Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Guglielmo II 4 stars

Via Circonvallazione 34/36, 90046 Monreale, Italy

#18 of 26 hotels in Monreale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    We found Hotel Guglielmo a good base for us. We walked uphill to Monreale. Easy access to Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited. No restaurant nearby but staff arranged for us to have a meal with a local couple, which proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable night.

    Quiet location on a bus route, with good parking for our car. Staff were very good, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location for exploring area as not in town centre, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Potentially facilities were very good, but air conditioning in both rooms was inadequate.

    Good location for exploring area as not in town centre, but limitied alternatives to eat near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Good point to explore Palermo and close area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definitely out of dated and should be rated rather 3 stars than 4. Beds/ mattress/pillows are really not comfortable. Very modest "sweet traditional breakfast" Located just on the road from Palermo to Monreale, so you can hear traffic very well

    Location is convenient to explore Palermo area Very friendly staff, provided recommendations /references were very useful Restaurant with panoramic view (we have tried it for breakfast only) Mini freezer in the rooms (with no tea facilities, though :(

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Extremely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful staff. The receptionist went above the call of duty to feed us on New Year's day by arranging food delivery and setting up a cozy table for us. Note: the hotel has its own restaurant but it was closed like practically all other restaurants in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Well located, friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the public spaces need refurbishment, e.g. the worn carpets on the corridors do not reflect the.comfortable bedrooms.

    The staff were most helpful. The lady in Reception organized a take away for us as the restaurant is closed on Monday night. She then advised us brilliantly on parking and touring in both Monreale and Palermo. The breakfast was very good and the panoramic dining room lived up to its name. The hotel is well placed to drive or take bus into Palermo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    not worth 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the internet was horrible in the first few days of our stay but was not bad in the last night. the carpets in the corridors were dirty

    the restaurant has good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls! You hear a lot of noise from the neighbours! Wifi worked not well from our room, but perfect from reception!

    Perfect breakfast! New and modern rooms! Good parking facilities! Close to the city centre! Nice and friendly team of staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    It was a short ride to Palermo. Great location for sight-seeing without being in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs and meat at breakfast were cold. Electricity only worked when room key was inserted. That meant we could not charge anything unless we were in the room. That included refrigerator which was not cold even in the morning. Sky tv did not work as advertised for English.

    Front desk staff very friendly and helpful with maps and directions. View was great. Beds were comfortable and the room was large with lots of room for clothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good for stopover or business trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately pool area in shade very early. Hotel a bit faded for a 4****

    Very friendly staff and excellent location for Monreale and Palermo. Good for a stop over.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful view and a wonderful pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to taste canolli right in hotel but they offer only usual breakfast. In spite of that we really like this hotel!

    This is hotel with a wonderful view and a very nice pool! I Really like this hotel because of that and because of nice and helpfull staff. You can see hotel pool and view in my video here (1:42) https://youtu.be/SCmJtrcQXwk?t=102

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    A view frpm Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best views were in the restaurant and not the rooms. Why this is so I cannot say. I thought this to be a bit of an architectural flaw. The rooms had no balconies to be able to appreciate the views. Having said this however the beds were wonderfully clean and comfortable. Shower room and toilet were really ok in my view. Access to the building was confusing. At first it was unclear where the main entrance was. It could do a bit bettet in catering for self propelled wheelchair cases.

    If you have a car the location is very good. Good parkibg facilities. Swimming pool is rather small but adequate to cool down. If you depend on public transport then there are only taxis to depend on or your legs. Quite far from Paletmo centre. About 6 to 8km. The views were beautiful. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The best view is in the restaurant area and not the rooms. Breakfast average. Some staff members are really sweet. I would rrecommend however that staff members should stop playing with their mobiles whilst at work or in front of their guests or if they have to use their mobiles tell them to be more subtle about it. All n all however I came out satisfied and I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Very good and well placed hotel, if we do not consider a few mishaps that were not "repaired"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator, although new, did not work at all, during very hot days! There was no hot water for more than 24 hours, so no shower after Palermo at 39 Celsius in the shade? Promises that the failure is repaired, but no excuse and No reimbursement of any kind was offered, nor a solution. We had paid for breakfast (it was not included) but we were not allowed to take anything from the breakfast room, no tea nor croissant. My wife has diabetes, so she cannot eat at exact times of the day. As a consequence,we had to loose time and find a supermarket. The rating reflects the given situation not a permanent one.

    The location was excellent, in fact we chose it on purpose, as being near Palermo but not in town. It was also close to Monreale. The Parking is well placed, on hotel grounds, easy to access. The room had a breathtaking view over the mountains, Palermo and the sea! The furniture, although a little worn out, is giving a cosy "air" to the room. The reception staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two ladies in reception we dealt with were very friendly and gave good information of what to see and do in Monreale and Palermo. The view from the dining room on third floor was magnificent. Breakfast was very good and we had dinner at the hotel and food and service was excellent. Wifi was good from our room and as we were travelling by car, was able to use the large parking lot across the road. Swimming pool was clean and the view great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.4
    A hotel where you need a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room was closed for all three nights that we stayed at the property, and they were only able to offer a meal with no choices served in the breakfast area. This was a real problem as the hotel is 10-15 minutes walk up a fairly unsavoury very steep street to the town where the restaurants are. We were advised by the hotel staff not to walk in the roads about the hotel as they were dangerous (the hotel is on the main road), and we did not want to take the car out at night as we wanted to be able to drink. So we had to risk walking on the main road and then taking the steep walk up to the town.

    The room was well-appointed and the breakfast had a wide range of food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Great view over the Conca d’Oro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can go to Palermo easy by Bus. The bus stop is only a few meters away (ask at the concierge). You can reach the cathedral of Monreale by walking uphill in ten minutes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    . Parking excellent. Lovely view from breakfast room.Bathroom needs upgrading but clean
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More modern bathroom, especially the shower cubicle. No view from room.. More room space

    Breakfast was good except for the coffee. Lovely views from the breakfast room. Very good parking for the car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    5.8
    Just does not really work as a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location on busy, noisy main road with pool on north side in shade much of the day (and rather cold as a result). Car park on other side of the main road. The air-con in the room did not really work. The breakfast was OK - wide range of sweet dishes but canned fruit and stale coffee. Signs telling people not to take anything to their room for "health and safety" reasons! Ate there for dinner once: starter (anti pasto!) and main dish (fish) arrived together.

    Staff were very pleasant as was the hotel cat. I liked the way the corridor lights switched on automatically.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    5.4
    Not 4 stars worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not efficient air conditioning. The pool is small and in shadow in the afternoon. Very old TVs in the rooms and sky TV is only available as from September till May.

    The location and the breakfast were OK with a great view on the bay of palermo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Parking, pool, lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on a busy road

    Parking, pool, lovely rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    early check in, welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    can hear air planes from early mornng. No hand held shower head.

    early check in, welcoming and helpful staff.beach front location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location, friendly helpful staff, optional secure parking, good breakfast and amazing views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Good lodging option near Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fruit options in breakfast; Pool does not have a bar for guests

    Overall comfort of the room; Nice view; Easy Parking; Good restaurant; Courteous staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was a little too far from monreale and from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was a little too far from monreale and from Palermo for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable Hotel close to the centre of Monfeale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some traffic noise.

    Friendly staff cleanliness good location but a bit of a climb up to the centre of Monreale.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel but unreliable Wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi and A/C were unreliable and some days didn't work at all. Very few meal choices at the restaurant.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    A good hotel near Monreale and Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room, views, breakfast , staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    The view from our room on the second floor over the valley...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning did not work and it was too noisey to keep the window open. There was no where to walk to dinner.

    The view from our room on the second floor over the valley below was fabulous. The dining room for breakfast was on the third floor so view was even better.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Very nice Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    view from the window in our room was on hotel stairs

    Very nice Staff. Clean and cozy room & bathroom, good WIFI, parking included. Delicious breakfast. Location - close to all tourist attractions but you need to go up to the hill. Very good value for the price - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful English-speaking Reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant not open for dinner - menu advertised in foyer, but was not open on any of the 4 days we stayed there. On a busy road, so some traffic noise

    Very friendly and helpful English-speaking Reception staff. Very clean. Lots of parking across the road. Bus stop for bus into Palermo nearby. A short drive to car park for Monreale centre.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Location is very easy to find and good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences. If you have a car it is better to drive up to Monreale and park rather instead of a rather long walk uphill on a busy road.

    Location is very easy to find and good parking. Everything was nice here. View of Palermo, outdoor pool and seating. Room was nice.Breakfast in the upper ballroom type room was good, with a nice view. Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    6.7
    The view from the hotel was very nice, the staff was helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi did not work at all for me on several devices on either day I was there. Strangely, the front desk clerk was able to get on the wifi, but I never was. The room was quite cold and difficult to warm up. The mattress is a bit tough.

    The view from the hotel was very nice, the staff was helpful (speaking several languages), and the breakfast was adequate. Ample parking is available and it is not located far from the beautiful historical center of Monreale.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Warm staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Warm staff. Big comfortable room. Wonderful panoramic.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff was kind and speaks very good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was kind and speaks very good English. A view of Palermo from the restaurant was great.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    The Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Hot breakfast

    The Room

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    6.7
    In mid October it felt like they had closed down the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In mid October it felt like they had closed down the external facilities. No pool, no seating etc

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff were excellent,very helpful with good English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were excellent,very helpful with good English

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    The view and the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view and the pool

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Guglielmo II traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: