Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Moro di Venezia 2 stars

Lista di Spagna 152, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#249 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2123 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had an external private bathroom. It was right next door to our room but it was a bit odd at first. If this would bother you make sure when booking your room has an internal bathroom.

    The location was convenient for the train station. It was a 30 minutes walk to the main Venice square. It was a good bade for exploring. There are plenty of cafes to stop for a break when exploring.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was value for money but unfortunately the staff were not very welcoming. Actually, were quite miserable. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights then went on a cruise and stayed another night before flying home. On the cruise realised I had left our phone charger at the hotel. When we went back the second time I asked the gentlemen about it and if they may have found it. He just shook his head and said ask the cleaner, so when I approached her to ask all she could do was yell at me and said ask down stairs. Asked if he could please look again, he finally did and guess what it was there, luckily I kept on to him, actually he couldn't really care less at all and didn't try and help, not a good look when your running a hotel. Maybe try and smile a bit more please.

    Location was perfect for any activities you wish to do, shopping, sightseeing, restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. The property was what I expected.

    The price and convenience of location near the train station and the grand canal water bus and water taxi access was most important to me. It met all my expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small, uncomfortable room. Located in a very noisy street. Breakfast is very stingy. A team apart from Gamal is not sociable

    Train to a walking destination for 5 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning wasn't the best. After a hot day of walking, being able to cool down and sleep is a must. Please update entrance photo on website as it doesn't match the current entrance, which is what I was looking for. We walked straight past on day we arrived as no signage out front, and name on window is hard to see when awning is open.

    Great location, breakfast was incredible, they even make you fresh coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor aircond or my room aircond wasnt working well. I had to open the window and more noise coming in.

    Location is superb..next to st lucia venice station. Plenty of restaurant. Good wifi. Plenty of Good coffee to start the morn. Reception is helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Managers rude and not concerned about any problems in rooms, other staff ok, breakfast area very small not enough room for all guests. Breakfast very minimal.

    Close to station and ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Venice's hotels are very expensive, and this is no exception!

    The room was great and clean. The bathroom was outside but only for us. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s Venice, so prices are high and you get what you pay for... however, we had booked a ‘triple room’, expecting a double and single (as advertised) and what we got was essentially a small single room with an uncomfortable camp bed. The tv and air conditioner didn’t work (the latter obviously being the real complaint) and the bathroom had mould on the ceiling. The breakfast is also rather strict and stingy on places (they can only seat a small number at a time) and food (one piece of bread). If you had one night in Venice, this would be fine, but if you’re planning to spend a few nights, there may be better options.

    Great location, excellent coffee (get a cafe latte for max caffeine). Couldn’t check-in early but let us leave our bags there and have 24 hour reception (great for early departure)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad airconditioning, bathroom without any kind of fresh air

    It is clean hotel with very simply breakfast. Couple rooms have bathrooms reached from the hallway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All their brochures stated the premises had been fully renovated. No mention of when! Our private bathroom was separate from the room accessed by key. Looked very "dog eared".

    This was Venice and we wanted an overnight stay before traveling further North to visit friends. Hotel is adequate. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room Temperature controls didn't work and staff couldn't help, Door was very noisy, Paper thin walls, Bed was not very comfortable

    Awesome Location, Close to train station, Easy walk to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was very cramped, staff in breakfast area not particularly friendly.

    The location was excellent, easy to get to from railway station, easy to walk into town.The room and facilities were very good.Staff at reception were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveled with my 46 year old son.He said the beds are a bit close,but it was no big deal.. The hotel was everything we expected, It's in an excellent position,minutes away from train station, boats traveling to St Mark's, a very nice trip. The hotel is situated in a lovely street,plenty of shops and a great mixture of locals and tourists. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was border line, but nothing.

    The hotel is not that far away from the station, which for Venice is a good option. The room was larger than I anticipated for a solo traveller, the staff very helpful, a lift instead of struggling up stairs. Breakfast was interesting, however, I could almost put it under dislike but it was it's own experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and had to open windows for breeze. No ceiling fan to move air in bedroom. VERY NOISY and active street ALL night long.

    Liked we could leave our bags secured before checking time of 2 pm. Room was clean but small. Liked it was very close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and needed window closed for noise. Breakfast was poor.

    The location was superb, vibrancy outside the window but with window closed it was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very small and there’s a smoke detector that flashes a light all night. Made falling asleep difficult.

    Location was great and given how good the location was, the room was what I expected at that price point. The room was also kept very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast from 8-10. Not very good if you have an early morning flight. Didn't understand that private bathroom was outside the room, down the hall! Could not find fan to try and cool off.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand the laws of supply and demand but how Venetian hotels such as this one get away with providing so little for so much continues to baffle me. It was a drab, depressing place badly in need of a total make-over. Breakfast was particularly disappointing being strictly rationed to one slice of bread and one croissant per person.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their were mosquitoes in my room that woke me up some nights . Ithough the front desk gave me a bug repellent and it worked . I do believe their should be a latch on the window , though the window was close it would open when the door opens and shut . (Room 38).

    The bed was very comfy and cozy! The staff was nice and the location was great. In the heart of the center . The location was perfect . Next to shops, restaurants , bars etc. It was nice and quit inside the hotel . The young tall guy in the morning with the dog was very nice !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast with little bread, we need to add more other food not only a little bread like egg or other protein food. Coffee , yogurt and orange juice are good. Our room are connected with toilet, if possible, you adjust the room with door to door room.it is better.

    Near the railway station and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not equipped with cupboard, extra pillows and blankets. The hotel did not provide glass or kettle to boil some water so that we can have some still water to drink. The dining place for breakfast is too small. Crowded that we hardly can move around. The breakfast choices are limited too.

    The location of the hotel is perfect which is very near the the train station. The bed is very comfy and the staff at the recipient was helpful during the check-out that allowed us to keep our luggage. The waitress during the breakfast session are very friendly too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower enclosure is quite small and not intended for heavily built person and I'm small built person Breakfast is quite limited to 2 pcs of bread plus 2 cracker/biscuit, you do get unli coffee,juice, yoghurt.

    Easy to find and conveniently located at 2 mins away from venezia sta lucia train station. The receptionist young man is super accommodating and friendly. The room amenities are just right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in the bathroom. The fan wasn't working really well. Rather boring view out the window, if you're into that.

    Very close to the train station. Comfy and quiet rooms. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear everything that happens outside which is bad because people and aquatic taxis make noise all night. The bathroom was a bit old.

    Confy room and close to the train station. Didn't need to climb any bridges or stairs with our luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old need to update mold in my room n my daughter got a rash ( bug bites)??? I needed rooms together n they didn't try to accommodate n I had children so imagine ?

    The area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When staying for the first time it was slightly difficult to find an entrance to hotel even standing on the street in front of the building, I would recommend to make more visible hotel sign at the entrance

    Location is very good! Very pleasant staff, this hotel is value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The external bathroom, although private was inconvenient. Mould on ceiling and smell of damp

    Good location and good breakfast. Lift helped with carrying luggage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good just 3mins walk from train station. Staffs are nice and helpful who kindly provide hot water to us. The room is comfortable and the breakfast is nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion, the food severed on breakfast is a little simple. It would be much better if you can add more food choices instead of having only some bread and a cup of hot beverage. Also the window of my room cannot be fully closed by some unknown problems which gave rise to some issues during the rain.

    I think, in general, the room was beyond my expectation. To begin with it, it possesses a perfect location that it is only three minutes away from the train&bus&boat station. Apart from that, the room is quiet cozy and clean, it got all items needed for a two star hotel. Beside it, the wall is sound-proof that I really enjoyed some good sleep there. Last but not least, the price was extremely reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a bit out of date, need to refresh a bit at least a hand of fresh paint to don't see other people's marks on the walls.

    Very good location, staff friendly and attentive. Conformable bed, hot shower and warm room after long walks around Venice in rainy days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast room....squeezy.

    Less than 300mtrs from the train station. You can easily find food right outside the hotel. High volume of human traffic outside of the hotel because that is the common pathway everyone takes to go to the St Michael Chapel....so you can easily just follow the crowd without needing a map.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is ok, a bit small. BUT!!! the sound insulation is not very good. Lights in the room is a bit dark.

    Great location if you do have a lots of luggages because the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the train station. Breakfast is not bad. Batter then average .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some walls of our room had marks on them ( need to be painted, cleaned).

    Great location, close to the train station and 10 minutes from the bus station. Great breakfast ( coffee,yogurt, nutella, latte, cappuccino, bread, croissant, juice). Big comfortable bed, towels changed everyday. Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day of my stay here, an extra bed that I had asked was not installed yet and we had no choice but pay for another room. (But they admitted their mistake on the next day and returned some money to us.)

    Location is perfect. Staff was basically kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms were dull and gloomy. The sink was huge however the water flow was terrible. Owner of the hotel was not very hospitable and made us feel unwelcome. After the owner was rude and judgemental we couldn’t wait to leave.

    Ladies serving breakfast were pleasant and friendly. Location was good and close to train station. Breakfast was ok nothing special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reviews on this hotel.

    Location was perfect for train station and exploring Venice. Plus hotel located in a cute street with lots of bars and restaurants. Trattoria bar pontini.. best restaurant we visited only a 5 min walk and good value! The reviews for this hotel got us worried but for the price you pay in Venice there is nothing wrong with this hotel especially as it includes a lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The croissants were delicious. breakfast was simple and samll but enough. The served the most delicuous croissant I ever ttried in Italy, mybe because it was not that sweet. The staff of the hotel was very friendly. Location was excellent for us. Very close to the train stations, which is very usefull if you have heavy luggage or if you will travel to cities nearby. around 20 minutes walk to San Marcos. It was just what I paid for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt from damp but i expected it as buildings in Venice are very old and i guess it is something to do with surrounded water. The wifi connection wasnt great, only basic breakfast of cornflakes, butter, jam and Nutella. I really didnt care about the look of reception area,but i cared that it was missinterpretated on booking website. Please update the pictures to real ones

    I like the location near by train Station, not far from car park san marco,very near of local restaurants,very friendly and helpfull staff,nice room. We could leave luggages by reception after check out which is a big plus.I expected it noisy as written by previous quests but it wasnt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not easy access. Need to walk with luggages croasing the bridge. The room was very outdated. Many broken pieces. And too gloomy. The lighting was not bright enough.

    Near souvenir shops and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was outside of the room. It was written on the reservation confirmation, so I don’t claim for it. However, we didn’t like it.

    Shower with a lot of hot water!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows needs replacement as well as the towels. Can consider adding some type of clothes drying line in the bathroom as well as place to hang up towels after use and a little soap holder in the shower

    Rooms and facilities were sufficient for a short period stay. Staff and reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast basic but adequate

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the light is really not enough. Breakfast is too late since it start at 8.00 am but we have to catch the train at 8.30 so we miss the breakfast there.

    I love the stuff, they are very friendly and help us a lot especially about the travel. It close to train station about 5 minutes walk. It also close to many restaurants both Italian and also asian restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Room window was broken and was not working, Breakfast was very very poor, i regret to stay at that hotel in fact i was the one who has selected it for a group of people which i felt very bad making them to stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All TV channels were in Italian, nothing in English, even the news, that was a bit strange for the hotel full of foreign tourists.

    Everything was very convenient. The room is very clean, the towels were changed every day. The breakfast was rather big, but it was a bit hard to eat all the same for 5 days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast only had a few variety, only bread and cereal, but the coffee was good enough. The heater in our room did not work really well and the blanket was not thick enough to warm us.

    The location is near the station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a farce. Restaurant was not opened until 8am sharp and then people were sat randomly with total strangers sharing croissants from the same basket on the same table.

    Price and general accessibility of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are stay in the second floor which facing the main street, you can clearly hear the sound from the street.

    Location. It's located nearby Venezia St. Lucia Train Station. Easy to find & just a short walk from train station to the hotel (Even though if you are travel with a big heavy luggage). The hotel is with a tiny elevator which is a good news for those who travel with big, heavy luggage like me :) It is kinda difficult to find a hotel with elevator in Venice with the price i paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a very bad smell coming from the toilet sewer so the room smelled really bad. heating was not enough and the room was cold. breakfast was bad, we did not enjoy it and it starts late at 8:00am. the walls are not sound proof you can almost hear everything in the next rooms.

    Location was perfect and stuff were really welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite busy and noisy street if you get the room at the front..

    The location is near Venezia Santa Lucia, the train main station. Clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was quite small but for the price it's ok I guess.

    It was near the train station.. Abt 5 mins walk.. They have a lift.. u can leave your bags there after checking out. They staff was great. Breakfast was simple but adequate.. I took the 2 connecting rooms.. It's the toilet that connected the rooms..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service. During check-in I asked about breakfast 30 min before breakfast time (my train was at 8 and breakfast starts at 8 also). Guy from reception said "No problem". Next morning the other guy in the reception did not know anything about that. When he tried to ask kitchen staff to prepare my breakfast earlier, woman from kitchen said "No". So kitchen staff here are much more important than customers. Another strange thing - I was asked to pay a city tax of 4 euros (for one night for 1 person) and just because I had an invoice for my stay, where was indicated that city tax is 2 euros, I hadn't to pay double charge. So be careful and check twice what you should pay and what you will be pushed to pay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I guess the standard in such an specific town is what it is. We found it as a cheap place to stay and still it has been our most expensive booking this year. The breakfast was very disappointing. From our experience in other towns in Italy, Portugal and Spain this year I would give a chance to a guest house next time.

    Location is great as it is very close to the train station and you can leave your luggage right after arriving to town. Then you can start the visit from the very beginning of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We missed a fridge. That's all.

    Quite a short walk from the bus station, over the bridge, just past the train station in among the shops and restaurants. This is my favourite part of Venice for shopping. Easy check-in. Good working elevator. A good TV with USB slot so we could watch films from a flash drive instead of Italian TV. Good breakfast. We had a pot of hot milk and a pot of coffee and made it to our liking. Choice of croissants etc in a basket or cereal, orange juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - really easy to get to from the bus station, Tronchetto (via valparetto in 3 stops, then in a few mins walk you'll be at the hotel). Warm ambience at reception, room is cosy, bathroom was cosier still. Great for 1-2 night stays, especially considering the location and ease of navigation. However due to the location being quite central, you will hear some occasional noise through the night, and I'd imagine this would be more of an issue during the peak tourist season. (I didn't mind particularly, it was never much of a disturbance to wake me up) Wifi worked well, felt safe as a solo traveller and would recommend to other solo travellers

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bugs and me and my partner were bitten all over from the bed sheets we had to ask them to be changed and they never changed them. The receptionists were amazing the cleaning staff were extremely rude

    The reception staff were amazing! And Jamal the dog me and my friends loved him, the only downside was the cleaning staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People could have been more friendly.

    The staff in the breakfast room immediately said we're not open for 10 more minutes! I said I just needed a juice and a roll. They let me do that while they set up behind the counter. But they were less than friendly. The man at the reception desk was also less than friendly. It was a bed for the night and not much more. A cot is even more like it so I guess the price really isn't all that great except that it is in Venice and it was close to train station which is what I needed to get to my resort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not there in the summer so could not comment of temperature of the room. October was very comfortable with the windows open

    Great location very close to train station and water taxis for going to the port for a cruise. Right in the middle of the action as far as shopping and restaurants. Hotel a llittle noisy due to bar out back, but did not go on too long. Did not affect our sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe the morning Rush at the breakfast ;-)

    Nice location close to the "grand canal" and the vaporetto stops of the station. the room is just what we expect a place to get a shower and sleep. You don't go the Venezia to be lazy in your room ;-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked this Hotel, the owner, his wife and his son were very nice. The only one thing that made us disappointed was the lady staff who wore a uniform like a cleaning lady or maid and worked in the breakfast room the morning we stayed there(Oct. 11). But, she was not the owner's wife. This woman rude to the extreme. Unkind. The issue was that I misunderstood the breakfast standards. I thought my partner wanted a second croissant, without asking first. But I asked the woman mentioned about a second croissant and the rudely, bad attitude, loud and put me in my place stating that guests only had one croissant, the one on the basket at the start of breakfast. That's it! She embarrassed me in front of the other guests and one, who sat next to us, offered me her croissant. The owner's wife who stood behind the counter told that woman mentioned above to give us the croissant. A mere croissant just caused a most unpleasant feeling towards a hotel. Jose and Sombat

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you get easily disturbed by street noise (people and trolley bags) ask for a room at the rear. The smoke alarm light in the room was a bit bright but could be covered by tape - ask the staff.

    Good location very close to restaurants and transport. Good value for Venice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest the price of this room is a little high given the fact we had no en-suite. The breakfast was extremely poor with only tea, coffee, bread and butter with small tubs of jam or Nutella which was pretty much thrown at us with a grunt.

    The hotel was in an excellent location for our purpose, the staff were friendly once they noticed we were there. They were very accommodating the next day with our luggage after we experienced delays.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, the breakfast is average. The place for the breakfast is congest.

    The location is good. The hotel also easy to find out. 24 hour check-in, can store luggage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warn, you barely have any space to stand in the bathroom and there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom drains.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had room on street. Bit noisy until 1am as there was a restaurant/bar next door. Had wonderful view of busy street activity during the day.

    Small, quaint hotel near rail station. Easy to find. Staff very friendly. Breakfast a little disappointing after spending 12 nites in big city hotels. All in all, a very nice hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me twice for the City tax. The email confirmation said we paid €714 VAT tax and City tax included When we left they insisted we pay the City tax €24 Also the breakfast room is too small

    Location was awesome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was expecting more than coffee, juice, water, bread and yogurt for breakfast. The restaurant area was painfully small.

    The location from the train station and bus station to get to airport. Friendly staff. Close to Water Taxi. Getting greeted by the boss (Jamal) in the lobby occasionally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the worst hotel I've stayed in for years. The room was awful. The TV didn't have a signal. The taps in the bathroom were stiff and the toilet seat was loose and moved around when you sat on it. The room was on a severe slant and there was a 4 inch step into the bathroom. The room was incredibly noisy. The breakfast was basic to say the least.

    The property was 3 minutes from the train station. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st room was not suitable as a double as the bathroom door only opened half way because of the bed and wardrobe hanging off the wall and room tiny, tiny tiny breakfast was very basic

    location great for railway onward travel and near vaporreto

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked two rooms and ended up all six of us sleeping in one room because there was only one room available it was very cramped and we had 3 camp beds. Not happy as we have been charged for 2 rooms and had to spend all of afternoon sorting it out!

    Breakfast was poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old female staff at the breakfast room was impolite, not helpful and not friendly. You will not want to have breakfast there as you can only have a slice of bread, a croissant, some jam, a cup of coffee, and 3 mini packs of "biscuit". But you have to wait for a seat even you came at the breakfast time - 8a.m.! Save time and have a good mood - just go out and have your breakfast if you have enough money. No and would not provide a kettle in the room. A lot of mosquito in the room and I had been suffered every nights. Speed of Wifi was very extremely poorly slow!!! Maybe wifi of all hotels in Italy was poor as a norm. Bed was too soft. Room for one person staying 2 nights costed 302€ (including city tax of 8€). That means you have to pay a price of 4 star hotel but you can only get a 1 star experience.

    No another choice as only this hotel had room when I booked it one month before I came to Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the rooms on the ground floor where the friends lived were mosquitoes and hear noise of kitchen appliances.

    Convenient location of the hotel. Near the station and parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about!

    Extremely well located hotel, close to train station! Staff friendly and very helpful! Very comfortable rooms and breakfast with lots of variety! Would definitely return to stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no personal safe in a hotel. One safe cell for all the hotel on the reception. Every one could easily take your stuff. Smallest shower cabin I have ever seen. 0,30 square meters (it is not a joke) and it is like a room in a wall. Smallest room I have ever seen (like a room for a dog). Hard to get to bed room is not bigger then small bed. When you come for breakfast it is a room 2 times bigger then your room number, small and uncomfortable. People seet on each others head. When I wanted to choose place to seet - the personnel looked at me with anger. Food is limited - they give you one croissant and coffee, jam and that is all. When you ask for another cup of coffee - they ask you to finish the first one, so you have to wait. So you exit the hotel in a bad mood and hungry. I strongly don’t recomend you to stay here! No worth for money at all. Expensive and uncomfortable.

    The only plus of this hotel for us was its location near the trainstation, because we were travelling with large bags and continue our holiday in Verona. The worst hotel I have ever been for its rather high price.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Il Moro di Venezia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: