Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA 4 stars

Via Regina Vecchia 24-26 , 22010 Moltrasio, Italy

#3 of 13 hotels in Moltrasio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1396 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful property, lovely restaurants, helpful staff. Overall a fantastic experience. Pool is amazing, rooms very spacious especially bathrooms by European standards. Rooms recently renovated, we had a beautiful lake front balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The imperial restaurants service wasn’t that good, given its the fancy one. The younger staff need more training, and the maitre d could be a bit more relaxed.

    Its a gem of a hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff unfriendly no welcoming vibe overall and continental breakfast 24 euro each is a big joke and the cost of po arkobg a joke and favimities cost money not a true 4 star hotel

    after complaining about noise we were given another room however if we could have received a refund we would have left

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in room

    Fab location. Ferry 2 mins away. Lovely reatautants and cafes nearby. Hotel pool stunning. Staff excellent (especially Andrea on reception and Indian porter).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is beautiful.There is no changing near the pool. In order to use the pool, I would have had to travel the elevator down to the main check in area, walk across the lobby into a secondary lobby, out the door, walk a half a block, cross under the street to get to the pool. All in a robe. This is not what I consider elegate. Someone should help them design some simple changing cabana at the pool.

    It is close to the ferry dock. The lake is beautiful. There are other restaurants besides the hotel's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was really nice. But Ristorante Imperialino didn't live up to our expectations. We felt it was overpriced for what was offered and, really, if you order the wine company to the set menu, you should actually get the wine, no?

    exquisite location on Lake Como. Loved the pool. Friendly and nice staff: we got an upgrade to a super nice room with a large terrace and view on the lake. Great breakfast buffet. Nice hotel bar with weird Liberace-lookalike piano player - fun! We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel food was not very good generally. We had a very bad experience on the first day - our first meal - lunch at the hotel restarant the day we arrived. Despite confirming twice with the head waiter and the serving staff we were strict vegetarians we were served sandwiches which had meat and chicken and poor quality salad - despite ordering vegetarian option from the menu.- we have taken pictures to provide as evidence of this. We returned the food, only to be served the SAME SANDWITCHES AGAIN with the 'meat' removed' -this was evident because there was still some meat remaining on the salad within the sandwich !! The waiting staff were rude and unable to give an explanation to this disgraceful behaviour. For a vegetarian this is most offensive. Additionally, the choice of breakfast was limited to the same everyday and there was no 'special' care taken of the guests during breakfast. The waiting staff were at time very matter of fact and we found some of them to be rude and abrupt. There was no allowance for vegetarian options to be provided for our group of 8 despite us staying 4 nights and requesting vegetarian options to be offered. We found that this hotel could have been more flexible and the chef could have been available for us to sugget a few options.

    The location of the hotel was very nice for the boat service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t say I didn’t like something there. However, the location is definitely very much for couples more so than families.

    The staff, particularly Angela, was amazing. The room was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom was large with an incredible rainshower. Angela accommodated our requests and made our experience wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is not for children.

    We like the location and the Restaurant. But the problem is, that the Restaurant is always full and it's not easy to get a table (reservation few days before is necessary).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very basic. I struggled to find the amazing view on the website. Parking: extra Breakfast: extra Pool: extra Spa: extra!! If you stay at a hotel because it is a Resort and Spa you expect access to a resort and spa. The lobby and communal areas have less atmosphere than an airport lounge (the cheap one!) Only redeeming feature was the lovely receptionist and the 2 little cafes next door (nothing to do with the hotel). Will go for the one in Tremezzo next time - much more grand.

    Receptionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel inspires serenity , all accommodation are excellent. An amazing place to rest and enjoy the beauty of the lake of como. the service is excellent and the hotel staff is very helpful. The dishes in the restaurant are very good. This hotel is exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party all night downstairs and we couldn’t get much sleep. I’m all for parties but it is nice to be informed before or asked about if it interrupted anything the day after.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi is rubbish so when on a business trip it's kind of crucial!

    breakfast was good and close to the boat stop for easy access to the rest of the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located well outside the city of Como and driving to/from Como can be a breeze or it can be a nightmare. There are a couple of real bottlenecks. Obviously this is irrelevant if you plan to stay mostly at the hotel or uplake.

    This is a "luxury" hotel/spa with all that this implies -- a high level of service and amenities (we were concerned about the weight of our bags, so they weighed them to make sure we were within airline poundage guidelines); excellent breakfast; location on the lake; proximity to boat transportation on the lake; high prices. Our room was quite wonderful -- third floor with balcony overlooking the lake. The drizzly weather was annoying but with a silver (actually 7-color) lining -- a rainbow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Optional extras were a bit pricey! Breakfast (€24 p/person), Spa facilities (€20 p/person), car park (€20 p/night). Needless to say we avoided these as we were on a budget! Also worth noting, if you don't have a car, ferry costs can rack up (return ferry to Como = €16.20 for 2 people, Belaggio = €32) and you'll be limited to only staying out as late as the ferry timetable.

    We were put in a completely redecorated room for only £90 p/night (off-season) - it exceeded all expectations. Staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities were great. The town of Moltrasio is a quiet one but there's plenty to see in the nearby towns.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa access could be a bit more often than once a day. We thought it was a bit stiff as you pay extra for the access. We booked a lake view room, which is exactly what we got. But unfortunately the view was partly obstructed by roofs.

    We liked that is was so close to the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no dressing gowns in the spa left. It was sold as a spa hotel but the spa is quite small considering.

    We were upgraded when we got there and it was amazing. The bed was so comfy and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We used the spa and basically had it to ourselves - it was a dream!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great location to walk to anything. Property was great and location to boat dock and hotel restaurant was perfect, but not an easy walk to do anything else.

    The staff was amazing and the property was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, food, views, bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. The ferry is right next to the hotel. It was also very calming and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing the room had no tea coffe maker as were described. Also the room in picture shown and the room we booked was different.

    Everything was great, location, room, spa, service. One thing the room had no tea coffe maker as were described. Also the room picture then we booked was different from the real one. But for sure we gonna be back in this hotel. One of the best in the region!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - 20 euro per day to park in the hotel! - my view was a 'slice of the lake' and a crane from construction work - ants on bathroom floor - 15:00 check in time! Most hotels let you check in by 12 - rooms were so hot, and it was 2 degrees outside! Had an uncomfortable sleep because of the temperature - old decor - over priced

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing from the beginning straight through to the end of our stay, which absolutely informs our overall hotel rating of excellent. Mr. Dominico Trochia (sp?) at the front desk was phenomenally helpful, and why management has such a tremendous customer service asset hidden away from the guests on Night Shift is beyond us both! When he learned that we did not make arrangements for New Years Eve, he stopped what he was doing, called around to several local restaurants and secured us a dinner reservation at a great pizzeria in the neighboring town of Cernobbio, where we had a fantastic evening of incredible food and an equally enjoyable atmosphere. No small feat given the fact that Dominico managed to pull this off the night before New Year's Eve--we owe our Happy New Year to him! Also worth a specific mention (although I'm afraid I only know his first name) is Davide in the bar/lounge area. He makes a mean Bellini, and is happy not only to show you how to make the drink of your choice, but he'll gladly serve your meal should you choose to eat one of their few but fresh and delicious dishes--Davide was lovely lounging company!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have more variety at breakfast.

    Great location, very friendly staff, very good room size, plenty of professional spa treatments. Really good pianist at the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The staff was lovely, arranged some food for my little douggter even when the restaurant was not open. The room was clean, the view from the window was delightfull. Breakfast was great, everything you need for the begining of the day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, wouldn’t tell us where the other restaurants were wanted us to eat at their overpriced restaurant that had no atmosphere and was empty both nights and was very classy as we just wanted an easy dinner. No room service after 10pm the biscuits in the bar fridge which I had to resort to eating at 11pm cost 15 euro on check out. The breakfast was not that good either avarage, buffet style cold food that should have been hot and cold meat smelt off and was slimy to touch 😩 would not stay here again

    Not much at all really was clean but that’s about all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist very very rude, no customer service skills. The spa receptionist also very rude, lack of customer service. I would not go back because of this experience with these 2 ladies.

    Great location and restaurant staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging €10 a day for the car park isn't great. Breakfast was a bit dull. The hot breakfast was empty and didn't get refilled.

    Location is good - lake front - close to Cernobbio - Harry's Bar is only a 5 min drive away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had paid extra for a garden view, It was fine but I was expecting a little more for my money.

    Staff where extremely helpful getting us back to the train station early in the morning. Also the spa facilities where fantastic and again the staff there were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast , uncomfortable bed , very small lobby for a 4 star hotel , poor room service! They had to print room service menu for us with no drinks menu , it took us 1 hour to order some drinks ! There is no in room tea or coffee facility.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff , clean and newly refurbished bath room .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During breakfast the manager was loud, he would shout out orders and instructions like he is deaf

    The rooms were clean. Reception staff were polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    help of the concierge

    This Hotel is very nicely located in front of the lake. staff is nice,even if the concierge who lead us to our room,walking for 5 minutes,did not think it would have been appropriate to help us with our numerous bags...he walked behind us all along with no assistance! anyway,large room with lake view,very clean,huuge bed,small TV (?!),practical bathroom. be careful,the hotel is separated in 2 parts: a huge nice building with many rooms but behind the road,and a « gorgeous little Italian Palace » with few rooms but outstanding location directly on the lake. So choose you room wisely. Because we had a balcony,we prefered to take a continental breakfast in the room...Good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed in the lux room is actually 2 separate single beds without any adjoining mattress or anything and it kept sliding apart. From the pictures it appears that the hotel sits on the lake, however, main building is across the street from the lake, so lake views are not so good, even though we booked lake view. Car parking with 20 EUR for the night we thought to be expensive for the place.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Romantic atmosphere in the lobby bar with live piano music. Great SPA! FANTASTIC food at the hotel restaurant by the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a water front view. (See picture below) I was given a room with a view of the courtyard. I went to the desk to share this and ask for a room with a lake view . . . That's where the continuous horrible attitude and being spoken to like a child began - with no new room that I paid for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The property has a great location. Unfortunately the property does not seem to be getting the investment that is needed. Management is not very helpful or friendly. We were offered a "hotel" car to take us to our restaurant that was 1.4 kilometers away and then found out we were being charged 20€. Totally unacceptable and would never happen at a well run hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything!!

    The location was perfect, since it was located directly next door to a ferry stop. The continental breakfast was over the top! Staff and service were wonderful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Lake Como.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only 1mb of wifi is available. Make sure you have planned for internet services before you arrive.

    Bathroom is huge by European standards and very clean. Full tub and two shower heads. The lake view room with balcony had a beautiful view of the courtyard, greenery, and the lake itself. The hotel itself is across the street from the lake but there are premium rooms and the fine dining restaurant on the like side. Along with the pool facility. You will not be disappointed if you research the room you want. You are beautifully secluded but only 10 min from the city of como by car. The ferry launch is 200m down the road which gives you access to all the other small villages on the lake. There is also a bus that runs around the lake for ease of transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too high prices for what u are getting! Wellness is not included in Price..so is not The breakfast! Breakfast is Nice, but for that Price u should get better! In Front of our Visit No Info that Wellness area is closed for One day!

    Location is top! Nice bar and Restaurant (imperialino) ... Station for water Taxi in Front is Great to Travel to Como! Nice but small Wellness facilities, Great Massage !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We also took a couples massage during our stay about which I have mixed reviews. My husband had a wonder massage, but mine was actually one of the worst massages I've ever had. "Is the pressure ok?" is a very common question a masseuse asks their clients.. which was never asked.. and there is a possibility that the lady who was massaging me, did not speak any English. Therefore it wasn't the most pleasant massages that I've had. The staff is otherwise very good and courteous.

    The stay the hotel was amazing. Initially the hotel did look a bit run down(especially the reception area), but our room was just perfect and looked like it was recently renovated. We got a room with a lake view, with spa access. The room was bigger than most hotel rooms, and the view was alright.. I would've loved a full view, without the roof tops in front, but this was good too...especially with the morning tea. The staff at the reception and the restaurant are extremely nice and recommend some of the best wines and food at the restaurant. The restaurant has a beautiful lake view.. so I would definitely recommend going there for a meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at Grand Hotel Imperiale. Lake Como is breathtakingly beautiful and the hotel lives up to this magnificent backdrop. The staff were friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our trip special. Our room was luxurious and massive and exceeded expectations - great value for money. Thank you to the team for making this one of the best legs of our Italy trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible value for money. i found it too expensive for what it had to offer. for that amount I would expect a much nicer and more special room. also having to pay for the parking extra... I mean, really??? staff was not that great either

    good location, nice rooms (the renovated ones!) and nice breakfast. also very nice pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort and staff were amazing however we did have to call reception for issues with our air conditioning multiple times and no one ever came. Luckily it wasn’t a big deal but could have been an issue if we were there during warmer months.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for the money. They told us we couldn't use the A.c. because it was connected to a central system and people were complaining about the cold. Which would of been fine but mosquitoes kept coming into the room and it was raining so it was damp. The beds were also uncomfortable. The breakfast Buffett was also 25 euros per person which was the highest we have encountered in all of Italy and we stayed in some nice hotels.

    Noithing really. Maybe the ferry stop being located directly across the street and pizza place across the street was good. The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot could have been connect to rest of hotel, instead of having to walk out Breakfast very expensive but rest of the meals reasonable

    Excellent service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- the rooms you see on the website are only the high end ones. Standard rooms have motel-like furniture. They clearly need a restile (they seem like a room in the 70'). 2- pictures on the website shows the imperialino restaurant. Howeverc make sure there are no events (weddings) before you go. We couldn't go as there were always provate event. 3- sauna and pool are very poor 4- quality/price mix is definitely not acceptable for standard rooms.

    Nice pool area but mostly closed for private event.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lake view restaurant is grossly overpriced and starters very poor;wine reasonable.However for £140 for 2 one can eat much better in Italy

    Roomy and very busy foyer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service and consideration was appalling and there were lots of hidden extra costs. Spa access costs extra including for guests staying at the hotel and even if you pay for spa to be included this only allows you one entry during your entire stay. The spa was closed for maintenance on the day after we arrived so we had to use it as soon as we arrived (late afternoon and it closes at 8) or the alternative compensation offered was to allow us to park for free (which usually costs 20Euros extra) instead. The spa access costs 35euros per person normally and therefore the offer of parking was by no means an offering to cover for no spa access! We had no email to warn us of the spa closure either so had already paid extra for it. I got no response to emails I sent requesting more information about booking activities in advance so communication seems a huge issue here. There was not even an apology for any of the above circumstances when I explained my disappointment, they seemed not to care. We ate at the a la carter restaurant which despite being very limited choices did have good food but was very expensive and again, the service was awful. After long waits, we had to ask for some bread which we were charged for, along with a charge for tap water. The whole dinner, two courses with tap water and a single glass of wine cost nearly £100 and we waited a long time for everything, including the bill we had to take up to the counter to finally be able to leave the restaurant.

    The hotel building and facilities themselves are beautiful. It's a shame the staff, the customer service and excessive over pricing makes it very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge 5 euro for room service added to the food. The food timing was too spaced out and when we asked about food the waiter told us to eat outside next to the pool, which wasnt helpful.

    Its close to the boat rental and bus stop plus the view was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed by the choice of this Hotel. - Very small triple room; we barely fit, we were so uncomfortable and we didn't have space to our luggage. - Bath tub was technically having a drain issue and nobody resolve it during our 3 days of stay even though we requested a solution many times. - We had always to ring the room service for extra towels as it was always servicing 2 people and we were 3. - "Very" expensive according to the overall facilities and the issues we personally had. - Isolated location.

    - Swimming Pool area/ Amazing View. - Lido Restaurant (outside the Hotel).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all, the room was different from what It supposed to be by the description and the photo - it was worse. I could make my stay longer on place and book another room - a lot better and cheaper. The staff of the restaurants around the hotel are quite indifferent and rude sometimes. It is like they are disappointed that not all the guests are George Clooney.

    The location. This place is better than lots of the hotels around but quite overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were unfriendly compared with all the other the Italian hotels we stayed in (5 others on our trip). The hotel was the most expensive we booked by quite a margin. We were very disappointed with standard of the room in the hotel. It was worse than most of the Premier Inns I have stayed in. The trip was to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday and so it was a good job that we stayed in some lovely places before such as Lucca, Venice and Milan.

    The scenery around the hotel and further up the lake shore was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was advertised as a lake view, but in actual fact it was a fractional lake view at best!!! The bathroom was very tired looking and the bathtub did not look like the cleanest of bathtubs. Although the restaurant is in a beautiful and romantic setting with friendly service, the dishes were too fussy and lacked flavour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The money I paid for on booking.com which was a lot was not the same room I was offered and they apologized and said they are booked with those rooms. So basically I paid more than I had to!!!!

    The hotel was at a great spot and the staff were nice!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool staff could be more attentive.

    The hotel was wonderful and in a beautiful location! The ferry to other parts of lake como was right next door, which made it so convenient to get around. The staff at the pool could have been more attentive when ordering drinks/food, but overall this didn't detract from our stay, and would love to go again! Really beautiful hotel with amazing scenery!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not amazing, a lot of confusion at check in. They supplied us with a broken! baby cot and they were apologetic but not trying to fix the situation. They also took some postcards to post on our behalf...which never arrived (3 pieces so they didn't bother in the end). Hotel needs a lot of refurbishment, parking is quite expensive but ok for the area. It is just outdated as a building and the staff needs a lot of training. We had no choice as all the other hotels in the area were sold out but would not stay there again if i can avoid it.

    Great location, pool is stunning, food okayish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned three days in arrow. We were with small kids and return to slip at 2 pm but it was not enough time to clean the room until this time. They always come when kids go to slip. Near swimming pool - restricted aria for smoking ( there is announcement on the entrance door) but stuff bring ashtray to some visitors who start smoking nearby the kids!!!!

    Nice swimming pool aria nearby the lake!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was dated and unattractive. Breakfast was mediocre and the general ambience uninspiring. For a hotel located directly on the lake built (partially) in the Belle Epoche style, I expected something special. Unfortunately my guest experience was disappointing. The property feels more like a business/convention hotel than a delightful and unique hotel on the shores of one of Italy's most picturesque lakes. It would be be better placed in Milan. The hotel is average at best.

    The location on the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What put me off and would stop me booking here again we're the beds and the breakfast food. We booked a non standard room with a beautiful lake view and our beds were two single beds pushed together and only held together by a single sheet. As soon as you moved the beds slipped and you ended up between the beds. When I asked at reception I was told all the beds in the hotel are the same. I was told the manager would come and talk to us but this never happened. Also the breakfast food is of a terrible quality not at all what I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

    We opted for a room in the original part of the hotel with a balcony overlooking lake como and I have to say it was stunning. Location and proximity to the lake ferry port I excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is outdated. Especially the shower can be refurbished. It takes the level of the hotel down. Asking entrance fee to the spa in addition to the cost of the treatment made me back away from the spa. It is fine to ask fee, but it is common that if you have a treatment the use of the spa is included. This is penny wise pound foolish behavior.

    It is authentic in a way less and less hotels are. The staff (especially in the restaurant) are professionals, breakfast is good, location is fantastic. Gym was well equipped and good maintained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel requires better sound proofing and better pillows. Note that the road to the hotel is very narrow. The pool would have been more enjoyable if it wasn't so busy.

    The hotel has great views over the lake and good dining options. It is also conveniently located across from Moltrasio wharf so it is easy to get a boat to see other parts of Lake Como.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an upmarket hotel we felt the little attention to details were missing, whilst staff were helpful it was impersonal on the most part, and room cleaners appeared to dislike there job. Selection of food lacking in variety within the hotel.

    The bed was the best part, reception and dining staff and spa staff very good and helpful. Pool area nice but a long way from our building as hotel split on two sides of road. Amazing restuarant at the boat club just five mins walk away, where staff were friendly and attentive and food fresh and well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos on the site look amazing but when you get to your room it's totally different. I'm not sure if you pay more you can get a better room but the prices are up there to start with. The hotel is located across the road from the pool (which is on the lake) so they are two separate buildings/areas so you have to walk through a tunnel under the road. It's not far but you think you are staying right on the water but you are not. Also there are only two restaurants in walking distance from the hotel which limits you a bit.

    The pool area was nice and the water taxi was just outside the hotel. The staff were nice but they didn't know about the local services. We were told we could hire jet skis and scooters but there wasn't anyone in the area that would.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was awfull!!!! Dirty bathroom and smelt of urine. We would of asked to change but the hotel was absolutely full.

    Location was great and Hotel Convenient Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit late for breakfast and was served only coffee, asked also for courossant but it was not brought to me. Breakfast was paid in advance 30euros!

    Place is really nice and the best hotel in Moltrasio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too hard (but were given softer ones), piped music sometimes being played in dining room - simple piano or classical music would be much better given setting. Beetles music as pan pipes music was terrible.

    Stunning, beautiful location with amazing views, immediate access to Lake and Varenna. Very helpful staff, lovely decor and facilities - felt 'grand'. Small but up to date bathrooms and comfy beds. Loved Varenna itself as not nearly as touristy as Bellagio but still plenty of restaurants and bars plus things to do / see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a night when there was event, restaurant staff was reduced. Service was noticeably less attentive. The ones remaining tried very hard, but management let them down with understaffing. Overall, the staff was helpful and attentive throughout the stay.

    Great location. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly,, competent staff. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to contact the hotel prior to arrival to organise advertised shuttle service - Leading to a very difficult walk from the bus to the hotel.

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to have a Superior Room with a balcony, but if that was a superior room, the other rooms must be pretty poor. You could just about stand on the balcony. The decor was 1980s business hotel (could be aywhere) style. Moltrasio is a small town with very little / nothing to do. The pool area was usually overcrowded with a wait for sunbeds. You could have a bathrobe if you asked for one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a coffee maker in a room. The room could be updated/modernized.

    The staff was extremely nice and professional. Location is nice, and the public boat transportation nearby works well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room.No holder in shower for soap and shampoo Extra for use of Sauna, for fried eggs for breakfast on top of e28 and for car parking. No seats outside for lunch at pool bar.

    Pool and dinner by the Lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Didn't like the obvious preferential treatment to certain guests- we and other couples chose to eat at the restaurant la veranda next door Too many conferences Room was in real need of updating - french door was sticking and had to be kicked to close it - as instructed by a member of staff. Door wasn't attended to during our 6 day stay TV channels constantly breaking up - moved rooms but no better Town of Como or Cernobbio are better locations for choice of restaurant hotels etc and things to do

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd like to see more transparent communication regarding the extra services like E.g. parking.

    The rooms were clean and nice. The spa is really well arranged and relaxing with a lot of various facilities. Check when booking what's included in your booking and what is not as it may turn out that you'll have to pay extra services (like spa, breakfast and parking 20 eur per day) separately.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a corner room that did not have a balcony like all the other similar rooms. Also, one flat pillow per person is not enough!

    The room had ample room for our luggage and a good view of the lake. The pool area was really special, although shame snacks were not allowed to consumed there only drinks and the poolside drinks service was scanty at best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking garage key cards need to be fixed. You have to press the card to the metal scanner and hold it there for a while before the gate opens. No one explained this to us, so it took me a while to figure out how to get my car parked.

    Rooms in this hotel were very clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and we had everything we needed to experience Lake Como.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    HIGHLY OVERPRICED. Would have expected a better overall experience given the prices this hotel charges. You are only given 1MB internet per day (which in this day and age is ridiculous), parking costs EUR 20 per day. You even have to pay to use the tennis courts (which unsurprisingly nobody ever used). Hotel is a little bit dated generally. Also, the 'lake view' advertised in the pictures (and for which we naively paid a premium for) are 50% obscured by other buildings. You can pay much less and still have a nice stay, don't be fooled by the pictures.

    Very comfy and large bed, good breakfast, nice location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this place! Far enough out of Como to not be in the tourist heartland but right next to a ferry stop to make it easy to get around. A magnificent pool and deck right on the shore of Lake Como - it doesn't get much better for relaxing. Friendly staff and a beautiful setting made this a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: