Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Flora 4 stars

Corso Italia, 248, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#71 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Such a great choice if you’re staying in Sorrento!

    Honestly can’t say anything bad about our stay! The hotel is in a perfect location, right near cheap bars and restaurants as well as scooter rentals. It takes about 5-10 mins to walk into the main city centre. The staff were lovely and so helpful with any requests or questions. It was a special occasion and they even delivered wine to our room after check in!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    AverGe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not feel it was a 4* standard. Rooms were small, bathrooms were not very clean. The pool bar only serves food from 12-3pm.

    The pool area was decent. Good air con in bedrooms all day although we only had one setting. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    VERY VERY UNHAPPY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My whole stay was ruined by the fact that I had to pay double the price for the room. I wish to make an official complaint to booking.com as I am extremely unhappy!

    My whole stay was ruined by the fact that I had to pay double the price for the room. I wish to make an official complaint to booking.com as I am extremely unhappy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in twin room beds were not comfortable at all. Also if you roll over you will fall out. They were clean though so cant complain too much

    Hotel extremely clean good variety of breakfast choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Sparkling time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool should be roped off in sections as it varies from 1m to 3m ( quite deep). Terrace area outside of room was small and dark but as non smokers we did not need to use it.

    Lovely welcome on arrival with a note from Mgt. Clean room, lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers. Everyone really friendly. A good nights sleep. Quiet ground floor room. Plenty of gluten free options at breakfast and lunch. Good variety of breakfast buffet and beautiful views from dining room. 10 mins walk from train station. Close to nice restaurant and bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in central Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was always busy. People put towels on beds but never seem to be using them! The pool also closes early at 6pm. This would be good if it was 8/9pm.

    The staff. They were all fantastic. I can be shy but they felt like family. So thoughtful and caring! Nothing I asked about was a problem. Pool area exceptionally clean. Towel use is free for the pool. We ended up staying an extra night and was presented with a lovely little gift and thank you card!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The property is in a great location easy to get into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was that the hotel room could do with a little bit of a revamp as well as the pool deck chairs.

    The property is in a great location easy to get into the main square of sorrento. The staff were friendly and helpful with excellent knowledge of the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Super honeymoon location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    It was ideally situated to the train /bus station and town. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. We were on honeymoon and we're given a pool view room with champagne on arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean, decent-sized room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nowhere to lie in shade by the pool, 6pm too early for pool to close, lighting in the room too bright, new soap every day felt wasteful. Bad things at breakfast: bacon, wet omlettes and most pastries. (A smaller selection of better quality pastries would be good.) Healthy savoury options like tomatoes/avocado/cooked mushrooms would be welcome.

    The size of the room was good, having a balcony was fantastic, view of pool and sea was really lovely, everything was very clean, good shower, lots of storage space, great to have a fridge in the room, the curtains kept the room nice and dark, the pool was a good size and very clean, the selection of food and drink in the pool bar was great, the staff were helpful. Good things at breakfast: the wide selection of teas, fresh fruit, eggs, breads and cheese.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff here were super helpful and always went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here were super helpful and always went out of their way to help us and give us advice on what to do and where to go. The hotel is in a really good location, a short walk into the Sorrento town centre. The room was spacious for two people- it was traditional Italian looking inside but basic. I would stay here again if I came back to Sorrento and would recommend to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent room and hotel shame about the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked on to a petrol station and a busy road making the balcony redundant. The bar was overpriced e.g. 6 euro for 1 litre bottle of water. Also there was no iron.

    The decor and the view during breakfast. We also received a complimentary small bottle of lemon cello and a bottle of prosecco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great location at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest all was great...

    Everything... we drove down from Rome, parking was a breeze, staff awesome, two great restaurants around the corner, we had ocean view with balcony, awesome. Oh yes breakfast was the best we’ve had so far on our trip...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    On the whole a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel the breakfast staff could have been a little more helpful. I was having my breakfast got up from my table and when I returned they had cleared my breakfast away.

    The location of the hotel is good, 5/8 minutes to walk into the centre and less to the station. It is very comfortable and pleasant to stay in. Big reception area with plenty of sofas and a bar. Our room was small but it did have a balcony The staff where very helpful and friendly. Reception and cleaning staff, Rosie in particular, were good and made our stay more enjoyable. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 4th floor, a floor under the main dinning area. Very noisy until late with sound of chairs and tables being dragged and pulled on the floor. Same thing repeats itself early 6am as the staff arrange the breakfast tables. AVOID 4TH FLOOR ROOMS

    Location was excellent. Many restaurants nearby. We were upgraded to a sea viewing room on the 4th floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom were very small. Bed was very firm. Breakfast was ok. Pool area was nice but pool was freezing!. Didn’t feel it was worth the money spent.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was close enough to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Underground parking is € 15 per day.

    The hotel was close enough to the center. The cleanliness of the rooms is good. We were pleased with the breakfast. The officers in the reception were very kind. I have not found a major fault. The rooms are quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Practical for location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rude reception staff and waiters in restaurant - both very keen to dictate rules of the establishment rather than sell service; very old fashioned culture with respect to delivering hospitality. The pool closed at 6pm; there was no shade at the pool and with 40+ temperatures, umbrellas would have been appreciated. Reception staff once stopped serving us because a bus load of new package holiday makers from TUI arrived. Room was very small with view of a wall; no balcony and noisy cleaning staff each morning.

    location from Hotel to centre of Sorrento was a short 5 minute walk. Hotel manager was very friendly, providing some great local knowledge on beaches, restaurants and areas of interest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice, but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found this property to be overpriced. We booked the economy room and it didn't compare other economy rooms that we booked in other places in Italy. We had a room right on the main road. VERY LOUD and we paid a premium for it. At first sight, it had all the bells and whistles, but was missing the smaller details. A little disappointing for the price point.

    The breakfast was exceptional and it had a nice pool. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Bottle of Prosecco in the room, free upgrade,, nice towels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little poor but bread and Nutella saved the day

    Bottle of Prosecco in the room, free upgrade,, nice towels, beautiful view, great location, big room 2 windows with lovely wind blowing through.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    A enjoyable stay in the lovely Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the rooms were a bit tired needed a coat of paint but it is the end of the season the reception area was very nice .

    The hotel was in easy walking distance to the centre. Staff were very pleasant and helpful .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi only works in the lobby. The tile grout in the bathroom was moldy.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Good location. Great view. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The view was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were really friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, try to book a pool facing balcony room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in the bedroom could have been cooler given the extreme hot weather

    Breakfast was good, staff were friendly, room nice size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Room and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room and pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect position ,lovely room with a view.great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Thanks to the manager.
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks to the manager. He was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    Fair but would not book again
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition of room bathroom door handle loose washbasin cracked marked decorations small room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    August 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, staff willing to help at any opportunity and beautiful pool. Bonus receiving champagne on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money hotel , with great sized swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Fab location of dining room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    the welcome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room furnutre was tooooo old and it was for single

    the welcome staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    The city and its ambient and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    The city and its ambient and restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location, hotel satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe was difficult to use as battery was playing up,

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.8
    Pleasant staff at reception - fast check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worn down rooms, had a room on ground floor and heard much noise from the pool, restaurant and the reception

    Pleasant staff at reception - fast check-in Pool

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Enjoyed my stay in Grand Hotel Flora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Enjoyed my stay in Grand Hotel Flora. I will recommend it to my friends in New York as a good base to start into the Amalfi Coast and ferries into Capri! Good value, comfortable, convenient location, & welcoming service!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked as a group of 5 people with a twin and a triple room, then once booking was done they advised there was an extra charge of €50 per night for an extra bed in a double room or to take an extra room. The rooms were very basic with poor quality bathroom and fixtures, howere we did pay alot for two nights. Staff seemed unsympathetic to this and we paid ghd extra cost. Very expensive for 2 nights for basic rooms. Breakfast dishes were often dirty.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    3.8
    Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    arrogant and aloof attitude from virtually all staff

    Sorrento

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location if facing road

    Staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: