Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gutkowski 3 stars

Lungomare Vittorini 18, Ortigia, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#13 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in another building with no view of the sea or garden or courtyard. In fact, it was at the back of a separate building and on the ground floor, with a window that faced a neighbour's junky courtyard with a barking dog, and construction noise until late evening. The room was very tight on space, minimalist furniture, low on light and in a poor location considering the other rooms in the main building.

    The hotel itself was fine as far as location, cleanliness, facilities and breakfast was good and served in a bright, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window did not open properly and there was barely any light coming into our room, plus no phone connection. But I guess this was the particular location of our room and rooms further up are better.

    Perfect location and very stylish and modern interior design. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent small hotel. Quirky & different, with friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant is excellent too. If I visit Siracusa again I will stay at Hotel Gutkowski.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a fight for decent things at breakfast as there were few staff - it was off season so not to be unexpected.

    The location was great - Ortigia is a lovely little island. Comfy, good value hotel with good decorations and a decent breakfast. We had a good stay and it is a good option in the area. Excellent local restaurants and walking distance to the archeological site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i liked the hotel food. Excellent especially their Lingini alla sirakusana! loved the view and personnel was very friendly. very good location in the historical city center of Ortigia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed only a proper good coffee for breakfast from a decent coffee machine, not from a thermos,

    I had always wanted to stay in this hotel having seen it while walking past last time in Ortigia . We really loved every aspect of the hotel, lovely decoration, very clean, great atmosphere, modern but with great taste and good eye for decoration. Very comfortable bed, good mattress, good lighting, lovely bed sheets and pillows, good shower, great towels, lovely room facing the sea and with the sound of the sea. Very nice staff and owner and owners mother, very sweet and kind and we got an upgraded to sea view room, really lovely. I would love to come back again and eat at the restaurant which was shut on sunday night, The hotel is perfectly located, right on the edge of the sea and near to the fish and fresh fruit and produce market where one can eat really well at a variety of really good bars and restaurants and at a fabulous Delikatessen where you can get great plates of antipasti (East village style NY) . You can park directly outside the hotel who provide a parking allowance for this. Already recommended this to Andrew Hazewinklel who stayed here with his partner last night and some nights before,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was Italien, but some days not as complex as others and too much on the light side.

    Very nice location and friendly staff. Dinner in hotel was available and the quality was above the average restaurant in the area. Realy good value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions would have helped - neither Italian nor UK satnav seemed to realise it's on a one-way street off the island of Ortigia.

    Great location on the sea front within easy walking distance of everything on Ortigia: wonderful alleys and piazzas, historic churches and palaces, with restaurants & cafes galore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING!

    We booked this hotel on line as we were staying elsewhere in a hotel that had been oversold to us by a tour operator and we wanted to move. This hotel is truly original and unique. an eclectic mix of furnishings and decor, a superb location, staff whose purpose is to do as much as possible for their guests, a nice bar and restuarant with good value food and wines, a very comfortable bed, if there was one thing that i would alter it would be the provision of a full length mirror in either the bedroom or the bathroom but this would be churlish of us to complain about.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the thought of sipping a delicious Mojito on a terrace overlooking the Sea sounds appealing to you, then this is the perfect hotel. The air conditioning was cold, the Wi-Fi was fast, and the views were wonderful. We ate at the restaurant downstairs for dinner and it was absolutely lick your plate delicious. The location was perfect for getting around the island and we parked our car in the parking garage across the street (10 Euro for 24 hours). Absolutely loved the décor and the ambiance of this hotel! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    BREAKFAST WAS DREADFUL. THEY CANNOT COPE WITH THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE STAYING AT THE HOTEL. THERE IS A MINIMAL OFFERING OF FOODSTUFFS IN ANY EVENT AND YET THINGS RAN OUT BY 9AM. WE HAD TO DRINK COFFEE OUT OF FRUIT BOWLS AS THERE WERE NO CUPS. BREAKFAST IS SUPPOSED TO START AT 7:30 AND YET ON 2 MORNINGS WHEN WE TURNED UP THEY HADN'T EVEN PUT OUT THE COFFEE LET ALONE THE FOOD. THE FULL OFFERING DIDN'T APPEAR UNTIL 8AM WHICH IS IRRITATING IF YOU WANT AN EARLY START TO THE DAY. OUR ROOM WAS POORLY ARRANGED IN TERMS OF ANYWHERE TO PUT THINGS. WE HAD NO DRAWER SPACE ONLY A NARROW SHELF ABOVE THE BED SO HAD TO USE OUR SUITCASES AS DRAWERS. THE BATH WASN'T VERY CLEAN. THERE ARE NO " DO NOT DISTURB SIGNS" WHICH MEANS THAT YOU GO TO BREAKFAST AND COME BACK TO FIND YOUR ROOM IS BEING CLEANED AND YOU HAVE TO HANG AROUND WAITING FOR THE CLEANER TO FINISH. CAR PARKING CAN BE DIFFICULT OUTSIDE AND YOU MAY HAVE TO CIRCLE ROUND A FEW TIMES BEFORE YOU FIND A SPACE.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking in Ortigia is restricted with very little free parking. If you are coming in a car, your best bet is staying in the Talete car park with a 10 Euro per day charge. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the property, the window was onto a courtyard which had a dog in it which barked a lot in the night and noisy caged birds(can't really be helped by the hotel but did disturb our sleep). Our booking confirmation said we had a balcony but there wasn't one. But the room and decor was very nice.

    Perfect location - right in the middle of everything! We didn't need our car at all for our stay as we really loved just wandering the streets. The cappuccinos in the morning were great and they do a good range of tasty treats for breakfast. The restaurant also does good food. The hotel is very welcoming. The decor is fresh with a bohemian feel which worked very well. The plates and cups etc used in the restaurant are from a local artist - we visited the shop and bought some souvenirs. The hotel staff were very helpful, from parking advice to tourist advice - they were happy to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was about 300m away and cost 10e a day, the car park reached across a busy road.

    Nice, simply furnished room with comfortable bed and good airconditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. Well placed for seeing the sights, eating in the market delis at lunchtime and exploring the many restaurants in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room that resembled a 1970's dormitory Looked out onto someone's washing line Shower head fell on my daughters head Aircon noisy I'm sure all the rooms are not like that but ours was awful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view from our room but there was a terrace (for all guests) down the hall with a view of the water. Public parking was a bit hectic but there is a "garage" very close by.

    Loved the hotel's decor/aesthetic- very cool! Great location on the water and helpful staff. Comfortable room, firm mattress. Great breakfast (so many options!) Awesome location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing or near the street are noisy until quite late at night. Unfortunate because it's a lovely view!!

    Great location! Nice sun terrace looking seaward for evening sunsets!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was cold and very weak.

    Fantastic location. Easy to park nearby. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good options for breakfast. Lovely communal spaces.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was too bright, the windows did not close properly, the room was not well acoustically isolated so it became very noisy if there were some people on the corridor and lift, the bed had a massive metallic structure to support the mattress on which we ended up hurting our legs and feet by accidentally kicking it. The breakfast was good and - in our opinion - not fabulous as it was rated in Booking.com. Also, although the staff communicated to us in advance (and it was also visible upon booking in the website), house keeping during the months of January and February happens only every 3 days. I believe that is too long for house keeping, mainly if you are traveling with children. We could request earlier cleaning, but we'd need to pay extra for it. However, the friendliness and support of staff were so great, that all those listed things above became minor. And should we ever go back to Ortigia, we'd stay there again.

    The staff was tremendously supportive and friendly. They waited us so long until they closed the breakfast. They were even gentle enough to call us to check whether or not we were going for it. I can't thank Cristina enough for having waited for us for 2 hours in the evening due to some delay we had with the rental car, for providing us with some milk for my child as all shops were already closed at 10pm when we arrived and for being very supportive and patient in other matters too. They were also very kind in communicating our car plate to the local police as Ortigia can allow a limited amount of vehicles and parking spaces are very scarce.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had a metal frame that stuck out - we came away with bruises after banging our legs on it several times each!

    Very pleasant hotel, had a lovely feel to it. Sympathetically renovated - we did have a sea view room though which really is a must for this hotel as rooms are quite small. Breakfast was excellent. Just a short walk to lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location by sea and nice terrace. Shabby rather than shabby chic with a basic shower. Breakfast had some nice touches (wonderful home made jams) but both this and the room nothing like worthy of the praise given by some reviews.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms facing the main road are very noisy as it is a main road with intense traffic from early hours in the morning. When mentioned to the reception we were changed to a room looking towards the internal courtyard, much more quiet, though the staff cleaning the rooms started their round at 8:50 am and were not particularly quiet.

    Very good location in Ortigia, very cute hotel, with personal decor and touches. Rooms are on the small size, and bathrooms even smaller (but I guess every room is different and we were a bit unlucky). Breakfast good. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a small but nice sea view room, in the morning you hear everything in this hotel, the walls are very thin and the houskeeping staff starts early with cleaning...

    beautiful place with nice small restaurant, good breakfast with a big selection of italian food and nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gutkowski is a good place, if somewhat overpriced, to stay in Siracusa. It's centrally located across the street from the seafront, with many rooms in the original building as well as on the second floor of the main building having sea views. Unfortunately, my first room (room 20) faced a stone wall and a parking lot, but I could go to the second floor terrace for a view of the sea. Also, this room is directly above the hotel's restaurant patio area so it can get smelly and a bit noisy, especially on Thursday evenings when they have happy hour and a jazz band playing until about 11:30. I like the hotel's simple design, which could be described as shabby or distressed industrial chic -- all worn wood or polished concrete floors, metal frame beds, mismatched antiques, stylish Danish armchairs contrasting with pillowy couches, sleek design lamps -- the whole effect pulled off expertly. Breakfast delicious -- one of the best anywhere in the Mediterranean. Internet weak or as in the case of the entire first floor of the main building for over five days, nonexistent. While I was glad to have been moved to the other building, I think guests on this floor should have had their stay discounted. However, the shabby concept has been stretched too far. While the hotel is kept very very clean, the floors, walls and bathrooms are in dire need of a paint and renovation job. Walls look they've been plastered in black scuff marks. The burnt red-orange walls in the original building look scruffy and outdated. The wood floors are so worn down they look dirty, though I know they are washed often. The shower in room 20 is cramped (I am only 5 feet tall and weigh about 115 pounds, so this gives you some indication) and leaked everywhere. So, as cool and as popular as the Gutkowski is, some basic renovation would certainly make it even better.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some details. I would have loved to have a full lenght mirror in the room. The Shower's tend might need to be changed.

    The personal, the location and the interiors of the hotel. Simple and chic hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got an interior room-- it was very comfortable and light but I am sure an ocean view would have been nicer.

    The location was great and the breakfast was very nice (one of the better breakfasts we had in 2 weeks of traveling).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the water. Arrived on a Monday when many restaurants were closed so ate at the hotel. Wonderful dinner! I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to not like! :) :) :)

    We loved the holiday beachy feel of the hotel, rooms light and airy with interesting interiors and great simple but eclectic decor. Breakfast (and coffee) was always excellent and loved the quirky but simple restaurant/breakfast room. Staff were always happy, friendly and very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room had a very small shower with noisy neighbours who lived next door

    Location was quiet but easy to get to other places from. Breakfast was excellent- fresh fruit, and lots of other things. Staff helpful organising our adventures on the local busses. The evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was pretty outdated, not up to modern standards. The hotel is very noisy, one can hear everything in the hallway from the room: doors, noise from downstairs, etc. We had a room at the front of the hotel, which is on a busy road. We hardly slept due to the cars driving by the whole night and due to lack of double glazing doors/windows. Fortunately after our complaint they put us in a room at the back of the hotel. Only in front of the hotel is free parking, but obviously it's hard to find a spot here. Otherwise there is parking nearby for 10 euro's a day and about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Great location, very central. Very good breakfast. In the evening there is a restaurant and little terras in front of the hotel, which is really nice. One night they organised a buffet with live music, which was lovely. Most of the staff was very friendly, except for one man who couldn't take his eyes off the computer screen when we would leave for the day and was very short with us. Everyone spoke English very well. Nice atmosphere and interior in the hotel. There is a lovely roof terras.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    you need help with parking on the street but the paid parking only costs 10 Euro once you work out how to find it.

    staff were helpful, breakfasts are good and it is so well located.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    sea view- cozy atmosphere- very nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine

    Good breakfast, excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible staff, very stylish hotel. Would return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, comfy beds, great breakfast, ideal location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking is an issue - even in winter

    lovely rooms - comfortable and quiet very friendly/helpful staff great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities could have been updated a little

    Convenient location, on the water, near the center of Ortigia

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big groups of Americans turned up one day and flooded the restaurant. No one likes to see that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were outstanding and plentiful; the room was quite funky in an historic house and very comfortable. Good location across from the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fabulous place to stay, very simple but beautiful with wonderful staff and I strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Best location on Ortigia!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff and food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isnt easy

    Excellent breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, relaxed and clean. Great location. The food in the restaurant was simple but it was the best we had in italy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vast and tasty breakfast Easy to get around Ortigia Dinner at the restaurant Friendly staff Comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, not that much choice and the fruit was old.

    Nice small hotel in ortiga. Good ambiance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all amazing! The common areas all had very cool decor and the room was comfy and interesting. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise , asked for a different room but none was available. We had booked for two nights and that was disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern but traditional design - eclectic furnishings. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more of a selection at breakfast.

    Wonderful views, great location, very comfortable bed and very quiet!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Breakfast selection

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept in a single bed and it was a bit too narrow.

    The location, decor and view were incredible. I would recommend it highly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast much- the breakfast coffee is poor and quite cold

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fabulous. The rooms and the entire hotel were decorated very tastefully with a bit of old and new. The location cannot be beat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfasts. Lukewarm coffee and dry bread No cleaning for 3 days even though our bin was overflowing.

    Stunning views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pleased

    Great staff,yummy breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved this hotel, convenient location, helpful staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nicely renovated and styled breakfast was excellent staff were welcoming, happy and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Boutique style

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Light airy rooms. Super location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff extraordinarily helpful Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location by the water in the historic island close to all sites. Nice rooms and design. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee

    Nice location, Nice terrasse, Good beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult parking

    Helpful staff, comfortable room, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi inconsistent

    Nice room, well located, quiet.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location in the Ortigia was very good in a walking distance from all the important sites. The staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Good breakfast. We even found a parking opposite the hotel door.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was missing meat. Some lovely local ham would have been good to go with the delicious cheeses, fresh fruit & breads. The chipped plates was taking the shabby chic image too far.

    Quirky, shabby chic hotel in a quiet area but close to good bars & restaurant. A great rooftop patio to meet up for an early drink. Comfy bedroom with a good en-suite bathroom. Professional friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel proved a little difficult to drive to by car. You need to go along along a few streets that at first appear to be pedestrian only.

    The hotel is in a great location, and we loved everything about it. We booked late and were only able to grab basic double rooms, with no sea view, but they very nice. The breakfast buffet was very good and staff went to great lengths to keep it well topped up. Parking proved very easy on the street just outside the hotel. We loved the terrace on the top of the hotel, and met up there for pre-dinner drinks each night.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is set at a very busy and loud street, also, during our stay, there were building works within the building, which were extremely loud in our room. However, the personal offered us a different room, so dealt with it in a fine way. The shower did not have a curtain and was too low for me to stand in.

    Charmingly renovated building, with great sense of taste. Very friendly personal. Decent breakfast, comfortable rooms and a fantastic roof-terrace with views to the sea. Overall a great experience, although it seems slightly overpriced (but I guess this is normal in the area).

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be a challenge depending on what day and time you arrive.

    Loved the retention of original construction features. High quality space. Great breakfast- the best we had out of the 12 hotels we stayed in on this trip. Great walkability to the city, and very close to the outdoor market. Really nice staff too.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Couple

    The big heavy front door was very noise as we were on the front of the building just above it. Absolutely fine for an early riser, but a nightmare if you wanted a lie in!

    Great location, slightly away from the main street, but perfect distance to work up and appetite and also to work off an evening meal! The room was lovely and rustic, good size and very clean with amazing views. Staff were friendly and the granitas on the rooftop terrace was a nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Actually everything was perfect. Parking for free is not easy, but if you are lucky or just patient you will find a free parking spot. Otherwise a nearby parking costs maximum €10 per day.

    Lovely hotel, good location. perfect atmosphere, nicely furnished and decorated, superb breakfast, bicycles for free to explore town, excellent restaurant Neo Gut, overall friendly personal!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel in perfect location overlooking the sea. Fresh, laid back style. Delicious continental breakfast with fresh fruit, juices, breads, cereals, boiled eggs, yoghurt. Granite served on roof terrace on the early evening.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Now spread over two disconnected houses; impersonal; drinks expensive.

    good location, roof terrace, good breakfast, minimalist furnishing with old pieces.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect and room 4 in the other building is a scrumptious delight. The light that filters through the windows bouncing from the sea just beyond the building cannot be matched.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gutkowski traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: