Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ancora 4 stars

Corso Mameli 65, 28921 Verbania, Italy

#4 of 19 hotels in Verbania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 781 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent from every perspective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent from every perspective. Keep in mind that rooms facing the lake could be noisy when the windows are open. Breakfast was very good, staff very accommodating and overall a wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not soundproof so you will hear the sound of other people in the other rooms

    The breakfast was absolutely unique and excellent. The staff are friendly and assist with your questions,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in a perfect location with very welcoming and friendly staff. Booked a room with a lake view which really is a must as the view is beautiful. Great breakfast choice. The ferry stop is directly opposite the hotel so really easy to explore the neighbouring towns and islands. Verbania itself has plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. Secure parking for our motorbikes in the nearby garage for a small charge which was ideal for us. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    beautiful hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Ancora was really nice. The hotel is beautiful, clean, in the city center. The staff was very friendly, smiling, wishing a good morning, and in general the atmosphere was very welcoming. The room was well furnished and modern, with a big shower. The breakfast buffet had only good things, fresh juices, cakes, even a huge piece of chocolate where you could break off little bits!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not very new but it was clean. It was a bit cold in the room.

    Beautiful view from the window. Tasty breakfast with local products. Clean room. Hotel is close to the port where you can take a boat to visit islands.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    The second time I was here will not be the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room in the neighbourhood ist not really breathtaking.

    Everything. The friendly check-in and -out (with sweets as a give-away and a very practical cleanser for glasses); the nice modern room with a good bed, the excellent breakfast with such a nice fresh choice at the buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Best hotel we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing.

    Excellent location just across the road from the lake and ferry terminal with restaurants nearby. Hotel recently renovated to a high standard. Friendly staff. Recommend a room with a lake view. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a nice stay in the hotel and the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's close to the main road with some traffic so it might be a little bit noisy if you would like to keep the window open.

    We had a nice stay in the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was really nice with lots of varieties.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall a nice stay. Good location nice staff, comfortable bed, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a view, and to get to the room we had to climb two flights of stairs which is not ideal with luggage. Also the electricity in the room only worked when you were in the room which is normally fine, but we had good in the fridge that went bad because of that.

    The were very accommodating for my request to have lactose free and gluten free options for breakfast. We also loved the giant block of chocolate 🍫. Our room was huge/ two levels. More than enough space for two people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Consistently great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We've stayed here a lot as we travel back and forth between the UK and Greece. We also have 2 dogs with us and like to have them in the room with us. It's also important that we can park close to the hotel. Hotel Ancora have always been very welcoming and having the dogs is not a problem. You can pull up for a sort time right outside the hotel for check in purposes and then if you notify them in advance they provide a parking permit for the nearby car parks (cost 5€). We never stay for breakfast in any of the hotels we stay at whilst driving across Europe apart from this one. Really good coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh crusty breads etc etc. Great Lake view and right in the heart of Verbania, what's not to like?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location in a good part of Verbania ( the best spot in our opinion)),
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but cold hard boiled eggs didn't really hit the spot, however the scrambled eggs and bacon were a good addition. Good coffee too. The parking is ok but a little complicated, the hotel uses public parking about 150m away and you either park for free (white spaces) or pay for it (blue spaces) which the hotel refunds you at the end.

    We had a small room assigned to us and we requested another one. This was granted and we liked room 10 for its views and size. The staff ( young woman) was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Short but sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great, friendly and helpful staff, prosecco at breakfast and a super view. We had a harbour facing room which was perfect.The staff were friendly and very helpful with parking, they have a deal on the local parking spaces. Great location for lunch / dinner too. The little square has great restaurants - The delicatessen is devine! And there are multiple gelato stops...we tried as many as we could. Tirimasu and Hazelnut came out on top! A good stay over all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Had a superb short break need a longer time so much to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using Italian language was often a bit difficult but mostly could make ourselves understood. Take a dictionary to check menu at eateries.

    As a lakeside Hotel this could not be better placed for all activities,ferries,bus trips etc. on local transport and on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable time; excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't seem as efficient as some we've experienced.

    Staff were friendly, always willing to help and available. Location by the lake is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this property.

    The location, it was right opposite the lake. The port was only a couple of minutes walk where you can go on a boat trip around the lake. And it is amongst plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Consistently good, extremely helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Able to pull in right in front of hotel to offload. Great breakfast. Have redecorated and upgraded recently. Very very helpful staff. Stay here 4 times a year and this time our car broke down. Hotel Director went to fetch his jump leads and battery which was invaluable in helping us to continue our journey. Beautiful lake view. Our dogs are always welcomed. Right in the heart of Verbania.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Americano on a bike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. Great staff.

    Great people and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was excellent. Located in Verbania near the ferry. Convient clean and comfy. Accommodated the bicycle. Overall good experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.4
    Was disappointed with the hotel. Unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff. We had asked for two rooms alongside each other. We're told on arrival this was not possible. Breakfast a bit disappointing.

    Close to ferry .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not big enough. We stayed only 1 night and if we stay one more night I would think twice. The bathroom is also small. The facility doesn't have parking area but they helped us where we can park easily.

    The location was good. It is nexto to the lake. If you pay extra you can get a room with lake view. Breakfast was ok, not suberb but satisfying.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Weekend Break in Verbania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the rooms are particularly thin and you can hear every noise from the surrounding rooms.

    The hotel is in a great location with quick access to the port. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Small hotel with loads of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise is noticeable but didn't keep us awake.

    Great freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. Very convenient for loads of bars/restaurants. Good views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    We keep coming back!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Parking bay in front of hotel for easy offloading of luggage (and dogs!). Central location in the town. Beautiful view of the lake. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not as well prepared as it could have been. Interconnecting door meant next room noise came through.

    Location was wonderful. Breakfast great. Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view from the balcony. Located in the city center. Modern clean room, with big bath. Extra praise for the orange juicer at breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    5.4
    The hotel is not fulfilling www.booking.com's standard agreement.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept my credit card security code from my first stay so they charged it as soon as I booked it online, which two weeks before our second stay, I was forced to accept it even though we had not finalized our travel plans. So we only used four nights but we paid for five. I disputed it right away but they refused to reverse the credit card charge. After dispute, we were given a very small room for 125 Euros a night for 5 nights. It was so small that we did not have enough floor space for our luggage, It was fraud! I would never stay there again!

    I have stayed at the hotel twice in one month because the location is near the ferry.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.9
    Reasonable hotel at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress was thin and uncomfortable. As a person who prefers contemporary styling, I found the furniture was in excellent condition but dated.

    Staff were very helpful, breakfast good, and double glazing effective. (Street alongside lake front is very noisy !)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    It was a really good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...

    It was a really good experience. ....i wanna say thanks for everything. ...because everything was perfect....good hotel....amazing view.....good clean....good and really friendly staff ....the reception womans and the personal from The breakfast was amazing. ....maybe I go back again....thanks for everything. .. 😀

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Above and beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above and beyond expectations Fabulous hotel & staff We will come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    It was in a great location & we had a room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a great location & we had a room with a beautiful view from our balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice reception. The room was very nice with a wonderful view of the harbour and lake. The breakfast was the very best in Italy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful way to look out on lago Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some diesel smell and traffic noise from street below—not a problem once windows were closed.

    The view from our balcony. Not all rooms have a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    We stay here 4 times a year with our dog. Always excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring back the old orange squeezer machine!

    Central location, help with parking, breakfast, welcomed our dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    GREAT !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast selection !! They def aim to please !! I will return again!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Breakfast Wonderfull view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great short holiday break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great room, lake views, excellent breakfast and staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was not always staffed and reception staff could be more friendly

    Great location, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast perfect Room and bed very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Had a nice single room. Perfect stay. And great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely views, friendly staff, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, good selection at breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, large room with big comfy bed. Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab position overlooking Lake Maggiore and 5 minutes walk to the boat dock.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Been twice love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    The location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel is perfect. You d'on't need to use your car and it's wonderfull!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel on Lake Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    Lovely hotel, great spot with good views from our deluxe room with a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Central simple modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tea making facilities in the room. And the views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Evry thing was good but pillows are rocks other than that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evry thing was good but pillows are rocks other than that great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location,excellent breakfast and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage was very tight for average sized vehicle.

    Excellent bread and pastries for breakfast. Excellent location. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Nice Location,Smiling Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Room on the upper floors

    Location,lakeview,friendly staff,construction quality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    A pleasure to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow and intermittent

    All the staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the attic with only a small window. A full window to enjoy the view would have been great.

    The staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    We just keep coming back!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and view from room window Drop off parking in front if hotel Dog friendly Breakfast Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Recomanded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. At the center. Very nice room. Kindly stuff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    staff assai cortese, professionale e simpatico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff assai cortese, professionale e simpatico. ottima location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    A great time in Intra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful hotel in a great position staff wonderful & efficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    The breakfast was really delicious, they offered a decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattresses in our room could have been better.

    The breakfast was really delicious, they offered a decent variety of food in good qualitiy and even had a machine to make yourself a fresh orange Juice. The capuccino was freshly made and brought to the table by the staff. Really recommend this.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    This is my second review for this hotel (wrote one last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, all good.

    This is my second review for this hotel (wrote one last year), as we stay here regularly whilst travelling between the UK and Greece. Our travelling companions are two well behaved Scottish Terriers, but transferring them plus luggage from the car to a hotel can be difficult. So having the convenience of being able to pull up right outside the Ancora to off load is great. Plus there is a public car park opposite and a larger one just 5 minutes walk away by the ferry terminal. The hotel offers a 5€ per day parking pass for these car parks which you pick up at reception. They do have their own car park but there is a height restriction and we have a roof box. The Ancora is on the main road through Verbania and right in the heart of the town, so very convenient for shops, bars and restaurants. Across the road is the beautiful Lake Maggiore, and there's a park walk that follows the edge of the lake down to a cafe/bar with indoor and outdoor seating. Great for walking the dogs or going for a run. BUT with convenience comes noise, so be warned. I'm not writing that fact as a negative about the hotel as street noise doesn't bother everyone, but if you need silence to sleep this is not the hotel for you! The rooms are modern and comfortable, and if you request a lake view it is a beautiful sight to open the shutters to. The windows are floor to ceiling and have a Juliet balcony which allows our dogs Hamish and Betty to look out and enjoy people and more importantly dog watching in the street below. They don't have a restaurant but it's not needed as I said before the hotel is surrounded by some gear eateries. They do serve breakfast which we always look forward to. It's mainly continental but there are some hot dishes. They have a great self serve orange juice extractor machine with huge bowls of fresh Italian oranges which makes the most delicious juice!

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    Travelling with 2 dogs and all their paraphernalia and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Travelling with 2 dogs and all their paraphernalia and the Hotel Ancora is so convenient for the car park and walks along the promenade. But, they also have a pull in parking space right outside the entrance where you can unload and load. Has lovely lake views from the bedrooms and an excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    well run hotel with a friendly overall atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a complaint but the chairs in breakfast room are a bit heavy to move about

    well run hotel with a friendly overall atmosphere. Location is brilliant and rooms kept very clean and fresh. Breakfast was great each morning.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic location, beautiful view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little pricey given there are no extra like a pool or gym etc

    Fantastic location, beautiful view of the lake. Went for a wedding and gave my shirts an emergency ironing in 5 mins!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The host went way beyond what is expected of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, but like most European hotels, I always wish they hotels have tea making facilities in the room,

    The host went way beyond what is expected of them. When we asked for the best route to take in panoramic views of the lake from the mountains, they did not only give us the route, but they drove us in their private car to the base of the route and offered to collect us later...

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Excellent location in a 'proper' town - one which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in a 'proper' town - one which had a good range of shops. Important to ask the hotel about parking arnnagements - this will save you a lot of hassle and money

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    very nice view from the window (beautiful lake), close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was VERY loud (very busy street outside and restaurants next to the hotel) - it was loud even very late at night. There was very small choice of cheese for breakfast - it is strange that in the country where there are so many kinds of cheese they proposed only "yellow" and "processed cheese".

    very nice view from the window (beautiful lake), close to the ferry, Mrs. Martha at the reception desk was VERY nice and helpful - thank you!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    The hotel is staffed by the most friendly and efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you have a room with a balcony the traffic noise can be annoying when you have the windows open.

    The hotel is staffed by the most friendly and efficient people, nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Very helpful and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People with unruly children. If you must bring ankle biters keep them under control!

    Very helpful and attentive staff. Bar open on request. Breakfast was plentiful and Buck's Fizz every day!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    Location was great for grocery store , Pharmacie, walking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was great for grocery store , Pharmacie, walking, and restaurants . Off the Main Street are many streets for shopping. I had an infection in an incision and the Pharmacie fixed me right up. Certain pharmacies I think can give prescriptions.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Really helpful staff, glorious view of the lake, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing bad to report.

    Really helpful staff, glorious view of the lake, comfortable and stylish room, excellent breakfast particularly the orange juice machine. Air con working and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    Located in the town centre close to the ferry terminal and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Besides the breakfast restaurant, there were no major facilities.

    Located in the town centre close to the ferry terminal and still a very quiet room with easy access to the major towns and (historical) sites.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    AC worked well, nice location, felt very clean and updated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't splurge for water view; there is a large road between the hotel and the water.

    AC worked well, nice location, felt very clean and updated in the room. Large, varied breakfast. Able to park nearby for $0. Ferry nearby for Borromeo islands. All in all a great experience for a couple nights.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    200 yards from a wonderful place buzzing with locals until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet in Italy in general is 20 years behind the rest of the developed world. You have to sit in the exact angle and perfect spot to have semi-decent internet.

    200 yards from a wonderful place buzzing with locals until way after midnight...lots of fun.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Having stayed at Ancora for 2 nights last year and loving it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that we didn't like.

    Having stayed at Ancora for 2 nights last year and loving it when we got the opportunity to return this year we jumped at the chance. The hotel remains excellent. This time we booked a standard room with no view and were surprised and delighted to be put in one of the Apartementi which had two floors including a sizeable living room. Everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Tryin at the front desk went out of her way to assist us when we were having problems with the online checkin at Alitalia. The breakfast was very good... Especially the fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms at the back very dark. Bedside light not strong enough to read in bed. Only lounge also very dark.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lavish breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    This was a wonderful hotel, local right in front of Lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was a wonderful hotel, local right in front of Lake Maggiore. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are simple, and clean, comfortable beds. The town is very quaint, little side streets, restaurants, cafes...

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.1
    the beautiful hall and stair bannister
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one of the ladies at the reception bit noisy even with double glazing

    the beautiful hall and stair bannister fresh orange juice for breakfast clean new shower room comfortable bed staff at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.3
    Situation de l hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation de l hotel Proprete Accueil

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: