Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand'Italia 4 stars

Corso del Popolo 81, 35131 Padova, Italy

#19 of 41 hotels in Padova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1794 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional near MacDonald, KFC, Old Town and supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of African refugees hanging about near the entrance. Made us feel a bit threatened.

    Next to the railway station. Good view. Quiet, Good tv channels and wifi. Good lift.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Train/Bus station near buy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you need to wait for hot water few minutes in the shower, the shower head fell to my feet several times ...

    Train/Bus station near buy Excellent Breakfast 10 min walk to center town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice personnel, nice room - location close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a meeting point just in front of the hotel - and people there are constantly talking (loudly) - so ask for the room located at higher level or with the windows not overlooking the street...

    Nice personnel, nice room - location close to train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Used it as our base for Venice, short hop skip and jump to train (2 mins walking). Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location, rough looking outside due to people hanging around McDonalds, but absolutely lovely inside. Awesome staff. Very nice room. Lovely breakfast. Great location fro train to Venice. Also short 10 min walk to restaurant district in Padova. we had some awesome meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Below expectation and rated higher than what it deserves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 4 star hotel in anything.

    Location was surprisingly in front of the train station, but we found out that it surrounded with a very bad area for walking or having dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel for a short stay in Padova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to the railway station -- perfect for a short stay in Padova. The hotel room was nice, the staff helpful and friendly, and the breakfast really delicious and definitely more than "just coffee & brioche".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    great for the 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a small bar area that was reasonably well stocked but my campari and soda came ready mixed, not freshly made.

    The rooms were pretty standard in terms of space, facilities, storage etc. We had a large size bed; everything was as you'd expect from a 4-star hotel. The breakfast was magnificent; it catered for all preferences, cooked, patisserie, cakes, cold cheese and ham etc. Late comers did have a reduced choice, however. The location was opposite the train station; it took 5-7 minutes to walk to the central tourist area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Fine, other than the annoyance over the second person supplement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, having booked a double room, we were charged a €55 supplement for a second person. I have never experienced that before in many bookings with booking.com

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Next to the railroad station, and several parking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not in the old city centre, a 15 minute walk, and a little shady neighbourhood as always around a central station.

    Next to the railroad station, and several parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Continues to be my sort of place. I like the old fashioned vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small point, but we had to ask reception to operate their main switch for the air conditioning. We could have cooled off sooner if they had remembered.

    Proximity to bus and train stations with very handy Spar supermarket in station a major bonus. The small hotel bar very useful when you arrive very tired and it serves delicious local real ale in a bottle. Beds and bedding very comfortable with choice of single beds. Have been before so looked forward to the breakfast which didn't disappoint. Not so many people lurking around outside the hotel as last year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Location great as was the staff. Good sized rooms. Pity about the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was ridiculous. There was no shower curtain to contain the water and the bath was slippery which made it difficult when you are in your mid/late 60’s. The water from the shower sprayed all over the toilet, bidet and floor was saturated, hence all your towels were sodden from mopping up all the water.

    The location was perfect for us as it was right across the road from the train station. The staff at the front desk were excellent, friendly and helpful. They went the extra mile to ensure your needs were met.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value, convenient to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise from groups of people congregating below room.

    Great breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, juices, yogurt, cereals, pastries, and yes, EGGS! Across the street from train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Padova train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position, just in front train station and well Connected by public transport to the center and the focal points of the city. Really various and tasty breakfast. The room is large, Clean and confortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find anything not to like.

    Breakfast was plentiful in choice and excellent in quality. Both hot and cold choices were available. Coffee was available from the buffet but variants e.g. espresso, cappuccino etc. were available from the staff on request. Room was very comfortable, cleaning done efficiently, everything worked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, really good location for travel by train.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no electric kettle

    Even the room is out of date but it's clean with wooden floor, I've got better view this time and room is big. Not noisy even the room is near lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    Position (next to train station)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Unorganised service at breakfast Very old rooms/facilities; appreciate it’s a historic building but it probably was a 4* hotel in the ‘90, definitely not in 2018

    Position (next to train station)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Padova is an easily accessible city with loads of history. Has historic university, pretty cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit outdated, didn't look like the photos published on-line. Perhaps they were from a different part of the hotel that was more recently renovated.

    Convenient location by the train station. Had a lift. Staff very helpful, and had services available all night. We had to have a staff member come up late at night to help us with an air conditioning problem, but once that was solved, the room cooled off nicely. Lovely old hotel with lots of charm. Room clean, and had a decent amount of space to move about. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    dirty, old. no internet connection, poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty walls, rooms. The view from the window, the smell in the room. Internet connection was bad, you have to wait till hot water comes. everything is old, it has to be renovated. This hotel is 2-star rather than 4.

    at least there was hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast area. Distribution of food stalls can improve. More light

    Amole and tall rooms. Hyge beds. Clean. Staff very friendly. Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Stayed here from the 30th if April till 2nd May.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here from the 30th if April till 2nd May. Well-located clise to railway station and not far from Capella degli Scrovegni. Very good breakfast. Nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast is good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area around hotel is not good, a lot of not very pleasant people always near hotel entrance. I would not recommend it to solo female traveler. Hotel itself is pretty old and should be renovated to declare 4 stars.

    Breakfast is good; location is very close to train and bus station. Ideal place if you are male and travel through Italy alone and need a place to stay in Padova for 1 night. Staff is polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    good to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time the price is quite higher than better, and the room is not as good as before.

    I always stay in this hotel when I visit Padova. Just next to the train stazione, while it is a bit far from the old down town but still in reachable distance on foot. Helpful staff (the handsome hard-working young men as always)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, clean, and with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to pay an extra charge (equal to approx. 35% of the full room rate), for leaving the hotel after 12:00am. The staff apologized for this policy but they justified it by saying that there were going to be new arrivals, and they needed to clear the rooms as quickly as possible. While on one hand I understand this, I feel the amount of the extra charge was too high in proportional terms.

    Very nice hotel, clean, and with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    good but not as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were a lot of people hanging out right downstairs outside the hotel makes me worried a little when staying in a room in the 1st floor, a bit noisy and the room and bed is not as comfortable as I thought.

    very good staffs and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    This is my second visit to Hotel Grand Italia and looks like...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is my second visit to Hotel Grand Italia and looks like it is going to be my last. Too many shady characters loitering outside the hotel entrance and drunken fights at night kept us awake. When we talked to reception about this they said there was nothing they could do. In civilised countries, police take action and stop unruly, rowdy behaviour at night and am sure that Italy is at the forefront of civilisation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Greta location and great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right by the station, great breakfast and very good value - the staff were very helpful - I booked at very short notice and they gave me a very large room for a great rate - and I will be very happy to stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place with a nice view terrace can see lake around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place with a nice view terrace can see lake around and host Miki was so kind he pick and drop at the train station with good service mind truly recemmended this place in Varenna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Good experience otherwise and the staff was very attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working so we had to open the window as we were on the third floor so the mosquitos came in as there was no screen and we had numerous bites

    Breakfast buffet outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Two nights just about right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't mad about breakfast which seemed to get gobbled up quickly - I tend not to get there before 9am and those before had been, as they always are in Italy, voracious and the replenishing was slow.

    The room was comfortable, the bathroom very good and I like the location - handy for the station although to do the town go buy an all day bus/tram ticket at the booth outside the station. Your feet will approve.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Great location next to railway station and to centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like that there were always people standing just outside the hotel doors but you can't do anything about that.

    Bed comfy, lovely breakfast, great espresso

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room slightly disappointing- modern furniture and average selection of items. Could be cleaner. Too hot in hotel- could not turn on AC so had to open windows which was noisy at times.

    great location across from the station The suite was fabulous- separate lounge area, fantastic bed and 2 bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe had extensive damage from a previous water leak. In the morning whilst having a shower did not have enough water pressure; could hardly rinse off soap!!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in good location, BUT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of people wandering around hotel trying to sell drugs and probably using the free wifi of the hotel. It did not feel safe.

    Nice breakfast, nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was decent as was the wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being pedantic, but the power to the room goes when you leave (it requires the room card), which means you can't power anything while you're out.

    The breakfast was decent as was the wi-fi. Location is quite convenient, right next to the Train Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Location is perfect, just accross the railway station, Venice 15 minutes away, Florence just over 1& half hours. City centre is a pleasant walk away. Rooms clean and comfortable, good breakfast, staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast is good, and the environment is very quite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition isn't satisfied, especially in this cold winter.

    Breakfast is good, and the environment is very quite. The location is close to the train station and bus station which is convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    You can see the hotel the moment you step out of the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting in the room is cool white, feels cold in winter

    You can see the hotel the moment you step out of the train station. Very convenient for those travelling via train. Easy to connect bus as well. Big clean room, comfortable bed, wide choices of breakfast. Good for a one night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 glasses of wine we purchased at the bar (at 10 euro each with tip) were in dirty glasses. One water glass that was in our room had lipstick on it. The clean one was gone the next morning but not replaced.

    Comfortable room, great location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. Building had a lot of character.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, classic style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold. It was not pre-heated for my arrival.

    The hotel was nice and clean and in front of the train station and the tram station so it was ideal in terms of access to public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    What it says on the tin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too thin. Nearness to station made for a slightly bleak approach but once inside a perfectly pleasant hotel.

    Just what it said on the tin. Comfortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Would expect more from a 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would expect more from a 4 stars. Breakfast was just OK and the room didn't seem very clean. On the upside location is good right next to the train station and staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    For a base close to the train station this was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable. No kettle in the room - had to go down to reception to get hot water. No shower curtain so water all over the flow with every shower.

    Breakfast was good. Location very good (literally opposite the train station).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Right across the road from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is rather quiet since it is not the town center. There were some Africans lingering around outside the hotel as mentioned by other travelers. Received no trouble from them and most of them had dispersed by the time I returned around 9pm. Just be aware and careful especially when returning after dark.

    Right across the road from the train station. Clean and the breakfast spread was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location, comfortable room and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who checked us in was probably new and not very knowledgeable, she had to check with her manager for every detail. We needed to order a transfer to Marco Polo airport which the hotel advertises and she did not even know such option exists, I had to point to the poster advertising it next to the reception. It is a bit of a long walk to the city centre from the hotel, but public transport is good and efficient.

    This hotel actually exceeded my expectations. The room was very nice, soundproofing excellent, beds comfortable. Breakfast was really good and the breakfast rooms are very beautiful. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    worked because of its location. Rooms were fine, but would not stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness of the overall hotel was poor. Carpets old, halls not painted recently, the heat in the upper hallways was around 80º. Nearby are some rather poor establishments, and the street in front is not welcoming - rather scary, actually. And this is from a veteran traveler. For a grand hotel, run down. Sad.

    very convenient to train station. Staff tried to be helpful. Room was fine, clean, well taken care of.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location but tiny room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tiny room without facilities such as water kettle and no supply of bottled water.

    Location and old building atmosphere: it is right at train station but a bit far from city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Staying at the Grand'Italia is a no-brainer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, across street from train station & bus to Marco Polo airport, and around the corner from the tram stop. Staff most welcoming & helpful. Really, they went "above and beyond" what we experienced elsewhere. Breakfast buffet very good. The "sketchiness" of the neighbourhood not really a problem in our opinion. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Really comfy bed in a spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfy bed in a spacious room. Located well across from station for dropping bags on arrival and taking early bus out to Marco Polo airport. Still quiet in room though. Breakfast was included and was amazing buffet. Hotel was not in old town but short walk (or tram) into town centre for excellent restaurants and amazing sites. Did not feel touristy. A real Italian town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Unbeatable location if you plan on going to Venice by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is close to the property but complex to access. The property should send a map before arrival and directions on how to get to the parking.

    Great breakfast and unbeatable location. Windows are truly sound-proof. You hear nothing from the street or train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Old building, but tastefully renovated inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very conveniently situated opposite the station. However, it is not in a very nice area and looks very unprepossessing from the outside. Some some people may find it unpleasant to walk to the hotel at night. I must add that the more unpleasant part of the Corso del Popolo is not more than a 5 minutes' walk, so it was (for me at least) not much of an item.

    Old building, but tastefully renovated inside. Spacious room and bathroom, very pleasant indeed. Very clean. Very pleasant staff. Good breakfast (never had breakfast in such a stylish parlour!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff is courteous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room looks a bit from the 70's or 80's. I should have thought, as the hotel is near the train station: the area is a bit dodgy. People are talking throughout the night outside. Sometimes at breakfast staff seems somewhat inefficient. Plates, cups are missing. I had to eat on a napkin as no plates were available. The room as a bit cold. I had to put the heater to 26 degrees.

    Staff is courteous. Room is fine. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    It is very convenient to the train station and a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not exactly comfortable even compared to other basic hotels in Europe.

    It is very convenient to the train station and a short walk to the historic area of Padua.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Old hotel, strange people around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, overall standard of the hotel is definitely not 4 stars and also not adequate with not the lowest price we paid... hotel is old and not really Well maintained, lift smells terrible, was dirty and very slow. Location of the hotel, although central is not very good- groups of strange people were hanging around all day and night long so it was not very friendly neighborhood...

    Hotel is located close to the old city. Staff is nice and helpful and breakfast is Ok but nothing special (Unfortunately they were not refilling the buffet to often so for example it was No tomatoes and no wholegrain buns during our meal).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location seemed very dodgy - no where to go and get something for dinner. The staff did not seem very interested in helping us. Hotel very old and dated.

    Convenient to train station. Room service was tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Ideal base for exploring Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the breakfast was very good, things not replenished quickly enough, for instance, cups but no saucers, 15 minute wait for bacon, etc. The staff were not very friendly, and as for Genius benefits, forget it! They just didn't want to know. Quite an impersonal hotel. Young men hanging around outside at nights.

    Nice hotel next to the railway station, ideal base for visiting Venice. The breakfast was very good, with bacon and eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    We were there for only one night so the location was convenient and the hotel was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi worked only intermittently in our room. The air conditioning in our room was a bit too chilly

    Good breakfast variety. Pleasant staff. Close to station. Comfortable bed with space around it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Good place to visit Venice by train (without car)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i do not know you gave this hotel 4 stars. It is old, unfashionable place without neccessary equipment. For example the lift is from the last century. Neiberhood is also not so good at night. Be aware of it.

    Good localization close to railway station and city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is just great - just accross the train station. You can easliy take first train to Florence, Rome and get back the same day if you are a business traveler and don't have too much time. It's is also just 15 minutes walk from city center. The hotel looks 19th century from outside, but it's totally modern inside. We were lucky to get the room on the second floor with a balcony. The cleaning service in the hotel is exceptional. If the last five years, though travelling a lot, I haven't see a 4* hotel that would really reach all the norms of a 4* hotel. Grand Italia meets them. 2 big towels per person, bed linen changed everyday, you can live the room for half an hour and everything will be cleaned, no cleaning people comming at 5 pm etc. ANd they also have gorgeous breakfast - gorgeous, because whatever diet or food plan you have - you can easily get something for you. We were particularly impressed by greensalads and cheeses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely stay here again for me the location straight across from the train station was perect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit vague on how to get to certain locations and the tourist bus, but overall were very friendly

    Great room very bright and clean, location was perfect easy walk into the city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Across the street from the railway station, great breakfast, though very disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4 stars hotel and related pricing one would expect at least a touch of luxury not only related to the outside of the building and the stairways; the room looked far better in pictures than in reality. The bed head's cover looked so tired and even dirty that we did not want to touch it. The room's atmosphere, bathroom included, was definitely not what one expects from a 4 stars hotel. The neighborhood did not look very safe, especially in the evening.

    The building itself used to be a palazzo - the outside of the building is covered with stucco figures and there is a majestic inside stair - not open to the public - with a very nice stain glass. The location could not be closer to the train station - very important if you chose Padua in order to be able to reach Venice by train. There is a McDonald's restaurant and a McCafe in the same building. At about a 20 min walk from the center of the town - Palazzo della Raggione. Breakfast was very varied and very good, with a large choice of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Have stayed there before and will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outlets did not match usual EU plugs

    Convenient location to railway to major sights or other towns, bus to airport. Nice clean room, breakfast with great selection of everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A good, older hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an older property, much refurbished, but the lift is tiny.

    A perfect location, directly in front of the train station. The prices are fair, and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Old style hotel at train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the rooms, furniture, bathroom, etc. are far away from a 4 stars hotel, I would rate maximum 3 stars. All in all, the value for money is bellow my expectation, for this price level easy to find a higher quality hotel in the near e.g. NH Padova.

    Great location just opposite of the train station but also in walking distance to the city centre. The room has a good size. The breakfast is okay, nothing special. The staff is very helpful, we arrived in the night and helped to get a place in the garage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Rome is expensive in July, too many tourists and you pay more and get less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed 4 days and breakfast was all the same,they did not even changed salami,bread was not fresh,breakfast not four star,but the terrace overlooking the cathedral was wonderfull.

    location,nearness to the train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    great hotel - any time again....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking available on site unlike advertising, however cheap underground parking available close to the property...

    fully refurbished and nice room.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel for commuting to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for taking the train to Venice - right across from the train station. Also a short walk to the town center. Very clean, great breakfast buffet, lots of fresh fruit, very nice personnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable conveniently located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It suited our needs.

    Conveniently located opposite train station. A comfortable hotel, offering a great breakfast. Staff super friendly & very helpful. Easy to get to sites and Padova Centro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Interesting city to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area gives you wrong impression about Padua. If it is your first time stay in the center.

    Interesting city to explore. Hotel is literally 50m from railway station. Bathroom was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Honeymoon stop over in Padua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We cant find fault

    We chose this hotel mostly because of its location to the train and bus terminals but also for its rating for cleanliness and customer services. We chose well the hotel was very clean and staff more than helpful. It was our honeymoon and were given a beautiful room with period features large bathroom and balcony. Upon arriving the concierge brought us a Prosecco on ice along with two bowls of goodies, nuts and cherries. Although the room was at the front of the building we did not hear the traffic from the bus terminal. The breakfast was wonderful, it had everything one would desire and more. The hotel was on an easy bus route to the centre of Padua or it could be walked easily within 20 minutes. We look forward to returning as there was too much to do in our two day stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    i choose the wrong one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You felt like you are not welcome. Polite, but cold.Industry princip. Strange people around the hotel, intrusive immigrants. Parking quite far if you are with motorbike and it is expensive, 10e per night. Room is not 4 star. We have been in many, but ours...not. Quite tiny walls. Would not come back. Noisy.In many 4 stars hotel you get free bottle of water when it is hot as now, or gratis coffe...here not.Really, you feel like in a big industry hotel.

    breakfast, size of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    tram, bus stops and shops are right next to the hotel, 1 km...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    location close to the railway station with its consequences

    tram, bus stops and shops are right next to the hotel, 1 km to the city centre where you can get in ca. 5 min. by tram or 15 min. on foot; service professional, staff very kind and helpful, breakfasts tasty, however in my opinion hotel quality (e.g. room equipment) is rather 3*, than 4*

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay at Hotel Grand'Italia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit limited. The only cooked item was scrambled eggs. It was adequate.

    This is an old style hotel. Large high ceiling bedroom. Very large bathroom. Good quiet air conditioner. Good location, just across the street from the train station. About 10 minute walk into Padua. Tram stop outside. Hotel needs a little TLC, but it has charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice old fashioned Hotel, altogether my sort of place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have a kettle

    Hotel is very convenient for the station and the tram. I was able to get a single room. The bed was very comfortable with good quality sheets and a blanket. Thankfully no polyester duvet. The staff were lovely and so was the breakfast.Mini bar big enough to act as a fridge for storing food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and Luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although close to the train station, it is quite a walk to the center of town from the hotel. Area around the hotel is not great, but the fact we could jump off the train and cross the road to the hotel was a life saver after a long day!

    Great staff, and amazing room. So relaxing. Breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    the property was located near the old center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property was located near the trainstation. It was difficult to stop in front of the hotel to drop our luggage.

    the property was located near the old center

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grand'Italia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: