Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Greif Hotel Maria Theresia 5 stars

Viale Miramare 109, 34136 Trieste, Italy

#34 of 40 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grotesquely overpriced for what's on offer - room and balcony in shabby, ill-kept condition, no air-conditioning in 28° Trieste, not even a room fan! Restaurant closed (but no indication of this when I made the booking).

    Very little.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room 4 Pax
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very lovely, but unfortunately in a condition that looked like they have not been renovated since, well, the last century (the stuff ensured us, that the rooms are going to be renovated in the near future, most likely in the beginning of 2018).

    Staff was very friendly and helpful (e.g. the receptionist called multiple taxi services for us to ask for the price into Trieste), great looking lobby, good breakfast with great view, free-to-use indoor swimming pool, the rooms gave the impression of being in a luxury room from the early last century with lots of little details and nice furniture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an easy entryway from the car park (becomes slippy on steps when wet) Building work on same floor (although not disturbed at night) Restaurant not open in evening

    Welcoming and helpful staff Reasonable facilities Good size well fitted bedrooms (particularly the refurbished ones)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old structure. really 90s style with gold tub, the conditioning is very noisy. You can choose from rooms that have sea (and street view) or train rails ones.. the beds are old, the television is old and poor. it's a good 3 star hotel, fully overpiced.

    kindness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived at the hotel from our home because we had problems with the hydraulic system and we had no hot water. We decided to treat ourselves to a couple of days in a nice hotel, to forget our current unfavourable situation. Once we arrived in our room we found out that neither our room at the hotel had hot water. This alone would have convinced us to go away but it was almost midnight and we really needed to sleep so we stayed. The hotel was undergoing renovation works and at 8 AM the following morning (seriously) they started with the sledgehammer and continued all day long until we left three days later. Debris and nails were left everywhere in corridors and stairs. Sleeping was a challenge and we were in shock that they were allowed to disturb all the guests that way. We requested another room the last 2 days but it was a very thin consolation, the noise only diminished. The hotel staff during our stay was composed of ONE person, I am not joking, ONE person that takes care of bookings, guest welcoming, DRINKS preparation at the bar (no bartender) and occasionally swimming pool maintenance. ONE person for a hotel with so many rooms and facilities... ONE person for a SUPPOSED 5 star hotel!!????? This person, moreover, was very nice but she did not speak English and we had to help her communicate with another angry customer at one point. No one else was ever working at the hotel, no porters, no people to monitor the building, or help with the luggage. This of course mirrors the terrible management and working conditions inside these premises. We spent A LOT of money and got very little service in the end, we are never going back and absolutely recommend to avoid this hotel if you go to Trieste.

    The girl at the reception was lovely, but she was alone in the hotel therefore could not deliver a proper service, and she did not speak English (this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel...).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is hopeless the restaurant was closed a lot of building work noise in the mornings and a lot of traffic noise

    The bed was comfy the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the swimming pool and the restaurant were closed during our stay. We weren't told this either when booking or checking in, still had to pay the full price!

    Clean, quiet and friendly hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good the bus to town was just outside the hotel. The breakfast choice was amazing and the staff were so helpful there couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 4 Pax
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool is old fashioned and scary for younger kids. Hotel has great potential but needs a make-over

    Good hotel, friendly staff. A little bit old style but very clean. Taxi drive to city center is around 10 euro which is OK. very nice city. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there about 20 years ago, on a business trip and it was ok, but the rooms definitely need a face lift. We had to wait for a table at breakfast, because most of the tables were busy, being that the other tables were ready for a wedding. You would expect the restaurant manager to allow every guest to have breakfast without waiting.

    Position

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Interior is a little dated but not a big problem

    - Great location - Gym on-site with choice of equipment - Pool on site - Sea view at breakfast - Kind helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Need taxi to get to business district but on the other hand you are close to the beach

    - Nice big gym with lots of equipment (the only hotel with a gym in Trieste) - Sea view at breakfast - Beach/promenade nearby - Much better than staying in city centre - Will definitely be coming back - Kind helpful staff - Nice wide firm beds - Taxi ride to city centre is about 7 mins so not too bad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Card keys do not always work

    - Really nice fully-equipped gym with punching bags (if you like fitness or martial arts as a hobby, this hotel is ideal)! - Nice breakfast with sea view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price too high

    Old but good Free large otopark

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Private Night Pool Access and a Glass of Prosecco
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was only open late in the evening

    Nice and effective staff, lovely room, good breakfast , lots of restaurants nearby, parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 4 Pax
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the very good staff- friebdly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swiming pool was not working.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very old.

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to renovate.

    The staff, was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a distance from the city centre

    Breakfast selection very good and having breakfast on the balcony over looking the sea was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable accomodation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms viewing the see are very loud because of the very frequented street in front of the hotel.

    The roms are cleen and airconditioned

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel in general as we had visited it 15 years ago , in general food good area great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is simply not a 5 stars hotel as shown. Maybe it was somewhere in the past. The twin bed is actually very uncomfortable being two single beds put together !room quite noisy.

    Te location is fine quite close to the center of town. The ratio price/quality is good.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the reception were quite serious. The Wi Fi did not work at the room.

    The view to the sea. The waitresses at the restaurant were very kind.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no balcony in the room and it seems that they have had a flood there. On the wall and the floor can you see water damage. Breakfast was really poor and besides tasty cakes there was nothing that you could eat. I would say 3 or 4 stars, for sure not 5.

    Extra large bed

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room ild wallpaper with tape holding together. Picture hooks up but no pictures. Air conditioning not working wifi only good in lobby.

    Walking distance to beach and castle. Decent breakfast. Good off street parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no pool although stated in the description and the printout of booking. The restaurant is not always open and no info is provided beforehand: I had to ask everytime and adjust my plans accordingly at the last minute.

    Room very comfortable and spacious. Good noise blocking windows. Good food at the restaurant when open, for a fair price.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi was very poor.

    Expert staff at the reception desk. Giacomo from the Terrace restaurant provided excellent service and was very charming. Great off-street parking. Great location between Castello Miramare and the down town area.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi only worked in the lobby

    Nice old house to stay next to the see-side. Bus station in front (we did not use it), Taxi to the city centre is between EUR 9,- and 12,-, one driver out of about 10 charged 17,-

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Its not really a 5 star hotel in my opinion 3 star

    The staff were superb

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wifi in the bedrooms

    old fashioned decor

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was max. 3 stars hotel.

    I liked Place where breakfast was.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad smell in the room. Old furnitures.

    Helpfull staff.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Greif Hotel Maria Theresia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: