Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MH Matera Hotel 4 stars

Via Germania Sn - Borgo Venusio, 75100 Matera, Italy

#34 of 37 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.8
    New hotel for people who like inhabitable rooms due to noise, falsely advertised features and no ac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud dance band playing until 6am making room inhabitable despite multiple guest complaints about noise Website promised all rooms have views of mountains and pool. Large hedge blocked any view and sun Pool access blocked off for hotel guests Air conditioning defective. Temps over 95 degrees during the day

    Hotel is new and clean and in the middle of nowhere. Free parking. Bed is OK

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Very good but lots of extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff a bit cold, not so usual for southern italian people. Lots of services not included but extra. Not usual as well. King bed too small

    Luxury hotel. Very good swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    A very poor customer service experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception service was very unhelpful. They thought it was amusing to charge an extra 20 Euro just to use the pool, which we declined. The aircon was weak and the room very hot at night. The place is geared to tour parties. If you aren’t with a tour party customer service isn’t happening for you. Left i phone behind, they refused to post it to me despite three requests and offering to pay for courier. Awful.

    The room was satisfactory ( bed and bathroom ). unfortunately the balcony was filthy with leaves and dust and no chairs to sit on. Breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    A little bit outside Maratea – that is an advantage because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big Hotel, Business Hotel (I would call it impersonal / clinical) gaining extra money for towels at the pool is a No-Go for a Hotel like this using bathing caps … are they already in 21st century?

    A little bit outside Maratea – that is an advantage because long-time parking is a challenge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.2
    Rude and unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was very rude and have us waiting at the reception when we were checking in while he was talking on the phone for at least 15-20 minutes. No room slippers were provided.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and doors are paper thin, midnight crying baby woke us up and heating unit pulsing on and off kept us awake further. Booking.com reservation request for one room double bed and one room twin translated in the hotel's system as two rooms twin bed. Oh well.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Good Infrastructure at Hotel Remote from Matera, Staff Poorly Trained & Unempowered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is fine if you have a car or you are on a bus tour, as the hotel is a bit far from historical Matera. It had many elderly Americans on a bus tour plus a film crew shooting yet another Bible story film in the area during our stay as few other hotels in the area are as large. The hotel has good infrastructure, good dining at reasonable price, including local vegetables which are not on the menu (tourists usually don’t ask for them or care for them), nice warm pool area but its staff is not prepared for international, seasoned travelers, the staff is not empowered to make any decisions or judgments to enhance the customer experience but instead complicates matters. The issues are manifold, some serious. Here are the issues in rank order, some described below in detail a staff: very poor, locally trained staff, who are not up to par with international hotel service attitude, standards, and are clueless about customer service. B ROOM: low standard of basic ‘standard’ room for a Hilton, even the budget 'Garden' Hilton brand C POOL HOURS – no swimming in the morning. D WEBSITE Several hotel web pages but none give you accurate description of room size and amenities (or lack thereof) by room type A: STAFF – several issues. A1 We arrived at 9 pm for a swim. At pool area check in, the staff tried to charge me two -or maybe it was three-- euro for a towel!! He claimed (and here's what I mean by not international standards of customer service) “I'm just doing my job”'! He claimed I should have taken my bath towel from the room along with me. I said that's ridiculous and asked if they would charge me to dry myself with fresh towel in my room if I used the room towel at the pool.Net, I went to room, brought down the room towel to front desk at reception. Meanwhile the pool manager brought a towel to my husband waiting at the pool because he thought it was odd to charge a hotel guest for a pool towel.

    Comfortable bed, with Hilton Garden standard, nice warm indoor swimming pool, remote, isolated location from Matera is very tranquil. Dinner was simple, well prepared local food. Local wine suggested by waiter was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful setting and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not understand vegetarian needs and so evening meal disappointing. Also very strange to find a hotel where you could not put drinks on your bill at the bar!

    Beautiful setting and good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.4
    The hotel and facilities were of a very good standard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 10 euro charge per person for the use of the indoor or outdoor pool. It was a Sunday when we arrived , and approximately 34 degrees. The pool was absolutely over filled with local people, some not of not normal Hilton standards, I would assume. It was okay though as they had paid their 10 euros and it did not matter that the paying Hilton customer, me could not have a relaxing afternoon as we had had in EVERY hotel we stayed in with booking dot com. I will never use Hilton again.

    The hotel and facilities were of a very good standard and quality. As you would expect from Hilton.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.0
    No breakfast include
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No breakfast include Open air Pool 10 extra euros Pp After 1700

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of comfortable seating areas. Too large. Soulless. Location.

    Food. Staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    4.6
    Piscine e Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff piscina scoperta.

    Piscine e Resort. Pulizia ok

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Air conditioning kept cutting in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning kept cutting in and out.. Just a little bit noisy. Lunch was too expensive for wat you got.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.1
    The Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tv system is archaic and desperately needs updating. The rooms smelt odd almost like body odour.

    The Staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: