Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mecenate Palace 4 stars

Via Carlo Alberto 3, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#205 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1801 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked everything

    beautiful comfortable rooms, lovely decor, breakfast was excellent with a great choice, was amazing to sit on the roof terrace with great views. Staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was all amazing.

    This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in, and I travel a lot! My sister and I shared a suite and had the loveliest weekend. Super-friendly staff, excellent location and the most beautiful room in a decade of travels. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the train station! We stayed in a suite and it was very spacious. Highlight was the roof top bar and the breakfast on the roof. Was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for my personal taste but it didn’t stop me from sleeping like a baby each night as we were pleasantly exhausted from the sightseeing.

    This is a beautiful old hotel with so much charm! The room was clean and spacious even though there were three of us. The bathroom was very big and we never lacked for clean towels and toiletries! The staff was very accommodating! The breakfast was fabulous and saved us a great deal of money. Beautiful and delicious selection and variety! Absolutely loved the bruschetta and grilled veggies! Meats, cheeses, eggs, many breads, quiche fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc. etc. Convenient to both metro and train. And of course the view from the rooftop of San Maria Maggiore was breathtaking! Nice to come back after a long day of sightseeing and go to the rooftop bar for an Aperol Spritz and take in that glorious view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were absolutely brilliant! They organised a suprise birthday cake for myself and my mother. The chef Francesco was very friendly and his food was just amazing. We were hosted with great respect and they looked after us and ensured every detail was just superb. A huge thank you goes to the Chef Francesco Gentile and Romulolo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked into an executive room-which was actually not even in the main hotel itself but 20metres down the street and up a dark grubby staircase.certainly did not appear like an executive room for a honeymoon stay. Expressed my concerns and was told thats the room I booked.

    Breakfast was nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi not so great. Could search and do emails but never able to download to iCloud, even in lobby.

    Very nice room overlooking church. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop restaurant and bar were amazing with stunning views. Bar and restaurant staff were 1st class and very very helpful. We stayed in the Presidential suite and the terrace was bigger and better than the advertised pictures. Breakfast was fantastic and it was lovely to have it on the rooftop and admire the fabulous views .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    +breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent +cocktail at the sunset on the rooftop terrace with a stunning view was great (little bit expensive but on the holiday it is ok) +room was cozy, clean and with a good view on the street (2nd floor) +staff was helpfull and friendly +just 10-15 minutes walking from the Termini station +bus stop in front off the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except we had to leave.

    Great central location. Excellent food in the restaurant. Friendly and informative staff. Bed very comfy and great water pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annex building looks like a refurbished apartment building and while the executive room we had was very spacious it was clearly not on the same scale as the superior room we had on a previous stay . We chose to go back as a part of a 30 year anniversary trip expecting the same level accommodations but were disappointed. The bed was not very comfortable and the furniture looked very worn , out room phone did work until our last day and the lighting in the room was very dim. The staff was very courteous and tried to accommodate by getting someone over to look at the phone right away but it still took several days , understandably it was an issue possibly beyond their control just figured I’d mention to give a full report. Overall this visit was ok still love Rome and the Hotel.

    The main building is great and the staff are awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. We were given an awful room at first even though we had booked a superior room. Very dark and view of a back yard. Awful!Luckily we changed rooms but the staff were miserable

    Roof top bar lovely location. Great views over the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small. Overpriced for what it is.

    Perfect location, only 15 mins walk to Colosseum. Breakfast was excellent, the views from the rooftop are fantastic at sunset. The restaurant staff is charming and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited There’s no elevator to the rooftop where you can find the breakfast area you will have to take the stairs just couple of steps to reach it. It’s only annoying If your having a baby with a stroller.

    The view from the rooftop is amazing The view from the room was awesome Breakfast is ok Very Close to the central station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff abrupt and unwelcoming, when we arrived the gentleman was busy doing other stuff and showed no interest in us being there.

    Good breakfast and friendly staff, brilliant service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel Mecenate Palace is a historical property located across the street from the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, perhaps one of the most beautiful churches in Rome. In addition, it is within 100 yds. of a "hop on-hop off" bus stop. There is a beautiful outdoor cafe adjacent to the property "Antico Caffe Santa Maria". The free morning breakfast buffet offered by the hotel on their terrace is ample and tasty. The terrace where dinner is also offered for a price provides beautiful views of the city. The staff was english speaking, phenomenally friendly and helpful with any need we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little stuck up especially the maitre d Asked for a wine bottle to be opened and he seemed insulted.... No large lobby to speak of

    Nice rooftop views Breakfast included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the photos they’re showing at the Internet STUPID maybe that photos taken a long time ago now the room was old already . Definitely it’s not worth your money . I am just telling the truth for others not to experience the same situation BEWARE !!!!!!!!

    The room that we saw in the Internet was different , first the room was very dark not like in the photos sofas were very old and dirty . There’s the little kitchen in the photos but we can’t use it , unless you pay even the microwave it was locked . They didn’t stated that in our reservation . Also , at the information there was this guy named Marco he’s very arrogant to Asian racial discrimination The breakfast was good but we stayed there for 7 night and it is usually the same that’s why my kids didn’t like to eat breakfast anymore , we wanted to buy some foods at the supermarket but we can’t pre heat . I don’t understand why you’re giving this hotel a high review .Honestly , I I doubted if the review was true . I will never recommend this hotel to anybody

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints-wish i could have stayed longer!

    I liked everything about Mecenate Palace! The staff is great. Max amd Marco took excellent care of us, as well as Timmy and the rest of the staff. They can answer any question u have and take the time to make aure your stay is a happy one. The rooms are spotless. The restaurant ihas excellent food. I have never had a hotel breakfast like this one. We felt like we were staying with family!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my husband is little older we had to carry our bags to the room and we had to carry 25kgs each and thn bring thm down in the morning. Which was 3 levels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had known previously that we were staying in another building, that would have been helpful. Also, if the hotel had told us that the bellman would come for our luggage so we didn't have to bring it down either 1 or 2 flights of stairs. The staff overall were very helpful with tips and suggestions.

    Hotel location was excellent. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of the trip and 1 night at the end. The first portion, we were in the apartment. It was very nice - the only downside was no elevator. Very large and 1.5 baths were great for getting ready. The Executive Floor, where we stayed on our last night, had only 1 flight of stairs and was very nice as it abutted a large courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite hot (though that was remedied by leaving the widows open and radiators covered). The bloke that checke us out was pretty unsmiling but the rest of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Old-school hotel (including Grand Hotel Budapest-stye intercoms and light switches :-) ) grand public areas, nice room/bathroom, helpful staff. Best of all was the rooftop terrace though - excellent views of the basicila :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were hopeless. Charged us twice ! Did not inform us a 'deposit' would be charged. Had to go back to find out what it was . Then had to wait two days for the 'deposit' to be refunded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for sight seeing, very clean and comfortable. Powerful shower and s comfy bed. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Front of house staff could be more helpful... Booked one extra night by mistake and although we announced this 5 days in advance neither the hotel nor Booking.com would allow a cancellation. there is no place in the hotel to lounge or have a drink in a relaxed environment.

    Cosy, "old style" furnishing reminiscent of a penzione (just what we wanted) with wonderful views to Sta Maria Maggiore and the north west of the city (note room with a view costs extra and may not be available - be sure to ask). Walking distance to central and the MRT station for easy transfers to the Airport and to all attractions in Rome. The included breakfast was superb and saved on lunches for the budget conscious... Also the restaurant staff were extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite for 4 people is outside of the hotel in another apartment building. Hotel bought an apartment in the building next to it and made it a suite for 4. Very sketchy entrace and vibe.

    Good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very temperamental shower had to be approached with caution!

    Fantastic location. Cosy old fashioned decor in bedroom and bright, airy breakfast room on roof with fab views over the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of communication - evasive misleading images on site and misleading replies to questions, prior and when arrived. Stayed before - should not have stayed again.

    Breakfast and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our reception was disappointing. We booked here because we really liked it four years ago when we booked three rooms for three nights with our family. When we said we were happy to return because we'd been there before, there was no response - just a meh. The pillows were not soft and the furniture was showing wear.

    The location is convenient for the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroo. Was a bit too hot to sleep

    Very central. Lovely apartment. Great view from rooftop terrace. Breakfast was lovely and great choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My second visit and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some counter staff were not helpful or friendly. Bordering on rude. Put a bit of a tarnish on our stay.

    The room was very good, breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the reception gentlemen. I asked for the bill in advance as I would have liked to pay in full, but they couldn't help. I was also not advised on the city taxes. I also had to pay extra for my kid. I booked with bookings.com and I am not happy with this.

    Breakfast was good, and the bath products were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was perfect walking distance from everything with the beautiful saint Maria maggagorie church right across the road. Staff were really helpful and the rooms were beautiful. Hotel is spotless we will defiently be returning again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in a separate building, which was nice and basically attached to the main buliding, but it was not expected.

    The room was nice and clean, staff friendly, restaurant had typical beeakfast with great views and accommodated gluten free request.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel in a great location, with a short (15-20 mins) walk to main attractions such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Spanish Steps. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and fantastic views from the breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't particularly impressed by the breakfast, but it was of a good standard.

    The staff was very helpful and polite, especially the reception staff. I liked that they asked if we would like to have a taxi ordered or leave the luggages. They also explained where we are on the map and suggested a good, authentic restaurant for us. These are expected from a 4* hotel, but my experiences shows that most hotel staff wouldn't bother until you ask. While I barely had to ask anything there as they asked me first.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more healthy - muesli, unsugared fruits, more vegetables, less croissants. Gym would be nice.

    Location, in the center - city center in walking distance. Termini in 10 Minutes walking distance. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    excecutive room very poor not part of main hotel defo not 4 star,seperate buildng had to walk 20 metres up street to get to enter main hotel,jacuzzi didnt work no explanation from staff,no discount will not stay there again

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very helpful and accommodating from check in to when we left. Room was larger than expected, good shower, comfy bed. View from roof terrace at night was lovely. The cappuccinos at breakfast were the best I've had. Good selection of food at breakfast. Great location for sight seeing & only a short walk from Termini station. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems adjusting the water temperature of the shower. Either freezing or too hot.

    Amazing view from the room. Roof terrace was such a treat too! The restaurant staff were really lovely & the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot and couldn’t adjust air conditioning. Most of the staff very friendly and helpful although one lady on reception was not!

    Excellent breakfast. Location near railway station and within walking distance of major attractions. Hotel very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bar had erratic opening hours and were very keen to close up even though we had barely finished our drinks. When it was open the service was excellent and nice to sit after an evening meal out.

    The location was fantastic and the roof terrace views of the basilica opposite were fabulous. The staff were lovely and we enjoyed breakfast on the top floor. Would recommend this hotel particularly if you enjoy a traditional stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work, the bed was lumpy and the room was very hot even with the heater off and there was no air conditioning. Also their was large stains on the carpet throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t turn right out the hotel, it was a real dump and we were a little scared when we went down there, gangs of men on the streets eyeballing you.

    The breakfast was fantastic. Room was really clean. Hotel was really nice and the roof top terrace was great. Beautiful church next door in the square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A walking map to the hotel from train station could be provided in the website so tourist wont get cheated by the taxi fares who charged a whopping 20 Euro for what could have been a nice 8 min stroll.

    The view at the terrace rooftop was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Near transportation (train, hop-on hop-off bus). If you like walking as we did to nearby sights, then perfect location. Breakfast was good. Hotel is right opposite the magnificent Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. Lots of little shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little old fashioned in terms of decor but not the end of the world

    Lovely breakfast room, the views were incredible from the top floor. Our room view wasn't much however, but isn't an issue for us as we'd rather go out and explore! Good room, clean, had what we needed and great location, only a ten minute walk or so from the Colosseum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are misleading the clients because they give us a room which is not the same in their internet site picture and also not the same on the room details that we booked. Our quadruple room is in the annex building and not inside hotel mecenate. We need to go out on the street to eat our breakfast in the hotel. The management did not listen or do something about our complain on our room.

    Very good location and the hotel staff are very accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think a free bottle of water would be nice to have in a room.

    The location and the view from the room. Very good restaurant and staff there. And the chef! The room and the bathroom were of good size, actually, the bathroom consisted of 2 pieces. Heating was good, the soundproof also was good. Everything very clean and neat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue - A bit of road works was going on outside at the time of our stay which needed to be negotiated to access the main entrance.

    Stayed for one night on arrival in Rome after long flight. Room was comfortable with enough space for a double and a single bed for family of 3. Check out time was 12 noon which gave plenty of time to enjoy fabulous breakfast in the roof top dining room and explore a little of local area before check out. Lovely views from room terrace. Both check in and out easy with nice staff. Close to Roma Termini train station. Eventhough on a reasonably busy street our room on 4th floor was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was spectacular from room & rooftop. Rooftop restaurant was exceptional, beautifully decorated and the food was divine. The staff went above & beyond in everything. The location was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay there again next visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible neighborhood full of refugees, drug dealers and other lousy people. Had complications accessing the entrance. The building is absolutely not suitable for carrying the luggage. Our room was too small, had an unpleasant smell, dirty curtains and dirty headboard of the bed.

    Location is very convenient for those who use Termini and metro. Walking distance to Colosseum and Trevi fountain, beautiful Basilica nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service could have been better. Front desk, waiter etc. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and I emailed the hotel to see if anything special could be done. We chose our anniversary dinner at their restaurant and didn't even get a special dessert brought out like I had seen other restaurants on the reviews do. But thought they would knowing it was a special evening. Waiter spent most of the evening talking to local priest at next table.

    The hotel was close to everything in walking distance. On site bar and restaurant on site was convenient, Overall the room had a nice view of the bell tower and church as we requested. was comfortable. Roof top bar was closed, but we brought our drinks out and sat by the heat lamp which was cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was rather small, but perfectly adequate.

    Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The rooftop restaurant had stunning views over the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    earlier check in. But that's not unusual for other hotels as we did arrive earlier than normal check in time. Location is great as taxis just cost an average of 10-15 euros It means that if you like walking & have the time it's very central as advertised

    The staff is great The dinner upstairs was convenient the meal very tasty & reasonable better than the restaurant nearby where we had lunch we arrived early, the staff kept our luggage & our room was ready by our return

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all pretty good except for one little details little flies in the shower

    The hotel was close to everything, the restaurant with the terrace and the view, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to wait to be seated for breakfast for 15 min. this has never happened before in another hotel.

    Great Location, close to Termini, quiet neighborhood early check in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a bit far from the old city, about 25 minutes walk to trevi fountain. but there is a metro near .

    view of S. Maria maggiore from the hotel was really nice . staff are really helpful . room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location served me well, but not the greatest restaurant selection nearby. (No problem, though- there are plenty of great places to eat in other neighborhoods.

    I was given a surprise upgrade to a nice,large room in the "new wing" with a separate entrance two doors down from the main entrance. Clean, comfortable and good looking. The location served me well with an easy walk to Termini rail station. The staff was professional and courteous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first 2 nights we were put in another hotel because of a unwell guest staying longer in our reserved room but worked out ok. Small elevators but seems to be the norm.

    Very friendly and professional staff. Gave us the Presidential Suite for the last night at no extra cost because of a reservation problem. Excellent breakfast. Good location of hotel. Quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant for dinner was not very nice! The service was excellent but was let down by the food! It is a shame because the rest of the hotel was fantastic!!!

    Wonderful hotel! We loved everything and the staff were so helpful and friendly!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel could benefit by replacing worn carpeting, repairing hallway scratches on the walls, or general updating!

    Location is excellent! We have stayed here previously.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Information is different from Booking.com. (We stayed in an Superior Double or Twin Room type room for 3 nights.) ・Did not exist property: Fax, Radio,Bathrobe,Sofa bed, Refrigerator... ・Not clean: Details such as the corners of the room are not cleaned up. - There was dust on the both sides of the mini bar, which seemed to have been cleaned for over a year.

    There is nothing good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were exceptional. 1st class service from everyone involved. Special thanks to Max who advised us our room was available early and held our bags on departure date so we could explore the city some more. Breakfast was outstanding with everything you could ask for. The whole experience of food and drink and access to the rooftop bar was very special and greatly appreciated. A lovely hotel made more special by the excellent service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor was a little tired. The extra steps into the restaurant from the lift.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Whatever we needed they arranged it. They were warm and welcoming and always smiling. Fabulous position with wonderful views from the roof terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Certainly the front office staff could have been more helpful and courteous , being a tourist destination . The room was ok . The breakfast was very continental - could have been better for the International crowd coming here and as they claim to be 4 star.

    The Hotel was certainly in a great location, just next to a BASILICA, 5 minutes walking from the Roma train station . Most of the tourist attractions in Rome were 20-30 minutes at the most walking distance. Good eateries closeby .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were small as was the room. All to be expected in European hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were nice and clean, location was great and we enjoyed our stay. Happy hunting!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff could be warmer and more helpful. This is especially the cast with the older man. He gave the perception that guests are a bother, more of an interruption in his day. More than once I experienced as well as observed he let a line of guests standing in line towait for him while he was on the phone on a personal call. I know since I understand Italian. He made no effort to conclude the phone call to attend to the guests standing in line. This went on for over 5 minutes, not the message your hotel would want to send guests?

    Location, spacious room, rooftop location for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in a nice central part of Rome with easy access to all transport. The bedroom was a good size and nicely decorated. The roof top bar and restaurant are impressive making breakfast memorable. All staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cold for us at night! They only have AC.. Even tho they sent a person to shut down the AC and provided us extra blanket, the room was still chilly. Somewhat credit card wasn't working very well that we nearly miss the train!

    Good location, facility, staff and nice breakfast. Love the room amd the bed was cozy. Also we could hear the bell in the room. Worth the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast food layout could've been better. Eggs were awful, dried up pastry felt like a day old and store bought for sure. The mattress was very uncomfortable, and mould in the bathroom. Very out of date room.

    View from the bar was nice and staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. We could walk everywhere. The breakfast was also good, especially the pastries. The staff was always friendly and smiling and willing to help. We upgraded to the Executive Room and it was worth it. The bar upstairs on the patio had a great selection of drinks and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been more exciting, but was absolutely fine. In fairness, there's no shortage of places to eat locally if you want something more

    Right from the off the hotel was very welcoming. It arranged a taxi collection from the airport, which was greatly appreciated and made for a relaxing start to our stay. On arrival we were greeted and shown to our room, which was exactly as we had hoped it would be. Definitely would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a small inner courtyard for the area we had they place the garbage cans they. They did not smell but the area would have been much more pretty without those there.

    Fantastic hotel good location near train station and walk to all attraction area. Great view from roof top bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs. No elevator access to rooftop bar and restaurant.

    Lovely historic building. Wonderful inclusive breakfast. Super location near train terminal and easy walk to Colleseum.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mecenate Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: