Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe 4 stars

Viale 4 Novembre, 4, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#29 of 97 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We do not like carpet floors in the rooms. Towels changed even if not left on the floor. Hotel could use some refurbishment, although still quite acceptable.

    Really nice staff. Breakfast a true treat. My wife had some fish for dinner which was not well prepared. Valet parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Various technical difficulties. Mini-Bar never cooled; TV off & on; Toaster in breakfast room non-functional.

    We benefited from a suite with Jacuzzi bath (Room 213), so we were greatly spoiled. Excellent restaurant. Loved the old-age grandeur of the establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture and beds need update. Baths clean, functioning and working.

    The hotel was fully booked at the time of our reservation, staff undividingly helpful and patient 100% of the time. Closely located to centre. Thank you to all staff at reception! Great GnT at bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude waiter in the restaurant, I would have given higher ratings if it was not for him

    Classic last century hotel, felt like I was stepping back in time. Close to the town Friendly staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We were upgraded to a very nice room/suite but the bed and pillows were too hard. The indoor restaurant was dark and dreary. We had Mosquitos in the room so we were bitten and had to keep asking for our room to be sprayed but still had mosquitos in there! The repetitive music was horrendous and dreary! Wherever you sat, be it in the bar or outside on the terrace it just played over and over the same tunes and was way too loud when you're relaxing and reading. We had to ask several times for it to be lowered. It needs changing from the same few CD's played over and over!! No atmosphere in the bar area at night - it was way too bright and again, horrendous repetitive music. One very slow, very hot lift.

    The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We loved the outside table seating for dinner by the pool in candlelight. It was very close to local bars and cafes and the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel must have been stunning in its day and it was lovely to see the original features like the phone booths, but unfortunately now it is in desperate need of a refurb. Staff amazing and a very lovely town and overall it was great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I think some updating of bedroom décor should be carried out. This is the only negative for this hotel.

    The quality of customer service from all staff is excellent. The food is very good and well presented. The public areas and lounges are well-furnished in a traditional style. The external areas are well-appointed and the swimming pool is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    I like the friendliness and sense of fun that there was in the hotel.Fantastic reception staff and waiters were great fun.Owner also had good sense of humour.food delicious with special soufflé on last eve

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    On the first day, pool towels were handed out to us without any issue. On the second day, hotel staff wanted to charge us extra for pool towels. This should be included in a hotel of this category or mentioned within the description. We had a room facing the street and it was very loud at night (hotel guests sitting outside and making a lot of noise until 4 am, close by restaurants had a party at wednesday night with very loud music until 5 am)

    Breakfast, location, nice hotel staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Certain drinks unavailable in the residents bar. The lighting near mirrors in the bathroom /bedroom is very poor and not enough sockets in the bedroom .

    All of the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Lovely terrace area to sit and relax. The bedroom temperature was heaven when we came in after being out in the intense heat of the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really negative to say about our time here.

    The hotel was well located and situated in a lovely part of the town. The staff went above and beyond to help, they were amazing. We had a lovely trip and enjoyed every moment of our time in this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is paid, if you stay just for the night (if you are on tour of discovering Tuscany) is best to park near hotel on blue paid zone otherwise use paid hotel parking. Hotel's rooms are quite old, need renovation. Also there is a lot of hotels near by, it's a concrete area. Not so good for relaxation, it's very crowdy.

    Breakfast is good, waiter is very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the arrival the staff was quite sharp and unfriend (better on the check-out). The hotel could be better cleaned (the carpets in the corridor and in the lift were quite dirty).

    The hotel is located 10 minutes walking from the center. There is a nice outdoor pool (but it was too cold to swim). There is a SPA for 20 euro but you need to book in advance to enter (the jacuzzi was not working properly). The room was large with nice view despite the furniture was quite old.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints what so ever.

    Space, time, comfort and old style friendliness capture in the present. Wonderful location, my second time there and the type of hotel where you can unwind and recharge the mind. Its central position in Montecatini and Tuscany allows one to enjoy the more complex/busy choices, e.g Florence and the more simple choices of 2 hours at Pisa and 10 minute train to nearby beach. I love the hotel and Montecatini at night with all ages enjoying strooling around visiting the shops and restaurants. This hotel is wonderful value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not really modern standard, especially the bathrooms, but it was all very nice and clean and comfortable.

    I travelled alone with three boys and we had a wonderful summer week in a family room. It had plenty of space for all of us and we all loved it. The location was perfect both in the city and for trips in surrounding area. The staff was very friendly and the pool was lovely. Lovely breakfast too. We can definitely recommend it for familys with children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    small pool and a little dated. However this is certainly outweighed by its major pluses!

    Staff were excellent, clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was very good and the selection for breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little atmosphere - v dated

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - not a thing

    A superb owner run and managed hotel with an old school charm. Excellent food served by attentive knowledgable staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice swimming pool. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and moody place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food fab. Staff so friendly. Only thing. Rooms a little. Dated but thru are typically Italian

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking dislocated and for extra charge.

    Breakfast, cleanleness, room service, staff service all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    We liked everything at this hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff friendly and very helpful. Shout out to Stefan in the dinning room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike about the hotel or the staff. It was excellent

    Hotel very well run and very comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Good location and terrific food.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lift was very small (max 4 person) and there was no ramp at the main entrance for luggages.

    The hotel was centrally located for trips to Florence and Pisa. It is also walking distance (10 minutes) to the town centre, which had a range of cafes and restaurants which were reasonably priced compared to Florence or Pisa. The best ice-cream I had in Tuscany was from Montecatini Terme!!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite the booking.com website saying all rooms have balconies the very basic ones don't. Hotel swapped us to one that did with very little fuss or cost.

    Relaxed yet elegant welcoming hotel. In a quiet part of town just a short stroll from the huge choice of bars, restaurants and shops in the town centre. Lovely relaxing outdoor pool with plenty of beds & towels. Ten minute walk to funicular train up to Montecatini Alto.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first room didn't have a very nice outlook, apart from that all was fine.

    The position of the hotel was good. The staff were extremely friendly and most helpful. We weren't too keen on the outlook of our room and the owner agreed to move us so we could view the mountains. A must is to eat in the restaurant the food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has everything.All staff are highly professional.They are always on their A-game.Rooms spotless.Dining room excellent.It was an absolute pleasure to stay there.Will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked some complimentary mineral water and a few minor repairs were needed eg curtain draw strings.

    The restaurant is good , they had 3 courses for €25 which was a great deal. Gianfranco the head waiter is amusing and very competent. We upgraded on arrival which was a good idea as we were staying 3 nights.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front office pretends to be polite.

    Rich breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    Super experience, fantastic facilities, food and extremely helpful and efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel could use freshening up.

    Upgrade of our bedroom. Parking was cheap and easy. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing not to like

    Location and large comfortable rooms

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: