Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Medusa Hotel & Boutique Spa 4 stars

Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare di Stabia, Italy

#2 of 16 hotels in Castellammare di Stabia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 640 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn’t close to any restaurants within walking distance but if you are prepared to be adventurous and jump on the train ( using their shuttle service) you could be dining anywhere between Naples and Sorrento!

    A 4 Star property which provides a 5 Star experience. The staff are exceptional. We used it as a base to visit Pompeii, Vesuvius, Sorrento, Naples and Capri and what a find! The hotel provides a shuttle to the local train station which will get you to most places or bus stops. La Medusa is a luxurious haven to return to after a busy day sightseeing! It also provides a relaxing time at the pristine Pool and Spa. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! The food at the restaurant may seem pricey but it is of the highest quality! The same quality of a Michelin star restaurant we dined at in Sorrento! Super friendly, superb quality and hope to return in the future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt that the dinner menu was very limited and the dining room was organised rather strangely. It was too large to be intimate and guests were seated facing towards the terrace rather than into the room. Given it was dark outside, there wasn't much to look out to. We had two evening meals at the hotel and on both occasions the evening service felt a bit rushed. Given that everywhere else we had visited on our two week tour of Italy, it was the norm to eat later, we felt we were a being a bit inconvenient requesting a 9pm dinner and we certainly felt that we were being rushed to choose dessert and leave the restaurant. On the second night and this was a shame as it was my husband's birthday. The hotel did provide a delicious coffee birthday cake for him which was lovely but the evening did not really flow that well. In the end we just found it quite funny. On the first night, the kitchen had closed before we got to order dessert so we were left with only two choices. Apart from the dinner blips we had a lovely stay at the hotel.

    Very comfortable room, would have liked a bath as well as a shower but the bathroom was lovely otherwise. Staff were very helpful. The spa and the spa staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I said, the garden was beautiful and incredible. The staff was so friendly and lovely. It is a traditional hotel that has kept all its facilities well maintained. Highly recommend if you are staying for a night or two. It’s close to Pompei and only a 40 Min drive to Naples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the room above us was very loud at times and made it hard to sleep. Although it was a perfect hotel for us it is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and Positano which we also visited. But if you're looking for a hotel to relax and enjoy this is the one!

    We stayed here after a long day visiting Pompeii. From the moment we walked through the door we received a beautiful welcome from the receptionist who was so pleasant and attentive to our needs. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and our bed was the most comfortable we stayed in all week. All the staff members were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was AMAZING with the most beautiful views of Mount Vesuvius. The location was great for us, 10 minute drive from Pompeii and 30 minute drive to Naples airport which we needed to get to the next morning. We could not believe the price we paid for such an amazing hotel. But special thank you to the receptionist working on Saturday evening the 17th of February for going above and beyond for us. Such a lovely lady!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not an ideal location for those that like to walk to and from the hotel to the town.

    Nicely decorated, helpful staff, good facilities and the Spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travel to and From here with transfers is expensive (this applies to all of this location and all of the Amalfi Coast). Do your research before traveling. This is not a Downside to the hotel. Trains / Ferry's are the best way to travel. Taxis are expensive.

    Everything about the Hotel is superb, the Staff, the Rooms, The gardens. The View across the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius whilst having breakfast is beautiful. Each Room has its own charm and they are all furnished with excellent taste. The Gardens when in season are kept to the highest standards. The Staff take time to know you and try to help with any request you have! It is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, and I'm looking forward to another visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the place. The neighbourhood is not the best but not their fault. Castellamare town centre is pleasant though.

    Grandeur of the place. Beautiful gardens and beautiful antique furniture in common areas. Extremely pleasant and professional staff which is rare these days. Extremely good value and not far from Pompeii or even Sorrento.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is somewhat isolated not being near (walking distance) from much. However, the hotel does have a shuttle and transported us to town to catch the train. The restaurant on site was closed (November) bit there was a decent one across the street (La Brace).

    Very elegant facility with beautiful property and pool. Excellent breakfast buffet on the fourth floor with incredible views of Napoli, Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ...but absolutely no food service. You can find a room-service menu in the room with only snacks but you can not order even these snacks - they have only pizza margherita for you. Two of three days we stayed in the hotel their restaurant didn't work and we had to drive to the town, but if it is hard raining outside and we were with kids... I've eaten pizza marguerita for all my future life! Hotel is very inconveniently situated - no walking, you have to drive anywhere and the town dies in traffic jams, we stucked 4 times in 3 days and 2 of them for 50 minutes. There is no even water in the room, only in minibar and it is not filled every day - you have to ask of it. Alcohol in the minibar is mouldy, some bottles even without labels.

    Beautiful hotel with very nice interriors of local ceramica, very kindly personel but...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was quite expensive and not the quality you would expect in a place like this (and given that it’s Italy). The wine was actually quite bad. Breakfast was ok but not the biggest variety..

    The garden is incredible. The staff was also very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not the best especially for vegeterians.

    Staff are amazing!! Lovely receptionists and driver. Shuttle to get into town was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattresses were extremely firm/hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. This is unusual for a quality hotel like this and we had never experienced mattresses of that design. We also had an issue of calling the hotel to check ahead of time on the taxi fare to the Naples airport and were told then the rate was 1/3 of what it actually turned out to be. That reasonable rate did influence our hotel choice, which was financially unfortunate for us. The hotel was not willing to take any responsibility for this incorrect information provided to us and the cost impact that it had.

    Attractive hotel in a quiet and beautiful setting located in hills above Castellammare di Stabia. The outside gardens are quite beautiful, and very enjoyable to walk around and experience. Very nice location between Pompei and Sorrento. Great restaurant for dinner on site and nice breakfast as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a bit tired! We skipped breakfast and ate in the restaurant twice, food was disappointingly average.

    It's a classic old style hotel. Beautiful gardens, lots of features, easy parking, friendly staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were very comfy with choice of pillows Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice Beautiful gardens Good atmosphere around the pool and the bar Staff were superb, very friendly , especially Carmine and Silvano who looked after us throughout and couldn't do enough for us Reception staff were very polite and welcoming and very informative about things to do and see and restaurants to choose Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows opened at night and water from storm flooded all over our bags. Hotel did nothing to accommodate us. Exercise machines broke and were filthy. Gym had huge box of dirt and turtles that made it stink. Would not return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of a sandwich was too expensive, €13 and €4 for a coffee. Because the hotel is in a remote area, there is very little choice to eat elsewhere for lunch. The area is not suitable for walking, foot paths are in very bad condition and rubbish strew around the area.

    Hotel facilities, Staff were very helpful. The shuttle driver Sylvano was very pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stunning gardens allow you to escape into a private outdoor lounge space.

    A classic old hotel with bags of style and very slick management. Books lying around the lounge and lobby show tge recognition this place has deservedly won. I enjoyed playing the piano in the lounge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room prepared for us didn't look at all like the pictures. No bedside lamps, no plush bedding. considering the price we were expecting more. Completely underwhelmed we expressed our concern and were offered another room (not available through the normal booking process). It didn't have a view. We were also offered the option to move rooms after the first night. We chose to do so and were moved to the 3rd floor. A good resolve but I was very frustrated that it was an issue anyway! The photos on booking should match what the room looks like when you arrive. Furthermore, the bathroom photos available are only for the junior suite. The rest of the rooms have ordinary looking bathrooms. so again the photos don't represent the room you'll actually get. Disappointing really considering how long you spend looking for the right hotel!

    The hotel gardens were lovely and the facilities great. The staff were really helpful and although we had an issue they sorted it as best they could

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is amazing but quite expensive.

    Very nice hotel, a short drive from Pompeii. The hotel has a big outdoor swimming pool and a lovely garden that can be explored during the day and we also had a nice cocktail there in the evening before dinner. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main problem with the hotel was that it did not have any atmosphere. It felt empty and eery most of the time. I was also not a fan of all the heads in the rooms and communal areas. The hotel is also located in what can only be described as a run down town. There is nothing to see or do. I think people use it as a base to visit other places nearby but I would recommend staying in another town. I do not understand why this hotel is rated so highly. Maybe I was missing something but I have definitely stayed in better hotels for the same price elsewhere.

    When we arrived, the hotel looked very grand indeed. The gardens are lovely and the pool area was very nice with comfy sun loungers. Our room had a great view towards the sea and mount Vesuvius. We had a drink at the outdoor bar in the evening and the bar man was very friendly indeed. The free parking was also a bonus in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had a Jacuzzi with a big remote control and all the additional air/water sprinklers. However, when I called to ask how to turn on this Jacuzzi/remote control, the employee was probably to afraid to say that it did not work/is broken. Therefor the consistent and short response was surprisingly ' yes sir, it is not a Jacuzzi, it is just a bath'. I did not expect an Jacuzzi anyway but please just be honest that it is broken ore does not work ore just remove the big remote control attached to avoid these questions. Now I had to explain my very happy girlfriend, who was already sitting in the bath and desperately pushing all remote control bottoms, that it is not a Jacuzzi. Besides this little feedback, it was a great hotel, great dinner and breakfast with a great view.

    It's just very beautiful, friendly people, amazing garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super hard! Breakfast was just ok and the coffee was not great.

    The grounds were spectacular. Cannot say enough about how beautiful the property is. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC in the room was not good, it was too hot to turn it of and too cold to turn it on.

    The bed was really comfortable and the hotel area really nice with the beautiful garden and pool. Nice hotel restaurant and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In the area around the hotel there is literally nothing to recommend to see or spend time there. We reported that the bathroom was dirty - unfortunately, no reaction, the bathroom was not washed throughout all our stay :(

    Very nice view from the window to the Neapolitan bay. Nice breakfast in the rooftop restaurant of the hotel. Pleasant garden and pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car unless you want to be reliant on taxis. The free shuttle bus is only free one way!

    Beautifully appointed. Great views. Lovely pool. Great food but a little pricey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing coffee in room, two single beds together does not make a queen bed and is not comfortable

    Liked the staff at the bar...Vincenzo and Salvatore and the third bar tender whom we can't remember his name were particularly great. The grounds were beautiful. And special request made to the hotel and Giovanni (maitre d'hôtel) made this moment very special

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without google maps it's difficult to find, but who hasn't google maps?

    Pool and marvellous garden. Ideal location for daily trips to Naples, Vesuvio, Pompeji, Amalfi Coast (Sorrento, Ravello etc) . Excellent food in the restaurant of the hotel with a lovely terrace. Rich breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food options was so limited and what was available was very expensive. They had a wedding at night in the garden and it was too load through out the night even despite our windows being closed. The breakfast was so limited and very low quality. The room equipment were so old and outdated and the bathroom was wet when we entered the room (just been cleaned as they had delayed our check in). The bathroom also was very old.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little better in terms of turnaround and hot offerings.

    Staff were amazing. facilities and gardens were beautiful and amazingly kept. A wonderful stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to shuttle back and forth to town.

    If it wasn't for the services we received from Silvano - we would have likely changed the location to be closer and easier to access the sites. Silvano not only did he picked us up and drop us off promptly, he gave us many suggestions on tours and restaurants to eat. He's the best!! The pool and spa staff were also amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I have no complaints

    This is a super friendly hotel that made you feel at home. The beds were comfy and our room was lovely. The pool is big and the gardens are beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food in the restaurant is good but very expensive compared to what you get. we had dinners in the amalfi coast where we got the same quality food but 3 times bigger portions.

    great service from the lobby personnel, beautiful garden and nice pool. also very near to all tourist attractions but yet very quiet place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress like in most hotels in italy are very hard and the pillows can be a lot better; but its pretty much the same story everywhere. Breakfast is enjoyable but of course we are spoiled and would always like to see more of something other than desserts... but I think thats because we are North American and used breakfast being a bigger deal. This hotel in my opinion would benefit greatly from taking its main floor fine dinning resturant which is beautiful from its views to its linens and table ware and making it more natural Italian food - simple and fresh and good because its easy for them to do that...instead of trying to make fancy dishes that were not very good. Simple a great big fresh salad, nice oil, grilled fish, simple pasta etc...

    This hotel has beautiful grounds and very relaxing pool area. The interior and exterior of the hotel is very grand and enjoyable. You visit this hotel for a couple of days to relax if you need a break from all the busy cities of sorrento , capri etc...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is sort of in the middle of nowhere, & the local town isn't great in terms of restaurants/bars etc . Not a problem if you are happy to stay in the hotel, but would definitely need a car if you wanted to get out for a day trip or have dinner somewhere else. Saying that, the hotel did arrange a car to drop/collect us to the local train station to go to Pompeii There was a wedding on in the hotel each of the three nights that we stayed there, not a problem for us but perhaps a bit loud if you had young kids etc.

    Lovely hotel with really unique garden area. Big pool and very helpful staff. The restaurant meals each evening were fantastic with excellent waiting staff. Rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and it was €10 taxi into town.The food was quiet expensive.It was probably a little too far out from the amalfi coast.

    The pool and gardens were lovely.The staff were very friendly and helpfull.The spa is definately worth a try.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is the luxury hotel in the area we found it busy with events during our stay including first communions and weddings. While this didn't bother us during the day when we were out, it often took over the gardens in the evening and we felt underdressed compared to the glamorous guests! It also caused the parking to be overcrowded and we had to leave our keys at reception in case they needed to move the car. While our room was a good size and clean it was close to the stairs and was noisy from 7am with cleaners and people going to breakfast.

    This hotel is like an oasis within the local area and the gardens are beautiful. The proximity to some amazingly preserved villas is really handy and they are well worth a visit. Pompeii was also only a short car journey away and it was nice to return to after a dusty hot day exploring. The breakfast had good choice of cakes and fruit but not much hot food. The hotel provides a bus 3 times a day to take you into town and they advised against walking (a taxi is €10) but we found it an easy 15 minute walk, just don't expect it to be pretty!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave after three nights when there was so much more to see and visit.

    I would travel to Italy just to stay in this hotel. It also provided excellent access to Herculaneum using the local coastal train and the hotel provided a shuttle to the station so stress factors never arose.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little remote and a car is essential. There were some times when we did not want to use our car, and took the Circumvesuviana train instead. We used the hotel shuttle to the station which was excellent but it did not run very often. In that case we had to take a taxi from the train. If you are used to Southern Italian driving and have a very good satnav then driving is OK. As we did not try it, we are not able to comment about parking in Pompeii or Sorrento. The breakfast is on the hotel top floor but we were not able to sit out of doors and the breakfast Maitre D was rather abrupt and unfriendly. It would be nice to sit out especially as the view is directly at Vesuvius.

    The garden is wonderful and eating out every night a delight. Service in the bar in the evening was superb. Hotel front desk staff very helpful, especially Sylvano. Good location for Pompeii, Herculaneum, Sorrento, Capri and Positano. We went to all of them. Wonderful room. Hotel has tiled floors that are very attractive. Pool area is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was absolutely fantastic. We had a great room with an amazing view. The garden was beautiful and we loved the Spa area. Had a massage and a facial treatement which was amazing. The restaurant was excellent and we also enjoyed the cocktails at the bar area. I wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Felt like we were in heaven . Pool relaxing, barman friendly and attentive and breakfast divine along with the waiters. I would recommend this hotel to all couples wishing for luxury and service with a smile 😀😀😀😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was't nice that we had to pay extra for the spa . On dinner table i sent back my food because it was too salty but it was added to bill.

    Building was great. Garden was perfect.Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for food and drink but very good quality so cannot complain

    From the moment we arrived we were greatest with friendly faces. The staff couldn't do enough for us - truly wonderful and a credit to the hotel which is beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless

    Staff could not be more attentive if they tried. Beautiful hotel and perfect location for visiting Pompeii ruins. Highly recommended hotel. Free shuttle service to the station to visit Pompeii. It is really easy to then get a train into Pompeii and back. Staff helped purchase the train tickets which were under €2 each so fantastic value for money. When we were ready to come home we called the hotel, who then arranged a shuttle from the rail station in Pompeii to the station near the hotel. This was €10 as it's out sourced but again fantastic value for money. The hotel food was beautiful and the views also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely thoughtful and gave excellent advice on seeing the local area. They shared timetables for the local trains, buses and ferry services which made getting around easy and affordable. The breakfasts were amazing. They offered an extensive array of fresh fruit, cereal, cakes and pastries, and hot choices. All served on the 4th floor with a wonderful view of the bay of Naples and Vesuvio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in room , but that's nit picking

    A little secluded , but the hotels own excursion manager arranged transport to local places of interest . Hotel provided transport and pickup from Sorrento .. Very easy . Restaurant offered a superb dining experience , wonderful friendly staff everywhere . Seemed very sincere. Would love to go again , the spa massage was one of the best

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like. Only ate an evening meal once in the hotel. The starters and mains were fine but not exceptional. However the desserts were exceptional. Best we had in our 10 day stay in Italy.

    The grounds and gardens were beautiful with a fantastic view across the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The hotel fixture and fittings were very classy and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Run down but safe surrounding outside of the Hotel. You need car or taxi to get out for a dinner. The city (Castellamare di Stabia) is not at all attractive and very chaotic. Really difficult to find the Hotel first time, GPS address (google maps) takes you only nearby.

    Beautiful flourishing, well kept garden. Great view to Mount Vesuvius from partial sea view room. Breakfast room on the top floor with astonishing view on the Bay. Really friendly stuff at the reception. Easy to reach tourist attractions as Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could of included a bit more cooked food like bacon etc but their breakfast was good though.The spa was very expensive.

    Excellent friendly service lovely food and a truly beautiful hotel. All the staff went out their way to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the lack of amenities nearby, which isn't a problem if you drive. Shuttle services were offered by the hotel though which helped (return trips are charged). It would have been nice to have less fancy/more filling options for dinner.

    La Medusa completely lived up to expectations in terms of its beautiful and crisp rooms, classic decor, pool and a nice spa. It however exceeded expectations in terms of the stunning grounds which are maintained to perfection, the breathtaking views and most of all the staff which went over and above to make our stay comfortable. They were truly amazing. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were fabulous - always smiling and incredibly helpful. Our junior suite had a vast terrace with superb views across the hotel's orange grove gardens to the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. We are already working out when we can book again...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room is needed the renovation (especially electricity points, bathroom). SPA center is very small, when we came, there were no free sunbeds. The garden is nice but small. The hotel is located in 15 min by walk from the city center, but you should go along the road (no space for pedestrians).

    A very nice villa, breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant didn't have any daily menus.

    The interior design was amazingly beautiful and also the garden was filled with orange trees. The massage was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our twin beds kept separating at night so we either had to sleep in a single or not cuddle...no fun there! ;-)

    The hotel is an amazing oasis with a fantastic view of Mt Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Breakfasts were outstanding!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard, heating coming on automatically in the middle of the night, shower didn't drain properly in room 208

    Staff, restaurant, gardens, location, decor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful location in the heart of Castellamare di Stabia. Wonderful, beautifully manicured gardens and swimming pool. Very pleasant room with a large terrace overlooking the main entrance gardens of the hotel. We had a very pleasant spa experience as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from town

    The food was excellent and also all the hotel facilities. The only disadvantage is that it is about 15 minute walk in to town. The hotel does have a shuttle bus service at fixed times.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful and the best thing for us were the well kept gardens and all the seating areas within them, to relax and have a drink from the garden bar. Our extra large bed was nicely firm and comfortable. We had a fab view of Mount Vesuvius from our 3rd floor sea view bedroom. The breakfast was great, big selection. They also had soya milk when I asked. The staff were super friendly and helpful. They even provided us with a packed breakfast when we checked out of the hotel in the early morning, which was very kind. The hotel driver and local drivers they use were extremely helpful and great hosts when we booked them for trips. The spa is beautiful and my boyfriend and I enjoyed a manicure together in the lovely spa garden huts. We were very pleased with our nails, thanks to Patricia and Rosa. We liked that the hotel was away from all the hustle and bustle of the tourist towns, but it just meant that you had to get a taxi or train to other nearby attractions. We recommend visiting Villa San Marco which you can walk to from the hotel. It's a Roman villa like the ones in Pompeii but, much bigger and well preserved.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is really bad and the rooms are view-less. Also, the hotel is more for elderly as it is too quiet.

    Elegant boutique hotel "very classic ". The garden and swimming pool area is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    worst hotel we have ever been! dirty,durst, old interior! NEVER AGAIN! Plus weddings all the time in the Hotel garden - but hey customers don't need to sleep not even at 2 in the morning....!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A more down to earth restaurant menu would have made our stay even better.

    The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Sorrento. Very friendly welcome and we found all the staff to be friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are a good size, very clean, with a good shower and comfortable beds. An excellent breakfast was provided, in the top floor restaurant with views across to Vesuvius, with a large selection of fruit, cereals, meats, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, rolls, pastries and cakes. Exceptional gardens with a very comfortable garden bar. An excellent venue for wedding receptions, there were two while we were there, which restricted our access to some areas but we didn’t feel inconvenienced by them (it was interesting to see everyone in their finery). There is a very large swimming pool, with a number of bubble jet locations, and plenty of loungers and sun shades. The restaurant menu looked a bit too cordon bleu for our tastes but there are a couple of restaurant/pizzerias outside within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given the position and rating of the hotel, charging 10 Euro per shuttle to town is excessive, particularly since the website announced a free shuttle service (which is only offered from hotel to train station, and no more than a few times a day). Better suited for travellers by car.

    The Spa, garden, and pool were wonderful, the staff very attentive and considerate. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in a rundown area and it is difficult to walk anywhere from there. You must take a taxi to town about 10 €.

    The gardens and the hotels lobby and restaurants were beautiful, the spa was very nice. It was convenient place to stay to visit Pompeii , Sorrento or Herculeum.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food was not good.the swimming pool was cold..the flat screen tv was about 19 inches and the bathroom small with a shower door that was falling apart.

    the service was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was very average to poor. Breakfast buffet had little selection and lacked fresh ingredients. Ate dinner and lunch at the hotel - dinner was fine nothing exceptional (had the lobster risotto and a pasta dish) but lunch was underwhelming. Chicken was very dry in the salad and tuna over cooked.

    We had booked a sea side view room with balcony but got upgraded to a junior suite with terrace. Beautiful rooms and beautiful hotel grounds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Avoid the restaurant for dinner - it's greatly overpriced and the food is not that much better than you get in the restaurants just along the road

    This is a great hotel to stay in if you are going to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum. It's not easy to find being at the back of the town (just as well since the town itself is pretty grim). The breakfast is good and the gardens beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not unhelpful however they lacked the warmth and friendliness we experienced elsewhere. No hot water for 1.5 days and shower leaked every time we used it.

    Lovely hotel, beautiful gardens, breakfast on the terrace with wonderful views. Try La Brace restaurant across the road - great food at reasonable prices with friendly host.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof over the dining area in the garden leaks in the rain and needs fixing. This forced us indoors during hot days when it rained.

    Very friendly, helpful staff, and beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly a great welcome after a long drive from Puglia , the hotel itself was beautiful and the garden pool and facilities surpassed our expectations . We will definitely return

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing welcome on arrival, really attentive staff, beautiful swimming pool Including jacuzzi, beautiful restaurant and food, wished we stayed longer !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very close to some type of night club as on 3 out of 4 nights there was loud music until 2am

    The hotel is very beautiful with lots of lovely grounds with seating areas dotted around so you never feel on top of people. It has a lovely bar, swimming pool and terrace. it is also very close to the station and a shuttle bus can drop you off within minutes for the train to the main sites and Naples.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very expensive and they didn't have a more informal bar menu for the evening.

    Beautiful hotel and view. Pool and garden area was lovely as was the interior. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    beds: hard and narrow. rooms were small. location was difficult without a car.Hotel meals were expensive.

    Garden, pool, all public areas are sumptuous, elegant and peaceful. Staff are outstandingly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. Wonderful spa, staffed by very nice beauticians, but again very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tab need updating,at the pool chairs top matresses need cleaning daily as they are meant to be white ,breackfast should be more reach in vegetables and fresh fruits and should variate every few days .

    Garden is just heaven.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel set in lovely gardens. It would be the perfect setting for a wedding. As soon as we arrived, the reception staff were warm and friendly - they greeted us and showed us around the hotel and to our room. The service was 5* The rooms are a good size and the overall feel of the hotel is very classy. The restaurant was very good but quite pricey. The drinks were also on the more expensive side but this is to be expected in a hotel like this. I didn't have time to use the spa facilities but they looked great and the additional services they offered were at a reasonable price. The breakfast was great with lots of options. The only thing to note is that the surrounding area of the hotel is not very nice and we found the hotel quite hard to find (we were driving). If you are happy to stay in the hotel grounds and dine there then you won't be disappointed. I would highly recommend this place and hope to return if i am in the area again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's outside the town so if you're not driving then you need to be a little organised to get to the town.

    The food was good especially the evening meals. Staff are friendly and helpful. The garden is beautiful & the views amazing. Walking distance to the best ruins from the 79 AD eruption I've ever seen.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Medusa Hotel & Boutique Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: