Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pax 3 stars

via Sant'Antonio, 14, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#17 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    This was my first trip to Italy and since I don't speak Italian and would be traveling alone I was a bit nervous. Hotel Pax was highly rated online and was just what I was looking for so I decided to take a chance. I'm so glad I did! The family that owns the hotel treated me like family the entire week and were incredibly friendly and hospitable. They speak many languages including English so they were able to help me with suggestions. They even assisted me with buying my tickets back to Rome online! The hotel itself is located right in the center of where you want to be in Assisi and is very cozy, clean and comfortable. They also provide a complimentary breakfast which is very nice. I hope you will choose to stay at Hotel Pax when you visit Assisi. Antonio and his family will make you feel right at home! Grazie mille!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dust under the bed, but not a big deal. Coffee should be better, in Italy we can do better.

    Great location. Very attentive and kind staff is ready to help and anticipate any possible demand a guest could be needing. Rooms are essential, but comfortable and pretty clean. Breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all. It was a very pleasant experience to be at this hotel.

    Excellent hotel! The staff was extremely nice and attentious to all needs. The room was perfect. Very nice location. The breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not easy - parking near the hotel is only allowed for residents, public parking is further down, outside the city.

    The hotel is in an old 14th century palazzo right in the middle of Assisi, close to the basilica. The room was simple but clean, comfortable for a one night stay. I really liked that the bathroom was huge! The owner and his daughter were so helpful in finding us a parking upon arrival. They are very nice and helpful, gave us good recommendations. Breakfast is simple but good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small and the pillows a bit hard, but apart from that it's great value for money.

    The family running the hotel are lovely and very helpful. The hotel is very close to some excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this beautiful little family run hotel.

    Very comfortable , central and quiet location. The smell of warm croissants greated you as you came down for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so-so.

    Antonio and his son, Eduardo, were great hosts! His wife and daughter very nice too. Antonio is a professional who spent time helping me out with my travels when most hotel people would not. His hotel was very clean and it shows very well. Antonio is a very friendly person who enjoys what he does and it shows. I will return to stay at his family owned and operated hotel again without hesitation. Not to mention the location and the price-staying in Assisi is a no brainer-stay here and Antonio will cater to all your travel needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grea hotel.... the room is really nice and clean, the location is simple perfect (at the center of everything in Asis) and the best of all is the staff (a family) that really makes the difference. We really recommend this hotel..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They told me all the points of interest in Assisi with a handy map. I even got a lift to the train station on my final day. It was more like visiting friends than staying at a hotel!! The room was beautiful. The street was very quiet but safe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent... a 5 minute walk from the main plaza. The family that runs the hotel is wonderful. They couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected in a building that is hundreds (thousands?) of years old. Overall, a very charming place in the old city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family owned hotel -- so staff was so friendly and accommodating.they gave great advice on what to see first and the owner,Antonio even offered to take us to the train Statio if we needed it! Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweet little family run hotel. Excellent staff. Hotel was loaded character. Lovely hotel and a great location. We loved it! Breakfast was very good. Very nice experience. The owner also saved us time by advising us about our car trip to Rome. Mille Grazie!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was so engaging and friendly and informative. While my single room was small it was clean, and very comfortable, it just made the Assisi experience so much more meaningful to be in the walls of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use an exhaust system and some towel hangers. Everything else was great!

    Very comfy and welcoming place in the heart of Asisi. Breakfast was good, with all essentials available (cereals, bread and spreads, cakes and drinks). Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very kind and helped us with directions and recommendations. The family speaks Portuguese so it was very helpful for us!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our not staying for longer!

    The most friendly and helpful family who run this small delightful hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Antonio and his family.Comfortable quiet room immaculately clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a little small & could've had a small ledge or shelf to put your shampoo & soap on. Bed was okay but everyone is different on what comfort is.

    Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. Room was very nice & gave you a good hill town feel. They had an elevator which was nice because I just had some knee work done. They spoke English very well. They also had parking for 10 Euro a day nearby but you need to reserve it with your room because they have limited space. Close to the main Piazza.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My train arrived late and the proprietor was ready abd waiting for me when I arrived about 10 p.m. He was also very pleasent and helped my find my way around Assisi and with my plans to visit Rome. This trip to Italy was my first. The breakfasts were also special. l

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking hills

    Close in center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meet all basic need and good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly family run hotel. Very helpful with information,ordering taxis. Felt very safe and secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart of an amazing old city. Beautifully restored old character building. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great to explore Assisi and room comfortable .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too hard bed was hard but still comfortable

    Staff was precious- Owner reminded me of Marlin Brando

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little uninteresting and not on the same level of our experience.

    Very friendly staff, near the centre and an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grace, the daughter of the owners, was a wonderful and helpful host. She took extra time to make sure that everything was just right for our family.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was fabulous. Grace went out of her way to be helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small

    Great Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Good location and helpfull owners!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some minor repairs needed in the room, especially the shower head.

    Warm, welcoming family run hotel in the heart of Assisi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powerful showers and fluffy white towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very clean hotel in a wonderful location right in the medieval town. They have very friendly staff. We do recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was ok: good breakfast and good location. Mr. Antonio and his family are wonderful host.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was satified

    Owner had lived in USA. Good English & helpful tourist info. Family charming

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff especially charming & helpful. Family run. Excellent location, close to main square but very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no problem

    the staff - owner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel in the centre of Assisi, great staff, simple, but tasty breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower

    Located right in the old town close to the main attractions. Friendly service, comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Couple

    Owner was so kind and truly concerned that we were comfortable. We had traveled 6 hours on bus and train and checked in late. He literally called us by name and said he was glad we arrived safely. Staff was helpful and available. They made our short stay a great experience.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Should have stayed more time. One day is not enought.

    The hotel location is excellent, near everything. The owners are very kind and helpful, the lady is Brazilian so they gave us full attention all the time. Breakfast is delicious. The city is the most beautiful we visited in Italy. Medieval, very well maintained, the churches are wonderful, the saints history (Francesco and Chiara) are impressive. I loved and will be back!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little dark and the central heaters worked well, when they were turned on.

    The location is excellent and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was well kept and very clean, albeit with a slight musky smell. All in all value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to dislike for value-for-money hotel. Wi-fi in the rooms would have been good but it worked perfectly well in the communal area where I could have a drink from the bar as well.

    Under new management and now a family-run hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful to me and my father. Made sure we were always happy with everything and the heating was on all the time we were in our rooms which were very comfortably warm despite the horrible weather. Excellent position for exploring the whole town on foot. Private (paid) parking very close by.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being new to the hotel.......only 4 days....they are already planning to make changes to anything that may be improved upon.

    The new staff has the desire to make a trip enjoyable, taking every opportunity to ensure the client's happiness. Location was in the middle of everything but at the same time off the main avenue.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired-looking decor, stale cigarette smell throughout the corridors, hard pillows - like they were made of a particularly unforgiving foam. The first room we were shown to was vast and windowless. The second was tiny, but did have a large window onto a pigeon-infested courtyard. To be fair, it was a last-minute booking. Breakfast was perfunctory. Wifi in communal areas only.

    Good location. The bathroom was well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic room facilities - I had a single room which was really small, however Assisi is expensive for accommodation generally, this was a bit more reasonable and I found the location great

    Extremely location - fantastic spot in town very close to the main piazza. Reasonably priced, the bed was comfortable, staff were helpful and the breakfast was great - they had a big selection of cereal, yoghurt, toast, sweet pastries and cakes, juice and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You need to know that the car park is NOT in front of the hotel. You need to check into Mojano car park, outside the walls, and get the lift into town. On bank holiday weekends, parking is a nightmare!

    Central location Good breakfast Friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast OK but could be a bit more interesting!

    Friendly and helpful owners. Simple but comfortable room. Excellent central location.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only room is a small one on head level with size of 60x60cm, which is different from what on web.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the room, for the summer days we were there

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff, quiet neighborhood in the evening and easy walks to important sites .

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room noisy

    Location, staff, breakfasts all good

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel Pax traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: