Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4 stars

Lungarno del Tempio 44, Lungarno del Tempio, 50122 Florence, Italy

#258 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1238 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the room and the air conditioning was not the best (although we were staying in June) As we were only here for 2 nights to make it easier for the airport, it wasn’t a big deal. Could be signed better from the street, we missed it a couple of times as it is just a doorway.

    It was a 10 minute walk from the station and an easy walk across the bridge to the main sights and shopping area. Food good at breakfast and extremely comfortable beds.. staff welcoming but speak little English, but not really an issue for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast quality could be better. I had reserved a modern room but I had to stay in an old one for the first night. ( the suit had only a shower and little facilities in comparison to the modern one.)

    The modern suites are super comfortable with great daylight. I loved the bath tub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I didn't not get the same room I booked on the booking.com website. I had to change my room 3 times and still didn't get what I paid for. I asked for a discount and they gave me 1 night for free, but still I was disappointed.

    All Staff were friendly and very helpful and everything was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked this hotel because the hotel listed with AC. NO AC when arrived because they turned everything off, said they management turned off AC for the cooler days. Slept in the room with tempature in the 90F not to mention the mesquitos problem. Had to fight with them to get AC turned on the following days. Also, door keys never worked. Definitely not returning here nor suggesting this place to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was infested with mosquitos, killed about 45 one night and the room was reinfected by morning. We were eaten alive! Room was dated, hot and dangerously high step to get out of the shower causing my husband to fall on the marble floor. Room location stunk, located on Meeting level. Free breakfast was average and when we reported the misquito situation at check out was told by the front desk clerk “that’s Florence”! Really!!!! Do yourself a favor and find a different hotel!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Futher location to main city area than I expected No stroller available to rent at the reception as we were able to do at other hotels (eg hilton in Venice)

    View and friendly service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room New Style
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial invoicing could have been better, I almost get the room one night less than booked! Expensive if you do not compare websites

    Breakfast was very good and the triple room was espacious. Beds were very comfortable. They helped me immediately when I requested it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have only one complaint regarding the breakfast, which although was decently various, the gluten-free options were not of very good quality (very crumbly and tasteless). We had breakfast for one morning only (out of 3) and decided to eat out for the rest of our stay, and found better options.

    The location is good, surrounded by public transportation stops (and even at a 15 minutes walk to the train station). Staff was polite and willing to help - booked us a taxi upon leaving which took exactly 1.5 minutes to arrive! The room was very nice, big and very comfortable bed. We even had a surprising window view of the Cupola (HOW COOL IS THAT?). We really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too far from the reception and the neighborhood wasn't calm even if we were at the end of the hall and hotel was also too far to access by walk from Firenze Santa Maria Novela.

    Breakfast was good and cleanliness was fair

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was top small as seen in photos. The breakfast needs more items except for eggs and bacon. The elevator badly needs an upgrade, too slow and small. Front office staff needs more welcoming tone towards guest.

    The location of the hotel was very close to main attractions of the city but far from the Firenze train station. Coffee at the bar was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a HUGE group of school children "on the lose" occupying the lobby. They might have been more contained

    Excellent position. Easy to reach by car and nevertheless walking distance from the city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was expensive, considering the room quality. Hotel Parking was terrible, too narrow to park the car, many scratchs added on the car when check out, then 20 euro per night. On the street is much better.

    Breakfast was good, and the staff provided good service and friendly for kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room mini bar was not cold, No kettle in room. Bed was a bit hard and pillows were also quite flat.

    Stayed in quad room for 4 nights. Location was good and easy to get to main attractions. Breakfast was superb with excellent service staff. Staff were generally very friendly and polite. Has own secured parking which was a good plus for us. Some nice dinning spots (we found on google) near by; felt safe walking around even after dinner back to hotel. Easy drives to Pisa & outlet shopping (the Mall) for our day excursions too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not knowing whether the hotel could, or could not, keep my car on site.

    In my booking notes I had asked for a car parking space, along with double room and twin room. Upon arriving I was told there was no parking and this was a big problem, and both rooms were made up as doubles. To be fair the rooms were sorted immediately. And the parking eventually provided. It was a shame that the hotel could not have been more helpful at checkin, i.e. state that whilst they did not know we needed a car space (despite it in writing on our booking), that they would help us, instead they left us wondering for our entire stay whether we would need to move the car and find street parking - not easy in an Italian city! There was actually plenty of space and the garage manager kept our keys and moved the car when required.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position of the hotel was fabulous. It is the best four star we have stayed in in Europe. The rooms are small but well appointed. The bed was amazing. The breakfast offered a huge variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even we had a reseration at the hotel, they told us that they have no available rooms and having big problems with booking system. After hours drive to get Florence, we were refused by the hotel and unfortunately we had to try to find an other opportunity... it was a huge disappointment...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Too far from centre. Restaurant was poor. At 9.15 bread finished they said. Was twice a lie. Restaurant cleanliness poor. Quality of dinner : snackbar level. The restaurant besides the hotel "Trattoria Moderna" is far better. Rooms super small. No paper tisseus, no replacement of used vanity sets. Safe too small for any laptop. Hair dryer stopped after two minutes working. So called gluten free corner: 3 different sweet cakes which you have to ask for every time. A well-meaning advice to the management of this Euro 240 - 300 per night per room 4*hotel, you should : 1) stop with the "penny wise pound foolish policy" and 2) book a night in the 5* Hilton Hotel in Vienna (Euro 230 per night for a double room with king size bed) and have a dinner in the restauarant and breakfast next morning and compare both hotels.

    Bed was comfortable. Cleaning in the room and parking facilities were OK. American bar facility was good and open all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if there was someone who can help with luggage as you need to go up the stairs to the entrance of the hotel.We had a massive luggage then as we were travelling from one country to another.But otherwise all in all is good..

    I love the hotel itself,it was grand and good value for money despite it was rated as 4 star.Room is big & the bathroom is big enough.Very clean and the facade of the hotel is very nice.Breakfast with a good variety of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really bad also the dinner in the evening was bad it all tasted of salt and was nearly un-eatable. The waiters in the reataurants didnt know the word service and we felt not welcome at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is not great, not close enough to central area to walk. Wi-fi is really not good.

    free continental breakfast was nice, hotel was nice, room size is decent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel doesn't have elevator from car parking to hotel so you have to carry your baggage. And i would prefer to keep my car keys with me.

    Walking distance to city center, approx. 10-15 minutes. Clear room with private balcony. Good breakfast. Safety garage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was about 15-20min to city center and airport which was accessible by taxi or bus. Our Classic room was very small for two adults and child. The AC in the hallways was not working at time of check-in (August) and the elevators are tiny and slow if you have large luggage or a large party. We were on the 6th floor so we waited frequently for an elevator which was accessible on the 5th floor with stairs or one small elevator from the 6th.

    The complimentary breakfast was varied which included bacon, eggs, hard boiled eggs, veggies, an assortment of yogurts and sweets, pastries, freshly baked breads, a self-service pancake maker, espresso machine, cold cuts and cheeses, fresh fruits and juices and cereals. There was also a few restaurants within walking distance near the river and one next door (but closed on Sundays and Mondays during summer)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel parking is paid at 20E per night. Mosquitoes in the rooms. Not enough power sockets, especially if you're a couple and want to charge laptop, phones, camera. Breakfast (especially fresh fruit selection) could be improved.

    Large and well organized hotel. Nice location, yet outside the limited traffic (ZTL) zone, so you can reach it easily by car. There was power outage on our floor, yet they managed to fix it quite fast. Balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were rude and unhelpful. Car park attendant was despicable in his behaviour and incredibly rude. I would not like to deal with the staff at this hotel again.

    Lovely hotel but awful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 5 nights and had a quiet room with a balcony (room 154) in the South Wing which is near the conference rooms. The bathroom was modern and clean and supplied with complimentary personal products. The included breakfast was very good with a good variety on offer. The staff were very friendly and obliging to requests. It is a large hotel that has many bus tour stopovers but it wasn't an issue. This hotel is very good if you have a car as there is a garage or plenty of street parking nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some places seem old. The lift to the 6th floor is old, too slow, little and a bit creepy.

    Great hotel, great room, nice staff and good breakfast. A lot of amenities at the room and very confortable beds and pillows. Lication is good, around 15 minute walk from city center. Our room gave a terrace and great views of the city and river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room my husband and I were in was very small. The shower was so tiny we could hardly turn around. My kids were in the triple room so it was significantly larger and had a nicer shower. The elevator to our floor was ridiculously small. Although the hotel is on the river there is really not a lot of restaurants etc. close by. Had to walk more into the city center to find restaurants and it is about a 15 minute walk.

    The location was nice as it was on the river. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a little uptight did not talk much Customer service was not there strong point But they did their job.

    It is a very clean hotel our room was cleaned daily had a great time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel interior is very good, we have placed in South Wing which was not so comfortable to access but room was good so we were happy. Staff is very courteous and helping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regular restaurant had tbone, but very tough to eat. Elevator to our top floor wasn't reliable.

    Nice spot to relax after exploring Florence. Good bar and eats at cafe. Parking garage. Easy to get taxi or driver.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple bedrooms too small. Breakfast and claning staff lovely but concierge staff not very friendly or helpful. We were going to a wedding with multiple suits and dresses but the hotel apparently had no iron we could borrow. Wanted us to pay to have each piece ironed which was very expensive. Also were unable to help us order a taxi from another locatio back to the hotel.

    Breakfast very good, great choice and quality. Foyer very luxuorious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too many mosquitos...but this is not a problem of the hotel, but of the river.... Maybe having some mosquito repellent devices in the rooms would be nice.

    Very nice location, exactly at the edge of the old city. Easy to walk to the center of Florence. Very friendly staff, very nice restaurants and place to enjoy a coffee or a beer in the evening. And with a nice smoking area outside (...for those who smoke...:-). The breakfast was also nice. Overall I would recommend the hotel and I would certainly consider this for my next visit to this beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit away from city center. Would have preferred coffee maker in the room for early morning coffee/tea.

    Very clean and neat. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast choice. Located right across river. Ideal for morning walk and views of bridges and Michael Angelo Square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is served from 6.30 to 10, I would have liked a bit later.

    Very comfy bed, the room was very clean and great breakfast. The staff was kind and helpful. I went to a gig at Obi Hall and the location was perfect, the bus stop is 2 or 3 blocks from the hotel, you can get n. 14 for and from Santa Maria Novella train station. Check out is at 12, late enough for taking your time in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No gym, pool or spa.

    Good value for money. Comfortable beds. There are a few types of rooms for the same price, smaller and larger, so make sure you ask for the larger rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot - no aircon. Staff Had to get managements approval for turning on air conditioning. And there was no follow up on the answer. Staff unfriendly Bathroom was too small for a couple. Room should be reserved only for single travellers.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from Florence centre and no restaurants or bars nearby? Had to eat at hotel each night which was ok. Unfortunately the room also overlooked a dual carriageway which was extremely busy much of the time and noisy.

    Lovely room overlooking the river Arno. Excellent staff service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very low quality breakfast for a 4 star hotel and not worth EUR 20 per day per person: For example eggs are made from powder, no fresh vegetables (except beans and hot tomatoes)

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like the room service because it never turned up after 2 phone calls . Our son went to sleep with no dinner. There was no milk for tea or coffee and on requst we were asked to pay 5euro for it to be delivered.

    We loved the comfort of the beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is far from the airport. The wifi is slow/ non existent in some rooms. Air conditioning didnt work. It is controlled by the hotel despite the dials in the rooms

    Decent hotel in a good location to explore the city. Breakfast had a pretty good variety

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was more than 20 euro higher than confirmed during booking. First got different room not what booked, had to complain and ask for different one.

    Proximity to centre. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited mid April. It was hot and the hotel had NO AIR CON in the rooms the all. The hotel is on an extremely busy road, day or night. We were first put to a room at the front of the hotel and with the windows open the noise was really quite bad. But we had to have the window open as it was so hot to sleep. We were advised the same night that they could do nothing bout it and air con isn't working till my or something like that. So we got no sleep the first night. The second day we complained and were moved to a 'back of the hotel' room which wasn't any better. It was still hot and we couldn't sleep the second night because of that and the noise from the street. We absolutely hated it. We asked for a fan but they didn't have any. So our stay involved little sleep because of the noise and heat. We ended up having to went out tshirts and sleep like that to cool off, so that the window could remain closed... will not come back. The staff weren't sympathetic about this at all.

    We liked the bed and the breakfast, as well as the location in terms of getting to the old town and station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just okay. Our room (and the wing it was in) had just been renovated. TV didn't work (they comped our parking) and shower door was off the rails. No "do not disturb/make up room" signs. Little things had not been finished.

    The staff was terrific! The location is just east and across the river from Piazze di Michelangelo (very good!). In house restaurant was quite good for dinner and it's within easy walking distance of many GREAT restaurants. If you're driving, parking is onsite, but make a reservation to be sure you get a spot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have had a booking at Grand Hotel Mediterraneo on Saturday night and stayed in room 98 and for the one night stay i have paid 162 pounds. I must say, i have not enjoyed the stay at all. The room was cold to begin with despite the air condition was set to Highest at 30. The beds were really uncomfortable and hard. Finally the breakfast was really poorly (there were no cucumbers or tomatoes, lack of hot breakfast served eg. no sausages etc). I must express that i am really disappointed with my stay and feel that the money i have paid does not worth the value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift to the 6th floor which was very slow, also it was constantly used by workers carrying out refurbishment work on the 5th floor (we had not been informed of this).

    The bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather in Florence :) Actually my room was quite small and if I had to stay longer it wouldn't be very comfortable. Terrace, bathroom and room almost equal size.

    Everything was clean and tidy, the staff was very polite, although except reception they do not speak very good English, but Italian is a great language. The breakfast was rich and tasty. Wi-Fi was perfect on the first floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff take us to long caridor when we ask them to near room to change it / they give us a poor room ! Standard / its a different room not nice at all / then we stay in our room / we find a shortcut from thr back elevator and back stair .. But the stuff they didnt show us

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    told that upon arrival we would not have to change rooms when our tour group arrived in two days. this was not the case and to make matters worse the second room wasn't ready when we were(11;30 am) and we had to wait a hour for it to be cleaned. normally it wouldn't be a big deal but my wife was not feeling well and this was a big inconvenience to pick up and move.

    food at bar was very good and cleaning people could not have been better.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not located in city center quite a walk Facilities are worn out : plug, hair dryer Key was not work and should go back to reception Staff are not friendly

    Everything are just average

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's location is quite far from the downtown and most of the historic places.

    Our room was nice with modern furnitures and a great bathroom. Front desk staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from everything and over priced. For not being located in the center or close to the main attractions, the price should be way less.

    Clean and spacious ,the breakfast is also good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bathroom is tiny, the hotel is not very close to Ponte Vecchio, so I would reccommend to stay closer to it as in the district where the hotel is located, there's nothing to do.

    A breakfast, a view from the window was good. The hotel is clean and not far from a railway station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the gentleman on the reception as I made my booking for double bed and requested a balcony when I came there I have to pay 30€more and he wants 20€if I check out after 12 noon though I see meny people check out 1:30pm and no charge it was very disappointed

    I like the hotel because I was there with family on Aguset

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito bites in room in November. How is that possible??? Bites to face and body. Very very poor soundproofing of the room. Could hear every conversation nearby. We hardly got any sleep for 2 days We were locked out of our room on last day requested twice for someone to come. No one did. In the end we got a maid to let us in luckily although age was cursing as she did. Eco friendly. I don't want to pay for a hotel and then because the hotel is going eco friendly the products are sub standard. The bathroom smelt of cardboard. I like the concept of eco friendly but not for paying guests.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay in beautiful Florence! Hotel was really close to the center so we could just do our sightseeing all walking! Breakfast was rich and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a good place to stay. Nothing really special but friendly staff and a clean room for a good place considering that hotels in Florence are quite expensive. Not located directly in the city center but ok. Around 20 min walk to duomo. Good breakfast for an Italian hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great if the windows had screens on them. There were many mosquitoes in the room at night. I left with many bites. I thought the price of the hotel was a little steep.

    The location was fantastic and the bed was super-comfy. It was nice to have patio doors to open at night because the hotel/rooms were quite hot. I was at a conference and everything was so efficiently looked after - check out, lines at buffet, etc. The conference lunches were incredibly good - healthy, a great variety of dishes and ample food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was overlooked by a balcony which meant that we could see the people using it and that they could see right into our room. We had to keep the windows and curtains closed at all times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a long way to and from the wing to reception area - two lifts needed. Location is in fact a long walk - 30 minutes at good pace on cobbles to Ponte Vecchio bridge. The room was smaller and limited for a longer stay. Very limited hanging (not even length of a jacket let alone a dress) space. Sound proofing not to good between rooms. Very high toilet for average height person. No draws for underwear. Tissues /toilet paper recycled brown ... not good quality! Plastic cups for water and juices in a 4 star !! The coffee was terrible - burnt always! One breakfast staff member was rude (an exception) and unhelpful. Taxi 15 Euro one way to Ponte Vecchio.

    Front of house was well laid out and clean. Buffet was a good range. Reception toilets clean, light and bright with white tissue and toilet paper. Reception bar area pleasant but you were however obliged to buy a drink not just sit and talk. Car Parking good and sensible rates.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. You can hear everyone and everything. If you use their garage you need to give them key so when you want to take YOUR car you need to ask the for the key,if the garage is open, because they have working hours.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the South Wing - not refurbished so old and not pleasant. Soundproofing is very bad as we could actually hear everything from the next room. As big hotel guests are from everywhere but there were many Asian groups - noisy and not pleasant as well as people with pets.

    Relatively close to the center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine in the breakfast room could have been a bit more efficient.

    Carlo served us during our 3 night stay and was exceptional in the bar lounge. He was a very kind man and we enjoyed our chats with him. We wish him all the very best wishes and will remember him for his excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking... They asked for our car keys, but they did not guarantee about the things left in the car, and you can't get the car key if you don't pay the room....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more coat hangers however they were given when asked for. Also shelf space for clothes lacking. No extractor fan for bathroom in new block which is surprising.

    Good variety food available at breakfast. Clean and modern rooms. Clean towels daily. All staff polite and friendly. Staff very helpful at front desk. General Hotel appearence excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged my credit card for all four rooms we booked & then took payment off all four of us on departure.I had to spend a hour on the phone to my credit card company and the hotel on international mobile phone calls from the next nights hotel to sort out 😠😠😠

    10/15 minute walk from centre of Florence but not a problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room photo and the reality was different. It looked outdated. Bed of our child was broken. Sometimes we have problem with english on the other side (in garage, during eating with waiter). Wi-fi didn't work.

    Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the male staff at the front office has no knowledge of hospitality , but the ladies were amazing they need to teach the guy how to speak to guest .

    The location of the hotel is so good .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms 3 times. First one very noisy and vibrating from outside work all day and early evening. Second no electric and lock didn't work. Very busy hotel with constant tour groups arriving and leaving. Had to sit in upper floor for breakfast but only a few bottles of water available which were not chilled. Had to go downstairs to get food and drinks and carry back upstairs.

    Excellent location near to main sites of interest

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise in the hallways during the night.

    Eggs were fine. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would personally not stay here again as a couple or individual as it was FULL of tour groups arriving at all hours which made the lobby and exterior feel crowded and chaotic. The breakfast could also have been better and there was only one tiny lift to the first floor which meant moving cases round was tricky.

    The staff were really helpful/ efficient and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was at first dinner we weren't t given dessert menu and given choice ,verbally of 3 sweets then found other couples had something completely different! Dessert was tiny too!

    Room with balcony over looking greenery was good plus ensuite.A little out of main town suited us as it was quiet with views over the river. Breakfast excellent ,many choices and even a honeycomb! Dinner choices restricted but very nicely cooked male staff in particular smiley and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi unreliable. Location a little too far out of the old city centre for our joint 154 years. Info on local bus services would have been a boon.

    Buffet breakfasts. Very friendly bar staff. Balcony with view over the Arno. Associated Bistro Outside, great food, super staff. Firework display on 24/06 for San Giovanni coincided with our 50th wedding anniversary, just lucky we guess!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well situated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air Condition worked like an old farm tractor. Couldn't sleep so had to turn off and deal with the romantic Tuscany mosquitoes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As i am no so mobile, staff was very helpfull in assisting me. Good room and facilities. Car parking on premises was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: