Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hermitage 5 stars

Località Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Italy

#1 of 57 hotels in Portoferraio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely stay, but rooms need an upgrade
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needs a bit of a revamp. The bathrooms and walk in wardrobes were v small for the price compared to other top notch hotels we have stayed at around the world. Also a Nespresso machine and tea making facilities as a standard feature would be nice and maybe a welcome drink/snack/fruit/chocs etc.... When you are paying 1000 euros a night for a family room, expectations are high. The hotel had the feel of slightly faded glory. The first time we ordered room service, they brought us sachets of oil, vinegar, salt and pepper instead of bottles and mills. Not good enough for a 5 star hotel. To be fair they didn’t make that mistake twice.... They also need parasols on the sun beds around the pools, so you can watch your kids in the shade.... 14 euros for an apérol spritz....

    Great location, beautiful views, good beach, pristine water, lovely friendly staff, great swimming pools, good food in the restaurants. Awesome swimming teacher, Andrea. The breakfast was good for Italy. Nothing was too much bother.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    pretty, pricey and up market, go here if you want to RELAX but you don't want any CRAIC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach staff were lovely but the front desk staff were snooty. For example: We booked a tennis court to mess about, nowhere did it say that booking a court costs extra, nor did front desk staff tell us that when we booked the court. Low and behold at check out: 15 euro for court hire. It's crazy when you're already paying so much a night. Anyway, we go down to play and get rackets from front desk but the front desk lady can't find any tennis balls to lend us. Eventually she finds a tube of tennis balls. We open them and play our bad tennis and bring them back. Carlo (main reception guy) tells us the tube of tennis balls are for SALE and we need to buy them. I said no, we were just using them, like the rackets, and the lady didn't tell us. He said he can't resell them because we opened it and made a huge deal of it. BUDDY! I'm spending 280 euro a night to be here, you are absorb the cost of the tennis balls, jeepers! Then he turned away and I asked him could we book same time tomorrow and HE WAVED ME OFF AND DIDN'T TURN AROUND. I know working in hospitality is stressful, but COME ON!

    We slurged on this fancy hotel for four nights having never stayed in a place so fancy before. And let me tell you: IT'S FANCY. Very. You past NINE tennis courts before you get to reception. But be prepared to SPEND a lot of money. Four nights cost us about 1k, and then everything was so expensive: a side of fries was NINE EURO! NINE! You needed long trousers to go to the restaurant and that just isn't my vibe but I can't fault the place for it. The beach is right there, private and you get towels and a sun chair and food delivered to you, it's heavenly! My advice: When you get to the port go to a supermarket, get beers (or wine), and chocolate and crisps, so you don't rely on their snacks that are like 10 euro a pop. Go down the beach to a different restaurant for dinner at half the price. Although I have to say when I did get lunch in the hotel is was unreal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, perfect location, great staff, excellent food. Pity about the mattress and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, bedding and pillows were not good enough. Not comfortable.

    The food at the restaurant was top. The cleanliness. The location. The restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Total relaxation in a beautiful setting on the greenest of islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were always exceptionally friendly and helpful, speak excellent English, which definitely helps most of us Brits, and whilst the hotel is large it does not feel claustrophobic as it is so well spread out across the hillside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautyful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are three restaurants, all very expensive, but the food is not better than in any other restaurants. One is absolutely over exclusive, one is not open for dinner, only on saturday. The third one, the beach restaurant is not really well organized, at least 1,5 hours waiting time between first course and main course. Once we had to wait over 2 hours, no compensation after reclamation.

    Perfect hotel service, very professional hotel personal, totally clean rooms, two times a day room cleaning, beautiful, well maintained beach. Strong air condition in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful location. Excellent staff... but some noises ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old structure , there was noise between my bedroom and the next one. I could easily hear my neighbors tv or when moving a chair . That's the big issue of an hotel built so long ago . At night ( was Sunday ) music played along the beach was too loud , and kept playing until late , I mean after 1.00

    Location. Facilities.parking lot.interior decoration. Staff service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Excellent stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks was quite extortionate

    The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful with amazing views and culinary delights.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent service, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few areas such as roofs of some buildings could have had a better appearance.

    The staff were efficient, very helpful and friendly. The food was good and varied on the half board option. The beach and landscaped pool areas were pleasant places to sun bathe, swim and relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Paradise in Italy Found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drinks and food on the property are expensive. A mixed drink is 18 euro. We did not eat or drink at the hotel to make it more reasonable. A short walk down the beach and you'll find 5 euro pizzas 2 euro prosecco. We had a rental car and used it to do a little beach hopping and go to dinner in a few of the port towns throughout the island. I think the bad reviews on here are people that ate and drank too much on the hotel leading to a big bill. For what this hotel is - I would highly recommend it!

    We LOVED this hotel. I think the guests who give it a poor review drink and eat on the property which will get very expensive. This hotel is on one of the nicest beaches on Elba - one of the few beaches that has sand instead of stones. The water is clear and beautiful. You're assigned chairs based on your room number down and the beach so you don't need to worry about getting there early. The beach access is for guests online. There are soccer field, tennis courts and a beautiful hike to a private cove that are all nice to use. Breakfast was our best in Italy and included in the price. The room sizes are huge for Europe with a full size closet and bathroom. It was a nice treat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only fault really is that the room didn't quite reflect the price tag. Given the high-end establishment I would have possibly expected something extra as a gesture as it was our honeymoon. No major negatives at all!

    Customer service could not be faulted and the food was superb. Would love to go back someday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    professionalita' staff , posisione
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    professionalita' staff , posisione

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Location and views were incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Location and views were incredible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Location, the food, the service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was not very clean

    Location, the food, the service was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Good dinner, good choice of wines, very good staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom standard needs renovation

    Good dinner, good choice of wines, very good staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    A magical vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm, but we managed to adjust.

    We love this hotel. It is in an idyllic location. The staff, facilities and food are all top notch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Service corresponds to 5 star hotel, we liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service corresponds to 5 star hotel, we liked everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay. Expensive restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    A little corner of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A gorgeous hotel. Fabulous views, calm and tranquil. Staff fantastic and food excellent. Lots of water sports to try.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful resort in a gorgeous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have nothing negative to say.

    Beautiful resort in a gorgeous location. Excellent service and superb dining experiences. Would recommend this property. A++

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and excellent staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst golf course in the world. Fix it or shut it down. It ruins your entire reputation. And most of all get a professional greenskeeper not a local gardner. And repair and level out what you call a jogging course.

    Friendly and excellent staff .... everyone of them ! Excellent food and wine with attentive service.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Excellent service and very friendly staff from reception,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service and very friendly staff from reception, restaurant, bar, cleaning, beach - bearing in mind it is high season/ferragosto - best reference point: many italian guests - great ambiente - Walter Stuerzinger

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Absolute perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolute perfection! The staff were fabulous, the layout & views of the hotel stunning. Best food we have ever tasted, silver service & choice from a menu very rare for a half board. Perfect setting for our honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    Service service service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi isn't the greatest.

    Service service service! The staff make this a 5star holiday all the way. From the housekeeping to the bartender to the waiters in the restaurant...the service is world class. My wife is a coeliac and every meal they passionately prepare gluten free alternatives, baked gf bread, pasta with care and attention. The resort is beautiful. Incredible beach. Lovely rooms. Stunning all round

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, they would go out their way to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to mention

    Excellent staff, they would go out their way to help. Great room service and food .

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Amazing staff and service, as well as an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing staff and service, as well as an amazing location! Highly recommended :)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The friendliness of staff plus good food and wines.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of staff plus good food and wines. The beach setting is superb.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful location excellent food attentive and friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location excellent food attentive and friendly staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: