Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grifo 3 stars

Via del Boschetto 144, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#234 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 726 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good friendly people in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no good food and expensive in this area.

    Good friendly people in a good location.near central station.and 15 minutes walking from fontana di trevi and 5 minutes colosseum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The neighbourhood is fab, we ate well around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the seperate building which was fine, but you need muscles to carry suitcases if you are on the third floor. Plumbing is loud but I expect this is due to the historic nature of the building and neighbourhood. Wouldn't put me off booking again, but its worth noting

    The neighbourhood is fab, we ate well around the hotel. Great staff, friendly. Decent sized room and bathroom which was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    just the location
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was poor, no much selection, the fruits were old. The room was in another building not in the hotel building, The building did not have a lift, just as well we came with litlle suitcases

    just the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointed, despite the friendly staff, the great location and the fresh breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main problem is the difference between what you see and what you get. 1. Our hotel room was on a different building, which we were told in advance and it's fine. But the building is very old, the room is very small, there is maintainance works on the plumbing on th estreet right next the entrance of the building (and it smells) - and I almost fell when stepped on the cover. The images in booking.com doesn't reflect the other building and the rooms - and that's missleading. 2. Because the building is old, and the plumbing is old, our toilet was equiped with a water pump. when you flush - the pump "sucks" your #1 or #2 - and "helps" it go to a better place. BUT, first - it's really noisy. so if your partner wakes up and pees at night - the pump will wake you up. 2nd - you can't throw toilet paper there. that means - all the USED toilet paper, stays in a bin 'till the next morning. and that's not extremely hygienic. The problem is, again, we didn't witness any details about it in advance. It may appear somewhere, it may say so in small letters, but if so we missed it, and again - we feel it was somewhat missleading. 3. to enjoy the full breakfast - the hotel charges you. So, the "included' breakfast (which is fresh and tasty, and should be sufficient!) doesn't include, for instance, cold meats and cheese. for those, you have to add 2.5eur (per each item). 4. We asked in advance to pay with cash upon arrival. But the hotel already charged our credit card without ability to change that into cash. Not horrible issue - but irritating. 5. We had a centipid in our room, probably, a resident o fthe old plumbing. not very hygienic, did I mention that? All in all, it's a decent hotel. And maybe all the hotels in Rome are +/- the same in means of hygiene, old plumbings and water pumps. But by the lovely photos - we expected more - and were dissapointed.

    Breakfast is fresh and tasty. Staff is very friendly. Location of main building is fantastic. Room, sheets, towls - all were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and very helpful - they went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in the separate building. The shower was a bit tired and could do with a renovation. There was a lot of footstep noise from the floor above us in the middle of the night - not something the hotel has any control over I think but still disruptive. I suspect staying in the hotel itself would give a better experience but at greater cost.

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful - they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to suggest places to eat and tips for avoiding large queues at the main sights. Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    We had a fantastic stay and the staff made the difference, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good if the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities for the first cuppa in the morning. The shower could have been hotter, but after travelling for 6 weeks in Italy, luke warm showers seem the normal way to go for most places. Just check when you are booking where your room is, as they have a number of rooms located in buildings close by. We stayed in one of these rooms and they were perfectly adequate, but being on the third floor, with no lift, it may be a problem for you.

    The breakfast included in the price was perfect. The location was excellent with easy access to transport (bus or train) to get to the Vatican, we walked to both the the Colosseum & Trevi Fountain and other attractions these were 10-15 minutes walk away. There were a number of good restaurants nearby and a good cafe (coffee, bar and light meals) a couple of doors down from the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Feast for the senses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe didn’t work

    The coliseum is less that a km away. Easy walk to the forum incredibly close to so much history. Neat little off the track restaurants including Indian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay at the hotel and in Rome. Thank you very much to all the staff at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower could have been better but it was functional and didn't spoil our stay.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the property is excellent. We could walk to all the famous sights and its not too far from the Termini.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Rome you stole my heart!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was fine for us :)

    Room was all we needed for two nights stay! Bed was comfy bathroom had all we needed for two nights! Rome is an old city and if you want to be central the hotels are in old buildings so be mindful of that! The room we had was in another building jusy 2 mins walk from the main hotel I loved that we had our own space and had all the hotel perks like breakfast and help when needed! The front counter staff are fab to deal with and can point you in the right way for the best food around! The breakfast was spot on eggs and juice tea coffee toast and fruit! All you need to start the day! Thanks for a fab stay guys!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s good 5 walk from one building to another one So never really made it to breakfast, Terribly annoying light in the room, was not possible to switch off the green emergency (?) light. The narrowest single bed I have ever slept in , despite room would allow something bit bigger Not convenient without lift on 4 th floor Ok breakfast , but not great

    Great location Clean room Quiet street outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great service and location. Clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Good location for walking to most attractions. Very old quaint building. Very pleasant and helpful staff with knowledge and tips for travelling around Rome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, very comfortable and quiet room, really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, very comfortable and quiet room, really nice, helpful, and polite staff. The breakfast was also tasty and fresh. I enjoyed staying here, and would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Excellent experience. I'll do it again as soon as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Grifo's staff is uniformly friendly, helpful, and caring. The breakfast is wonderful. I've stayed here a number of times and always had a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Not for claustrophobic person. Very small room. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was very small, dominated by a double bed with small walking room around it. The bathroom was even smaller and not recommended for larger person. Although our room was facing the front there was very little natural light. Not recommended If you are planning to spend any time in the room, other then sleeping. We had to stay in when it rained and all we could do was sit on the bed and read. Only local TV channels (in Italian) were available. Free WiFi was a welcome facility. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    The location of the hotel is it's selling point. Close by the Colosseum and very nice typical Italian restaurants. The surroundings are beautiful with old cobbled roads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They gave us an attic like room on the terrace, which wasn't accessible via lift. We had to take the lift up to the 4th floor, then climb out on the terrace. We had to carry out heavy suitcases up the steep staircase up. The room was extremely cold and cramped. There was no radiator. We asked for an extra blanket, and we got one but it wasn't fresh. The water pressure in the bathroom was poor, and the water itself would suddenly become hot or cold while showering. Fortunately, the staff agreed to change our room. The room we got was in the opposite building and better than the previous. Although the t.v. didn't work, and the shower doors didn't close properly (partly broken), the room was decent enough for a night's stay.

    Staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful. :-) They agreed to change our room when we complained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is in a good location and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To access the room we had to go up the elevator to the fourth floor then climb steps outside to get to the room. The steps were wet and we could have easily slipped if we weren't careful carrying our large bags. Also, if it were raining, it would not have been good. However, this would be great in warm weather with the terraces outside.

    The hotel is in a good location and the staff were friendly. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    We had a really memorable mini break away! The hotel is ideally located for access to Ancuent Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is a difficult question. But if anything it was our noisy neighbours who were again away for a weekend but were more keen on experiencing Rome late at night and early morning!!

    The staff were warm, friendly and had a nothing is too much trouble approach. We loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place with great staff and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The single bed in the triple room was a bit small but still fine. The bathroom was aged with an old shower.

    We had a triple room - very comfortable large double bed with a small single. Bedroom was very nice and clean and serviced every day. Staff were really friendly and helpful with all our queries. Also really close to a metro station and a short walk to the Colosseum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some work! And we ran into car problems on our return trip. We called the hotel the night before our stay to cancel one night. We couldn't get there from Amalfi. They wouldn't help us at all. It would have been the 3rd time staying with them. And I brought a group in the past. I am a travel planner and will never give my clients a referral for here. We won't return!

    The location is great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Grifo was a perfect base for our family's first time in Rome - would definitely return!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I can possibly say was that the breakfast selection could be slightly more varied - that said we did not order the eggs - and we never went away hungry :) The bread/ pastries was always fresh.

    Our overall stay was wonderful but the staff were super helpful as previous reviews had said - especially Eva who we saw mostly. She had some reall helpful hints about what to see and how best to do it - plus the best gelato shop in Rome! We arrived the late at night and the gentleman who booked us in was really helpful and straight away gave us a map circling all the best places to see , bus stops and metro stations. The location was absolutely perfect as a base in the Monti district - we could walk everywhere :) The hotel arranged the taxi transfers to and from the hotel really efficiently too. We had never been to Rome but were immediately made to feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of our Room was very very small. No place to hang our jackets and no roome for a chair. The shower was so small that I allmost couldn’t use it. Less than 60x60 cm and since I’m a big guy it was ridiculous difficult to use it without changing the temperature of the water all the time. No fit for a grown man. We asked for a bigger room but we never heard back on that. The rooms has different sizes, so next time I will explicitly ask for another room than no. 24

    Fantastic staff. The location is outstanding and the breakfast was nice and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    The great location and terrific staff made our stay in Rome very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel building was lovely and the location was perfect - the Colluseum was under ten minutes walk! The hotel staff spoke English and were able to answer our questions and provide helpful information. There was a good variety of restaurants in the area and we enjoyed exploring. We loved having the option of eggs for breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    excellent hotel, staff, breakfast, even the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was great with excellent service. room was not massive but it was very clean. the staff are very very helpful pointed us in the right direction for excellent restaurants. and told us the best times to visit places. location was excellent 8 minute walk to the colloseum

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Disapointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the rooms are small, they are enough for what I needed! But it would be great if they updated their pillows. They are just not comfortable, very stiff and flat. I stayed Sept 25-29 and also had reserved a night when we came back from the Amalfi Coast on Oct. 2. We had car troubles on Sun and no one available to fix it. We tried to get it worked out on Mon but couldn't make it back to Rome. I let the hotel know Sun night and also called Mon morning. Since it was such late notice they wouldn't give any amount of refund. I understand that they are out to make money but sometimes emergency's happen and people need help! I brought a large group to this hotel 5 years ago and we came back this year to stay there again. Since I had just stayed there for 4 nights I thought maybe the hotel owner would be a little more understanding!! It is disappointing and now I won't return there again! I am an on line travel planner and also will never suggest or set up this hotel again! It's just too bad the owner couldn't at least meet me half way. They were fully booked that night...I bet they even re-booked my room. They would have gotten more in the long run with me booking his hotel for my customers! Now they've lost that income!

    I liked the location of this hotel! It's walkable to everything! The breakfast is also sufficient. The front desk staff were great and very helpful. The late night guy didn't really understand English but everyone was friendly!! The day staff always were willing to give good ideas for sites and restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower flooded easily but other than that, nothing to comment on.

    The staff were EXTREMELY helpful and welcoming when we arrived- they walked us through our ideal itinerary to help us hit all of our main areas of attractions. They helped us find great restaurants based on what we were looking for. I was so impressed with how friendly everyone was! Breakfast was nice and they have a bar for cocktails. The property was in a fantastic location! We walked from the Metro many times to go places throughout the city. Although, may of the attractions were walkable. Would absolutely stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in the heart of a vibe and interesting street. Loved being in Rome's old area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been more spacious for two people.

    Neat location in a busy street, hub of socializing. Bonus to hand in keys. Staff very helpful with online bookings and transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too small, others staying at the hotel kept taking our chairs from the private terrace. We didn't make an issue about it as we rarely used the terrace at night, but it would be great if there was a sign to remind the other customers staying to not remove chairs from the private terrace.

    Location is central,staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Beds were comfortable. If i ever return to Rome, will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and exceptionally friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's in the oldest part of Rome so one must realize that all the buildings are very old, which means the rooms may be a bit tiny

    Excellent location and exceptionally friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location, amazing staff, very clean but room far too small and breakfast should not be offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are terrible, you cannot imagine how small and the bathroom was clostrophobic in proportion, the shower was so small I had to put soap on a sponge and shampoo on my hair before entering the shower as I could not bend down to pick it up and I am only 5,4" The breakfast we had on the first day only, the room was tiny and the choice was so limited we decided instead to go out. I suggest given the size of the room Hotel Grifo should not offer breakfast

    The location of Hotel Grifo is excellent and Eva on reception was amazing, I think she spoke at least 5 languages. Every day she'd take a new map and help us plan our day in detail so we went to good restaurants, avoided rip-off's like you'll get in any city and experienced some excellent sites in Rome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Our Stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more organised. Shared terrace meant we had people directly outside our room smoking and drinking.

    The location was fantastic. Easy to walk to anywhere, and great local vintage shops. The reception team were warm, friendly and welcoming, with some great tips for eating, drinking and getting around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A very nice litle Hotel with all you needed for your stay in ROM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water in the shover was a little bit unstabil. Sometime very little water and cold , and sometimes very warm.

    Lovely breakfast and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Terrasse in the top of the Hotel was the best after a day with many walking kilometres . We will come back - for sure .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel, would return but to a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't great... very dark as it had frosted windows. Air con was too noisy. Shower took forever to heat up and it was an extremely small cubicle! However, access to the terrace was lovely and there's so much to do in Rome it didn't really matter.

    The staff at this hotel are excellent. Listen to all of their advice! Great tips on restaurants, walking tours, sights, travel etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Location was amazing, 5 minutes walk to Colosseum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and shower were very small.

    Location was amazing, 5 minutes walk to Colosseum. Lady on reception was brilliant and so helpful. Good breakfast onsite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing - wished we'd paid slighty more to stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very small, there were no tea/coffee making facilities - which would have been a welcome touch. The single beds were tiny, very narrow and short, making for an uncomfortable nights sleep. The shower cubicle was so small it was hard to turnaround and I had to step out of it to shave my legs.

    Excellent location, 5 minutes to the Coliseum. Surrounded by a variety of restaurants and food establishments and 3 minutes walk to Cavour metro station. Small fridge in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More efficient AC as it was very warm during our stay.

    Great location as so close to the Colosseum and local eateries, friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    A little gem of a hotel - excellent staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely, very helpful, and they let us keep our suitcases there the day we left. The room was very clean and quiet and had all the necessities including a hair dryer. We didn't choose the breakfast option because there is a wonderful bakery around the corner, but the breakfast also looked very nice. We will definitely be staying here again when we are in Rome. The hotel was right near the Coliseum and in the middle of Monti, a fantastic neighbourhood with great bars, cafes and shops, and close to a metro stop as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Will definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room as a little on the small side, but that is to be expected in hotels like this.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The morning breakfasts were very delicious and full of different food choices. The neighborhood was fantastic and full of restaurants and bars to enjoy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very small. I am small (think Tom Cruise but without the good looks) and struggled at times to manoeuvre in there. For larger guests it would be very difficult.

    Location, staff, breakfast, room all very good. Staff were very helpful and cheerful and made some excellent recommendations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    First time in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing negative to say about Hotel Grifo....The staff was wonderful and caring. When the lights went out, the staff put us up in another room to accommodate us. I would stay there again.

    This was my first time in Europe with my family. We had never been out of the country. The staff at Hotel Grifo was very courteous and professional. The environment was so welcoming. Hotel Grifo is located in the best place to visit all sites. You can't get lost no matter what direction you walk. I would stay in Hotel Grifo over and over again. Best place to go!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay. I would recommend for all and would go back one day.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny bathroom and tiny room.

    The staff is absolutely fantastic. They are always striving to help you, even if you do not ask. They are very respectful. The breakfast is very good, and the room always clean. The localization is also very good because it is in the MONTI area, which is a great neighboorhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel that makes Rome its home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not being able to open the windows at night because of the noise which meant leaving the airconditioning on all night.

    I liked being in the seperate part of the hotel as the rooms were bigger. The staff were so helpful in every way and their knowledge of Rome and languages were first class. They would give tips on what they thought would be good places to eat without paying a fortune, and also where the best place for coffee and tiramisu products were. The best times to go to the sites of Rome and how to avoid the queues as much as possible. I was also very pleased with the bar prices at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional service, great location, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall it was a wonderful stay, and the only drawbacks were quite minor and certainly would not deter me from staying there again: - The shower was very small. - The toilet was positioned such that when sitting on it one would have very little space between one's legs and the sink. - The elevator appeared to have limited functionality (fortunately we had backpacks!). - The system of turning in the key whenever we left the hotel was a bit of a bother, although it was preferable to carrying around the big keyring and worrying about its safety.

    The staff were extremely gracious, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. When we checked in Louiegi gave us a great amount of detailed information about when and how we should go to various attractions in order to avoid the crowds, what to look for to evaluate the quality of a restaurant, and how to get around the city. He also gave us some restaurant recommendations, one of which (La Carbonara) had some of the best food of our entire trip. The female desk clerk (I never learned her name) gave us some excellent food recommendations for the next leg of our trip, in Naples (the best part was when she just had us come around to her side of the reception desk to look at the computer screen while she did a Google image search of the pastries!). Also, our first morning there we showed up to breakfast right before it was supposed to end and she had no problem seating us. She, Louiegi, and the rest of the reception staff provided extraordinary service by communicating with the airport on our behalf about my delayed luggage, and then providing me with periodic status updates; by taking that on, they decreased significantly the stress associated with that situation and ensured a successful resolution. They consistently acted as though their help wasn't anything extraordinary, but we really appreciated it. The evening reception clerk (I didn't get his name either) was extremely friendly and always made me feel very good about my feeble attempts to speak Italian with him. The breakfast waitress (and chef?) was also the housekeeper and did a great job of everything. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the wifi was satisfactory. The hotel was an easy walk to the Forum and the Colosseum, as well as to the subway stop. The train station was also walkable. There were several good restaurants in the area, and an excellent gelateria. There seemed to be good shopping in the area, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work in our room. We reported it and they offered a portable one. We eventually asked to be refunded or moved to another room. We moved to another room which happened to be in another building and 3 floors up with no elevator, suitcases and all. Alan really tried to help but it was less than convenient.

    Alan was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    I highly recommend the Hotel Grifo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing of real importance.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Pleased that there was a "lift" to our 4th floor room. Having a terrace helped to provide extra space to our room. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Good breakfast including tasty scrambled egg. Very good Hotel location to the "Ancient Rome" area: including Colosseum and Forum. A number of good local pizzerias and trattoria restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location, adequate Hotel with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As mentioned above, we did not like the room we were first given (room 38), because of the street noise, noise from people talking and scraping chairs, and the smell of cigarette smoke. Also the shower was pathetically small, nowhere at all to put anything, and nowhere to put our luggage. No face washers were provided. Pillows were terrible in the first room. Tinned fruit for breakfast only (no fresh fruit). We were not told that the 'bar' would serve pre dinner drinks, beer etc, which we could take to our room if preferred, so we went out every evening to buy a drink, not realising we could have had it there. Lift very slow.

    The staff were great. Very helpful, friendly and courteous and hard working. Giving good advice and directions and instructions. **We were happy once we were moved from the 'balcony' room we were initially given (room 38). The balcony was actually shared with other rooms, and it was also the 'smoking area' for the hotel. So we had noise on and off all night (chairs scraping, people talking loudly etc) right outside our room, not to mention the smell of cigarette smoke coming in our window. Kindly the staff moved us, otherwise we would have had to look for alternative accommodation. ** The breakfast was adequate and for an extra couple of euro you could have scrambled eggs. Salami and ham was also offered if required. Once we were moved to room 25, which was on the back of the building and quiet, we had a balcony that was private (this is the only room with a private balcony), we were happier. This room was quiet and more comfortable. This was much better and even the shower was bigger and we had space to put toiletries. There was one bench to put a suitcase (we found a small table to put the other one on), and pillows were soft. Good location walking distance from the Colosso, restaurants, Metro etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thought the room had a private terrace but this was not the case as other hotel guests used the one adjacent to our room.

    Staff very helpful and had excellent local knowledge

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like, except people in Rome seem to drive like maniacs!!

    The hotel was great, our room was a little small but the hotel was nice overall. A lovely breakfast was provided and was re-filled regularly. Our room was cleaned every morning and was done to a great standard with fresh towels and bedding. The location was so good, 5 min walk from the Colosseum, Roman Forum and 15 mins away from the Pantheon and St. Peter's Basilica. We walked everywhere even to Vatican city which was about a 40 min walk but was a nice walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and absolutely lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was very small and shower even smaller. Bed was really uncomfortable.

    Excellent location and absolutely lovely staff! Grifo was small and cute, nothing fancy but clean and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic first trip to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the small side but it was clean and comfortable and perfect for our needs. The terrace just outside the room was a bonus.

    The friendly and helpful staff made our stay so much better with tips and information about local sights, restaurants etc. In a great area of Rome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic location and amazing service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was all fantastic!

    We had a three night stay in Hotel Grifo and from the moment we arrived we knew we would have a fantastic time! Eva greeted us and was so helpful. She, along with other staff, provided us with a map of the city, telling us where the best restaurants were, how to get to places, and places to avoid. The service provided by the staff was amazing, and they really made our stay in Rome all the more special. Breakfast was very relaxed with a lovely selection of food available. The location is absolutely fantastic, with the Colloseum being just at the end of the road. All the major landmarks are within walking distance, but the hotel are happy to call for a taxi if necessary. We have no doubt that we will return to Rome one day and we would definitely stay at Hotel Grifo again. Many thanks to all the staff there who helped us, especially Eva, Rosa and Alen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    A perfect situation in Rome but in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning does not come on until May and the room was quite warm and stuffy on arrival late at night but we were given a fan by the night porter. The toilet flush had a knack to it which we sort of worked out before we left and the shower was very temperamental. On day two I mentioned to the reception manager about the problem with the toilet and he was not too happy at me bringing this up at the time but really the age of the hotel is behind these problems and the age of the hotel is what gives it it's charm.

    The staff at the hotel were very nice. We had a shared terrace which got the sun through the afternoon and we had it to ourselves during our stay. The hotel was very old and steeped in history I am sure. This hotel cannot be classed as any of the options given above but it is extremely central, and peaceful with it's own kind of charm but it is really in need of updating. The lift never broke down but it was very small and a little slow. All of that said, I feel if you are prepared for this hotel, not to expect anything luxurious you will enjoy your stay. We loved the locality and the staff, with a little bit of tlc it would be lovely, our room was one of the brightest I think.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and Peaceful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been bigger, but it is an old building. We made up for this by having a terrace where we were able to sit outside in the morning and evening.

    The hotel was quiet and peaceful and in a great location. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby, within 7 minutes walk of the Colosseum and Roman Forum, and 10 minutes walk from other attractions (e.g Trevi fountain). The complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate. So much so that we did not need to stop for lunch. The reception staff are fantastic. They helped us plan every day, telling us where to go, what to see, the route to take, the tricks for avoiding the queues and the places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    A good place to discover the antique Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surrounding streets are very loud to midnight and in early morning.

    This hotel is situated ca. 10 min from Colosseum, with Metro or on foot one can reach the most of attractions in the city centre (e.g. Vatican, Castel Sant'Angelo, Spanish Steps, Trevi Foutain, Piazza Navona, Colosseum, Forum Romanum, etc.). Termini station - where we usually arrive from the airport with Leonardo Express - is only one stop with Metro from here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    It's excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this hotel ! Staff is friendly and always ready to help, but don't bother you with all the advices. Location is amazing, everything is within 10 minutes walk - colosseum, piazza Venezia, capitolin hill , roman forum, via del corso with all the shops and much more.. the only far attractions are Vatican, castle sent angel, Spanish steps but it all can be easily reached by bus or if you love walking - take few hours walking tour and you will not regret it! Also the breakfast is amazing - everything fresh, very tasty and local-made. For the dinner and lunch you can just walk outside and you will find many local restaurants with delicious food. The only thing which you will have to understand is that it's in the old building and the size of the rooms and halls is small, but for me it was no problem at att, as everything else was excellent. Recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    Location and overall staff was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not good at all and bathroom too small...safe box at the room would be a plus rather than leaving personal belongings at the front desk

    Location and overall staff was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    The hotel staff was very nice, helpful and they were smiling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small minuses are for the breakfast- stereotypical due to lack of options (only bread bagel croissant with butter, jam, honey and so on). But in general the breakfast was good :) And teh second minus is for WIFI- it was really slow and it logged out us from the internet automatically very often. It was pretty annoying.

    The hotel staff was very nice, helpful and they were smiling all the time. A bed was a little bit uncomfortable as the mattress was really soft. The room was actually overheated but I was not able to find the central heating :D...But there is also the air condition in the room so you can use it to reduce the temperature.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.4
    -very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -heating system in our room (hidden behind a painting) -very small room (nothing to do with the pics from the website) -very poor breakfast -not cover sheet for the blanket -the blanket was very durty -dust in the wardrobe -very dark room -the window broke when tring to open it

    -very good location -kind personnel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Great location. Excellent staff.Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was a bit of a tight fit, but hey it was fun. Not really a complaint. Just a comment.

    The location of this hotel is great for the Colosseum, the Forum & Palatine Hill. A little bit of a walk to the Trevi & Spanish Steps. It was an adventure in map reading. All the Hotel Staff were amazing & very helpful. Clean towels provided every day. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in and we've slept in a few around Europe. A special mention to Nur. Always took time to speak to us at breakfast. I'm not a breakfast person but what was available was fine. Remember your in Italy. All in all we had a great time. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Best location in Rome to immerse yourself in Roman culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's heating was a bit too efficient, quickly fixed by opening a window, though.

    The free wifi, the proximity to the best local restaurants and bars in town and the most beautiful streets in all of Rome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Helpful staff, fantastic location, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is quite small and doesn't allow much space to manoeuvre.

    Breakfast was quite good. The location was fantastic and the reception staff were more than helpful. They made our stay in Rome easy and simple. They were accommodating in providing us special tips and hints regarding food and places to see. It was our first time in Europe and our stay here helped us get off to a strong start.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Amazing hotel. Good value. Perfect location. I recommend it 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the streets are a little bit busy but did not disturb our rest. no complain at all

    staff are really friendly and helpful. breakfast has not much selection, but what they have is WOW of good quality. is really well located, next to colosseum and a lot of other monuments to see. We were in a local area were all the restaurants and good price and very good quality. Definitely we loved it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny bathroom, I could barely move inside the shower. Weak sound isolation. Constantly dropping Wi-Fi.

    Very friendly and very helpful employees! PERFECT location! Good breakfast. Good climate isolation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Fantastic location but neglected rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny rooms which could use update, as simple as a fresh coat of paint, updated bedsheets and curtains and better lighting. The rooms are neglected.

    Location, location, location. Some rooms have a nice balcony, which we used a lot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel staff are by far the nicest and most helpful I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. The hotel is in a perfect location thats is central to all the tourist sights. It was a very nice experience and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No coffee facilities in room.

    Excellent staff, great location, walking distance to so many historical attractions and various cafe's and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Safe and within walking distance of the main sites. Lots of nice restaurants, shops and bars nearby. Very close to metro stop.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    A week strolling in old Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As a result of the building being built in the 1700' the quarters were cramped (disclosed right after we booked the hotel).

    The hotel is ideally located in the center of the old Rome within walking distance from the Coliseum, the Roman Forum and other monuments. Many good restaurants in the immediate area. The staff provided us with a high level of customer service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location to visit Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conmfort could be better for the price (lights, carpets....)

    One of the best place to stay in Rome. Lots of good restaurants and nice stores in the neighbourhood

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.5
    Good central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the double beds had 2 single mattresses pushed together which was a bit uncomfortable. there was also no plug for the sink.

    They were very friendly and very knowledgeable of the areas of interest. they also booked the restaurants and taxi for us at no extra charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location, Extremely friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not have asked for a better experience! The location was amazing - about a 5 minute walk from the Colleseum. The breakfast was great as well. And, I cannot say enough about the staff. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by a very friendly staff member, who got us our room early, and also gave us some fantastic reccomondations about where to eat, and what to see that day. Rooms were slightly on the small side, but very clean. We will definitely be back next time we stay in Rome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    I wish to forget ASAP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Assigned room for us was like room for hobit. In bathroom i can sit on toilet, wash my hands in sink and wash my legs in shower at once. We have no space in the room to open our lugguge on floor to not block door. Choose between historical and loud aircondition or opened window at first floor and loud from street. Big double bed means standard bed width and shorter length. After our complains we got triple room on the third floor. But hotel/rooms are much darker like in the photos. Rooms/furniture are old, dirty walls, no carpets (because it's summer), at night is weak/no TV signal+only italian. Poor options at breakfast, almost everything you can have at breakfast is in the photo with yellow table +scrambled eggs,cereals,prosciutto, no fresh fruit/vegetable... Rating at 8.2 has to be fake

    Good location, but in the result it's not important if you travel by metro/tram.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Good value in a convenient location with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom floor was rather hard without carpet and shower was a little cramped.

    Excellent customer service. Staff were very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of local area. Terrace to room was great for sitting out in evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location and great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Our concierge Alan was so helpful. He booked us in a room with a rooftop patio and also helped us to navigate a discussion with the rental car company when we realized we had left several items in the car. Really appreciated him!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful, comfortable stay in a perfect location with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dated and on the small side, toilet flush could do with improvement.

    Friendly, very helpful and efficient staff, comfy bed and cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    A perfect stay at the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and the room and location was ideal. We had room 38 with a private terrace which was great. A glass of wine on the terrace at the end of the day was really lovely. It was our anniversary an d bottle of champagne was waiting for us a breakfast time. Thanks to all of you.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grifo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: