Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Histò San Pietro Sul Mar Piccolo 5 stars

Via Sant'Andrea, Circummarpiccolo, 74100 Taranto, Italy

#4 of 11 hotels in Taranto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff at the reception, spa and the restaurants were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool service:( needs to improve

    The staff at the reception, spa and the restaurants were truly enthusiastic and helpful, breakfast and dinners were both outstanding (food is mainly produced locally). The pool is the perfect length for someone who likes to swim:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Comfort and care in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have an area to lie around and read which was away from the room or the spa area.

    The staff were friendly, responsive and professional. Dinners were well presented and of high quality. Also of particular note were the spa (pools and one of the best massages I have ever had), and the design of the premises. For those with an interest in history, it was a great place. Also an excellent location to sightsee from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotels can't get more relaxing than this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not used to feeling so rested after a night of sleep. They should have warned us!

    Beautiful location. Gorgeous hotel and gardens. Clean rooms and most comfortable bed ever experienced!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Quiet llocation - good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very hard - I guess it's a European "thing"....... to have the torture beds! A mattress topper would be nice and some decent pillows, not square hard blocks. Wouldn't take much to make it really top notch, as it's such a nice property. Yet again "free internet" but it didn't work in our room and we urgently needed communication after an emergency. Very, very frustrating. WHy do hotels avdertise internet thaty doies not work????

    Nice large room. Excellent quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Stunning hotel works for a shortish stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy but it was August Difficult to get a sunbed Noise from neighbours in room above Noise from housekeeping outside door

    Huge room worth the upgrade Superb designer pool and garden Huge Spa Excellent food at dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    Stunning spa hotel lacking some friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt that the front-desk staff could have been more helpful in finding us a restaurant in Taranto. There is no complimentary water in the room and we were charged EUR7.50 for three small bottles. The hotel is fairly isolated, requiring a drive of a few miles to the nearest town.

    Possibly the best hotel swimming pool anywhere. The architecture is stunning. The hotel is very spacious and the room provides pretty much all one could need apart from more than a couple of coat hangers. The farm's horses are welcomed into the courtyard at daybreak. Breakfast was fresh and of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.2
    Very disappointing- inexistant service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for a week. The service was very poor. People were cold, unwelcoming and unhelpful. We didn't even get a tour of the property, no information on the spa. The Wifi is not working, surprising for a 5 star hotel. Our room was dirty, so when we asked if they could clean it, they told us that we should ask the governant. The breakfast was quite poor and insufficient for a 5 star hotel, when they would run out of bread we had to ask three times before they would do a refill. As the waiters were always unavailable we had to dress our own table almost every day. Bees are everywhere (restaurant, pool). If you expect from a 5 star hotel that the employees would greet you in the morning or in the evening when you cross them, you'll be disappointed for sure. They have a beautiful pool but it is badly managed, the sunbeds set-up was messy even at 9am. When you asked for a drink at the bar, you might be disturbing the pool attendant. It was an overall bad experience and we don't understand how this hotel could be graded with five stars.

    The place is beautiful with a stunning architecture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable and relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The offering met our expectations.

    The presentation, the design, the staff and the food were all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Worth a visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best SPA ever been

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Pool was not heated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not heated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Great stay but mattress was a let down and not comfortable. An amazing place apart from that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was old and not comfortable

    The spa

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi with weak signal, restaurant at night could improve the food.

    From the people, environment, room, breakfast, wines, everything perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Location and fornitures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and fornitures

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Amazing spa hotel in a Medieval updated located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave so soon.

    Beautiful hotel spa and location! Simply amazing construction and total relax!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    This place is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.5
    Gorgeous bedrooms and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost no complimentary facilities: entry to indoor facilities was pay-only and outdoor pool was stone cold - disappointing.

    Gorgeous bedrooms and setting

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    It's a great hotel and highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I had a really good stay the only thing I would mention would be the gym that could be better equipped.

    It's a great hotel and highly recommended! Great staff, the food is amazing, the rooms are big and really comfortable. A good choice to relax enjoying the pool and the spa.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Very spacious in terms of rooms, lobby and general public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Is a 20min drive to Taranto, but given the pro's of the hotel etc, definitely outways this As long as you chose this hotel on the facts you can't complain

    Very spacious in terms of rooms, lobby and general public spaces - quiet and peaceful - wait staff were great at both breakfast and dinner

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    4.6
    Nice set up and large rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Surrounded by horrible industrial areas, no service understanding by staff and management, no Wifi, small breakfast selection, general very small food menu....

    Nice set up and large rooms!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.4
    Stunning location, although a little remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked an earlier flight home because frankly we weren't made to feel all that welcome. I think unless you are Italian, I wouldn't bother booking this hotel. We were treated at best as an irritation during our stay... if you only want locals then why advertise on Booking.com?! Quite a few families and noisy kids in the pool area, this is billed as a spa/retreat style hotel and whilst it was August when we visited it is clear that children are present all year round as there is a kid's playground.

    Stunning location, although a little remote. Nice pool area but a little crowded at times

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.9
    The property is beautifully restored and the quality very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Reception and Mgt seemed bereft of any skill with the guests. A very cold welcome and departure, incredible. 25 mins to check out and never an apology. The general use of the Spa should be included in the cost. Spaghetti Vongole had 1, yes 1 clam in it...! There is a lagoon full of mussels which we suggested they use and produced a great dish.

    The property is beautifully restored and the quality very high. Space and serenity very good, it was partially occupied. Spa facilities very good

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    Comfort, architecture, design, attention to detail, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort, architecture, design, attention to detail, the Histò is truly unique. Its location on Mar Piccolo, the excellent facilities and restaurant, everything is top quality and excellent taste. Highly reccomended.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.9
    People really kind and nice, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Missing comfort at the room

    People really kind and nice, amazing staff

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely waiting staff and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was faulty and not fixed despite telling the staff

    Lovely waiting staff and good food

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely place quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi for 4 days unacceptable.no chane of dinner menu if you stayed several days

    Lovely place quiet. Exclusive.lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    2.5
    Leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    8.3
    Very comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable beds! Excellent kitchen!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: