotel is mot located I. Amalfi. Did not like that.

    I would have liked the option of a shuttle into the town (not Amalfi, but town the hotel is in), at least for dinner. Though the Excelsior restaurant was excellent, especially Antonio, best waiter ever!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant open times could be longer The hotel bar should be opened from Noon until closing :)

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful when asked for information. Views were spectacular

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cappuccinos took too long to get in the morning at breakfast. We were finished with breakfast before the coffee was brought to our table.

    Loved the view, the available shuttle, the food, the service, the staff and the spectacular location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Distance from town centre noted on Booking.com was a lie. Stated 0.7klms from centre but in fact at least 5klms and a a very difficult walk. Staff were not particularly helpful. Manager quite obstinate, blamed booking.com for issue and quite frankly did very little to assist - defensive and uncooperative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was terrible, the service slow and the quality of what was served not at a 4* level.

    The property is in a stunning position. The bus that takes you down to Amalfi is very convenient and the beach is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want an authentic Italian experience, this is NOT the place. It is 5km on the hill and not a walkable distance to any town. The hotel itself could do with a revamp, the decor is very dated. We were supposedly in a suite but the shower was tiny and the door broke when I opened it. The cupboard lock came off in my hand when I closed it. The water was warm, not hot. The walls were paper thin - we could here full conversations our neighbours were having. We felt done in with the extortionate price we paid and what we got - we paid the most for this hotel on our trip and it was a sore disappointment after the splendor (and cheaper) Positano hotel (Palazzo Talamo). We will not go back or recommend it.

    It had a pool. The shuttle to Amalfi. And the view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unbelievable views! Cannot imagine any property has more extensive or beautiful views then this one. Can see 180 degree views from your balcony, the pool deck, and the outdoor eating areas. Pool area and rock grotto bar are exceptional. Staff was the best - so helpful and accomodating always. They arranged extra transportation, restaurant and activity issues that we had with happy to help attitude. We were so thankful! Hotel shuttle to downtown center is a must and was very convenient and easy - plenty of room and regular schedule. Rooms were huge with high ceilings, large bathrooms, and large balcony/deck. Only negative was ugly decor in my opinion, but if they fixed that part, this place would be way too expensive. Food was delicious, but would have liked longer hours for being open. Would still highly recommend this property because you just cannot beat the views and the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have tea making facilities in the room and hairdryer needs updating.

    Secluded from the hustle and bustle yet only a fifteen minute shuttle bus ride into town. Great facilities and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They desperately need to change the beds . We were two couples and we both agreed on this. They were Hard and uncomfortable with pillows thin as pancakes. But the worst part was our dining experience. We had 2 buffet breakfasts and 2 dinners. The food was passable. The service was a farce. Orders were forgotten. Coffee never came for breakfast . Wine wasn't poured with dinner. Parmesan cheese took so long to arrive ,the pasta was stone cold.

    The property is very unique,built into a mountainside,thousands of feet above the town. Due to this you are very isolated. However there is a shuttle bus going to town all day long . The views are unparalleled . You can dine on the terrace overlooking the sea. The pool is large and also has magnificent views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu really disappointing. Disappointed that when we arrived after 10 pm that they couldn't offer us even a little snack, we were very hungry and had been travelling all day, that was very poor customer service. Also disappointing that there was no kettle in room or use of iron. Had to pay for laundry service even though only wanted to quickly run iron over dress.

    View from hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little out of Amalfi (10mins) drive but the shuttle service makes up for it.

    The view was spectacular especially from our room. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room it self was a great size for a young family. The regular free shuttle service into Amalfi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were really disappointed with our stay and wish we had chosen a more boutique hotel. The staff were terrible - especially for a 4 star hotel. We didn't receive a very warm welcome with local tips and clear information on hotel policies i.e. the hotel shuttle bus and local buses. The most frustrating thing was that we had an issue (as did the other guests) every single breakfast time. Ordering teas and coffees was always a drama; either they didn't take our order at all, took it twice and it never arriving, once they gave me a tea bag, mug and milk with no hot water and then seemed put out when I asked for hot water. What should have been a peaceful experience seemed to be hassle - over something so simple! This was frustrating for everyone especially as we were keen not to hang around and make the most of the day ahead. The shuttle bus was also a joke - especially when you've planned to get down in to Amalfi to catch a specific boat or bus for a day trip. Luckily will allowed for the bus to be late and didn't miss any trips. The timetable stays it's half past every hour but it's not actually scheduled until 45 mins passed and even then it's always late and sometimes it's so busy you have to stand. The location is great for the views but it is a pain getting to and from Amalfi and the last shuttle bus in 9.30pm and the last local bus is 10pm.

    A room with a view on the Amalfi Coast has been on our bucket list for a while and we decided to go for it on our Baby Moon as we are expecting our first child in 3 months time. The view certainly didn't disappoint and we had a large balcony over looking the whole of Amalfi and the local mountain villages. The hotel despite being on of the biggest in Amalfi was nice and quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the hotel needs complete renovation. The furniture is from another century and not comfortable. We were feeling like travelling back into communistic ages. We booked a superior double room. Our bath/shower was floated every time we would take a shower. No one took action to fix it after our complains in our 8 days stay. Another point we cannot understand is why our bed sheets were not changed after several days (blood from my gf periods). The breakfast was everyday the same. Choice was very poor for a so called 4* hotel. We are in Italy. We were expecting better food than scramble eggs from the powder eggs, rotten fruits on the buffet, industrial fruit juice. The service at the restaurant was very professional but portions are ridiculously small, tasteless and way too expensive! I order a sea bass and received half of a really small fish for 20€+. Note that there is a fitness... room... But you need to find your way going through the restrooms corridors. Finally, being mid thirties we found us minimum 35 years too young for this hotel...

    Amazing view, Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very old and tired looking hotel No iron and ironing board (trying to make money on laundry charges) No tea/coffee making facilities Poor cooked breakfast selection Price

    The view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you missed the last shuttle into town at 18:15 you were trapped at the hotel. And the restaurant was way overpriced and not nearly as good as the places in town. Felt like they took advantage of the poor location and charged everything at a premium.

    Staff were very friendly. The views were incredible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a vintage feel that was more nostalgic than dated. Our room was comfortable and the view from our balcony was nothing short of amazing. The restaurant/bar had seating outside on a beautiful terrance with stunning views. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Initially, I was a little concerned about the distance from the restaurants and shopping in Amalfi but after a convenient shuttle ride down the mountain I realized our location a little away from the crowd was ideal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff added to my final bill which had nothing to do with me!! Breakfast uninspired. What I'd expect from a budget hotel but these weren't budget prices for the stay. Shuttle bus to and from Amalfi very punctual but not for anyone nervous about heights.

    Great size bed. Spectacular view. Staff very helpful. Spotless hotel. Great size room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the hotel needs to be upgraded. Carpet, furniture and walls etc... need a facelift. Breakfast was the same thing every morning and medicore at best. Service was good but need to be a bit more proactive. No air conditioning on the buses. For all concerns above for price and 4 star rating, expected more.

    Beautiful view at hotel & our room. Our room was recently upgraded and very clean.front desk, waiters, hosts and drivers were helpful/pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some issues with the air conditioning the first night but those were cleared up. Could have used amenities like hair conditioner in the room. Shuttle stops at around 10:30 which is a bit too early since taxis are very expensive for the short ride.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Location was actually better than it seems -- being in the center of town would have been a detractor. Hotel has its own shuttle and the city bus stops right outside, so it's an extra step but gives you the benefit of some peaceful amazing views. Definitely worth it. Bathrooms very clean and modern. Balconies have amazing picturesque views that will have your friends at home drooling, same with the views from the pool and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast with few options and not enough staff to support all guests during the rush time. Room very small dificult to accomodate all lugages.

    Room with very good view and staff very supportive. Bus service from hotel to the beach/city center. Good pool with very nice view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible mattress. The most uncomfortable bedding I have ever encountered at a hotel. Very hard.

    Beautiful views and on site restaurant, great private beach. Shuttle service a big plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The menu choice at the restaurant was a bit limited. It is true, the hotel is a little tired in places, but don't let that stop you booking this hotel as it really is quite charming!! We loved the triple ceiling height galleried seating/bar area! The reality is, if this hotel had a flashy refurbishment, the prices would go up ridiculously and that view would become unaffordable!!

    We loved staying in this hotel! The views from the pool/terrace/restaurant are just spectacular! We had a family room with a private terrace with the same view, just amazing! Until you see the parking/driving in Amalfi you will not realise how useful the shuttle bus is, which also drops you at the private beach half way down the hill (Lift takes you the other half) It goes regularly, on-time all day and evening. Do go to the private beach, it is a real benefit and has a small but good restaurant. We took the hotel shuttle bus to Amalfi and got the ferry to Positano, it's all really easy. We had our own car as we were driving to Puglia afterwards, there is limited parking at the hotel but we always found a space. The staff were helpful and friendly, and actually so were all the other guests, we had a fantastic four nights here. We would definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi works wonderfully in the lobby but almost not at all in rooms

    A wonderful place to stay in Amalfi if you're not looking for something over the top expensive or luxurious. Immediately you are teleported through time with the perfectly maintained vintage decor. Feels almost like you're in a Wes Anderson movie

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would like to see more choice of food for breakfast. But still not bad.

    Great Location with amazing views of the Sea and large swimming pool. Hotel private beach with free bus shuttle service was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is not 4*, more like 3*. The (expensive) suite, though clean was just 2 rooms plus bath - nothing to write home about, and it was as if they had run out of furniture. We used a decrepit chest of drawers for our smalls. The breakfasts were average but I would have expected more of a selection of fruit and white cheeses for which the area is famous. The decor has not changed since the 60s - time for a complete renovation. I was here in 2011 and nothing much had changed. The evening meal was a disappointment in both the standard, (hard pasta - 'not al dente'), and the quantity. We only ate there on the first night.

    The views were spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was good but bland -- same stuff everyday. The pool was so so.

    The hotel was a bit old looking but quite OK with excellent view in the room. Dinners were good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old bath, no cup in the room, poor cosmetic in bath

    breakfest and waiter!! location and free hotel shuttle bus to town and own beach, you don' t need car. view from room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard, I like a firm bed but it was a little too firm for my liking, everything else was wonderful.

    The staff were lovely The views were incredible The food was fantastic Overall a brilliant service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old bath, no cup in the room, poor cosmetic in bath

    breakfest and waiter!! location and free hotel shuttle bus to town and own beach, you don' t need car. view from room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from a hotel room does not get any better than this. Very professional and friendly staff. Particular mention goes to Antonio and Sig. Caprio, and the reception

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection is a bit limited and the juice isn't fresh but it's still not so bad. The cappuccinos are Lovely and the manager of the breakfast service is a very happy & personable guy. :-)

    Most of the staff were absolutely lovely. When we asked to be moved because the room was too far out for my mum who has walking difficulties, they upgraded us to a room which was less difficult to get to. I won't lie and say this hotel is modern, it's not, it's a complete 70's throwback! I read in another review that you half expect James Bond to walk in & order a Martini, they are right! The bathrooms are even older. Total 50's fittings, even the hairdryer which more resembled a Hoover nozzle! However, in some bizarre way this all adds to the charm of the place. I'm extremely fussy and generally prefer boutique hotels but these types of hotels just do NOT go in Amalfi. This hotel somehow has a district charm about it. And the views. Oh wow they are second to none. I would definitely recommend just for the views. They are spectacular. The hotel is high up but has a regular shuttle service to the hotel's own private beach & into Amalfi. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely perfect. I loved everything about this hotel.

    It was the most beautiful view I have ever seen from my private balcony. Also, the restaurant was amazing with a very professional staff, who anticipated everything you could possibly want or need.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although comfortable, furniture is a little tired and dated. No snack meals available in the evening, only 3 course option in the main restaurant

    Perfect location. Stunning views. Tranquil pool. Amazing holiday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated it's like something from the 70's. There was very little atmosphere in the hotel bar and the waiters were not particularly friendly. It's probably one of the highest up hotels so it's a bit of a mission going out everyday as you have to wait for the shuttle and wait to get into the town before you can do anything. The restaurant food was not up to standard with what we have had elsewhere in amalfi & Italy and was very expensive.

    Swimming pool and views were great. Head waiter was very nice. Hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the private beach and to the town which is a must as its easily 15 minutes drive down. Pool bar was good and breakfast was also nice with good selection

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Basic facilities missing: Coffee making facility, stationary, pen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Increíbles vistas. Transporte propio

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views location very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is wonderful, our room was the best view and huge size, service and food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bat staff a little rude

    The view was amazing. Great location, free shuttle bus was great Super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard and English tv package poor

    Amalfi stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very slow to bring coffee at breakfast. There should just be a self serve pot available for guests.

    The view from our balcony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little shabby but everything was clean

    View was spectacular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was not cleaned up for several days after a storm filled it with leaves

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: