Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Alba Città Alta

Via Salvecchio, 2, 24123 Bergamo, Italy

#71 of 163 B&Bs and Inns in Bergamo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 224 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice short stay in the very heart of Città Alta
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good, in the very heart of the old city centre (Città Alta), right on one of its main streets. However, it has one little disadvantage:it can get rather noisy early in the morning (delivery trucks) and late in the evening.

    Other than that, everything is perfect in this B&B: a beautiful ancient building, rooms with well preserved ceiling paintings &well chosen furniture, very rich continental breakfasts and especially very friendly owners. I definitely recommend B&B Alba and would come back again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel right in the middle of the Citta Alta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy. People chatting on the street below in the late evenings. Not too disturbing though. Probably not possible to avoid noise when you are staying right in the middle of a medieval city center.

    Perfect location in the middle of Bergamo Citta Alta. Walking distance to the town square and great restaurants. Nice old style rooms with beatiful roof paintings. The owners are really nice! The breakfast was probably the best one we had during our whole week in Italy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Very nice stay in Bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch out for noise from the street - that is the price to pay for a central location.

    We were positively surprised by the room, we were fortunate and got a room facing the garden, so it was not exposed to the noise from the street (can be nokise in the rooms facing the street). Good bed, clean room, historic building, basic but good breakfast. I cannot really come up with something negative about this stay :-) And Alfonso (the host) is great. We will book also our next stay in Bergamo here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    great location, friendly hosts , would definetly recommend and go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    donatello room, the shower head in the bath wasnt attached high up on the wall which was a bit awkward, however lovely bath with lots of hot water

    we loved the breakfasts, the ambience, nice big room, and angela and alfonso were so helpful and were great hosts, super location too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Alba Guest house is beautiful and they were super friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alba Guest house is beautiful and they were super friendly and helpful. The location is great, right in the center of the old city. It was a great way to finish our trip!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Location, breakfast, hospitality of the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As my windows was on the street side, it's noisy on the weekend evenings. But it's typical to old town.

    Location, breakfast, hospitality of the owner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Our brief stay was enjoyable; perfect location from which to visit Lombardy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    The staff and Alfonso were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. We loved all the knowledge and enthusiasm for Bergamo and surroundings that they shared with us!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Apartment consisting of 3 bedrooms and a kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Apartment consisting of 3 bedrooms and a kitchen. Each bedroom has its own bathroom and toilet. The hosts serves breakfast in the kitchen. Very cosy, clean and almost like visiting friends or family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Great break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we were happy with every thing.

    Alfonso, the owner, could not do enough for my wife & myself including collecting us from the airport & returning us at the end of the very good 4 night break. 10 out of 10 for every thing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    We had to sleep over with the family of 15 and it was good for that purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm slim but I hardly fitted into the shower cabin situated in the huge bathroom. Lights in the room had cold color.

    Super location and friendly family is the host.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Citta Alta - hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Location was excellent & room spotlessly clean. The owner, Celia and her staff are very friendly and welcoming.

    Excellent location. Huge room & very large bathroom with great shower. Nice breakfast. You can also help yourself to tea & coffee all day for free.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic - no negatives.

    Absolutely fantastic staff/host - very helpful and kind. Wonderful and extremely comfortable room. Great breakfast. Atmospheric and romantic, and perfectly located within Bergamo Alta.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Gem in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more appetising and unfortunately self service due to early staff, but happy to have had any.

    The location was excellent although a little difficult to find. The building was gorgeous and historic! Very clean and comfortable with an awesome shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Best to beat in Bergamo!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delighted with the whole experience. Exquisite old building bang in the middle of the old town. Alphonso was a very welcoming host and the breakfast he provided was a great start to the day. His recommendations for eating locally were spot on. His taxi service to the airport was also hugely convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Authentic Italian get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    600 year old period property decorated in original style Breakfast prepared personally just for our party. Tea n coffee available at no extra cost

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent historical place to stay in bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels in late evening

    Everything else. beautiful accommodation, and lovely breakfast, and lovely owners. highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    All round joyfulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts exceptionally accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfetto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast. Wonderful Monica. View of he bakery. Ceilings. Great location. Easy check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    “Perfetto”!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Perfetto”! Our trip was great! Tank you to this lovely family!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great history in the b&b. My wife and I had a very romantic stay in Bergamo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay a lot and would recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excelent! The location is just in the centre of the upper town and the staff is very kind and nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Very nice stay and staff in the middle of Citta Alta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice stay and staff in the middle of Citta Alta.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    I will come again as turist !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was fine

    Staff was very kind and helpful,they care for our free parking not too far from site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great hosts, breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts, breakfast and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - the B&B was everything it promised to be!

    Central location, very clean, comfortable beds, great breakfast and very friendly host!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Central in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    Central in old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints to make

    Breakfast very special

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    good choice if you stay in Bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    location is great, host is friendly and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    In the very heart of Old Town, a lot of nice family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Find a parking spot can be troublesome if You arriving late

    In the very heart of Old Town, a lot of nice family restaurants around

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to mention

    Great Location and fantastic hosts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location & hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very early departure yet we had a full breakfast laid out for us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tasty breakfast, great location, marvelous atmosphere but for people who like extraordinary places and not hotel alike.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful owner, decent apt, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments are on the first floor w/o elevator.

    Excellent location, 5 mins walk from Piazza Vecchia.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Very traditional and attractive property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very traditional and attractive property.Lovely smell of the bakery wafting through the open shuttered windows. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and high painted ceilings. the use of the kitchen to make drinks was useful. Very welcoming host & good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    marvelous location in the heart of old town offering a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    marvelous location in the heart of old town offering a tranquil and noise free stay. amazing villa with original features. large bathrooms with modern facilities blending nicely with the original character of the villa. perfect, accommodating hosts who helped us with any inquiry we had about Bergamo and the surrounding attractions. breakfast was varied every morning served in a spacious kitchen. very clean. overall feeling of homely cosines.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    9.2
    An enthusiastic host (spoke Italian)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A challenge to locate, busy Sunday in crowded Citta Alta. Hotel sign is not very visible, maybe because it's a guesthouse, which we've never stayed in, although we travel often.

    An enthusiastic host (spoke Italian)! Room was spacious with a museum, antique ambiance! Ideal location to visit the upper town! The host helped us with parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.5
    We liked the old building, the painted bedroom ceiling and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit dark and dingy and tucked away off the street through an old, medieval- looking wooden door. We had to cut our trip short as our daughter became ill back home in London, but the person who ran the guesthouse refused yo even consider a refund.

    We liked the old building, the painted bedroom ceiling and the spacious bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.6
    The location and the very friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFI low signal

    The location and the very friendly owners. Perfect temperature in the rooms although it was -4 C outside. Very "clever" breakfast with regional products.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    excellent location in old town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom ensuite but could be a share bathroom as there was a connecting door to common area. Need to ensure that door was locked.

    excellent location in old town centre. Guesthouse had nice old world ambience without the wornout needs fixing up feel.Also breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful and charming 15th century suite of rooms in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful and charming 15th century suite of rooms in the middle of the Citta Alta. You can drive right up to the outside to drop off your suitcases and then park, with a notice in the windscreen, on the nearby square. Alfonso, the owner, is absolutely charming, very helpful and very friendly. He recommended two great local restaurants for us. We were delighted with our stay and came away very happy.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Nice central location in Bergamo old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit confusing when we arrived as there was no one there to let us into the guest house and the neighbours were not very pleased to see us hanging around.

    Nice central location in Bergamo old town. Tea and coffee making facilities were great as we had to leave very early for our flight it was brilliant to have this facility. Andrea our host was charming and very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    4.6
    Owner was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Far too expensive. The room and bathroom were not clean. There was no wifi (the owner promised it was being fixed, but after 3 days nothing happened). The photos give the impression that there was a kitchen guests could use, but this is not true.

    Owner was friendly. Location is good, although not if you need to carry bags from public transport or a car park. Breakfast is ok, but not great compared to what you can get in nearby cafes.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.2
    Fab location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The temps were 35c+ & with no air con windows had to remain open; a lot of street noise throughout the night was a bit disturbing.

    Fab location; beautiful authentic property; lovely hosts; tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Arrangements were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Somewhat noise from the street at night. Shower box a little clumsy and made of weak material. Old fashioned cranes in bathroom. Old fashioned locking system with keys - acceptable in this case.

    Arrangements were perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Historic home right near the square and also walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Historic home right near the square and also walking distance to the fort and beautiful views. Loved the owner, Alfonso, who met us at the train station and drove us to the residence which was a Godsend. It would have been hard to locate as the exterior door was very difficult to spot. Alfonso also fixed us a wonderful breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Could not be better located, central to all the main sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower unit is incongruous and has seen better days, lets down the whole bathroom which is a shame. Works well enough though.

    Could not be better located, central to all the main sites. Walking distance to a number of great restaurants. Made to feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.2
    Place had the old world charm and rooms were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Creaky floors but that's only because it was 600 years old.

    Place had the old world charm and rooms were excellent. Location was super ..right in the middle of Cittá Alta or old town as locals call it. It was a pleasure to walk those stone pavements

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.2
    The Palazzo is a few 100 years old, but still in excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately other tourists with their luggage were to noisy on cobble-stone streets. Being a University Town, students were noisy late night.

    The Palazzo is a few 100 years old, but still in excellent condition. The rooms are nicely decorated with character.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.9
    Locations is very good to visit the town and old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went for a very cold period of the year...so was really very cold in the room for the first day).

    Locations is very good to visit the town and old city.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    9.6
    Location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi works unstable.

    Location is amazing. If you are traveling by car-you can park you car on the Piazza Citadella, the guesthouse will provide you with the special permition for that. The interior of the rooms really impressed, the staff is extremely friendly, special thanks to Lida, many useful recommendation! The breakfast is quiet good, but not unforgettable:)

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    The Guest house is so wonderfully located, we manager to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That we had to leave

    The Guest house is so wonderfully located, we manager to visit everything all within minutes. The own era was so kind, friendly and helpful and we enjoyed everything that was recommended to us. Can't wait to come again. Thank you so much

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    Nice and delicios brekfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and delicios brekfast

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    5.4
    Friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy room on front of building. Party of 7 split up in to two different buildings.

    Friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms, wonderful and friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful rooms, wonderful and friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic location.... Alfonso and staff amazing! ! Grazzie di tutto

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    Clean, very beutifful appartments and very kind owner mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, very beutifful appartments and very kind owner mr. Alfonso.everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast. Very gracious hosts. Parking is good. Location excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    10
    great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great place! kind owners!! clear and nice room, we feel like our house!!!!!!!! thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    10
    Bedroom, Hotel ambiance, Very friendly staff who could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Bedroom, Hotel ambiance, Very friendly staff who could not have been more helpful.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: