Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4 stars

Via Catigliano 9, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#42 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attentive staff, fab pool and a view to die for! Delicious selection of cakes at breakfast, perfect for those who love desserts. Great cocktails with excellent bar service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonably comfortable stay at a hotel which needs a little bit of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was poor, the breakfast was mediocre and the location was further out of town than I expected. They did however lay on a very good courtesy bus into the centre of town.

    Swimming pool area was fantastic. Very clean and well maintained with a brilliant view. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect first wedding anniversary at the Art Hotel Gran Paradiso!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location could have been better but this didn't affect our holiday much at all.

    It's hard to pick fault with this hotel. The setting and view are absolutely stunning. We had room 408 which has a huge balcony with a breathtaking panoramic view. The pool area is beautiful, our room was modern and spotless and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good. Yes, the hotel is up a steep hill, but the shuttle service is great and very convenient. We walked up twice and it was perfectly manageable. The hotel is quite expensive, but you get what you pay for and we would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    The view was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that the prices per night are a little steep. Otherwise, no complaints.

    The view was incredible! The incredible pool with the backdrop of Mt Vesuvius and Naples is so beautiful - very special. Loved the food, the service, the drinks and the smooth shuttle service. Would recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    2.9
    Avoid this hotel at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff The food The service The rooms The showers The no view from the room - STAYING ON THE COAST AND LOOKED AT A BUSH The location The cost of a taxi from the hotel to the bottom of the hill €25!!!!! There was no healthy food available when at the pool Limited food at all while at the pool The fact when you go to dinner at the hotel, you have to sign for everything you order as you order, no one final bill The staff talk badly of guests in Italian hoping other guests can not speak Italian, but unfortunately I can speak Italian. The rooms are extremely sparse, bed and a tv !!!! THEY CALL THIS AN ART HOTEL - MORE LIKE A DIGUSTING EXCUSE!!! As we passed reception, there were people complaining continuously The buffet breakfast was only fit for farm animals Average age of the people it would be fit for, is 80+

    Absolutely NOTHING!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooms are very basic no tea making facilities breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic no tea making facilities breakfast was limited,the artwork was appalling, to be greeted with a so called work of art in the reception of a skeleton in a black coffin was weird, the view was stunning and the pool was very nice if it wasn’t for those two comments it would have been a bad choice for a holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    The pool and the view from the hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to sorrento, it was raining heavy. After having a shower we noticed the bathroom floor was soaking wet. We presumed it was something to do with the shower. The next morning the bathroom floor was wet again( even after cleaning it up the night before). We noticed water coming from the ceiling and big damp patches and told staff at reception immediately. Staff sent someone to look at it and told us it was due to the shower. We showed reception staff pictures of the water coming from the ceiling but they dismissed it and said it was nothing to do with the roof. They didn’t offer us a new room and found they dealt with the situation in a very unprofessional manner. When the weather cleared up the ceiling stopped leaking. The hallway to our room was also a health and safely issue as there were leaks everywhere and very little light. There wasn’t even a wet floor. I was disappointed there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    The pool and the view from the hotel was very nice. Staff in the dinning room were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Very special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent on every level! The view from the room was amazing - it absolutely made our trip. Thank you so much for the upgrade. Breakfasts in the restaurant were lovely and plentiful too - and made so much more special by THAT view!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    The perfect relaxing most amazing stay. We booked this for our “babymoon” ... stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    From the moment we arrived the place was stunning. The staff on reception, on the bar and in the restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly, helping me and my pregnant partner with everything we needed (even Ice cream and chips for room service). The hotel view was absolutely breathtaking during the day and the night, once in a lifetime view. The food was excellent and a good variety. Our room was fantastic, a good size with again a view that was out of this world. The hotel should commend all the staff there as they made our stay what it was ..... perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    I've chosen this hotel at last minute, because the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've chosen this hotel at last minute, because the hotel I've booked in advance sent me a notification that they cannot provide a room for me :( But I didn't regret a minute! Very polite, kind and attentive personnel, great shuttle service, nice rooms, very nice breakfast... But what really touched my heart was the attention and the kindness of a gentleman at the reception (please, forgive me that I did not even ask your name!): the hotel was closing, we were the last guests in the building and we wanted to stay for one more night. Not only he found another hotel for us, he asked for a special price for us, let us take our time to pack the bags and took us directly to another hotel by himself. This is so very exceptional and personal service that not every five star hotel can reach. Thank you so much for all of your attention and for your hospitality! Wishing you the very best for the next season and hope to come back one day to be your guest again :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing, stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was horrendous, perched up on a ridiculously steep hill/mountain! There is a shuttle bus but this is extremely restricting especially after 6pm, unless you are willing to pay 25-30euro each way to get your own taxi's to dinner which we did a good few times. I booked our hotels a few weeks before our trip which meant that we had limited dates in each and had to move hotels half way through our week in Sorrento. I was extremely disappointed with what we received here, our previous hotel in Sorrento town was light years ahead of this property. The photos I had viewed online made it look fabulous when in fact it is substandard. Our room was basic even though we were told we had received an upgrade on arrival. It is completely overpriced even when on offer!!! The room was freezing, breakfast is poor. Some of the bar staff have a really bad attitude but especially one female member who I wish I could remember to name and shame! I am an experienced traveller and do not usually bother to write bad reviews but for this I make an exception.

    The view is quite good. Chips were the only nice food we ate!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle bus to the station was excellent except for the timings in the evening which limited our time for eating in Sorrento.

    Loved the staff who were really accommodating and helpful in all aspects. Absolutely spectacular views from our room and the hotel in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Awesome view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold dinning room atmosphere....all white walls....too bright....cant have dinner out on the patio.

    Awesome view from our room. Shuttle down to the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not easy to get to. Very steep walk up windy streets or very expensive in a taxi - €25 from the train station. That's why shuttle is useful. We found our room very noisy with noise coming from other rooms and their bathrooms and the corridor too. Pillows very hard resulting in stiff neck.

    Amazing views from the hotel. Great location in that respect. We had our room upgraded to one with a balcony. Room basic but clean. Friendly staff. Good selection at breakfast. Shuttle service to Sorrento was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    VIews were beautiful, staff were professional and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air cocditioning in superior room was not cool enough.

    VIews were beautiful, staff were professional and friendly. Food was great and the pool was picturess. Shuttles to surrento town centre were quick and in a nice air conditioned shuttle bus. All around very good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Book This Place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic Hotel. Lovely and helpful staff. Great shower. Pool was amazing with beautiful views and the shuttle service to town was extremely convenient. Would recommend your hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink had a few during our stay like draining properly and the tap pressure didn't work for a brief moment. But to be fair, it was all fixed quickly.

    Staff were friendly. The shuttle bus to and from the train station is a great service, we fully utilised that. Great view from the rooms, we were given a free upgrade to pool view on arrival which was nice. The Art Deco in the room was quirky.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxing break, the view from our hotel room was magical and so was the food in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Gym could have been better but I've found unless you go to a 5star chain hotel the Hyatt for example then most hotel gyms are not great. The a la carte menu was ok but we ate out most nights.

    My daughter didn't like the a la carte menu choice so they cooked her spaghetti pomodorro, which we had at lunchtime and was superb. Interestingly the choices on the Lunchtime menu was better than the A La Carte. We got upgraded to a very large family room with an excellent view. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The music/DJ was good. We asked for extra pillows and got them. We loved being out of Sorrento high in the mountains the free shuttle bus to and/from was a bonus. The breakfast was great, bucks fizz available!!! The coffee was fab. We will come back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals are not good. I think it's not the best thing within the hotel. Overpriced for the quality really.

    The hotel pool and sunbed area are fantastic. You get a great view of the sea and a fantastic sunset in the evening. The drinks and cocktails are great too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The Best Hotel & Staff in Sorrento !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A shuttle bus at 10pm would be convenient as 9 is a little early to leave town and 11pm is a bit too late as we like to relax in the bar before we turn in . Not really a dislike just a suggestion .

    Staff were excellent , as usual , especially Salvatore & Giuseppe in the dining area . Massimo & front desk staff made our stay a pleasure . Second visit to this wonderful oasis of serenity , will definitely be returning in the future .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Relaxing Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was located up a narrow steep lane on the hill side which was a bit precarious to drive up especially if you met a car coming in the other direction. To overcome this problem and help you to relax the hotel ran a complementary bus service during the day and night that dropped you at the train station in the town. This enabled you to go out and enjoy your time with out having the hassle of parking the car in the town or getting a taxi home.

    The hotel bar, restaurant and pool had excellent views over the Gulf of Naples and the surrounding area. In the evening you had an excellent view of the sun setting over the sea. The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the room are very thin and you could hear the people in the rooms either side. The food was quite bland and while the breakfast buffet had a vast range I was disappointed with the poor range of fresh fruit.

    The staff are very friendly and polite. The room was spacious with a wonderful view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The pool area is lovely with plentiful sun beds and shade umbrellas or the. Bar area. The transport to Sorrento was great and if oversubscribed an additional bus or extra trip was provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowed to use umbrellas at the pool even if it is only slightly windy - they need to secure them to the floor then this isnt a problem

    Fantastic views of pompei & the surrounding sea Friendly staff Shuttle bus provided into Sorrento which saves you €25-30 in a taxi Nice hotel Room 122 which we had was large with balcony & great views Bar at pool for snacks & drinks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful views and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small and decor dated. Had a strange smell also when entering (dampness). This was fine after electrics/AC had kicked in.

    Beautiful views and very friendly staff. Fair price and parking was good compared to many places in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Picturesque view to the Naples Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel restaurant could b better. The selection of food for breakfast is rather poor, for dinner they serve only menu-dinner. There is room for improvement in the restaurant service too.

    The view from the room and the terrace was picturesque - much better than the one at the hotels located in the city-centre. The swimming pool was also good and clean, the view to the Naples Bay was beautiful especially the sunset. They provide shuttle-bus service to the city-centre, which is excellent if you want to have dinner there or want to reach the port. The receptionists (especially Chiara) were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a shuttle bus to go to Sorrento centre. It is possible to walk but the road is extremely busy and the pavement is narrow. The shuttle buses are not frequent enough after 6pm. We are experienced independent travellers and we were surprised that this was a package holiday hotel. For an Italian hotel the quality of coffee at breakfast is poor.

    Large balcony with sea view. Lovely pool area. Outstanding views over the Bay of Naples. Good reception area with lots of seating. It is a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay at Arts Hotel Gran Paradiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate out most nights due to quality of hotel food. WiFi not secure and slow. Access to hotel by car is via very narrow and winding lane

    Fantastic view of Bay of Naples from sea facing room and from pool area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    Wonderful view but inconvenient because of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Advised not to drink tap water but no complimentary mineral water supplied. Unusual for a 4* hotel Long distance from centre of town. Shuttle bus service but very restricted time table, particularly at in evenings

    magnificent view. Nice room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Sorrento was so beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was located on the hill. So it was very nice see view point but the road up to the hotel was narrow. I drove up by car but had to move back for several times when cars came up.

    Very good location, nice see view, nice swimming pool. Staffs were very friendly. The foods at the restaurant was also not bad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    Take It or Leave It
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is difficult to get to high on a mountain with winding one lane roads Staff was somewhat indifferent to us The hotel is dated overall They do everything in the office old school with paper and pencil versus electronic

    Rooms were remodeled and somewhat new Great view of Sorrento

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Probably one of the best views in Sorrento - just mind the hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The one day we headed to breakfast a bit later, a lot of the hot items were cold. Make sure that you are aware of the steep climb to the hotel from the main road. If you are planning on lots of walking or going out and about, make sure you are comfortable with the road (look it up on google maps). There are free shuttles throughout the day but they finish quite early on.

    Friendly and accommodating staff, the views from the hotel balcony were amazing, the room was clean and quirky. Room service was also fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Pool with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym equipment was very outdated.

    Pool with fantastic views. No children. Lunchtime food menu and quality. Complimentory shuttle bus in and out of town. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful views of the Amalfi coast within a well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food- breakfast was the same everyday which became monotonous after 10 days! Also, the evening meals often tasted processed and mass produced.

    Fantastic staff- made every guest feel welcome and part of the Hotel Gran Paradiso family. Free Shuttle bus service- essential as the hotel is located 1.5km from the centre of Sorrento up a very windy hill. Views- fantastic elevated views of the bay of Naples, with the island of Capri in the distance. Beautiful sunsets and firework displays every evening can be seen on the horizon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 122 which I think is above the hotels air conditioning unit, it was a bit noisy . Am sure had we mentioned it they would have moved us but it had a fantastic view .

    The views from this hotel are fantastic. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from. Staff were wonderful very friendly and always there to help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Highly recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevators are a bit small. The shuttle bus to town is only available on a limited schedule. They should offer more shuttle service. The taxi fare from la piazetta to the hotel is $25.00 so if you want to stay past 2300 (last shuttle) you must pay for a taxi.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The appearance of the hotel was very clean. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast was delicious, a lot choices, something for everyone! The wait staff were so very friendly. The pool and views of Vesuvio and Sorrento are spectacular! The susets are magical!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Rooms where very small and noisy. Food was good. Location is really very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It’s and old property that was surely reformed but not although there efforts it’s still uncomfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Room & desk staff disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk Staff not very helpful Bed size not what we paid for

    View from pool and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The pool, the room, the shuttle service, the people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, the room, the shuttle service, the people... everything!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great venue, and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I xcellent hotel for visiting Sorrento area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Decent. Not the best, not the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff abrupt & not very helpful. Breakfast distinctly average. 'Superior Room' had a terrible view.

    Good views from hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a beautiful clean hotel with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view. Excellent breakfast. Very reliable shuttle bus service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout at 10:00 am ❗️

    Nice view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    perfect for our 25th anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    balcony decor needs repainting

    quiet location, great view, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff fantastic view excellent resturant good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff fantastic view excellent resturant good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.7
    The view is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is terrible smell from bathroom, and it prevails all in the room. So every window or gate should be wide-open.

    The view is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.6
    I love the view over Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food could be a little better especially dinner. you can not walk to town and if you miss the shuttle you have to wait an hour for the next one

    I love the view over Sorrento. Love the Art. Staff are friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    What a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shuttle bus is fab as although walking down to Sorrento isn't bad walking up was not for us. The timing of the shuttles in the afternoon I think should continue on from the morning as the gaps are too long in between. On the hour down and the quarter past up would be brilliant.

    What a lovely hotel. The staff are welcoming and very helpful - nothing is to much trouble. They booked visits and restaurants for us. The view of the bay is Fabulous! We had a very comfortable room with a huge balcony. Sat outside for breakfast every day and the spread was varied, fresh and tasty. I would recommend the hotel and stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast had very good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although good shuttle bus service, the timings at night time could have been better to allow sufficient time for meals out.

    Breakfast had very good selection. Room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    2.5
    If you miss there mini bus pick up service into town or back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you miss there mini bus pick up service into town or back to hotel be prepared to pay 30 euro one way with a taxi. You can not walk to it as it to steep, long and no foot path.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.8
    I think it's absolutely disgusting that the hotel allows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think it's absolutely disgusting that the hotel allows taxi services to charge 35 euro for a 5 minute journey to the bus station in the morning. It should be the hotels responsibility to negotiate a deal with the companies to stop their residents getting stung like this. Or put more buses on.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff were lovely and the pool was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was awful. Being in Italy you would think fresh pastries and fresh fruit would be available. We had to eat tinned fruit and tiny dry pastries which were awful. The only hot food available were scrambled eggs and frankfurters. It was as if you were back in the 70s - terrible.

    The staff were lovely and the pool was a good size. The shuttle service was also very useful.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Staff were great and hotel was really clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fitness room was shocking. Equipment was rubbish and not a lot of it. The sun beds need replacing as some wouldn't lie all the way down , and food was pretty average

    Staff were great and hotel was really clean!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Views were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too far from centre. There is a free shuttle bus into the centre but not often enough of an evening. Also it was too hot on it.

    Views were amazing. Staff really friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    We liked the pool area, plenty of loungers, chairs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal around the pool area was poor. The decoration of the corridors wasn't our cup of tea - tangerine and green - made it look 'cheap'.

    We liked the pool area, plenty of loungers, chairs and parasols. The staff were friendly and efficient and the maids kept everything spotless. Food was pretty good. View was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Staff was so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was so helpful. Shuttle bus to the city was wonderful. Knowledge of area was great and hooked us up with a great trip to Capri. Pool was refreshing and breakfast was to die for including the singing waiter

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    The views from the hotel are stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views from the hotel are stunning. The swimming pool was refreshing and you could still see the views in the pool. Big room with a large balcony and much A/C in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    The hotel was a little far out from the town but the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was a little far out from the town but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus which drops you off and picks you up throughout the day and night. I'd strongly advise paying the little bit extra for a sea view room. Views are stunning overlooking the town, the ocean and mt Vesuvius

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Location , staff , pool , shuttle bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal was a little overpriced for the amount served however understand it was haute cuisine and delicious !!

    Location , staff , pool , shuttle bus facilities , the list goes on !!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    I thought this place was fantastic, there was plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought this place was fantastic, there was plenty of things to eat at breakfast. There was lots of choices. Including fresh fruit, also tinned fruit for those people who didn't want the fuss of preparing, thank you for a great stay

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    stunning views, very clean hotel, staff were courteous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    needs umbrellas on larger terraces or an awning, too much 'artwork' in rooms, not enough storage for clothes

    stunning views, very clean hotel, staff were courteous and very helpful, pool area immaculate, free bus invaluable

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.3
    The amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food; breakfast was, for the room price, pretty poor. If you wanted to eat cake it was great but if you wanted to be healthy it was very poor. The prepared fruit was 80% tinned. The yoghurt tasted like it was filled with chemicals. The 'juice' was from concentrate and watered down. The scrambled egg was watery. The capuccino was undrinkable. And though the waiters were very friendly they started to remove breakfast options at around 09:45, 15 mins before the 10am deadline. Dinner; it was relatively inexpensive but of very poor quality and limited choice. 3 starters/mains/deserts. One starter every day was a hot soup (in Sorrento in July). We ate dinner once at the hotel and every other night travelled in to Sorrento or Piano di Sorrento for fantastic dinners.

    The amazing view.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    3.3
    Room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dining breakfast and dinner felt more like I was eating at a group convention for food quality & service. Catered to tourist who don't know any better. Bad muzak playing generic american music. No Italiano. I could have been on a cheap cruise. Also not clean as one would expect in bathroom. I suggest staying nearer town the bus shuttle feels like cattle moving cars...to restricting. Also generally stuffed! I felt cheap and untimately ripped off paying $259. For super economy room. Try hotel regina for $159. Economy room. Great location. Super super value...classy & more upscale guests. Amazing breakfast!

    Room size

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not a massive problem, but the hotel is located up a very steep hill. There is a shuttle bus that takes you back and forth to Sorrento centre. Just a pain for us as we had friends staying in a hotel at the bottom of the hill and the bus went straight past them into town. We ended up walking down the hill and getting very expensive taxis back.

    The hotel was perfect. Had everything you need. The friendliest most helpful staff. A little surprise to celebrate my recent engagement was left in my room. Lovely touch.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The view was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative experiences. We had a car and there was a bus running people into Sorrento itself so we could get there easily but the road to the town was steep and as most guests were elderly it would be difficult for them to go on foot.

    The view was superb. The room was light, spacious and comfortable. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.0
    Fantastic building overlooking the Bay of Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening minibus could have run more often and perhaps a bit later. Only two buses back to hotel after 8:00pm was a bit limiting for those that wanted to wonder around Sorrento itself in the evening. Evening meal quality was OK - but nothing too outstanding.

    Fantastic building overlooking the Bay of Naples. The view is unbeatable and whilst it was situated outside Sorrento the regular daytime minibus was a useful and reliable service to the get to Sorrento and back. breakfast was usual serve yourself fare but really good quality and quantity.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    5.4
    Pool area was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym - old & some broken equipment - difficult to have a good workout. Breakfast and bar snacks need major improvement.

    Pool area was good Excellent wifi connection Good shuttle service into Sorrento

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.8
    Quiet location with lovely pool and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    restricted due to the hilltop location so had to rely on hotel shuttle bus that was rarely on time but still it was free so I cant complain

    Quiet location with lovely pool and views

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    The friendliness of all staff members and the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of all staff members and the wonderful atmosphere in the dining room. Great ambiance and fabulous views.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    A very nice hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had dinner at the hotel the first night of our stay. The food was far below standard.

    A very nice hotel with excellent staff. Value for money

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    4.2
    Views from the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of food, comfort of guest room

    Views from the pool

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impossible to walk anywhere from the hotel

    Amazing views

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.7
    great views from the pool and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location - long, steep hill to access hotel. Room a little bit tired.

    great views from the pool and balcony. Good, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Reception staff so helpful, Shuttle bus good service and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Reception staff so helpful, Shuttle bus good service and good range of meals

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.3
    the staff was great espesialy at the front desk (Kaira and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff was great espesialy at the front desk (Kaira and Vivian) good touriatic advisses

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: