Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Helios 4 stars

Via Gramsci 6, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy

#22 of 23 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Beyond happy with our stay – can’t wait to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We prefer soft sandy beaches to pebbly ones.

    The staff were all professional, easy to talk to and really really friendly! Loved their soft cheese options at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    The swimming pool is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom: I paid 230 euros and was expecting a larger room with new forniture and a view, instead it was small, old and on a noisy road. The bathroom is very small and old too. There is a minibar but it was empty in spite I paid with credit card. The air-conditioning is very nosy, we had to switch it off in order to sleep. I understand they painted it recently and put some new decorations here and there, but for this amount of money the room is inadequate. The swimming pool is great but it's included only until 12 am, if you sleep here one night and you want to spend the afternoon by the pool you have to pay an extra ticket! The breakfast is definitely poor, with bisquits you find in a supermarket and packed sneak. There's gem but no bread. Not even a cake but only few croissants, yogurt but no cereals or muesli.

    The swimming pool is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    good choice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be too old, but it didnt matter in the end

    The view from the balcony costs more than the room, it's simply amazing The staff is very helpful and nice The breakfast is good knowing that normally it's quite poor in Italy Parking lot is a big advantage Slippers in the room were very useful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall very good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not great for a 4 Star.

    I feel that the breakfast could have been better for a 4 Star hotel and it need an overhaul i.e. refurbishment and definitely a new paint job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Overrated hotel, stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard that clearly don’t reach a 4 Star hotel. No place to unload luggage, no parking, not friendly, not service minded and helpful staff. The exterior was poor, main entrance terrible and the hotel is in need of a renovation which probably should have been done years ago.... the rooms are claustrophobic. I wouldn’t eat at the hotel since it doesnt look fresh, just take a look at the outside menu?! Wouldn’t recommend. Overrated hotel. The lowest score to give seems to be 2,5 but if possible I would rate 0 or 1.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff were very rude and the rooms are in need of some modernization. the location is excellent but this is the only good thing tonsay about this hotel. reminded me of a badley run retirement home

    the ouysidr space was very nice and the location were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    The outside facilities were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not that friendly except for woman at front desk. The rooms were musty. Hotel guests cannot sit in prime seats because they give to paying customers who wander by.

    The outside facilities were amazing. Great pool and view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff and great views :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like the shower in our room. it was too small to have a shower or wash my hair without flooding the toilet floor.

    Clean room, comfortable bed. We got upgraded to a room with an ocean view. The room and toilet was smaller than the room we initially got. The upgraded room came with a balcony and the view from the balcony made up for the size of the room and toilet. Location was great too as it was close to the train station (4 min walk) and its on the beachfront with a salt water pool. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Restaurant in the hotel has great food and great service. We went there for dinner on two occasion and was impressed with the quality of food. We have stayed at other hotels in the area and loved Hotel Helios for its location and would definitely come back to this one again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Location and Pool Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor bar staff are over worked with few servers, meaning long wait times for drinks and food. They need a more efficient system to enhance the 4 star experience, can't blame the servers they did the best they could.

    The pool and beach area was great, as well as the location of the hotel, couldn't beat it. Front desk staff was phenomenal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding and bed was not as comfortable as expected

    Wonderful staff. Wonderful location. Beautiful pool. Bathroom great. Bedding and bed should have been more comfortable for the money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff , clean room with a huge terrace that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff , clean room with a huge terrace that had a beautiful view over the hills and sea. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is perfectly placed and really clean!! Rooms with a sea view are amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Good location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The sea view from my appartment was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing warm for breakfast.

    The sea view from my appartment was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location with lovely pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with lovely pool area. This hotel is in need of a refurbishment. It's a typical Italian hotel from the 1950's

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location!!! The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Hotel Helios is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Nostalgic trip to the seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking. Outrageous.

    It was all great, would love to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    wonderful location so pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the mattress was a bit firm that's all

    breakfast was really good, lots of choice and boiling water for your tea !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    The toilet in the room smell bad
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room smell bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast offerings, great women at front desk,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    totally satisfied, will return...

    Great breakfast offerings, great women at front desk, proximity to train station a great plus for luggage walk...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Best Location and excellent view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi is slow. No other drawback.

    Best Location and excellent view from balcony. Near to both station, Market and right on the beach. Clean room. Very Supportive and helpful support stuff. Best Location and excellent view from room. Near to both station, Market and right on the beach. Clean room. Very Supportive support stuff.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    5.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is really old and should have been renovated a loooong time ago. The rooms feel musty. The staff is not qualified, surly and not very polite. Breakfasts are tipical for cheap 2* motel.

    Fantastic location. Amasing view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Lovely view, delicious breakfast, proximity to train and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff a bit abrupt. Didn't seem to happy about giving help, although they eventually did everything we needed. Would have enjoyed some smiles.

    Lovely view, delicious breakfast, proximity to train and restaurants,gorgeous grounds.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.1
    The view was incredible and the balcony was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a weird odor but we slept with the patio doors open and the fan on and the smell would clear fairly quickly

    The view was incredible and the balcony was huge. It's a great location as a base for visiting Portifino and Cinque Terra

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    I love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I love this place. This is my second stay at Helios and it was just as wonderful as the first. The sea-water pool is in a great setting, the breakfast buffet is lovely and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Monica at the front desk and Mario, the waiter and bartender feel like family.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was extremely stiff, room was outdated, shower was slippery and curtain wrapped around you uncomfortably while showering... just could have used an update overall, (especially considering the price)

    location

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    The location was fantastic, rooms were very clean, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only disappointing thing was the breakfast buffet. Not a great selection.

    The location was fantastic, rooms were very clean, staff was very helpful and friendly, the pool was great. All in all a great hotel to stay at!

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    3.8
    Great posistion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The disgusting smell on the first and second floor. The mouldy smell continues in the rooms. Basically the entire hotel is in a 80's time warp, and needs to be completly updated. It Is a rip off, they should be charging half the amount. Worst bed I have ever slept on, shocking pillows, the telephone had mouldy gunk on the headpiece! D I s g u s t I n g !

    Great posistion

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    8.8
    We had a wonderfull wiev over the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The town was empty after the shops closed, no little art and craftshops. We missed being able to stroll around in the city in the evening.

    We had a wonderfull wiev over the sea. We loved being able to go out and pick a free sunbed just outside the hotell. The hotell is close to bus, train and boats, so it was very easy to get aroud in this beautiful area.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    7.9
    The location is PERFECT, The breakfast was RICH and the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I just didn't like that the AC system is central, it should be independent to every room, and the floor was a bit squeaky because its made from wood.

    The location is PERFECT, The breakfast was RICH and the view was MAGNIFICENT, and the staff are lovely!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no parking available although advertized, furniture and hotel has not been renovated since the 1950's, very expensive, breakfast was mediocre

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    The setting is superb, nice breakfast, very helpful staff, .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower floor was a bit tricky but everything else was lovely

    The setting is superb, nice breakfast, very helpful staff, ...

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    The beautiful location and the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful location and the service. The buffet in the morning was perfect and the staff was charming. Who could ask for anything more.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.3
    The pool area and location are fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rear rooms are not as good as the seaside rooms (no view)

    The pool area and location are fantastic

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    Both Monica's were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both Monica's were very helpful. Lovely ladies.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.8
    The swimin pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed

    The swimin pool

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    On of the most beautifull setting I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On of the most beautifull setting I have ever seen

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.1
    location and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very noisy

    location and pool

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    9.6
    Close to everything and marvellous staff Beach great balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to everything and marvellous staff Beach great balcony nice breakfast All great

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Location was something out of a movie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was something out of a movie. Signora Monica (la bionda) received us with great charm and friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: