Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hambros - Il Parco in Villa Banchieri 4 stars

Via Pesciatina 197 - SS435, 55100 Capannori, Italy

#2 of 5 hotels in Capannori

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 545 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff (the lady) at the reception: very customer- and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very narrow bath-room (e.g. WC without sufficient distance for the legs).

    Staff (the lady) at the reception: very customer- and service-oriented, spending time for finding touristic information for the guest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.0
    nice place, friendly reception, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms (shower) not really clean, hairdryer was broken. You can hear everything from the neighbour-rooms, really everything!!!

    nice place, friendly reception, nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Business trips not family vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacked atmosphere. There was no music in communal areas. Sky news 24 was on in the breakfast area, which at times had quite graphic images and inappropriate adverts for children to be around. There were no activities or special provisions made for kids. Breakfast wasn’t great (particularly after getting psyched up for it after reading other reviews). There was no freshly cooked hot food (I know this isn’t particularly in keeping with the continent, but we’d have loved even some cooked eggs with toast). Staff didn’t offer us any hot drinks, although from being nosey it became apparent you could ask for espresso, cappuccinos etc at no extra cost (there were flasks of americano and tea at the buffet). Whilst the selection of food was ok (at best) none of it felt particularly fresh or good quality, with a large portion of the food coming in packaging.

    The room was a good size, clean, had comfortable beds and a decent en suite. There was plenty of parking. Staff were also helpful, although had varying levels of English (all of them substantially better than my Italian). The pool was definitely the highlight of our short stay and was perfect for the kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Very pretty hotel and round about but not close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pretty hotel and round about but not close to town. Was modern and had a good bar, breakfast and lounge area with a nice seating outside The rooms were good but quite small with a great bath room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean hotel with fabulous staff
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were right at the top of the staircase and as the entire hall way and landings are tiled the sound echoed. We could literally hear people on the ground talking and every door slam. If you're a light sleeper I would not recommend although it may have been the position of our rooms so ask not to be placed anywhere near the staircase.

    Staff were great, location was ideal for us, breaks was lovely and the whole hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location wasn't great, there was literally nothing within walking distance. Without a car, you're pretty stranded. Room, although very clean, was nowhere near as nice as pictures on the website. Breakfast was average at best. No instructions for the safe and the restaurant wasn't open, other than at breakfast. My coffee & tea wasn't replaced when the room was cleaned, so unless you wanted to drive to eat out for every meal, it was very difficult to find anywhere to eat and drink. I walked for an hour on the first night and the best food I could find to take back to the room was a bag of crisps and a choc bar.

    Staff were very helpful when approached, if not overly forthcoming with information about the hotel, or the local area. I had to ask about everything, even breakfast times etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    In Italy I've seen 3 stars hotels more more better than Hotel Hambros with 4!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal: I've arrived at hotel with 25 minutes earliest and I was lucky to meet mister Grumpy. He had a bored and pist off attitude, especially when I've solicited information how to I have to reach the parking area. Room: The room was very small. On the site was 25 square meters, but in the reality was 3m x 3m, with errors => maximum 12.5 square metters. My wife stops me to make complains, because we used hotel only to sleep, in rest we have been away. The bed sheets have been clean, but little old or bad quality for a hotel with 4 stars pretentions. Breakfast: I've loved expression of Italian Lady: "Oh... Niente!". Exactly: a big nothing (dry thinks in general) smart spread on a big table. Horrible cafe. Bath room: The sink, bided and wc are in row, in this order, too close to each other. You must to be good on contortionism to use them well. The same rule for shower cabin, which was small, not for claustrophobic people. Doesn't matter how skiny you are, effectively was impossible to wash your "jewelry" and to see them in the same time, because the shower cabin is very small ans the shower was fixed in the wall, like in the gulag! Silence: Very nice silence in the area, with one exception. On the first morning, they clean a room from the proximity, or I don't know what they did, but the noise was like an evacuation during the war. They moved the furniture, drop it... ohhhh....

    Good: location, silence, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable perfect location for our trip. Staff were helpful would definitely stay there agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the pool was going to be ready but it wasn't - bit disappointed as it was supposed to be ready this summer

    The restaurant which wasn't owned by the hotel but it was in the hotel grounds was lovely - very good menu and lovely pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Close to Lucca.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a four star hotel. Poor breakfast: only a toast bread was served as bread; only pre-prepared coffee was included into the price of the breakfast which was not able to underline the fame of the Italian coffee culture. Table skirts of the buffet breakfast serving tables were dirty seemingly for a long time ago. There were hair in the bathroom. Room was overcooled. Corridor carpets were dirty/overworn. Fallen leaves in the garder and on the terraces were not collected some months ago. Nothing to see in walking distance.

    Close to Lucca. Kind and prompt staff. Small but nice park (although the pool was under constuction). Nice building, cosy lobby and social places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Set in lovely grounds , helpful staff and easy to get into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly it did not have a swimming pool as stated, with workman and all noise associated in the process of installing one. As fairly remote would have been much better if the hotel had a restaurant for dinner. Bathroom shower was very dated - certainly needed a renovation.

    Set in lovely grounds , helpful staff and easy to get into Lucca

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Stylish and beautiful Villa Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Villa; stylish and tastefully decorated; wonderful gardens with modern art sculptures; quiet places to retreat to; absolutely friendly staff; excellent breakfast. I can highly recommend Villa Hambros. We will most certainly go back and stay for a few days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    I highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The business office wasnt that good. Computers were slow and werent hooked up to the printer. Instructions for the room safe would have been helpful. I would advise staff not to use guests personal items in the room such as phone chargers. When we returned to the room a staff members phone was left in our room and charging ... if it were his charger it wouldnt have been as concerning but it was ours.

    Parking was good. Site seemed secure. 24 hour front desk staff was reassuring. Breakfast was exceptional. Room was very nice ... everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a great value. One of the best night's sleep I had during my trip. Once the pool is finished (its under construction now) the place will be the perfect location/point of reference for visits to Lucca.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was identical, every single day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was identical, every single day. At least a little variation would have been appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, nice area, very clean and luxury

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful villa style hotel with attentive staff and big rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly, the pool was nice and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small.

    Staff was very friendly, the pool was nice and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money, lovely little find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was fine

    Excellent location for a business visit and lovely hotel, restaurant next door amazing too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Terrible small bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible small bed. No chance to get food in the hotel when I arrived at 8PM

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    I just wanted as little hassle as possible. It’s a functional hotel away from all the Lucca BS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for business use. Nice restaurant within walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    The night we were there the heating wasn't working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night we were there the heating wasn't working properly. It was VERY hot and we couldn't sleep! They should have informed us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable room, need a car as it is a ways out of Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice place, but you need a car as it is a ways out of town. Comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    2.9
    Dirt in bathroom, dead mosquitos on the walls, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt in bathroom, dead mosquitos on the walls, breakfast without any eggs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    No pool as per description on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool as per description on booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.3
    Staff and service was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything from other rooms and from the lobby Couldn't sleep because of that

    Staff and service was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Safe parking and good breakfast and large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe parking and good breakfast and large room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is actually great: fine interior, good room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I didn't like was the following... Actually, we travelled through Europe, and on the way from France to Italy decided to come to Lucca. So we booked a room at Hotel Hambros from a hotel in France, at about 23.30 or so, and made a mistake - booked the room for the same day, not for the following. So when we came to the hotel next evening, we had to pay for two nights' stay without any discounts. But, OK, that had been our mistake, so the hotel was in their right to charge us twice the price... (Actually, if it had been me to decide, I would have given the guest in such a situation a huge discount: no cleaning had been needed, no breakfast eaten, and it had not been the high season - so no other guest would have got this room...).

    The hotel is actually great: fine interior, good room, delicious breakfast and perfectly situated - not far from the historical center of Lucca, but detached from the road and in its own small garden.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.0
    Building was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is MUCH too far from town, the cab fare ONE WAY was approx. 40 Euro which made it impossible to go back and forth to the hotel to dress for dinner etc. This made for a very long day and evening. True, could have driven but there is no parking available in the summer time. Perhaps during the off season that would work.

    Building was nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    4.6
    The breakfast staff is relatively nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would like to know based in what criteria is this a four star hotel. Through our car trip in Italy is was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. The beds and pillows were so hard we felt in the Stone Age. The rooms have no decoration at all. All they have are beds with the ugliest covers and a TV. The sheets felt like sand paper.

    The breakfast staff is relatively nice. I didn't stay longer than I absolutely needed.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    location close to Lucca, friendly and helpful staff, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi could be better,

    location close to Lucca, friendly and helpful staff, clean

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Serrature porte camere assai rumorose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Serrature porte camere assai rumorose

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    The evironment of the hotel is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be richer.

    The evironment of the hotel is wonderful.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: