Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3 stars

Via Rodi 29, Vatican City - Prati, 00195 Rome, Italy

#192 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    10-15min from Ottaviano metro when Vatican starts

    simple but tasty breakfast, tea facility and minibar in the room, super sound equipment and CD to borrow at reception to enjoy it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can say I didn’t like was the parking situation.

    I really like the theme of the hotel, the staff was amazing and the location was superb; it was very easy to get around to where we wanted to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was suffcient for what i needed but i’d stay down tresteverde area if i was to go back, but that is personal choice and down to nightlife

    When i first arrived off the coach from the airport it looked abit rougher then i’d have liked but the more time i spent there i realised it wasnt, its around 10-15 min walk down a straight busy road to the vatican or around 10 mins to ottaviano metro stop, there is busses from outside the hotel aswel, what me and my partner done was downloaded the obike app and hired the bikes which are all over the city and and only .50cents for 30 mins, and were handy for getting back to the hotel after an evening drinking down tresteverde, the room was nice and the breakfast spread was ok, cheese, meat, cereal, bread and a few other options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best . The main street near the hotel was without electricity and the evening was full dark. Wifi is very slow. No vegetables on breakfast.

    Nice staff. The room was nice, not so small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say. If I had to be picky, then maybe the bathtub can be updated.

    1. Location - Location was decent, outskirts of town but easy to get around. 2. Staff - No problems with the staff, they were friendly and helpful. 3. Facilities - Nice place, seem pretty modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 404 is broken; I really wasn’t able to get good rest. The pillows could be a bit more softer. The elevator constantly gets stuck; I always climbed the stairs. I could even hear other customers calling for assistance, whilst stuck in the elevator, from my room. But again, the staff tried to help with a smile. I think the team is aware of the faulty elevator.

    The staff were great! José, his manager, the young lady and gentleman who did night shifts and the lady who made sure breakfast was great and fresh, were all wonderful to deal with and so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The location where the hotel was located was wonderful: it was near Vatican, 5 minutes from the subway and on top of that there was very quiet. The breakfast had plenty of good quality things to chose from and the serving was great. The staff was kind and extremely nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 10min walking to the Vatican, 3 min to bus station and 10min to metro station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is confortable and clean. If I go again to Rome, definetely I would stay at this hotel again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator didn’t always work. A makeup mirror in the bathroom would have been nice If you bring a big suitcase I would suggest either to take a taxi from and to the airport or from Termini if you come by train.

    Extremely helpful and nice staff. Very clean and spacious rooms Good breakfast Bathtub 15 min walk to the next Metro Many restaurants in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can comment only for our room (201). The room need some renovation as it has some minor issues. Some lamps were not working and the bath door was broken, but the staff changed them after we noted it. The sound system had problems with 3.5 mm jack, but everything else worked just fabulous. The bathtub was worn out. The WiFi in our room was very poor.

    We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Very kind staff and ready for help with everything :) The rooms were very clean and towels were changed every day. The hotel itself has a nice music decoration. Quality sound system in every room. Quiet, safety place for your stay not in the tourist center, but meanwhile very close to Vatican (10 min walking) and all other attractions by bus and metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel said they couldn't turn in the air con as the heating was still on leaving it unbearable to sleep in all 3 rooms we had booked and the breakfast lounge was always too full so we never ate at the hotel

    the staff were very friendly but lacked knowledge of romes attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient lighting, tricky light switches, inner doors cannot be closed, worn out bath tub, dirty tub mat, and unsure if the hot spa is still functioning

    Located in a safe neighbourhood (compared to others in Rome), and friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were impressed by the hotel's interior design. A disco ball and loudspeakers in the bathroom make for an amazing shower experience 🤩🤗 One evening my friend lost her earring in the sink and thought she would never retrieve it. Luckily the hotel staff took charge of the situation. They called for a plumber who retrieved the earring the following day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Location is a 10-15 minute walk from the Vatican and St Peter's. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great with friendly staff. Just an advice for travellers: Don‘t go to the restaurant on the right side to the hotel (Restaurant Odeo or so). Totally but unsuspected tourist rip-off. 8€ for a 0,5l beer, ravioli from the supermarket and not handmade. It‘s not worth it and I‘m still angry about. Just walk to the main street, there are far better options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the wifi was not working during my stay. They were working on it when I checked out, so hope they solved the problem.

    Overall this is a solid little hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Fantastic location. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was pretty noisy during the night, specially because of the elevator and from the old structure of AC we could hear from time to time different noises.

    The location was great, near Vatican, 10 min. walking, the same 10 min. to the metro station. Good breakfast, clean rooms, very nice the people who worked in the hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely nice and taking care staff, they took care about such details as umbrellas when raining and organized small present for the birthday of my boyfriend :-). Rich breakfast also!!! For sure we will come back and highly recommend the hotel :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've only missed rangehood in bathroom and if I would be very niggling I would say that some furnitures can be changed soon. But honestly none of them caused bad impressions.

    The hotel was great. There are some simple ideas what make the place really special (CD player in the room... possibility to borrow CD's at the reception... Special light effect in bathroom). Location is great to discover the city. The staff was more than friendly, breakfast was good (selection of it was also appropriate) with tasty coffee. Rooms were clean and cleaned up every day. I would come back to this place definitely :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city tax was not included in the price, something that wasn't clearly stated when we booked.

    Spacious room, comfy bed, good lighting, very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cable HDMI for watching movies from your laptop made yhe experiwnce even more homely. Giovamni and the other staff we met were friendly and helpful. The brwakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about! Stay was perfect.

    Amazing location - convenient and safe, minutes walk to the Vatican City. Value for money. Will be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some time the smell of dampness breakfast very good if you like sweets, but few types of food, and the same for the 2 days we stayed

    big comfy king sized bed staff is nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mini fridge in our room was slightly noisy but not a real concern.

    Nice room, cleaned everyday, excellent front desk customer service and advice provided if asked. For example we asked for a restaurant recommendation that was local and it was really good. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family for a stay in Rome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I told them the bathroom was not smelling clean when we just got into the room, they just refused to listen telling me "it's impossible". Later when we came back it was smelling fine - maybe they fixed but their refusal to listen was very surprising to me. Most of the times, negative reviews can be avoided by listening to clients and solving the issues there and then.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful staff. It's a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street where the hotel is located lacks Roman charm..

    Tidy hotel with musical accents in decoration. Reasonably conveniently located near Vatican museums. Good staff. Nicely priced breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Could have used a softer bed.

    Bed was a bit too firm for my taste, but other than that, I had a great time, and would highly recommend people stay here. Just a short walk from the entrance to the Vatican Museums and the Rome Metro system.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that the property was only a 10 mintue walk from the Vatican wall but far enough away that you can get a decent night sleep. Very clean and very friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to visit Rome!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Franklin Hotel was exactly what I had hoped to find, so I don't have any dislikes. I was pleasantly surprised. I will make the following comments regarding location: The Franklin is a 20 minute walk to the Vatican Museum and a 30 minute walk to Saint Peter's Basilica. There is a bus line 1 block away and the Metro [A] 4 blocks away. Rome is a walkable city. Walk and Enjoy looking at all of the sights of Rome. The Franklin Hotel is in a residential area of town. It may not be as clean as other tourist areas of Rome. There are plenty of good restaurants, patiseries and mini groceries in the area and everyone we talked to was very friendly.

    I was staying in Rome with my sister for 5 days and I wanted it to be a pleasant experience for her. I had looked online at over 30 Rome hotels (3&4 star). The reviews always seemed to indicate problems that I did not want to have, such as leaking sinks, mold, closed roof terraces, hidden charges, noisy rooms, broken air condition units. Reviews for the Franklin Hotel seemed positive and they matched what was offered on the hotel website. When I looked on google maps, it shows a Best Western. Since the Franklin website depitcs a music theme and modern decor, I made an assumption that it might be newly rennovated and cleaner than the other hotels I was considering. I was quite pleased when we arrived and found the Franklin Hotel to be modern, clean and offered exactly what was listed and pictured on their website. No hidden charges or unwelcome surprises. Our room and bath were clean, modern and nicely decorated. I appreciated the mini refrigerator to chill our daily waters. The patio outside was very nice with patio tables and flowers for eating our breakfast and sitting in the evening as we reflected on our days adventures. The buffet breakfast was sufficient with a variety of items at a very reasonable price. The staff were nice, especially one of the women working in the kitchen area. She was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return to the Franklin Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the quietness and the atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to the Vatican. Really clean and quiet hotel with helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room

    Good stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no comments.

    Interior design, cleanliness, location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, more variety. Wifi would drop out at times

    Big size room and close to the Vatican with in walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast.great location for the Vatican. The whole experience was really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music theme was lovely and the disco ball in the bathroom was especially enjoyed by my daughter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have more options, very few items served

    clean and quiet hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bluetooth or any other way to connect to the TV or a music player in the hotel room

    The Disco ball in the shower was the BOMB!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    subway station is not nearby

    cleam room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - small choise of products

    Good location, clean and well equipped rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what should be improved is the internet access but every thing else was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we can hear the outside noise from our room.

    Easy to get to from Vatican city. TV has 2 english channels (CNN at least)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was amazing. Really. Fresh, variety, delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The blower was too old and did not dry

    Many CD´s available to play at the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the attractions

    Lovely hotel and lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spacious Breakfast is perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location . Pretty scary.

    The hotel was fun.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and were so accommodating. We stayed here only 1 night, we wished we stayed longer in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing, if you have knee or leg problem, don't take the room with the Jacuzzi, its to high.

    Great Location, walking distance from the Vatican and Metro stations. Great staff, very friendly and informative. This is an excellent hotel, we definitely coming back to it.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was very basic. and not worth €9.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff and nice rooms, with music systems and sky tv. Lots of restaurants near by and within walking distance or a short metro trip to all main tourist attractions.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a good walk away from most attractions in rome. It is closest to vatican city, but still a long walk from it. I advise using the metro to get into the centre. There is nowhere to sit in the hotel like a lounge or a bar, so your room is the only place to sit. Hairdryer is on the bathroom wall and isnt that warm. Breakfast is a major disappointment, there isnt much on offer.

    The room was clean, shower was nice and powerful! Tv has multiple english stations.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave / check out.

    Very clean hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. A short walk to Vatican City and all transportation while still being just outside of the tourist area. They also have a flat rate car service for transport to and from the airports and train stations if needed. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff is exellent .

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't of anything!

    Location was convenient. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful and very friendly. We loved the breakfast and little courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room extreamly small, and the hotel is over rated.

    The restaurant next to the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We saw bedbugs in our bed at midnight. After that room was changed but we already bitten by that unidentified bugs.

    Discoball was good

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the one front desk person was cold and the neighborhood isnt great

    the music and the rooms were ok

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is relatively poor for a 4 stars hotel.

    Location.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: