Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3 stars

Calle Delle Rasse 4534 - Castello, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#148 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 975 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Very conveniently located if you want to stay close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom amenities (shampoo and body wash) was 2in1. It was one of those packets that you have to rip open, which is difficult to do with wet hands. Plus it smelled like men. Just a note to bring your own.

    Very conveniently located if you want to stay close to the action. Staff interaction was mixed, but overall nice and helpful. The room was a lot small than I had anticipated, the pictures were a little deceiving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, he
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eating I’m room - 50 euro/day charge for cleaning if you eat in the room. Made it inconvenient as I usually do take out at the end of the day. Hótel has lift, but there are around 15 to 20steps to get up to mai.n level once you enter building.

    Great location, he Paul and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall a nice stay. Look at a ma first to figure out how to get there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I needed to check out the staff member on duty was very rude. It was early, 5am, and he asked me why I didn't take care of this yesterday? Then proceeded to be cocky and rude. I finally had to say, can I just pay and leave? It was very uncomfortable.

    Location is great. Room is adorable. AC is wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very good. Waterbus stop was near the hotel, so you can just take the ride almost at the door of hotel. Wi-fi was fast. The room was clean and quiet. Staff was very friendly and they helped you to find places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Pre-cruise overnighter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small.

    Location to everything, including all transport links, is exceptional. Beautiful, large terrace with view over the rooftops to St Marks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure why you are told not to eat in room or you are charged €50. Then why have a fridge? Also why do key need to be given to reception every time you go in and out? Breakfast for €10 way too expensive

    Excellent location. Close to St Marks Square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice hotel very well located, a short walk to St Mark's square, about 10 mins to the Realto Bridge and very close to the Santa Zaccharia water taxi stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A true gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A true gem! Absolute value for money. Perfectly located just outside S. Zaccharia boat stop. Very helpful staff. Very clean and quiet! I have already recommended it to family and friends! 🇿🇦

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional. Clean. Money well spent. Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. They are exceptional. Our ground floor room request was up a flight of stairs though but they do have a chair lift I saw if needed

    I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The room was huge for venice standards. Room for 4 people and our bags and a buggy and still comfortable. The windows were amazingly sound proof and you would have no idea there was a party outside until you opened the windows. The shutters were excellent fo afternoon nap and the place was so clean. The beds were very comfortable and the place was very stylish. Location was exceptional and the staff were incredibly helpful really were great. If all of the above was not reason enough to stay I found the price exceptionally reasonable. Very very contented traveller........with a fussy teen who was very impressed too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location: Piazza San Marco & Bridge of Sighs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side but we had a balcony & everything else was perfect & great value for money.

    Fantastic location: Piazza San Marco & Bridge of Sighs around the corner & boat stop (San Zaccaria) to train station & airport also very near & easy to find. Excellent customer service, very helpful. Clean modern rooms (spacious shower). Nice balcony with room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    There was no kettle , but
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle , but Maybe this is standard in Italy, and the air con was broken. The tea and coffee machine was also broken, but the receptionist was very helpful and boiled a kettle for us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    very good hotel with fantastic location at the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good hotel with fantastic location at the centre of venice. very helpful and polite staff ready to help with any problem. rood was on 3rd floor with cozy terrace with yard view. close to san marco and many good restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    In the heart of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the heart of Venice, about a two minute stroll to San Marco Basilica, and surrounded by lovely restaurants and cafes. Its very easy to access from the ferry bus stop (about 30 seconds walk). Staff were fantastic. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is perfect, very close both to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel is perfect, very close both to the vaporetto stops, and to the San Marco square and the main attractions. Plenty of cafes and pubs and trattorias around. I would definetely recommend the rooms with terrace, while the room itself is very small, but clean. Reasonable place to stay in Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    this was a very quiet little place to stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience of this hotel was wonderful! It was very easy to find from the water taxi! Our terrace had a very nice view of the top of St Mark tower. Very close to St Mark Square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel just steps from St. Marks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was fantastic, right next to St. Mark's and vaporetto stops, which helped for a quick first-visit to Venice. It was clean and comfortable and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    awesome hotel for the location and the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the window open it was a little noisy but not bad

    The Staff was very helpful and friendly and location was very central to San Marco Square. The room was still spacious with double bed and single bed so perfect for the family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Well positioned but not so comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap and shampoo so poor! They were below our expectations. Room's furniture essential. Nothing to eat or drink in the room.

    Very quiet and clean, fantastic position, just 5 minutes from San Marco.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    The bathrooms were lovely and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was weirdly placed so that you were having to strain your neck a bit to watch it. There's nothing relaxing about that. Needless to say I didn't watch TV. The wifi isn't powerful enough.

    The bathrooms were lovely and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, San Marco is right there and various vapporetto stops conect you with rest of the city and lagoon islands. Friendly and helpful staff. You could leave your baggage there incase you arrive early or leave the city later than checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic couple of days in Venice with our friends from Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little trouble getting the temperature right in the room initially but that's the only thing.

    Room very clean towels etc changed daily. Large and comfortable bed. Good storage for clothes. Didn't do breakfast in hotel so cannot comment on that. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Location is awesome, close to shops the water and public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst wifi setup and speed I have ever had to use. Really the only thing that brought this hotel down.

    Location is awesome, close to shops the water and public transport. Staff were nice and the rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Clean, toiletries provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange and aggressive sign in the room that eating in the room costs and additional €50 for cleaning. Unnecessary and made you feel like being in a youth hostel.

    Clean, toiletries provided

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful stay here and totally loved Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great place to stay. It is clean with new interiors and very comfortable. The hotel is in the best position with the Grande Canal only minutes away. The ferry is very close and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were all helpful. I had a great stay and recommend it highly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Room with balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with a terrace that I had booked months in advance was not available the first night of our stay. Staff was helpful and offered one free breakfast for the inconvenience

    Room with balcony Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    It has classic Italian character with a charming views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought we had filtered out Airb&b and guest houses so I was surprised upon arrival that it was a guest house and not a hotel. Although there was a (communal) kitchen with a Smeg fridge featured in the photos there were few condiments or utensils available. I enquired whether there were any bowls or spoons so I could have some breakfast cereal in my room upon awakening. The lady who runs the place was a little terse and dismissive and said everything is shown online and that you can go to the cafe downstairs for an Italian breakfast. Fair enough! but I thought that was ridiculous because the cafe isn't open 24 hours. My initial reaction to he bathroom was that it appeared dirty but I witnessed it being cleaned and realised that the tiles are stained in the corners and the vanity taps old and worn. I would recommend that these get upgraded.

    It has classic Italian character with a charming views looking onto a church tower and Italian tiled rooftops. Has a fridge and air-conditioning. I slept well here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Quiet retreat close to all the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs only access from street level to reception meant heavy bags had to be dragged up and down.

    Located very close to St Marks Square in a street also a few steps away from restaurants and Vaporettos. Wonderful to start and end the day without the hoards of day visitors in tour groups. Our room had a balcony and it was lovely to listen to the bells ringing and the noises of the street. The windows were double glazed so no issues sleeping. Our room was bigger than we expected for this location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect ..small hotel with everything. Immaculate attention to details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room. Shower needs a shelf to put soap and shampoos on instead of always having to use the floor or leave outside.

    Deluxe double 301 with balcony was fantastic. Great shower powerful and hot. With fridge and air con. Central but quiet location. Room spotlessly clean and made up every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Booked up that day and were able to check into our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic. Bed was okay, but slightly hard. Had to reconnect to wifi every time you used it.

    Booked up that day and were able to check into our room before the given check in time. Room and bathroom were very clean and the bedroom was spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Able to keep luggage there once we had check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel was good to have some rest during the day but not a place to enjoy staying in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, old furniture, window opens directly to chairs in the indoor terrace. There was no kettle to make tea and coffee. Room price is high compared to the service and quality.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    I'll stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Everything was nice, neat and well decorate. - Kind and helpful reception staff. - It could be better if there was something to carry the luggage up to the 1st floor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Night in Venice before/after cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downfall was we had to get the suitcases up the stairs into the hotel. There is a lift from reception to the rooms but not from street level.

    The location was amazing - would stay here again. St Mark's Square and the main tourist shops were 'right there'! So many food choices from pizza to pub and more up market restaurants were just out the door. had a triple room and there was enough room for us and our luggage which was nice. Staff were so helpful in arranging and confirming private water taxis which pull up at the end of the lane that the hotel is in. No bridges so didn't have to get suitcases up and over any of those. Would highly recommend this hotel and if I'm lucky enough to go back to Venice would stay here again without looking at anything else

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Venice was a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the coffee they had at reception was fresh.

    Great location. I would recommend a room with a terrace. Each night we sat out there and drank a bottle of wine. We could hear the opera singers. Also it was very close to San Marco square and in the late night around 2300 we would walk over to the square and listen to the live music. I would recommend staying there and will stay there again when I visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Antigo Trovatore; Safe, clean and perfect for your budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good for the price. Hard to expect more.

    A very clean, comfortable and friendly small hotel in a central location in Venice, with a gelato shop across the calle that was hard to go past! We were in Venice for the Biennale, so Calle della Rasse made everything close. We were slightly worried our room might be noisy, being a high tourist area, but no such problem. We slept perfectly. The staff helped us with accurate information to get to Ferrovia when the vaporetto drivers went on strike.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a lovely shared terrace really made this hotel for us. The staff were very helpful as we had to be at the airport very early in the morning and Venice isn't the easiest to get out of at 4am! But they advised us on a night time boat that connected with the airport bus and all went perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel at a good price for its situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its well documented in reviews on this hotel there is no lift from the street to the reception approx. 15 steps not suitable for an elderly person. lift thereafter. no other complaints but the crowning feature is the hotels location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Decent location average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit too firm and the breakfast was mediocre.

    Location was close to restaurants and the hop on bus stop and train station. Travelled with teen and nice to have a separate room for the 3 of us traveling. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    A quiet retreat to escape the hustle an bustle of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. No water pressure an the shower head was up against the wall. An did not stay in its hook!

    The Location is amazing! Very easy to get too from the water bus station. A quick walk to S. Marco. Very clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel which is conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have had a bit more variety, especially for a vegetarian, but couldn't complain too much as the lady in the kitchen was quite nice. Had a couple of mosquitos flying around the room too, but wasn't too bad and there was mosquito spray in the wardrobe. Felt it was quite expensive however as I paid more than double for what I paid in a nice hotel in Rome for this hotel, especially given it wasn't a 5 star hotel. Hotel guests were quite noisy at times so was unable to sleep the last couple of nights of my stay there, which was a bit annoying as I had a very early morning flight to catch the next day! But on the whole was a nice hotel.

    Location was very central so was easy to get around everywhere either on foot or via the boats. Staff were very helpful in terms of helping me to get around the city, and room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may be an Italian thing but I dislike the fact you must leave your room key at reception every time you leave the hotel. I find it very unsafe. Also, it's too easy for strangers to go to front desk and ask for the room number and the key is hand it out to them...without checking ID. Again, it may be something local, but I find it very USAFE method.

    Location. Our room had a lovely terraza with a semi view to sea and St. Marcos tower. Loved it! There is a minifridge so you can keep your olives e prosecco chilled for sundowners at the terraza. If we ever return to Venezia, we will def stay here!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    So near to San Marco , perfect for a night walk at San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The route to hotel via vaporetto at Rialto is so wrong for people with big luggage to walk ups and down the steps. You shld lead us to St Zacharias, which is beside the hotel.

    So near to San Marco , perfect for a night walk at San Marco. Square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay at a great location for water taxi/exploring the touristy side of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was exactly what we expected and wanted.

    The location was perfect if you want to stay in San Marco, just a few 100 m from the water taxi/bus stop of San Zaccarri (spelling sorry!!). The hotel is clean, comfortable and has great basic furnishings even if slightly dated. Although it's on a very busy street, it was nice and quiet on the inner courtyard where we were. They were great about storing our luggage as well - which was helpful with our very early flight//late flight departure combo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great Location to every thing you need to see in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing was that there are around 10 steps to the reception from the street they do have a lift to the other floors. Breakfast was a bit pricey for what was served, might be a good idea to go out to a café just around the corner.

    The property was conveniently located to St Marco Square and all the tourist attraction all with in two minuets walk, great hotel with only 25 rooms 3 with balconies (we had one of these rooms) the view was roof tops and the Doges Palace and bell tower, you could hear the bells very nice. would recommend any one going to Venice to stay their.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel room beautiful view of the garden atruim from large beautiful open out shutter windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not overly helpful or friendly. The fact that you could not eat in your room without paying a $50.00 fee...I could see paying a fee if you made a mess but it you are neat and tidy then you should not have to pay a fee. Breakfast being included in price would have been nice.

    Location was fantastic! The the room was gorgeous but smelled funky but that is probably normal in Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    2.9
    Ripoff! Worst hotel experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you can see from what I have written we felt terrible about spending the last 2 nights of our honeymoon at this place. When I pulled the sheets back to go to sleep there were 2 bugs crawling on the sheet! Don't know what kind but they had legs. One could literally hardly turn around in the shower. My husband and I are very slim people. In the shower there isn't anyplace to put the soap except on the floor. We were moved to another room after the bug incident and they reduced our rate by 30 euros because we now didn't have a terrace I don't have anymore time to continue this review except to say the pictures are very deceptive, the breakfast mediocre, the breakfast server was very rude, one had to climb about 30 steps to enter hotel with no one to help with bags. I did see a lift alongside the stairs for disable people. This is by far not a 3 star hotel which is what the front desk person told us it was. Very very unsatisfactory and we spent close to $500.00 for 2 nights! This is unacceptable! And we were stuck because of the cancellation rules. We really deserve a refund

    Felt we really made a mistake by choosing this hotel. I was told not to stay in San Marco. So I booked Costello. I didn't know that it was maybe 2 doors from San Marco area.Oops wrote what I didn't like in this section. Arrezio at the front desk was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    DON'T GO: overpriced, damp, noisy, no wifi, etc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay was extremely disappointing. I paid almost 200€ a night for a tiny room at the back. The bathroom (and by extension the whole room) was damp and smelled like a humid basement - a smell they tried to cover by spraying perfume in the room. There was no mobile reception in the room, it was like a bunker. For the same reason there was no wifi in the room. I was there for work and needed to write and research some things online, email, etc. and couldn't do that. In the reception area the wifi worked fine, but in the bunker backroom there was not enough network (it was like a timewarp, trying to surf the web in 1997) to actually use it. The first day the staff told me it was not their fault, but that the wifi in the whole city was down. The second day I discovered the wifi did work around the reception area so the staff suggested I worked there. But I didn't pay 200€ a night to be working at night in a neon-lit reception area - so I asked the staff if there were other rooms available closer to the reception area. As it turned out, there was! Great! But I couldn't change rooms, the hotel didn't allow that. I don't know why. Anyway, I will never every stay again at this hotel - and I suggest you spare yourself the frustration and do the same.

    The staff was friendly - but didn't brief each other about problems, so I ended up explaining 3 or 4 times I really needed wifi to a new staff member, who told me they couldn't help me at the moment but would pass the problem to their colleague. Actually not that great either - but at least they did so with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, 2 minutes from San Marco Square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, 2 minutes from San Marco Square and Vaporettos. Lots of cafes, bars, pizzerias close by. Great room with a little balcony (shared) overlooking the street below and a distant view of the Grand Canal and tower in San Marco square! Breakfast (10euro) really nice (bread, croissants, juice,cereal, cake, fruit, cappucino etc) an easy way to start a busy day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location! Room was too small for two persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 20 stairs to drag suitcases up to the reception area made it very difficult. Our room was quite small and not as advertised with little room to move with 2 people and large suitcases. No window views at all.

    Fabulous location in the heart of Venice and easy to get to from the water taxi wharf.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location and extremely helpful staff in making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast did not include warm foods such as eggs, pancakes or meats.

    Convenient location and extremely helpful staff in making dinner reservations and giving directions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    I had been to this hotel before and it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com booking had just room only with breakfast 10 euros per person extra. There are many places nearby where you can get a reasonably priced breakfast so we didn't bother,which is a bit disappointing but oh well.

    I had been to this hotel before and it was good. This time even better. The room with terrace on the third floor was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful. Hard to find fault in any way really. Location is great as well,just behind the Doge's Palace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location just right for a few days in this beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a lot smaller than it looked on picture. No tea or coffee/ kettle in room .

    Brilliant location , clean and comfortable room - we had a balcony which was nice . Staff friendly and helpful . Didn't use hotel for breakfast. Maid service was very good , bedding changed every day .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, the rest is medium
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    . No eating allowed in the room, if you eat you need to pay 50 Euro for cleaning!!!! . TV not working but might be exception in this room on that day

    . Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely visit to abenoce
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and tea making facilities were not really suitable - plastic cups were used, and only a vending machine for cold drinks. It's a shame as the reception area is nice to sit in and browse the lovely books, magazines and leaflets.

    Clean and basic accommodation, excellently located with wonderful hosts. The information in reception was super, of which we took advantage, we attended the opera and a wonderful concert at the Vivaldi church. The staff at the hotel are more than happy to organise the tickets for you too. There were ample little places to grab something to eat in the vicinity. The hotel is located a little way down the left hand side of the Danieli hotel (if your facing it). San Zaccharia is the closest vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Great loction in the heart of Venice island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great in the heart of Venice island, so easy to reach by walk from train strain. The water bus sation is so close to the hotel and there're some good resturants downstairs of the hotels. Really like to stay next time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Sensational location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A sensational location - less than 100mts from a ferry stop in the thick of the action. Our attic room had an amazing view over the terracotta rooftops. No cars so it was gloriously quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel very close to St Marco place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free coffee / tea in the room - you can buy it for 1€ but it is not convenient. Also The safe was too small

    Very kind staff The room was very clean The hotel is ideally situated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Location is great but there were a few cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is great but there were a few cons. The room is clean and comfortable but there are ants in the room. They even left a can of ant killer in the room. The cleaners will spray the room but makes the room smell like chemicals. Wifi is terrible. It is really slow and you have to log in every 30 minutes. Regular web surfing is fine, but I was trying to upload photos to the cloud without any success.

    Great location and easy to find. Really close to the water bus station if you decide to take the water bus (line 1, San Zaccaria stop). If you get lost walking around, just follow the signs back to San Marco and the hotel is just right behind the square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Room Only Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our toilet kept running once it was flushed

    Room only is the best option as there are so many places to eat. Very clean and comfortable beds Very friendly and helpful members of staff Enjoyed our stay very much

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.8
    Poor attitude from owner, very rude. Get the wrong room and it's awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman at the front desk was incredibly rude. She refused to move is from room 005 which was noise with the kitchen downsatairs, the building work across ally way. It was also red hot, air conditioning advertised is lies as they switch it off in winter so room is red hot or freezing. If I hadn't got a really good deal on bookings I would have walked on arrival.

    When they finally agreed to move us to another room, the room was lovely (room 106). The bed was comfy and looked as per photos advertised.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was in a great location short walk to San Marco and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room. (not advertised) would be a good touch.

    Hotel was in a great location short walk to San Marco and to vaporetto. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of any pantry or restaurant services coupled with no electronic kettle in the room

    Location. Not very far from the ferry stop and St Mark's square.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more options for breakfast would have been good.. But nevertheless it was still good 😊

    Very friendly staff.. Helped us with directions n other information 😊

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but recommend to search more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were nooot the friendliest and the place is clean but I've stayed in other 3 atar places so much nicer, there was something not quite the most confortable.

    Location was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.0
    I'm sure there are much better basic hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super basic - we had no desire to spend any time there. There was an arbitrary charge for eating food in the room of 50euros. The hotel would only store our luggage until 1pm on Sunday despite our flight being at 9pm which meant I had to carry 10kg of luggage with me all day. The lady on the desk was unapologetic despite no mention of this when booking.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    Great on looks, comfort and convenience but short on basic room facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle!! (Very disappointing) Hairdryer was too gentle and a bit tricky to use No eating in room(€50 fine/day); rather confusing for a hotel room Pillows were too thin Room a tad bit small No iron - may be a problem during hotter seasons

    Generally, we really liked everything. Rooms were new, very comfortable, terrace was lovely and location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and good wifi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk gave me the key to someone else's room when I checked in. It made me question the security of the hotel so I didn't want to leave my key with them when I went out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible in the room. Couldn't connect to the wifi in our room. Everytime we needed to connect to the wifi we had to leave our room and use it in the hallway

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! No problems with room, affable staff! Good view from windows! Good place to live! Got some issues with Wi-Fi, but it wasn't a big problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    3.3
    rip off by bookings.com
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overpriced basic , nothing as an advert picture , bookings.com sad that it was "a great deal" of 80% off 530 E a night, that room was NEVER 530 E, more likely 40Euros

    nothing aprt of location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Hotel was great but infortunate incident ruined the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told at check in about breakfast and its location. When went down for coffee the following morning, we quickly tossed out of the room. We offered to pay for breakfast but, the staff member told us to leave. We asked the front desk staff member what the issue was and she said, " we were unable to have breakfast, even coffee because we didn't book with the hotel directly. This was very embarrassing as the room was full of people. Despite this being a nice hotel, I would never stay there again, we paid $250 for that room. Christina Trombetta

    The location was great and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Helpful staff in well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very helpful staff, would recommend the rooms at the top with a balcony. A few simple things would greatly improve this hotel - for example, a better wifi, water in the fridge, glasses (not plastic) & easy to use toiletries

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you get (small room with no terrace or view) but I guess that is due to the location.

    Great location. 24 hour reception. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location,we booked the double room with terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little bit to small for me as im 6ft but still a very clean compact bathroom

    Perfect location,we booked the double room with terrace which was fantastic for sitting out last thing at night with a bottle of prossecco

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room.inferior quality toiletries. No breakfast option for customers'booking through agents. Poor value unless you use the hotel's website.

    Position and clranliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel is perfect. It is impossible to get lost finding it as it is only a block or so away from the vaporetto stop with no bridges to haul suitcases over. It is very close to the center of the action in Piazza San Marco but just far enough away to be out of the worst of the tourist crowd. There are many shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel so you feel like you are still in the thick of things. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. I also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to Venice.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Antigo Trovatore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: