Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Majestic 4 stars

Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922 Verbania, Italy

#7 of 19 hotels in Verbania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel and it's atmosphere are simply wonderful. The location and the park are magnificent and incredibly well maintained. Spa treatments with Simona are very recommended.The whole experience was above our expectations: luxurious and relaxing with the very personal touch of a family owned hotel. Thank you Mariaangela for taking so good care of us! We immediately decided upon departure to book another, longer stay in July as we simply didn't want to leave anymore.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean but dated, A/C didn’t work the first night but got fixed The restaurant menu were limited, so was the choice of drinks. The experience was attentive but for a change worth trying German gasthaus restaurant down the road the steaks there were delicious, more choices, yummy chicken wings, big portions, drinks cheaper!! Gym/swimming pool shuts down at 7pm

    Beautiful views overlooking the lake, staff was very friendly, but looked overworked ( I hope the hotel is paying them good money)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Ashtrays on the lower terrace. Telephone in room not working ... was plugged in wrongly.

    I liked the buffet variety breakfast and the very efficient Maitre de. The bed-room was gorgeous and smoking terrace perfect. Decor around the hotel and bed-rooms charming and restful. The evening menu did not provide the Italian experience expected for the region. Where was the lake Trout? Not into Carp I'm afraid. Our Veal escalope was perfect. Walking into the village and church bells were just right for ambience. The ferry services to the Islands and Switzerland were terrific.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old. The rooms style is outdated. The bed sheets are ugly. Problem with that area is transportation. We waited for an hour to get a taxi after midnight.

    Great spot. Breathtaking view. Room was spacious. We enjoyed the breakfast and the garden area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At check-in I was not advised they would charge me an extra 20 euros per night for my son even though he was using the bed already offered in the room we chose. The service left much to be desired despite the classification of this hotel as luxury and the food was served without much flavor and cold. The staff was not overly friendly or accommodating. I was extremely disappointed with the unwillingness of the staff to remedy the issue with the charges due to the "extra" child and the insistence that is for additional "service". There were ants in the bathroom and hours of operation for the spa and pool were very limited.

    It is a beautiful hotel in a lovely town. There is a breathtaking view of the Lake and the grounds are well-maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an expensive hotel we thought it was outrageous to be charged €7 extra if you wanted to have a fried egg, omellette or fresh juice! For a grand 5* hotel the choice of a healthy breakfast was the poorest I have seen in 15 years.

    The position of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-condition did not work- we got an excuse but no compensation or room change :( The fee for our dog (h: 20cm, length 30cm was €20,- which is quite a lot. The breakfast was for Italy okay but not continental as described. The room was very simple.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful in general. The hote has a very nice "old style" chick and the location at the lake is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no food facilities (no room service, no restaurant service, no food at the bar) outside of strict breakfast, lunch and dinner hours. Very inconvenient!

    Helpful staff. Room was good size. Great view from the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a true Horror. As hard as Stone. Get new beds!! It is a shame that th Hotel is taking bus tours now.

    We had a Corner delux room on the 4th floor with balcony overlooking the lake. Just beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a Junior suite we would have expected tea & coffee making facilities. The a/c had an annoying habit of turning off during the night that we presume was being controlled centrally.

    Overall the hotel was excellent with very accommodating staff. Great location with good choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water sports is missing, no canoe or stand up paddles available.

    Splendid Indoor Pool, very nice and very friendly pool & spa service staff. Phantastic garden and terrace bar. Maisonette rooms recommended for perfect Lake view!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar could stay open a bit longer, as it closes around 11pm.

    Fantastic Manager! Individual approach, almost personal, each guest could easily feel as the most important one, and still feel that comfort of being in the right place, where friendliness meets professionalism. Grazie mille!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi and TV, but is doesn`t really matter. In a place like this a good book is all you need.

    This is a truly extraordinary and wonderful hotel. A grand hotel from the old days, with plenty of space both in- and outdoors. The hotel is located directly on the lake with a big garden and a nice swimming pool. All in a very stylish and comfortable setting. Staff in all sections are very friendly and professional. If you are looking for a peaceful comfortable hotel in old style this is the place. The hotel is also very well maintained and very clean. Will be back for sure. Thank you for a very nice stay!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Old world luxury and charm, with glorious facilities and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for quality of rooms

    Swimming pool was very nice, good service overall, really good view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Beautiful hotel with beautiful views, excellent service and a great restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi patchy in rooms. Better in the lobby though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby rooms, overpriced!

    Strange feeling! The property is took old and rooms are really shabby and all needs renovation!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a little old and food is just about ok

    Great garden, pool and outside area including terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of drinks including tea very expensive and stopped us using the bar after one visit

    Very clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no access to the pool from inside the hotel. Not good on a cold and wet day.

    Really loved the position and views, as well as the cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel. Breakfasts were particularly tasty.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oldish hotel, modest breakfast (maybe due to the low season), not all rooms are the same and some are more worn out than others. The first room we checked into was not properly cleaned, yet the hotel staff kindly agreed to change it for us.

    Very well situated, very friendly reception personnel, fantastic view from the swimming pool, great gym and swimming pool facilities, charming used-to-be-grand hotel for those who do not mind the hotel carrying the "dust of the past". Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Go for the lake view rooms, they are much better

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well placed for sightseeing, friendly staff both in hotel and restaurant. Food good but choice limited. Breakfast good plenty of choice. Upgraded room very satisfactory.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the fact that you need to take the car to get to Intra. I would have loved to ride a bike to Intra.

    The building, decoration, lake view, the staff. Very pleasant hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The hotel is ideally located On the shore of Lake Maggiore. Beautiful garden going down to the lake. Amazing view. Great restaurant. Professional staff, with a special mention to the Maitre d'hotel and the head wine waiter.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The aircon needs to be better/more effective

    Although we didn't use them due to our brief stay, the facilities looked excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A room with a balcony and a splendid view across the lake, what more could you wish for!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NONE

    This is a very beautiful luxury hotel . A TREAT TO STAY THERE

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing

    The view from the Terrace was lovely

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was uncomfortable! Breakfast a bit poor.

    The atmosphere Garden& terasse

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: