Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Corona d'Oro 4 stars

Via Oberdan 12, 40126 Bologna, Italy

#2 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 978 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous location extra helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the parking was TOUGH ... Waze can’t find it so I advice use google maps to find it ...

    The staff SUPER SUPER SUPER Ricardo was veryyyyy helpful ....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Another lovely stay at Corona d'Oro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best thing about this hotel is the location, right in the city center, yet on a side street and a walking distance to the train station. Very friendly and helpfull staff, clean room, tea kettle, slippers, bathrobe, even music in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Top hotel in central Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side and tge breakfast room is a bit featureless but that's my only criticisms

    Exceptional welcome. Very clean and great quality fixtures and fittings. Great location and great staff make this a truly memorable hotel. Excellent breakfast choices. Beautiful reception area. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely breakfast and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been served at ground floor in the lovely lobby space

    Great location, lovely breakfast and very clean. Sleeper really well, comfortable bed and quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    A charming stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the hotel by car is slightly stressful, as it is in a pedestrian part of the old town, but it all worked out once we realised where we needed to go and what we needed to do

    A charming hotel, recommended to us by friends, a lovely experience, quirky and so close to the Centre and the arena, we loved it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Can't imagine a better stay! Faboulous hotel in Central Bologna, AMAZING breakfast and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fabulous stay at this very central hotel. AMAZING guest service and PHENOMENAL breakfast, mimosas every morning :-). Can't stay enough about the guest service. They are always available to meet your every need. Would not look elsewhere for our next stay in Bologna! HIGHLY recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The best part about this hotel is the staff that is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best part about this hotel is the staff that is very able to assist in any way. Simone was unbelievably helpful as was everyone else. The location was great as well. I would definitely stay there again next time in am in Bologna. John P

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    An established, well run superior hotel. Didn't see a better option in downtown Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loudmouth, upper middle-class English guests who were painfully irritating. Made sitting in the bar/lounge area an unnecessarily irritation.

    Quiet comfortable accommodation in a central location. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    An unexpected gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was an unexpected gem during our travels. It is centrally located in the historical area of the city. The breakfast is possibly the best we’ve ever had during our travels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable, the service was top notch and everyone had a smile. Breakfast was good. Shower was great, and the bathroom boasted a really powerful hairdryer which can be unusual in a hotel. I enjoyed the music in the room. Location was great for anything we wanted to do in Bologna. No complaints.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Gentle, understated elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gentle, understated elegance Attentive, pleasant and helpful staff. Antonio was particularly excellent. Super breakfast Lovely atrium Well-appointed and very comfortable bedroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel checks all the boxes, the staff was professional and very helpful, our room was spotlessly clean and extremely well appointed, the location is outstanding and the breakfasts were delicious with lots of choices. All in all a perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb Staff and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were a bit high, but I guess everything in he center is expensive.

    Superb Staff and amazing location. We were treated amazingly well during our short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    They even called our taxi before we got to the airport to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    They even called our taxi before we got to the airport to make sure we hadn't left invisalign braces in our room by mistake. Top notch high quality service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, would go back any chance i could get, truly exceptional hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downsides were a lack of an outside space to enjoy a drink and an on-site restaurant.

    From the moment we checked in, until the minute we left, the staff were helpful, courteous and incredibly friendly. This hotel really is a calm, relaxing place away from the hustle and bustle of Bologna. It's not the cheapest out there, but in this case, you really do get what you paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Second visit, another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very comfortable, well equipped and tasteful rooms. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal, cakes, juices of several kinds (including fresh-squeezed), eggs, bacon, toast and more. Luca was especially helpful in delivering multiple breakfast cappuccinos. The staff was quick to respond to any needs (e.g., replacing batteries in TV remote, providing a bath mat for the shower, and helping with dinner reservations). A beautiful hotel in an excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Simply fantastic. Hotel Corona d'Oro delivers on every level!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was well-appointed, enough space in the wardrobe for my partner and I to hang clothes for a long weekend plus, with seats and a table plus a footstool at the end of the bed for getting dressed/laying clothes, the bed was excellent with a choice of pillows for comfort, the bathroom had great facilities and the breakfast choices were vast, all around amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a standard room No 120.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air condition in the room was noisy and the room was far from the reception with no elevator access. Of course the hotel took care of our luggages. If someone has problems with the stairs, should inform the hotel at the booking.

    We had a standard room No 120. It was very nice and clean with a big bathroom. The location of the hotel was great, just in the center. The staff was the most friendly and helpful I've ever met. We had a very early flight and we arrived at 9 a.m. at the hotel. They offered us free breakfast and they gave us the room as soon as possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Good quality accommodation and Bologna is fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The aircon unit in the room at night is rather noisy and kept switching on & off, so irritating.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with a lot of choice. Early evening Happy Hour with generous aperitif buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just an exceptional hotel. All the more so as it is family run. Attention to detail first class. Staff without question cheerful and polite. A wonderful hotel, can’t fault it. Would definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully styled hotel in the center of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room could have used a bit more sunlight - the only small window was tucked in the corner. But other than that it was very comfortable.

    The Corona d'Oro has a posh and authentic Bolognian look and feel as opposed to some generic branded hotels which are indistinguishable from one another. A number of quality restaurants and lively bars within a short walking distance. Lavish breakfast - local sparkling wine is always a good thing to start the morning when the setting is appropriate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Good comfortable nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They made our twin beds with thin summer blankets. Asked for a quilt and apparently they did not have extra and brought us a blanket.

    Perfect location, reception staff was extremely helpful and nice . Nice and clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location superb. Staff so friendly and helpful Asked them for dinner reservations on 3 nights- all were fabulous - v different , food faultless and all very different - and amazing value . We would not have been to any of the recommendations if we had booked ourselves as they were slightly outside the main centre but all within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Wouldn't have missed them for the world

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Corona...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaints here!

    This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Corona D'Oro. The hotel's location is perfect! It is just a few minutes walk to all the top sites including the lovely Piazza Maggiore with San Petronio, the fabulous Mercato Centrale, the Archiginnasio and more. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the hotel manager is the nicest! We look forward to returning once again in the fall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Perfect: Lovely hotel, great location friendly, accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe because of the time of year, the room was slightly warm because the AC was not on yet. But that is likely because the room was well insulated (and quiet) so really can't complain.

    The staff could not have been nicer. Helpful courteous and friendly. The breakfast was great. They made a special gluten free cake. The room beautiful and light. The location is perfect and the lobby a lovely place to sit and have a cocktail. Although it is central, the rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast croissants weren't too good .

    The hotel's location is fantastic and the staff likewise . The bar tender was particularly good ( his negronis were masterful ) .My only criticism would be that our room was a little smaller than I had expected .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Lovely location and pampering in the heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff who bent over backwards to get me a reservation in a typical Bolognese restaurant, pointed out the best sights for me to see, and made me feel at home. They had a very difficult person staying there at the same time I was there and they never lost their patience with her - answering all her questions and treating her with courtesy! I was impressed! Very nice staff in the breakfast room as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Very spacious room with a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room with a comfortable bed. The hotel offered a wonderful breakfast selection and boasts a superb central location in Bologna! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Staying at the heart of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (the guy with glasses) at the reception was a bit dissapointment;since he was very uneager to help or answer the questions you ask..

    The hotel is in a very very central location;just 2 mins walk to old town.Breakfast is also quite plentiful and enough i think..the hotel and the room were both very good..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Bologna is on your doorstep (along with as many restaurants and bars as you will ever need), but it's still quiet and calm inside. The room was small but comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was fantastic - staff were friendly and welcoming every morning, excellent spread of things to choose from. They even presented my husband with a birthday cake on the morning of his birthday, completely unprompted!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and the heating is controlled by reception which they did not inform us about. Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

    Great Location in the heart of Bologna, great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Cleanliness good in the rooms, but corridor carpets are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, I am not in the hotel business and have more important things to do than to feed your website with comments.

    Cleanliness good in the rooms, but corridor carpets are dirty. Not the most pleasant hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    I wish we could have stayed longer in this wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Nothing too much trouble for the staff on reception and at breakfast. Great breakfast with unlimited coffees made to order - capuccinos with an extra shot for us. Brilliant location. Loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Efficient and helpful staff, comfortable sitting area with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt this hotel had everything we needed. We had stayed here 2 years previously and chose it again and brought friends with us.

    Efficient and helpful staff, comfortable sitting area with useful local literature made available. Helpful and courteous bar staff. There was plenty of tea, coffee available in the room as well as a fully stocked fridge. Clean linen and washing items always available, room was clean and cleaning staff were very pleasant and polite. A great hotel centrally located, brilliant breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in a sweet, small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know this sounds picky..but newer pillows would be great as they were all a bit flat and uncomfortable.

    The staff was very kind and accommodating! Requested a pillow at 1:am and they immediately brought it to my room. Very nice room, small but cozy and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect totally we certainly be back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast could be much better when it comes to hot food , as well as more selection of cheese and meat and less cakes.

    Everything was perfect, very clean, comfortable room, very kind staff . Location in the center, restaurants around. Taxi service fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable bedding - relaxed atmosphere with music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little flat considering the amazing variety of produce in Bologna....

    Very comfortable bedding - relaxed atmosphere with music piped into the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the bath a little difficult to access. Would like fresh eggs included, rather than being charged more.

    Perfect location in this wonderful city. Only a short walk away from the night market,the main square, towers and many restaurants. Rooms good and breakfast fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Budget room at luxury price, basic accomodation behind luxurious facade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was VERY small and there was a lack of attention to detail. Had to ask for toiletries, the sink and bathroom plumbing needed attention.

    Location was great. Walking distance to public transport and close to old part of city with bars, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel in Top Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I definetely will come back

    the location is unbeatable (almost around the corner of the due torri, a short walk to the piazza maggiore, close to the pinacoteca and the main churches, and in an area with lots of bakeries, wine shops and good restaurants ), service is most friendly, rooms are nice, bathrooms very modern, there is a tea/coffee maker (with lots of both of them) in the room, WLAN is excellent, breakfast very good (excellent coffee, very good selection of fruits and vegetables, all kinds of pastries and from what I saw also a very good choice of salami/ham)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Another great stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of lighting in the room but (as with most hotels) not well placed for reading.

    Well placed in the centre but not at all noisy at night. Excellent breakfast choices. Always plenty available. Wi-fi free and reliable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    It was a most enjoyable stay and we would highly recommend the hotel to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was over complicated - too many little items. We would have preferred better bread and rolls, rather than lots of sweet items, but this is probably because we are English.

    All the staff were very charming, professional and helpful. The room and bathroom were extremely well appointed - everything was there for one's comfort. The bed was particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location in the middle of lively Bologna narrow...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location in the middle of lively Bologna narrow streets, full of nice restaurants and places to buy local delicacies. Very comfortable rooms, charming hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel with bad attitude from some of the staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating/air conditioning in the room is a little loud. It can wake you up if you are a light sleeper. The other thing I didn't quite like was the attitude at the front desk. Sometimes there is a concierge who stares at you from head to toe and does not bid you good day. Very strange way of treating guests.

    The hotel is very central yet quiet. It has a nice lobby where you can enjoy some drinks and books from the library. The staff from the breakfast room is very obliging.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Great food, fantastic architecture, nice people, Bologna has it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything we would want to change

    Wonderful location in a quiet side street within yards of the centre of the old town. Tastefully and elegantly decorated and furnished. Comfortable and very large bed, clean and well appointed ensuite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, fantastic location and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, fantastic location and beautiful hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay there again when I return to Bologna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, elegant hotel in the best possible place in the heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit to small for my expectation, but that is probably the problem of old buildings in Bologna

    Excellent location in the heart of the city. Rooms very clean and in nice, classic decoration. Got a very small room first night but changed it next day: The personal is fantastic, doing all they could to help us. More then I would expect. Even changed all my belongings in the next room in order to make us comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful atmosphere around the main piazza. Beautiful buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Happy hour was a bit expensive. This is because the buffet of nibbles was unnecessary as we were dining out at the restaurant and added to the cost.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast selection. Bedrooms well services

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The billing system where our credit card was charged twice and not corrected until a few days later - a bit exasperating and a time waster

    The Room and the hotel itself is wonderful and intimate, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again anytime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    A great place to spend some days in Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A super place to stay in Bologna. Great staff, yet a calm environment where you can sleep in quietness and comfort but step straight out into the busy and interesting streets of Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Location is perfect and the hotel is beautiful and quiet but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a littlebit softer (i have back problems)

    Location is perfect and the hotel is beautiful and quiet but right in the middle of everything! Lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect. One of the best experiences I have had staying at a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great centralized location close to restaurants, bars, sightseeing, many other activities, etc. Staff were friendly, accommodating, and always helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .... people extremely helpful food and drink was amazing

    Could not fault anything hotel was gorgeous, breakfast was lovely and in the heart of Bologna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Overall a lovely hotel and staff. Suggest the suite is overpriced - go for a normal room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loo was set too high in luxurious bathroom. I'm 6' tall and my tip toes only just touched the floor when sat on it. No turn down service - we had to ask them to clear the room of used plates etc in the evening otherwise they'd have smelled all night. Expensive - at over £500 per night I'd have expected the room to have been cleaned in the evening.

    Beautiful room/suite. Brilliant location. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the center of the city, quiet and refined...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the center of the city, quiet and refined luxurious! Aperitif in the Lobby frim 18:00 till 20:00 with a very nice buffet of small bites. Good free wifi service in the entire hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended for those looking for quality accommodation in the heart of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    It met all expectations and more. Room was well appointed, the hotel is charming and the staff were always friendly, efficient and helpful. A thoroughly pleasant experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice , but expencive for 4*
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small, or are not generous Hotel is formed from 2 buildings and you need to go left , right, stair, left, stairs... untill you get to you room... Price is exagerated, is not worthy The only i like is the small lobby

    Location is good Lobby looks very nice and attracts Reception is very polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    0 value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was anything but luxurious. In all fairness we did make a last minute booking but our room turned out to be a whole in the wall literally facing a wall. The batteries in the TV remote were not working and the water was not complimentary. To top it all of, they charged us 30 euros for parking which wasn't even in the hotel premises. Our total one night stay cost us over 400 euros and was not at all value for money or the grand stay portrayed. There are other hotels that offer better rooms at half the cost.

    The location and its heritage feel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic great staff, Location & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of feather pillows

    The room was lovely, but a bit noisy with windows open. And it would have had an issue excellence rating if feather pillows were available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    A very elegant and relaxed hotel with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located hotel, just a stone's throw away from the Piazza Maggiore. Bed exceptionally comfy and the rooms very quiet, despite the hotel being in a bustling side road. .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing gastronomic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could be a little noisy at night due to local bars, but not a major problem. If you want to be in the heart of the city, then that's what you have to put up with.

    Great location in the heart of the historic centre of the city. Staff were really friendly and very helpful with lots of suggestions of great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave.

    Breakfast was vast and excellent range of choices. Room was perfect and very comfortable bed. Service was faultless. Perfect location for exploring Bologna. The cocktails and nibbles at 6pm was an excellent touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great location and stylish, luxurious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refreshment tray was not replenished each day.

    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Marco & Jari. Hotel in in a great location for accessing all the city sights and is extremely stylish and comfortable. Room we had was a little small but expect that of a city hotel, although the facilities were more than acceptable. A great selection for breakfasts, even Prosecco, as we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary whilst we we there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location. Luxurious accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    We loved the luxurious rooms with the soft bed. The bathroom was very modern and comfortable. The location is perfect. You can walk easily to major sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Glorious Italian-chic decor and fab location. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is absolutely glorious in that classic Italian designer-chic way. The interiors are so extremely beautiful and the location is perfect. If only I could live here. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was very nice- fresh squeezed orange juice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is definitely NOT a luxury hotel. It is very much in need of a renovation. The carpets are dirty and thread bare on the stairs and in main areas - the wood floors in bedroom also seemed dirty but that may just be because they are so worn and need stripping- and resealing- The room /bathroom was clean but quite small- you could hardly walk around the bed but thinking perhaps this is the norm in Europe and especially Italy if traveling as a single. The bedspread was one of those old velour types- and looked dated and sort of dirty-

    The breakfast was very nice- fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and a great selection of pastries as well as a glutton free selection. The staff were quite helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel was good and easy walk to all. The hotel had a large bright common area on main level where they served drinks and appetizers for a small cost which looked inviting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect starting point to discover Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well... the window view....

    The Corona d’Oro was my choice for a weekend trip to Bologna …and there was nothing wrong with this choice… The hotel is perfectly located, in the heart of Bologna Close to the Piazza Maggiore and le Due Torri, with all sights to visit in reach within some minutes by foot. The hotel room was nicely furbished and compensated for the poor window view facing the wall of the opposite house. Let’s say this surprised me a bit, given that I had booked a deluxe room. But never mind, I was sightseeing all day… The breakfast was rich and left no wishes open, even sparkling wine was offered. Of special note: the kindness and service from the lovely reception staff and the bar keeper. A nice buffet of snacks is offered at the bar from late afternoon. It was a joyful experience and I can recommend this hotel without any reservation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Air con worked perfectly. Lovely breakfast. Spotlessly clean. In an absolutely perfect location....central yet tucked away off the main street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great location in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a little more welcoming, they weren't rude or unhelpful, just not very happy.

    Fantastic location, lovely hotel. Good variety for breakfast and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    We always stay at this hotel as it is convenient, quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rooms are well maintained, the lack of ventilation or even an extractor fan in the bathroom means that after a few hot days, like this year, the toilet can become a little interesting. Also, in order to get into the shower, one has to step up and into and out of the bath which with advancing years can present some balance issues. We really should not complain as this is a truly lovely hotel.

    We always stay at this hotel as it is convenient, quiet and comfortable and after the 12 hour red-eye from south east Asia it is a great place to recover and rest up. Bologna's reputation for great food is well deserved. We are now becoming well known there and the staff go out of their way to have a room available for us at 9:30 in the morning. Breakfast is great and the bread excellent, which is not always a given in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Totally enjoyable - would definitely stay at the hotel again on our next visit to bologan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants

    Everything about the hotel was really comfortable. Great fresh orange juice - croissants weren't fantastic but on the whole the breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    we had to sleep three of us in one bed because the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had to sleep three of us in one bed because the hotel claims that this is how they received our reservation via booking, i did show them copy of our reservation which states otherwise but they just ignored me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Smart, comfortable, helpful and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower was hand held type, would prefer a fixed one.

    Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be better. Breakfast was amazing. Very quiet at night, very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great. Staff, Location, Clean and Tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location is fantastic. The staff professional and friendly. Spotlessly clean. We had breakfast bought to our room by room service which was very good and delivered at the time requested. This only cost €10 extra per day (€5 per head) I thought was really good value. Couldn't fault th hotel at all. We even arrived at 11 o'clock in the morning to be told our room would be ready in half an hour, so no need to wait till 2 o'clock the official check in time. A warm welcome from all the staff, if we return I will not bother looking to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel superbly located and with friendly helpful staff who all speak excellent English. We would go back again and recommend it without hesitation. It's a bit over fifteen minutes walk from the rail station so we found it an ideal base for day trips out of Bologna.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: