Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Minerva This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#14 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1358 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our rooms were on the small side, but such is life in a city hotel. There were good storage options to make the most of the available space.

    This hotel was wonderful! Modern, stylish, clean, comfortable and in a perfect location to explore the beautiful city of Florence. It’s on a lovely piazza where there’s shops, restaurants, bars, and gelato. Breakfast every morning was fantastic. We very much enjoyed the roof top bar and pool. Views of the city from there were breathtaking. If I’m lucky enough to return to Florence someday this is where I will stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located in a beautiful Piazza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool staff could have been more attentive and willing to help.

    Centrally located in a beautiful Piazza. Hotel was beautiful and clean and breakfast was plentiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived after 1PM at the pool it was messy (towels, bottles and half empty plates around). It was too cold in the breakfast room.

    Our room was amazing, great bar and pool on the rooftop! The breakfast buffet was very variously.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Would def recommend a stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was totally greater than we expected.. amazing. Service was always polite attentive and accomodating. Fantastic location central to everything. Easy walk to restaurants and all sight seeing. Rooms are well set out and very clean will all needs catered for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in beautiful hotel with THE best rooftop terrace and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that we could say we didn't like to be honest, there was only a couple of things that we remarked on... nothing negative necessarily, but things like the bedside table was just that, a glass table, so no drawers. We were there for 4 nights and whilst an open plan wardrobe style unit, no drawers to decant your clothes into. We asked for use of an iron but were told they didn't have any and that if you wanted anything ironed housekeeping would do it at half the cost of laundry services - having travelled on 2 flights to get to Florence we had quite a few clothes needing ironed, so I ended up using my hotbrush which was pretty effective as a makeshift iron! Of an evening at the pool top bar, there is a set 20E cost for a drink between 7 and 9pm, which entitles you to any drink plus you get some nibbles which are all very nice, but extremely expensive. I understand this for external guests but think it's a bit excessive for hotel guests. There is also we understand, a hot tub/spa at the hotel, but to use it costs 100E for an hour for 4 people, again this appears excessive - funnily enough we didn't use it! However overall, this is a lovely hotel and a very good 4 star in THE best spot in Florence close to everything so didn't disappoint. We would definitely return and recommend and think this is a fair review.

    This is a beautiful hotel which has recently been refurbished. The reception and lounge areas are gorgeous, comfortable and welcoming. The views from the roof terrace would be hard to beat and the breakfasts are superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location, spotless rooms and bathrooms newly made over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy aircon. No 24 hour room service. Amplified evening busking and undocumented migrant gatherings in the square outside post midnight.

    The decor and bathrooms and view after moving from a room that had intermittent thermostat buzz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful staff on the pool roof top & the hotel is so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed to find no fresh orange juice for breakfast just sugary gloopy syrup and then it’s an extra €4 charge for a glass of fresh juice. Bit of a let down for such a hotel. The fruit selection and hot food was not great also.

    Wonderful staff on the pool roof top & the hotel is so so clean and central. Wonderful views and lots of photo opportunity’s just above SantaMariaNovella.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, stylish hotel, generally good service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Levels of comfort and service are good but not so good as to justify the >5* price - in particular waiter service in rooftop bar was lacklustre - twice had to go and order drinks from bar due to inattention - and we were misinformed by staff about galleria ticket office opening times - “suite” was a bit cramped split level with bathroom upstairs bed downstairs making going to bathroom at night a hazardous endeavour! Overall good hotel but overpriced for what it was.

    Great location, stylish hotel, generally good service, comfortable clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Roof With A View in Beautiful Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was a fabulous hotel in a brilliant location with terrific staff. Close enough to all of the classic attractions of Florence to walk everywhere but far enough away to not feel how intense and crowded and exhausting this city can be. Incredible rooftop terrace and swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.9
    Pay extra for square facing room or don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you don’t opt for a square facing room it is not worth the rate (lots of cheaper options available). Also the pool is small and having paid extra for it felt I was able to use it as all loungers etc too busy.

    Location is excellent and the communal areas are all very opulent. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Fabulous Property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location! Staff was amazing! Entire property was well maintained and very clean!

    We absolutely loved this property - the staff, room, pool terrace, breakfast buffet and location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    The location is amazing and the rooms have so much space!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the breakfast there was service personal missing, you have to chase them to get your right coffee in the morning

    The location is amazing and the rooms have so much space! The breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    I will be backed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Don't like the room window view and air condition, the curtain is blocking the air-con and lack of privacy. Don't like the breakfast for 7 days stayed with no changes, not even offer a fried-egg. This is the most common in every hotel in the world. Hope to see if there's an improvement.

    The staffs are all great : )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Delightful city break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting to the hotel by car using our GPS was challenging as the city center has restricted access to cars and the hotel is on a pedestrianised square, but when we followed the instructions on the hotel website it worked perfectly. The car was parked in a nearby garage for a reasonable fee and brought to us at the end of our stay, so our initial frustration with the access was shortlived.

    The perfect place to enjoy this beautiful city. Great location and facilities and the helpful, professional staff made us feel very welcome (including our small dog). Rodolfo at the front desk was particularly helpful in giving us recommendations, answering our questions and helping us with bookings. Our family room was very comfortable with a balcony and a lovely city view. It had a kettle for tea and coffee and had good air conditioning. Breakfast was a delight with a great choice of food and good service. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the drinks served in the bar/lounge and the light meal on the ground floor terrace. The rooftop terrace and pool are fabulous, although the many non-guests using it for photo opportunities could make it crowded in the summer. Very central location close to the main sights, shopping and the Santa Maria Novella train station, but the square in front of the hotel and the rootop terrace provide a feeling of space. We’ll definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel with perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a junior suite and it was surprisingly small and no view.

    We loved the pool on the roof and also the veranda on the piazza. Perfect service and fantastic drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    10
    One of best spot in Florence.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a big issue with WiFi. Not worth at all the place. A big improvement needs to be done in that area. But they say they’re working on it. Can’t wait to be back and experience a good connection 👍🏻

    One of best spot in Florence. Amazing staff and a very tasteful place. Great breakfast, dining there is an experience with the young extremely talented chef. Our favorite spot in Florence.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    The location is very central and the hotel has a garage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is very central and the hotel has a garage service for cars. The staff is excellent, helpful and friendly. The rooms are big enoıgh amd very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    excellent stay. Would've been better if we could adjust the room temperature to our liking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room temperature was too high in the night that we had to keep our windows open. When we mentioned this to the receptionist at the time of our checkout she said that 90% of the guests complain that the temperature is too cold. This obviously means that there is an issue with the air conditioning/heating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    more than excellent and excellent arrangments for pet sitting
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing the only problem was that i am not able to take my dog to the restaurant for breakfast so I had to skip breakfast at the hotel and have it outside

    the room and the view and the acceptance of my dog

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.2
    Surprised to find the hotel restaurant was excellent- one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Surprised to find the hotel restaurant was excellent- one of the very best we experience in a week at Florence. Also, staff/service first class. Great great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The two room studio was not really a studio but nice room with mezzanine. WC on floor was not most convenient. Otherwise excellent location and hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    TWO Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (4Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually, the Hotel is great in all its aspects... service, staff, cleanliness,breakfast, bar etc... the location was just right opening upon the Piazza.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel, highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was terrific.

    This hotel is amazing: location, staff, beauty, food, cleanliness. Wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect location and beautiful hotel to match a beautiful city. Would love to return. Very close to Firenze SMN station, market, Duomo, grocery store, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay I am definitely recommending this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing missing was a fitness centrer but for only those that need one!

    Amazing breakfast, the location was in the center of Florence only few minutes walk from the Arno river, Uffizi Galeria and Duomo. The rooms where clean and spacious. The stuff very helpful and responsive and the design of the hotel was a 10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is 5 min away from the train station which was really convenient. The room was spacious and very clean. Very nice hotel and good value for money in my opinion.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location. Nice and fresh and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar was poorly staffed (in the later evening) so long wait to get served and again for a second drink - I had to seek out a member of staff to get the bill. Expect better when drinks are hotel prices.

    Great location for Florence sightseeing. Friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was quite good but no jam/preserves for bread/croissants (maybe an Italian thing).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    A wonderful surprise. I look forward to bringing my wife and family.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sinceremente fatico a criticare quest'albergo. É stata una vera sorpresa.

    Check-In ALESSIA & Co. (100/100) Colazione ELENA & Co. (100/100)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    I was told might be arranged early check-in 2 hours as my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in Winter season, only can request for fan. Not recommend to open window as there're mosquitoes and insects. More flexibility in check-in time would be much better.

    I was told might be arranged early check-in 2 hours as my arrival time was around 12:00, but when i got there, no room was available so i had to go out for lunch and came back to check-in again at 2:00pm... However, when i check-in, got upgraded to romance room with bathtub! So all the annoyings were paid off.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.6
    I had an excellent time at Grand Hotel Minerva, the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an excellent time at Grand Hotel Minerva, the hotel is really well located in the main piazza next to the train station. It's a couple of mins away from anything you need to see in town! The staff is amazingly helpful, spoke really perfect english and we even had a room upgrade which was definitely a plus! Included breakfast is a very nice buffet. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.0
    Generally good apart from the dinner booking and wait on arrival at reception.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived in the evening & waited over 5 minutes at reception before a second person came out to get us checked in. We had booked dinner in the hotel restaurant but this information wasn't passed on from reception to the restaurant. As it was Valentines Day & very busy a table was made up in the corridor/ lounge bar area; disappointing. Breakfast was poor in comparison to other hotels of this rating. Lack of selection of fresh fruit.

    Comfortable beds & spotlessly clean accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully presented room coupled with a great team and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Right from arrival we were treated well and got a beautiful room, it was our best hotel experience of the 20 that we stayed in. The bed is perfect, the location amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I could find (and I have searched) .... Ohh maybe one thing:)))) the TV remote (fancy one) had a battery cover that sometimes won't stay in its place :)))

    Exceptional 5 star quality hotel! Everything was on an unimaginable level. Extremly clean. Very nice design of room and bathroom. Extraordinary restaurant. Very nice receptionists and waiters. Excellent breakfast, but fabulous restaurant for evenings. Every facility works as expected. This is not 4 star quality! It's clearly more. Book with confidence. I have never appreciated a hotel like this... Ever! The reality was much better than the photos on booking!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    We were treated very well here and were quite comfortable in our modern suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We traveled in the winter and they upgraded us so that we had what is likely a suite, a bedroom and then a living room. It felt quite grand since we are used to the small rooms of Europe. The location was easy for train access and close to everything (it is Firenze so you can expect easy access everywhere) and you can tell its been updated. Leonardo at the desk made our dinner reservation and suggested other options for dining. There was nothing we didn't like about this location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was terrific! Lot of different things. But what surprised me the most was the people who worked there, especially the receptionists, who helped a lot to book restaurants and museums for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    The hotel was very clean located near every place, stuff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very clean located near every place, stuff was very friendly. The hotel made our stay in florence much better. We enjoyed the city and the hotel a lot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    when we arrived, bathroom window cannot be closed and we moved to the other room.Room can be warmer.

    staff , breakfast offer, property is well maintained, great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.6
    Short and sweet. Highly enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not many choice for asians. Wifi was slow in room.

    Location was perfect. Hotel looks recently renovated, very luxurious, clean and up to date with technology.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Made my stay in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't fault the hotel, only thing confusing was there was a lot of light switches and not all of them seemed to work. It was sometimes hard to figure out which lights were controlled by which switches. Also- room seemed quite warm even though we tried to turn down the thermostat, but it didn't seem to make a big difference. But we were able to open a window and that made it ok (particularly as we travelled in winter).

    Absolutely loved our stay here! The hotel is very beautiful, and the rooms and overall decor look clean and modern. It's rated 4 star but I would be happy to say it felt like 5 star. It was only a 5 - 10 min walk from the main sites as well as super close to the train station so that you can easily get in from other cities in Italy. I liked the little things; like having two luggage racks (instead of 1), plenty of space around the room, complimentary tea/coffee/water, decent sized bathroom, a turn down service... The service was fantastic, eager to help, always easy to find someone around. When my friend and I were sitting in the lobby for a chat, I also liked how a staff member came up to offer us a drink. It wasn't my first time in Florence, but this hotel completely made my stay this time around!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.6
    What a great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a great little hotel. Service could not be faulted. Excellent value for money. Fabulous breakfast. Neat clean and tidy rooms. Very happy. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent location for all sights safe area for solo travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location for all sights safe area for solo travel room was comfortable relaxing decor quiet good comfortable beds excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There seemed to be a bit of an odor at times-possibly from drainage of very old city.

    Very comfortable sitting areas in foyer and very pleasant breakfast room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    The hotel will be our next stay for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, rooms, breakfast staff

    Excellent location, grat breakfask with nice staff , pleasent helpful receiption staff Mainly GIACOMO Balestri who accompany us till the train with our bags due to the Taxi drivers strick at the day of our departure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Best location , luxury
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had the suit with lots of stairs , we were young and could handle it . But no one to inform us about this and even help to bring our loggage up.

    The entrance was ellegant , friendly staff and helpful .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Lovely spot and roof top pool is a nice quiet spot for a glass of wine overlooking the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got charged the extra fee for breakfast because we forgot to make reservation. No biggie but easy to do - that was our mistake.

    Breakfast is just awesome but book the night before so you do not get charged more if you just show up. Love the location and walked everywhere! Will definitely be coming back! Super easy walk from train station! Make sure to have rolling suit case. Bathrooms modern and super nice! Loved the rain head shower. Staff recommended great restaurants! This place is a 10!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are several steps of stairs before reaching the room, which may be a problem for people with heavy luggages.

    Easy accesss from airport and train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Only hotel I'd return to in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We originally booked a standard room and the reception desk automatically upgraded us to an amazing suite, with two bathrooms, separate living room, etc. Amazingly new accommodations, very clean, very comfortable and an really good location. Would stay there again without hesitation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent (quiet) hotel and location. Car Parking service and staff excellent too! The roof top bar and pool make the hotel extra special. Breakfast very good with everything you'd expect from a 4* hotel. We'd definitely stay here again if visiting Florence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.6
    Needed three night in Florence before going to our Tuscan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed three night in Florence before going to our Tuscan villa - and didn't really expect a lot, and the Minerva was a wonderful surprise. Elegant luxury, super clean, super friendly, terrific location and great pool on the roof with amazing city views. The family room was big (in Florentine standards) and the bathroom - great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    WOW WOW WOW !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wow experience !! every detail in the room and the hotel is meticulously designed. the room was overwhelming, and the breakfast was awesome. The chef restaurant in the hotel was outrageously good !!! The staff is so polite and looking for being helpful. WE ENJOYED EVERY SECOND !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was lovely and the hotel in general is very comfortable. The hotel also kindly gave us a complementary bottle of fizz as it was my birthday!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    I traveled with my daughter and daughter in law.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I traveled with my daughter and daughter in law. We were there for only four days and found the location to be perfect for us. The hotel was beautiful and the staff exceptional. We took an afternoon to visit Chianti and had lunch at a winery. The staff arranged our transportation. We definitely hope to stay at the Minerva on our next trip to Florence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    Location is absolutely beautiful overlooking the square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small, elevator was slow.

    Location is absolutely beautiful overlooking the square and away from the tourists and noise that are centered by the Duomo. Walking distance to the everything and beautiful rooftop view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, convenient to train station, roof bar over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not included, what Genius perks...received nothing of which we are aware.

    Great location, convenient to train station, roof bar over rated and too pricey. Breakfast was $18, not included, and seemed too expensive but very good. Hotel is central to much of what to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    The most amazing place I've even stayed 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing at all.

    Everything was just perfect, the roof top pool, the view, the staff everyone and everything was just amazing! Location was Fab round the corner from Florence train station. We even got upgraded to the most amazing room, we got engaged out there and when my Fiance told them he was going to do it they decorated our room, gave us a bottle of prosecco and strawberries. Joe was expecting to pay but they said it was on them! It was truely magical! They couldn't do enough for us! So clean it's unreal! We will be coming back for sure who know maybe for our honeymoon 😍♥️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    3.8
    Great breakfast, small room and unfriendly front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small - very difficult to maneuver. No closets or drawers to put your belongings. We had to live out of our suitcases. Bathroom was small and only allowed one person at a time. The front desk staff was not friendly. The baggage person came out to greet us when we arrived by taxi, but got annoyed and left when we took to long getting our luggage out of the taxi - very rude!!!! Dinner at the restaurant was terrible!

    The breakfast was fantastic! Very good selection and variety! Friendly staff at breakfast and rooftop bar!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    8.3
    Best rooftop, and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very difficult to access by car; no gym ; rooftop is a bit small ; no view from the room ; personal not very helpful ; we waited 1 hour to get our car back from valet parking ant they brought the wrong car..

    the amazing view of the duomo and the city from the swimming pool and bar on the roof top; live music on the rooftop in the evening; the buffet breakfast was good and lots of options; perfect location; comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    very pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    modern rooms do not offer ample storage facilities for bags and clothes, kind of impractical

    Perfect location, not easy to locate from a traffic viewpoint, high quality standards, friendly and professional team, very good facilities, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Perfect location right in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location right in the heart of Florence. Roof top pool and bar were absolutely outstanding. Stunning views over the whole city. Extremely friendly helpful staff. A better location would be hard to find. Although we booked an 'inner room' it was still perfectly acceptable with modern amenities. However, when we next visit, we will reserve a room with a plaza view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, in the very centre with walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, in the very centre with walking distance to all landmarks. Very friendly and helpful staff that arranged everything we asked for (e.g. a dinner booking, switching off the A/C in the room...) We were lucky with a room with a great view. Price was quite high, but worth it, kids loved it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An unforeseen water (no water on our floor upon awakening) but bottled water was brought then the problem resolved relatively quickly. The staff was extremely nice.

    Beautiful view of the square in an updated room.... great lighting in the bathroom with mirrors galore. 2 blocks from the train but in a serene square. We love the rooftop pool and cocktail area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.6
    The best place to stay in the centre of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small, but fine for the 2 days I was there. The fact that a meal may only be had from room service from 12:00-2:30pm and from 7:00-11:00pm was a bit of a problem. I wanted a full meal at 5:30pm, but had to wait 90 min. to order. So I went out and bought some snacks opp. the train station, and ended up ordering food at 7:30pm

    The style of the room decor is Italian modern, and very clean and minimalist, but welcoming for all that. It was quite private, and even had an almost personal terrace as big as my room (rm.400) next to it. The staff were always polite and friendly, but did not always understand my requests. I was possibly not clear enough , and confused them occasionally, and spoke too fast. But most were well able for my English and always smiling, welcoming and helpful. Advice was gently given, and always useful. there is a supermarket only a few min. away. Go right after exiting the front door, and then go to the end of the piazza. Go left along the street till the corner, cross and take the first right. After a 100-150 m. (300-500 ft.), it is on the left side across the street, on a street running diagonally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location for all major tourist sites. Plenty of reasonable priced restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Exorbitant cost of drinks. Two small glasses of Prosecco = Euro20!!

    Fantastic choice for breakfast Quiet hotel. Excellent small rooftop swimming pool with city views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool was rather small and the breakfast area was not as nicely decorated as the rest of the hotel.

    Very modern and spacious rooms and bathrooms, central location and good breakfast. We also loved the restaurant. The food was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful rooftop with a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms on the first floor lack light and have zero views. Second bed in the family rooms are sofa beds, not real beds. Breakfast wasn't as good as similar hotels. Selection was relatively limited. Restaurant at the hotel features unique dishes, but frankly not to all likings.

    Beautiful rooftop with a pool Nicely renovated hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    The beds were super lush and the rain shower was so soothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were super lush and the rain shower was so soothing. I loved the location. We went everywhere so easily. The train station was so close and the Piazza in front had wonderful musicians in the evening. It is pretty expensive though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    I had a free upgrade to An amazing suite room, the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a free upgrade to An amazing suite room, the bathroom was very modern, however the ceiling in the room was very authentic and so beautifull. The staff was very kind and smiling always, and taking care of us so Well. I loved the swimming pool area on the roof, such a beautifull view over Florence you have there and such a relaxing area 😍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    10
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our only suggestion would be some instruction about parking. We were not sure if we could drive across the piazza to get to the hotel.

    Location was excellent. Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, dark rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was valet parking off site - our car arrived half an hour later than we had requested it for.

    Quiet, dark rooms. Great roof pool which was useful as it was 43oC. Very central, able to walk to all the sights

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    7.9
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked because of the pool, but it was always over crowded. We ended up going at 09:00 when it opened and got 2 chairs, but there were another 8 chairs being "saved" with towels and books, but the staff did not manage this. So many people were sitting on the ground around the pool. People were playing very loud music and playing drums outside of the hotel. I called the front desk a little after midnight, and they said they wouldn't call the police until after 01:00 in the morning.

    Great central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    8.3
    The location of the property is perfect for Santa Maria...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not the most comfortable and so we had a restless sleep each night. In terms of value for money I feel you have to pay a really high premium for a decent category of room, we stayed in a Premium Room, so not the lead in category and although it was probably larger than a standard room it only had a very small window and small bathroom. Having said that we stayed in peak season so everywhere was expensive and the general value for money for the rooftop pool and location was good. We had breakfast at the hotel once but found better value by going outside of the hotel.

    The location of the property is perfect for Santa Maria Novella Train station and all main attractions of the city are within a 20 minute walk (but most closer). The rooftop pool adds that special touch and allows you to escape from the heat in the middle of the day with amazing views. It is also great to have the rooftop bar at night to enjoy a drink after dinner. All of the staff were fantastic from a warm welcome on reception to the pool and bar staff. The rooms were incredibly clean and well serviced each day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Roof top pool with 360 Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (4Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice designed hotel and rooms. The service from reception, bar to breakfast was wonderful. One thing I really liked was the fact that there seemed to be one person that cleaned our floor during our stay. She was very nice and helpful so it felt like we had someone taking care of us. I'm not sure if that is the norm but it made it feel like a more personal service. The rooftop pool is small but that is not uncommon in Italy. However, the view is fantastic, a 360 views. Very quiet and steps from high end shopping, local restaurants, sites. Our friend who grew up and lives still in Florence recommended Osteria Pastella right around the corner, it is fabulous! Don't miss it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    10
    An absolutely fabulous hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    An absolutely fabulous hotel. In a great location with great views fro the sixth floor. Roof top swimming pool and bar. Excellent breakfast and fantastic staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    10
    Every hotel should be like this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is phenomenal. The rooms are spacious, stunning views and AC works great (not a given for Europe!) The rooftop pool and bar are a delight. And the staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. Makes every trip to Florence a delight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with town centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel with town centre location. Easy walking distance to all main attractions and sights of Florence. Bus shuttle to and from the airport was a definite must at only 6euros and runs every 30mins. Will be back one day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning very noisy at standard setting. Was much better after we switched to "eco" mode.

    Perfect location, room was so quiet we didn't realize it was almost noon when we woke up. Breakfast of kings. Beautiful views from the rooftop.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Minerva Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: