Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Italy

#16 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got a room where nothing was functioning. Was told it was all fine. Only after a day they changed the room. The new room was very nice, albeit with a toilet not secured to the bathroom floor and constantly dripping. Receptionist constantly interrupted me when I explained what was going on.

    Great food, nice restaurant, bar and pool staff. Magnificent views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    Everything was perfect, the staff is super kind, after the first day I had to switch room but they let us stay in the same one. They have a free shuttle bus to the city center, which is super handy, you need to book it in advance but they always have seats left. The swimming pool wonderful, surrounded by this beautiful garden and overlooking the sea. Breakfast is excellent, a lot of choices among with you could find cannoli and granita! Rooms are clean and there's great attention to details.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    Everything was perfect, the staff is super kind, after the first day I had to switch room but they let us stay in the same one. They have a free shuttle bus to the city center, which is super handy, you need to book it in advance but they always have seats left. The swimming pool wonderful, surrounded by this beautiful garden and overlooking the sea. Breakfast is excellent, a lot of choices among with you could find cannoli and granita! Rooms are clean and there's great attention to details.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked this property at the last minute at the end of our Sicily trip. What a delight it was. Historic property in great condition. Rooms are a bit dated as are most grand hotels these days. The grounds were beautiful and our girls loved the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is like stepping into the past...in a most luxurious way! The hotel is thoroughly modern but still very original looking. We loved the grounds and just wandering around the property. It is located a ways out of town but it was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed in the annex building as the main building was fully booked. It was very comfortable, staff very friendly, pool bar food was delicious. Grounds and location fabulous. Shuttle service to and from downtown Palermo a plus as was offstreet parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is late 1800's and rough around the edges.

    Very rough pathway driving to the hotel thru Palermo! Downtown Palermo that we drove thru was sketchy at best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything. After 2 weeks of traveling abroad our final stop was the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo. It was the perfect place to relax and wind down. We arrived late in the evening and they quickly set us up in the late night bar to have a bite to eat. We had a very comfortable room, the staff was happy & friendly, wonderful breakfast buffet, excellent restaurants & amazing views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked at the last minute. Apparently we booked the annex. We were "upgraded" to the main property. I never did see where the annex is. The hotel was not busy. It's a massive property. We had a room with the most miserable view. Hotels don't realize the value of goodwill. They could easily have given a room with a better view, but chose not to. We chose to not stay another night.

    The hotel is a distance from the main sights and city centre. But the stunning sea views more than compensate. It's a grand old building. One of he best breakfasts on the entire island. Definitely book bed and breakfast. The shuttle to the city is handy, but the hours of operation could be extended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 508 smelt like urine. Bathroom not cleaned properly.

    Almost all of the staff were excellent & I enjoyed the facilities & the location is superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu needs to be in English

    Breakfast was excellent n staff was excellent dinner at the gourmet restaurant I did not like food was too expensive n menu needs to be in English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups in bathroom - tacky for such an elegant hotel. Restaurant food was not great and breakfast should have had fresh ordered eggs instead of cold watery scrambled eggs.

    A beautiful hotel, great location, friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not the best, had much better in other 5star hotels.

    The hotel is beautiful, beds comfortable, I like that our room was made up twice a day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street (sirens, car horns) and smell of diesel were not pleasant.

    The property setting is marvelous. However, rooms with windows to the street are very noisy. The hotel is very elegant and its staff is very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    아주 아름답고 좋은 호텔이고 만족했습니다. It was a very impressive, excellent hotel, which I have experienced so far. I think it is a classic, historical hotel. and the corridor was graceful. The staff was kind, courteous and careful. I would especially like to thank the reception woman who assigned a very nice room with garden and sea view. It was fortunate to stay in a good room even though it was a discounted price. The room and bathrooms were very spacious and well equipped. The restaurant was a good view and the breakfast was varied, tasty and reasonably priced. Dinner was delicious and good experience. Taxis are always waiting in the hotel premises, but there is no difference from the outside fare, but rather a little less (Taxi driver Marco, thanks) There is a little distance from downtown Palermo. If you had a car, it was convenient to access the outskirts tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is by no means a 5 star hotel. It is in absolute dire need of renovation. The rooms we received were shabby, old, peeling paint off the shutters, horribly maintained bathrooms with gaping silicon in the bathtub..the worst part is that our room was above the service doors, there were bright lights and banging doors the whole entire night, keeping us awake. The management should be ashamed of placing any guests in rooms 134 and 136. If they give you those rooms, refuse them and insist on being moved.

    The hotel has wonderful history and great spaces. It has a great location because it is directly on the harbour / ocean which is very nice considering the bustle of Palermo. We had lunch and dinner in the hotel....the french fries were really, really good as well as the Insalata Nizzarda.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shuttle doesn't run in winter.

    What a lovely old hotel with the most gracious staff. We had left a booked guesthouse after being unhappy and felt welcomed and at home on arrival. Breakfast is amazing old school Italian Hotel and you won't be disappointed. The gardens and views of the harbour are amazing. The rooms are a little tired but kept immaculately clean. What a wonderful experience! and it was winter!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in the room during the day. Fitness equipment need to be improved !! A bit overpriced for what it proposes.

    This hotel has style. Location just right next to the marina. Good breakfast and very helpful staff. We loved the garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy in the early morning hours due to a construction nearby. Old The place was empty and so was the bar. It's definitely not for solo travelers. It's perfect for couples wanting to enjoy a quite time. The location is far away from the city center and you need a cab to get there as there are no ubers.

    Clean, nice views, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower stall leaked a bit, but easily fixable.

    This is one of very few hotels that I have rated 10, simply due to the fact that a '10' is well-deserved. Every aspect of this hotel was just about perfect - staff, facility, history of hotel, location, food quality, overall service, parking availability. Staff genuinely went out of their way to make one feel special and catered to.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    A truly romantic old charm venue. The architecture of a grand Villa surrounded by beautiful gardens with its tropical plants and orange trees really is a place to relax and resource oneself. In fact, I felt like never leaving the hotel. Felt privileged, our room overlooking the sea and facing West allowed us to witness the sunrise every morning. What a show!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in room didn’t work, front desk staff were rude, bed was hard, we booked a sea view but were were givena view of others patios, trees, and bits of the sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service at the outdoor bar even though we were the only group there. I was told air conditioning was “turned off” even though the day was 76 degrees and the room stuffy .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We were heading to the Malta Classic from Hungary, arrived late and were tired. We only spent a night there with my colleague, but I found the hotel excellent. Friendly staff, clean rooms and an unbelievable dinner. Even if I made a mistake: booked for a day earlier than arrived, the staff was kind and we did not have to pay for the previous day no-show. I wish I could go back with my family to spend a few days there.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra tea bag for strong tea resulted in doubling of price, so 24 euros for two teas at tea time ! Was concerned about reviews as to room allocation, so tried to cancel 10 days before,but not possible..I had carefully explained requirement for good sea view and usable terrace , but even after complaint received neither, the terrace was large, but you had to climb 4 steep a marble steps to reach it. View from terrace obstructed by large white screen and large tree, so you could not seen ANY of the sea, and sun left it at .10.30 am, as to the alternative I'd the pool, there were 18 loungers for a 100 room hotel with 200 guests. The mattresses were Ridiculous in that they were not waterproof and the sponge inside absorbed water, so when you sat in them even on a dry day you became soaked ! The sight of all the mattresses placed on the wall to dry bizarre. Room bath plug did not work for entire. 7 day stay, needed techie to enable bath water to disappear, and same techie to adjust both shaving mirrors otherwise set for for someone one and a half meters high.. So as you see for a five star rating it was disappointing. Others seemed to have had qualms about the room description,and this was why I had tried to cancel,something one can normally do with booking.com.

    Staff fine, shuttle ok, food cooked at table v good, bed linen and cleanliness excellent. Breakfast fruit juicing top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More frequent shuttle services. Times booked out well in advance and they did not run in to the evening which meant lots of taxis in and out of the center

    Lovely property with fabulous breakfast and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    - last shuttle bus at 19.40

    + Beautiful villa in a very good location. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the gardens. Breakfast was great. Very good service. Great rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were too small to fit my wheelchair so I had to walk in with my crutches. It's also difficult to get to the restaurants without using steps - difficult for a mobility compromised person.

    Loved the great variety of fresh pressed fruit at breakfast. Staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If it was located in a norther European country one would definitely say that the whole place needs a major renovation. In Palermo it kind of matches the general state of the town, so if you are not too picky in that respect it should not be a problem.

    One of the few hotels in Palermo with a nice outdoor pool and a great view of the sea. Old school Grand Hotel, charm of an era gone by. If you want to be positive about it you can call it charming, if not you can call it slightly dusty and outdated. If you need modern amenities and expect everything to work perfectly, go somewhere else. If you like the old world charm, go for it. IN that case, stay away from the modern extension building and go for a room in the main old building, even if costs a bit more. Breakfast is amazing, lunch on the terrace overlooking the sea was excellent. Service is good. Location is not central but you have the benefit of overlooking the sea. There is a complimentary shuttle service provided by the hotel that takes you to the city center in about 15 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice of dinner menu should have more varieties.

    My daughter and I liked the choice of freshly squeezed juice at breakfast. The piano music at the dinner was very good. The staffs are very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is a bit too high for the size of the rooms services in it

    The atmosphere, the beauty of this historic place and the fact that modernity has not ruined the style of the place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Loved the whole thing. Didn't want to leave.

    It was just beautiful. The hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed in. It feels special and it certainly is. Would recommend sea views if you can get it, we were lucky, we did.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Originally, we were put in a separate building, newer than the hotel with little character and no lighting to guide you up through steps and the car park to get to the main hotel. Then next morning, after 5-10 minutes talking to the receptionist, she kindly moved us at no additional cost into the main hotel which was a relief.

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful property! We love a relaxing afternoon at the pool on vacation, and Villa Igiea did not disappoint. The view, service and restaurant were amazing! Best pick in Palermo. Also, free shuttle downtown made the trip easy and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A number of things could be done to improve our overall experience. -The pool is adequate, but mainly used by the children - it would be nice to have access to the sea to swim. -We were in the Yachting House - an building 5 minutes walk from the main hotel. Our room was large, clean, and (as requested) we had a lovely view over the marina from a small balcony. However, the mattress' were supremely uncomfortable - a mattress topper was added on request, and made the bed a tad more comfortable but I think these shoud be changed (a 5* hotel deserves a 5* sleep - our sleep was definetly 2*) -We would have like to have a couple of arm chairs in the room to relax in rather than lounging on the bed. -There were only 2 plugs that took our travel adaptors (one by the door and one by the desk) not a massive problem, but I imagine if you were working or had numerous devices to charge you might want more -The hotel is quite a way from the town centre - there is a regular shuttle service provided by the hotel which you need to book in advance for and doesn't operate after 8pm. We spent a fortune of cabs back and forth as it really didn't feel safe to walk.

    The hotel was lovely - certainly grand! However, what is offered here is old school elegance; staff are charming, helpful and responsive to all requests. The fabric of the hotel is maybe a little out of date, but maintains a charm, and sense of calm comfort. Breakfast on the terrace was a wonderful start to the day - food was plentiful and varied and the view over the bay tranquil and beautiful. We really enjoyed gazing at the huge yachts coming and going out of the marina! we had a room in the Yachting House, a building a 5 minute walk from the main hotel but it felt basic and forgotten by the main hotel. Our room was large, cool and comfortable other than the very hard mattress which was improved with the addition of a mattress topper on request. The bathroom was stuffed full of lovely products replenished every day. The a/c was welcome and efficient. Overall we would probably stay at the Villa Igiea again, but I would request a room in the main hotel overlooking the bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception staff not overly warm and welcoming

    Extremely friendly and professional staff in the restaurant, wonderful location and views, place to relax from the bustle of the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One minor niggle was that the pillows were not very good and bed a little firm - perhaps personal preference.

    Fantastic breakfast with a wonderful view - a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not figure out light switches! Ha . One garbage in the entire room.

    Fantastic breakfast. Can book a boat direct from lobby. Very kind helpful staff. Nice pool. Shutyle service to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside to this hotel was the surrounding neighbourhood , it was a little rundown and we didn't enjoying walking around.

    Fabulous hotel with large comfortable rooms ,beautiful breakfast and dining area and amazing pool and gardens. A real 'all rounder' and a great place to relax from busy Palermo city. The bedroom itself was very spacious with coffee and tea making facilities, very large and extremely comfortable bed, and armchairs with table for relaxing. The wardrobe was spacious and the bathroom was large and extremely clean. There were so many highlights of the hotel for me, i loved having breakfast on the terrace every morning with views of the gardens , and of course the pool area was so relaxing and picturesque, but my lasting memory is the evenings out on the terrace bar with the sea views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is about as far away from everything in Palermo as you can possibly get. Hotel receptionists are ill informed about anything local such as restaurants - there are none in walking distance. Hotel taxis cost €15 to town centre. Hotel parking is €15 per night. Hotel staff were not rude, but lacked any interest in their clients. In all, very disappointed. Will not be returning.

    Checking out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town centre is about 15 minutes drive away but there is a complimentary hotel shuttle bus that runs hourly during the day.

    Lovely hotel, comfortable room. There are great views across the marina and sea. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the swimming pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the continental breakfast was off putting.

    They treated us like gold! The grounds were stunning - even with the shipyard in front. The shuttle to Downtown is a great feature but 1 late night return would be even better 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is located far from the city in a very "low end" area. Shuttle bus put on by the hotel which had to be booked in advance was full at peak times . Excursions arranged by the hotel were very expensive with most being available through local a taxi at a much reduced rate.

    Great Hotel, great food and very helpful staff. Views from pool, bar and restaurant are superb. In particular the standard of food in the restaurant was at the highest level. Booked a VIP evening where the resident chef showed off his skills. Wine reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel and plenty to choose from including a good selection of local wines along with an extensive international selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was too hot and the shower broke - but they gave us free things to make up for it !

    THE BREAKFAST WAS INSANE!!! The food in the restaurant was stunning. The staff weer all so sweet but especially Jacopo the maitre'di !! The surrounding gardens were stunning i loved everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We prefer to be closer to downtown, but that was a small inconvenience and offset by the shuttle service and parking.

    The villa and surrounding gardens with a panoramic view across the Mediterranean were sublime. Breakfast and dinner on the balcony were lovely made with interesting local fresh produce. The pool was set up to provide everyone with their own space and peace. A special place to visit and whilst a long walk to downtown, the regular shuttle addressed this aspect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and food very pricey particularly wine and beer.We were also charged for someone elses lunch and drinks on check out .This was sorted out but disappointing that it happened at all.

    Beautiful setting and fabulous hotel we loved it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel caters for outside functions which take over the place.

    Shuttle into Palermo, breakfast, staff were helpful. The food at dinner was very good but not inexpensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun loungers at the pool seemed to have no order to them. Hard to tell which ones were available as the towels didn't seem to be cleared up.

    The breakfast was excellent. The shuttle bus into Palermo was great. The piano player in the restaurant was excellent. The pool is a good size and nice grounds around it. Taxis are on site so don't need to wait for taxi to airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to cancel our room for the 10th of June several days before and was told by Giovanna at the reception that it was not possible. I asked her to check again since I always take the cancellation option with booking.com . She told me again not possible. Upon returning to Brussels I checked my reservation confirmation and it clearly stated that I could have cancelled the room until 17:59 on the 10th ! This would have changed our plans alot --not happy.! Giovanna is either incompetent or she was simply lying !

    lovely gardens and view room had a big cockroach in it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in a poor slum area which is not very safe. We could not go out and walk around except staying in the hotel to enjoy the facilities. There are moskitoes in the room which was annoying

    The view is wonderful! We stayed in an oceanview room with balcony, absolutely charming!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. Slow very slow service at lunch in the pool bar. There were at least 5 waiters and other 2 members of staff and no more than 10 tables. Yet it took us 1.5 hours to have 2 salads and 2 pastas. We sat at least 20 minutes waiting for a menu three anther 20 for the order. They offered well after 1 hour a little starter and immediately after our order. They said coffee was on the house.

    pool staff, concierge was very helpful. Architecture and original art nouveau art work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little small for our tastes.

    Wonderful pool and gardens. Elegant and stylish public areas. Amazing breakfast with vast choice and of the highest quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in wonderful location with very helpful English speaking staff. Breakfast was very good. We were able to park free directly across the street. Wonderful experience all around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our group visited Marsala and the Marco De Bartoli winery, and although their exceptional Grillo was stocked at Villa Igiea, we seemed to exhaust the hotel supplies quickly - not to worry - there was no problem and more arrived within 48 hours!!

    The selection of pillows that allowed for a range of super soft to flat and hard was a nice touch! The view of the harbour and out to sea from the pool deck and restaurant is beautiful - very calming! Staff very attentive and friendly - Irene at reception is a star!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had the world's worst Caesar salad one lunchtime, made by someone who didn't know what a Caesar was and didn't care. And this is the first grand hotel in the Mediterranean that I have ever met that did not have working air conditioning at the time of our visit. After that the fact that the cups and saucers at breakfast don't match and that the shuttle bus into town has to be booked for both the out and return journey is small scale stuff. History and faded glory will only get you so far as a customer experience.

    Location and staff are excellent. The restaurant is excellent but expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I knew the hotel was outside of the centre of Palermo, but I didn't realize there would be so little nearby. While the hotel grounds were beautiful, the area around the hotel was not. When we didn't want to prearrange a shuttle into Palermo, we were stuck eating at the hotel restaurant which was very expensive and got boring night after night. Our bed was on wheels, and the wheels didn't seem to lock, so every time we sat down on the bed or shifted a little, it would wheel across the room. I asked three times to have it fixed. The first time nothing happened, the second and third time someone taped the bed into place. This worked a little, but not much, made a crinkling sound when we sat down or shifted a little, and was removed by housekeeping each morning. The caulking in our bathtub was moldy and my bedside lamp didn't work but at that point I was tired of complaining to the front desk so I didn't say anything about those.

    All of the staff were very friendly and professional. They fussed over our baby and were very accommodating. The views from the restaurant are spectacular and it's a lovely place to sit outside for breakfast or an aperitif.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My bathroom was quite run-down and could do with refurbishment. The tap dripped constantly, and made a strange sound whenever I turned it on.

    The hotel feels very grand in that lovely old-fashioned way that you don't get anymore these days. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent and you can eat it on the beautiful terrace outside. The staff are wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much further away from town centre than suggested by website - taxis needed everywhere and were very expensive ( min £20 each way). I would go to city centre location another time.

    Very good food. Taxis always available. We had bad weather but not anything to do with the hotel - just a nuisance that we had to walk outside To get to our room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price of a bottle of 33cl beer was 9.5 euros which was very heavy. A 66 cl beer nearby in a very nice pizzeria was 3.5 euros. Ridiculous cost at 9.5 euros.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is about 2.5 km to the touristic places. There is only 1 public transportation available close to the hotel which does not wok frequently on the holidays. You may have to walk through streets which looks not safe. If you are not using taxi it could be a pain to stay in that hotel. Even the pavement of the hotel is full of rubbish and the streets around does not smell nice. Better to book a hotel in the city and skip walking/taking a taxi or the public transport. Cleaning ladies were insisting on cleaning my room. Even though I have put the sign on the door. Every night they put the card below the door which says they can clean whenever I want. They asked for cleaning right after I checked in and entered my room! The cleaning staff should be informed which guests are newly entered and they should respect the privacy. They entered my room while i am on the shower. Quite distracting. They do not speak english (ok they don't have to but too hard to explain why you don't need the turn down service) The rooms looking at the inner side has too much traffic noise. It should be on the road to the hospital that I heard too many ambulance sirens. The room I stayed was old- not that its style is oldish but the furnitures, windows, carpet and the curtain were giving you the sense that they were not cleaned since years. Bathroom was rusty and the water of the bath was not clean, was yellowish. I have filled the bath tub then let the water flow slowly there were rust residues on the bath left after water flow. I think water installations are old which makes the water that dirty.

    Staff was friendly as expected. Breakfast in the garden(terrace) was very nice. Include the breakfast in your booking. Which does not cost much compared to what you could eat in the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was really poor and we had to bring to the attention of staff the condition of the undercooked scrambled egg and half cooked sausage. On the last day this was perfect. Whilst the hotel was well maintained the Street outside was absolutely filthy with raw sewage overflowing from the drains and running down the street, this was difficult to avoid when catching the local bus.

    The continental side of breakfast was good with a fair selection of cooked meats cheeses rolls and cakes

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a disappointment. We found the restaurant staff a little too self important, we had to wait 40 minutes after being seated before anyone came to take our order and the quality of the food was average and not good value for money. If we come again we definitely would not eat there in spite of the convenience.

    Very nice old hotel in a lovely location and setting by the port. The gardens and the pool overlooking the gulf of Palermo were beautiful. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast included in the price was excellent. The free shuttle service to central Palermo was really helpful and the drivers were friendly. Palermo itself was very interesting and we would definitely like to visit again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet could be better in Room. Old fashion Hotel, so Bath maybe not as fashioned as someone could wish, but okay for us.

    Location. Service. Personal. Terrasse. All Great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is the best in Palermo. Great position but a difficult location if you want to get into the city. the staff were all good but they don't understand HOT food or drinks. Sent back numerous items because they were cold. Everything even in the restaurant is served on cold plates.

    Room and the service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor.

    Attentive staff, good location, beautiful gardens and good food. Tea and coffee-making facilities in the room a real bonus! Transport to and from Palermo centre also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst breakfast buffet of any hotel I've stayed in If you have Little regard for your health or quality of food you'll wonder why I'm saying this; white sugary carbs is the only thing for breakfast or horrible looking cooked food I could have had a boiled egg if there had been any decent bread After the grand building, beautiful rooms & efficient staff why is the breakfast so poor? Please !!! fresh fruit, juice, good quality baked bread would be a start and no stale cereal!!!

    Grand old hotel with original decorative plaster work and grand entertaining rooms. Well run in an old fashioned way with bell boys running around and efficient reception staff getting your car quickly - imagine old Budapest hotel film

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend to have meals at Villa Igea but not to sleep there and here is why: 1. As a general comment, everything that happened to us do happen in every hotel everywhere but the adding up and above all the offhandedness of the staff made our stay a rather poor experience 2. Only cold water on the first day, after few hours the water was still cold but brown (see pictures), total indifference from the reception staff (the problem is nobody's fault but they could pretend to care just a little). 3. The second day, cold and hot water intermittently - we had to walk to the reception as no one was answering the phone (which was, by the way, unplugged in our room). They said there was no complaint, which is fair enough as they were not answering the phone. We said it was not a big deal, that we only wanted to inform them of that minor issue and that we were leaving within 30mn and had to shower in the meantime anyway. They sent 2 guys who spoke to us in German, I still fail to understand the point here. 3. The second day, a cockroach in the walk in closet (see picture) - 2 guys arrived quickly, the thing was killed and we were offered to change room (we had only one other night to stay and at least there was no other cockroache in this room) - this was handled professionally 4. When we came back in our room to pack before the check out we found the housemaid disgruntled to learn that we were leaving while she just made our beds - this is fully understandable but not our responsibility if information about people checking out is not communicated properly. 5. We had to ask Four times to get a safe in the room (which should have been there in the first place). 6. We were offered 20% off "extras", that is everything but the room price, that is 40€ in total in our case. Again, the real problem is not the issues we experienced but the casualness of the staff's behaviour : they have obviously not been trained properly, this is managers' fault.

    The hotel has a very nice view and the free shuttle service to and from the city centre is very convenient. The pool staff, together with the waiters from the pool restaurant, were always helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin or Double Room with Inner-facing View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We know the hotel for more than twenty years. We love the place and the building. The maintenance of the building, carpets, terraces is not up to standards any more. We understand that the costs are a great barrier but the place is too good to drop to a more or less shabby level. The prices of the drinks are above expectation. For instance Euro 10 for 1 beer or 1 glass of wine is extremely high compared to Dutch standards.

    Breakfast is excellent. Enough choice, fresh and always enough. perfect and friendly service. Terrace is the best place to be in the morning. Cappochino the best you can get! The personnel at the pool side is extremely friendly and helpfull from the early morning until the late afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have been great to have an omelette stand in the breakfast area in the mornings! Please consider!

    Focus on customer from staff was absolutely impeccable! Top notch. The character of the hotel was wonderful. Some reviews have commented on the stair creaking etc., they have missed the point! This is a luxurious old fashioned 5 start elegant hotel that is meant to remind you of yesteryear in a nostalgic way. Wonderful experience!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is used and avoided bad rooms nothing is working the lift was out of service for an intire day the following day no internet beds are on wheels and the mattress are bad the hotels smells of humidity probably the flooring has not been changed ... And the best thing was the breakfast yet the juice machine was out of order for to days !!! We left finally

    The view only and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent! The hotel was beautifully furnished. Our room has a huge terrace with the view of the park and the harbor. The service was warm and efficient.It was so relaxing to walking in the park or stay in the swimming pool. The breakfast was rich and the restaurant has the beautiful view. and we also enjoyed the drinks at the bar with the night view. It was a truly nice memory for us!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was good but not spectacular.

    Breakfast was good and pool area was excellent. Very good caprese for lunch by the pool. The view over the harbor and the sea from the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were delayed. Did emailed, twice, but no response. Called the reception to keep the room. However, when we finally arrived over a day later than scheduled, we were told to wait because the room was not yet ready. Of course, we demanded immediate occupation of a room which was already paid for the previous day. Not even a word of apology. Instead, they regarded us being rude.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe the bed softer as it was a bit hard Better gym

    excellant hotel very luxurious pool is in a fantastic position overlooking the water rooms are very big would stay here again if went to Palermo

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was exceptional from the interior design to comfort and views ; the breakfast was probably one of the best we had in Italy, with great selection of both international and local cuisine. I love this hotel and I will come back soon

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo - MGallery by Sofitel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: